If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer transmission problems: transmission failure (4L60E)

Transmission Failure (4l60e)

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer (Page 1 of 3)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chevrolet dealer.

9.2

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,279.00
Average Mileage:
96,455 miles
Total Complaints:
42 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. rebuild the transmission (28 reports)
  2. not sure (10 reports)
  3. replace transmission (4 reports)
2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Feb 032014

Trailblazer LTZ 4.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Trailblazer is a lemon. Problem after problem.

- , Jenison, MI, USA

problem #41

Feb 082013

Trailblazer LS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,000 miles

I am about to give up on all GM. We have 3 trailblazers in our family and the 2 of them are 2002. Both are having similar issues, leaking power steering cooler, 4wd won't engage, and the topper is the transmission went south while backing out of our driveway. What a piece of junk this 4l60e is.

- , Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #40

Dec 012012

Trailblazer 4.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

Would not buy another GM vehicle with the 4L60E transmission. Transmission has went out in my 00 Blazer and 02 Trailblazer without hauling anything. These vehicles are used to drive to work and school. Couple guys at work have had this same transmission replaced or rebuild also. This is a junk transmission. Will never buy another GM vehicle. Both the 00 Blazer and 02 Trailblazer have around 150k miles. I could go on and on about how crappy these vehicles are made besides the transmission. Would not recommend them. Would not recommend buying any GM vehicle with the 4L60E transmission.

- , West Frnkfort, IL, USA

problem #39

Jul 032012

Trailblazer LS 4.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 157,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

So we purchased a 2002 chevy trailblazer abut 4 years ago and have replaced absolutely everything in the damn thing!! Now driving down the interstate my fiancee calls me and tells me I need to come pick him up because the transmission has went out! Needless to say it is costing us about 4 months in house payments to fix the piece of s...!!!! Do no recommend this vehicle to anyone or a chevy for that matter. They are garbage and the maufacturers do not care and will not help at all!

- , Lexingto, KY, USA

problem #38

Jun 182010

Trailblazer LT EXT Loaded 4.3 Vortec

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

I bought a Trailblazer used (December 2010 I will have only owned it for 2 years) It had 61,000 miles on it when I purchased it. It was very clean, Extended body LT, loaded. Paid $9,000.00 from a Chevy Dealer Used Car lot (JBA Chevrolet in Maryland). I drive from Baltimore to DC to work and to clients. I went this route due to the snow we get sometimes and I had totaled a Cobalt Sedan which had 100K on it (another big hunk of crap from Chevy. The struts went out on that car at 40,000 miles and down hill from there.) The Trailblazer was fine until about 4 months ago. Notice weird down shifting feeling, told my mechanic, he said he's not noticing anything weird. 3 days later backing out of my driveway. BANG, followed by spinning sound (108K miles) really? Then no forward or reverse. A friend suggested a Transmission place, cost me $1,875.00 for a rebuilt unit installed. When I picked the car up, it wouldn't start. The owner came and started it, (mystery...) so I paid them, drove around the block and turned on the A/C, got to a traffic light and the idle jumped up to 1.5, down to .5 and then dropped to 0 the car stalled. Restarted, stalled again, turned the A/C off, started up fine. Put the A/C back on, next light, car stalled. It was 100 out that day. From June, until now I've been driving without A/C. No one can figure out the problem, transmission place says they had nothing to do with it. It worked fine before I got the transmission. Then I replaced the compressor, still did the same thing. Had all the lines blown out, still didn't work. Then my buddy cleaned the throttle body and replaced my air filter which wasn't all that bad and now the air and defroster work fine. I've had the transmission in the car for only 6K miles, now the car is running rough with a heavy vibration on the pedal at stop signs like it's a mount or could be the transfer case which is right under my drivers side. Also hesitates a little when you first step on the gas. After about 30 miles it settles down some, but I can still notice it. Mornings or when it sits are the worse, you actually have to put the car in Neutral and the vibration stops that's how bad it is, sounds like it's going to fall apart. What in the heck is causing this? Is the rebuilt Transmission going up now? I can't afford to put another expensive dime in the car when I still owe $6,000.00 on it. I have 6K miles left on this rebuilt trans warranty but I don't want to deal with these a-holes that did the work b/c they treated me like crap and I'm not an idiot when it comes to cars. BTW, also I even replaced the plugs just 80 miles ago and added fuel injector clean/deposit cleaners it helped a little bit for the first couple days, but when the car sits for periods of hours it will always run rough. Nothing is helping with the roughness. Anybody got a clue on this? Otherwise, when do we start a class action lawsuit on GM. After reading this site, I noticed they've known about this transmission for a long time and have done nothing.

I had a 1997 Chevy Cavalier that I put over 286,000 miles on, it still had the original exhaust, it was automatic and treated it no different then this car and I only sold it to get the Cobalt when it came out because of all the hype, the Cavy was paid for for 4 yrs, I didn't need another payment, but liked the hype of the Cobalt, boy what a big mistake.

- , Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #37

Nov 082011

Trailblazer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

Well this is my second Trail blazer. I previously owned a EXT version. I traded it in on a new car when the tranny started a slippin in it @ 88,000 miles. Like a brilliant baffon I bought a 2002 from a family member. A a work vehicle. It made it 105,000 miles on the 1st tranny and was replaced. I now have 145,512 miles on the vehicle. Only 40,000 on the new transmission and on Tues. A loud BANG.. A surge and Whammo.... Gas to the floor and 25 mph. I made it to the repair garage. Their diagnosis. Replace the tranny again. The garage owner chuckled. This is common with the Trail blazer. I have owned two GM vehicles in my life. This is definately the last one.

- , Catawissa, PA, USA

problem #36

Dec 272010

Trailblazer LTZ 4.2L 6 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Could only drive in four wheel until I had the transmission rebuilt. When I left the shop my four wheel drive didn't work.

- , Tukwila, WA, USA

problem #35

Aug 042011

Trailblazer 4.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

man, whats the freakin' deal with all this never ending GM Crap and how are they able to continue selling such garbage, hard to believe I grew up on GM & Chevy,yet anymore I'd say they're an embarrassment to our auto industry, hell I cant seem to get any free time cause I'm constantly on some wild goose chase trying to troubleshoot some more GM AFTERBIRTH, and there's plenty more waiting right around the corner, they need to take a damn crap or get off the f--k-n pot

- , MARSHALL, TX, USA

problem #34

Jun 182010

Trailblazer XT 4.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,103 miles

Bought this car from a GM Chevy dealer in 2008. It had 60K miles on it. I had it for 1 1/2 yrs and the transmission died in my driveway leaving for work. Put car in reverse, bang! Then a whining spinning noise. Put into Drive, nothing.

After tranny was replaced with a re-built unit from a local shop I had no A/C if you turned it on. The idle would jump up, then down then up and stall the car out. The shop who did the work stated they touched nothing but the trans. So I buy a new compressor, and it gets installed. Still no A/C. So I drove all summer w/o A/C because I couldn't afford to pay for anything else at that time.

Now I've had to have the Throttle Body, injectors, CamPhase Solenoid, Water Pump and then the Fan Chutch went up after all this. Chevy should be sued!!!! This car has 120K on it now and it still isn't right.

- , Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #33

Oct 312010

Trailblazer LT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

i have only had this car for a year take very good care of it. I only have 87,000 miles on it and it has already had a transmission issue. I cant believe this is happening and i read that the part was a recall and gm never notified me of this, very pissed of because i don't have the money for the repairs.

- , Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #32

Sep 062010

Trailblazer LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Thank all for all your complaints. You just saved me from buying one. 2002, gold, bells and whistles, my partner wanted no other from all 20 assorted vehicles we've looked at in the last two weeks. Sorry for all your troubles, but you did help someone else from making a terrible mistake.

- , Bronx, NY, USA

problem #31

Jan 282010

Trailblazer LTZ 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

I am very disappointed with Trail Blazer transmission problem which occurred after only 61000 miles.We purchased the Chevrolet new and have had it serviced at regular intervals. It is driven by my wife to work and back and has never been abused. The transmission started making noises and started slipping between gears. The cost to get the trans. repaired was $2270. We were planing on giving the Blazer to our daughter for her 16th birthday later this year but I am not sure I want to chance keeping it after this major problem.

- , Herrin, IL, USA

problem #30

Jan 102008

Trailblazer ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

I previously owned a Chevy Blazer and had it for 10 years before I wrecked it and had to get a new one. Thought I would go with the Blazer since I had such good luck with the first Blazer. I opted for the Trailblazer. BIGGEST MISTAKE SO FAR! I had no warning on my way home the transmission went, on a unpopulated highway with no cell service. I had purchased used and purchased the extended 3 year warranty for a price. Guess what, I was over the mileage for the coverage! I purchased a rebuilt and it only had a 6 month warranty. I am not again having problems with my transmission. Some people call their home the "money pit" I call my vehicle one. Only a very tall cliff would take care of this GM product. Although my father retired from GM, he would agree...buy something other than Chevy!!! Fed up and they don't help, but they were quick to take the bail out!!!!!

- , Norwood, NY, USA

problem #29

Jun 252006

Trailblazer LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Bought this thing brand new had it shipped here and has been nothing but a money hole.Started with tail lights and the constant police stops for no tail light. Dealership worked on them so many times, never fixed them, and finally wanted to charge me and I refused to pay.Went to a local auto parts store and I replaced both fixtures and bulbs but it seems to be a little better.Here is the biggie - the transmission went at 70000 paid $1200 to fix and now it is out again at 135000.Never gave any warning just quit.The 1st failure it started to sound like a thrashing machine and this 2nd failure has a spinning loose connection sound.It will move some in what I consider 1st gear but has no reverse.It makes no sense. The SOB is paid for and what I am reading here makes me not want to pay for another repair.GM needs to set aside some cash to compensate us for their known problems.

- , Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #28

Sep 292009

Trailblazer LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

UNBELIEVABLE....29 of us now and counting, and I see my mileage is darn near smack-dab on the average for this failure mode....I'm still driving, but will echo the broken record of symptoms, 2 days ago engine starts revving at high rpm's, won't shift to the next gear, have to let up on the gas to get it to eventually shift...check engine light!.....this is BS I've replaced the trans fluid at 50k, didn't save me......i'm getting this fixed at minimum $$ and then dumping this POC. BYE BYE GM! PS did I mention that my 2000 Taurus ran 170,000 miles with a completely-functional never-replaced transmission?

- , london, OH, USA

problem #27

Feb 282005

Trailblazer LS 4.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,150 miles

I purchased my 2002 Trailblazer used about 16,854 miles on it at the time. Everything was smooth sailing until 02/28/05 46,150 miles when the transmission gave out. Took it back to the dealer that i bought it from. They rebuilt my transmission. Drove it for a year then the transmission gave out again on 02/27/06 54,603 miles. Took it back to the same dealer. And they said they will put in a new transmission since it was still under warranty until 60,000 miles. Since they put in the new transmission the warranty it for 3 years. Now 09/24/09 75,640 miles the transmission mess up again. This time warranty is expired and i am f*cking pissed. FML.!!!!! Chevy TRAILBLAZER SUCK ASS. I need a new car but for sure not a CHEVY. Please Help me

- , Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 142009

Trailblazer LT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles

What a piece of crap the Trailblazer is, my God it has been nothing but a damn money pit. Since owning the car or lemon which ever you prefer to call it, I have stuck more than 9,000 dollars in repairs and replacement parts into it. The tranny was the latest in the long list of misfortunes. Like most of the other complaints, I was driving the car home from work on Friday, and all the sudden a loud whining noise and the car was just coasting. Reverse wouldn't even work.1650.00 later the car is back in my hands after almost a month of being in the shop. The mechanic also informed me of my front differential leaking, front bearings and sway links needing replacement among other things. I think its time for a ghost ride off the cliff for this P.O.S.

- , New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #25

May 222009

Trailblazer LS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

I HAD JUST PAID OFF MY TRAILBLAZER. TWO MONTHS LATER, WITHOUT WARNING, I WAS BACKING UP OUT OF MY PARKING SPOT AT WORK AND IT MADE A CLUNK NOISE AND JUST WOULD NOT MOVE BACKWARDS.

LUCKILY IT WOULD GO FORWARD IN 1ST GEAR AND MY REPAIR SHOP WAS JUST 1/4 MILE DOWN THE ROAD. NOT SO LUCKY, IT HAPPENED ON FRIDAY EVENING BEFORE MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND, 5/22/09. I WAS WITHOUT TRANSPORTATION ALL WEEKEND. BY THE TIME THEY WERE ABLE TO LOOK AT IT AND DETERMINE THE PROBLEM IT WAS TUESDAY 5/26/09. THAT SHOP DID NOT DO TRANSMISSIONS, SO THERE WAS A TRANSMISSION PLACE RIGHT AROUND THE CORNER, AGAIN LESS THAN 1/4 MILE, AND I BABIED IT TO THERE.

I HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE FINAL BILL, BUT I AM GOING TO BE WITHOUT TRANSPORTATION FOR ANOTHER WEEKEND.

THIS REALLY SUCKS!!!

- , Coldwater, MI, USA

problem #24

Jun 202008

Trailblazer LS Inline 6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

I returned home from Iraq in June 08. My trailblazer was driven 2 or 3 times (by my wife) while I was gone. On the second day I drove it, it just revved and went almost nowhere. I brought it to a local transmission shop and was told that a small piece of metal had broken loose and basically destroyed the tranny. I basically had no choice but to have it fixed and pay the bill. This is a vehicle that bought new and had minor problems since day 1. Some of those problems resurfaced after the warranty ran out and are still plaguing me today.

- , Montgomery, NY, USA

problem #23

Apr 272009

Trailblazer LT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,200 miles

Feel like I am pissing in the wind, but I guess you can never have too much support....... driving to work yesterday when the car made an awful boom and lurched forward. I actually looked in the rear view mirror because it sounded and felt like I had dropped the engine! Realized I had no forward gears as I coasted into a parking lot, but was able to reverse into a spot. As we were researching the possible problems, we stumbled across this website and realize we are not alone in the problem! It's in a transmission shop now and I will update when we hear news.

BS to GM! Car was well-maintained, had no previous problems, etc. Interesting that one thread mentioned a recall in 2003.... I have had this car from day 1 and have never had a transmission recall. At one time the rear differential went out (while I was still under warranty) and they said it was a fluke....

Update from Apr 30, 2009: Ok, so we have found out that an angry little shard of metal flew off the torque converter and created a whirlwind off destruction on every piece it could touch. "Not unusual, but not common" was the comment..... Definitely need a new tc, along with shell, plates, separators, everything! Original quote was $2500 for the rebuild and installation, but we talked him down to $1650. Should take 2-3 days and there better not be any more problems!

- , Houston, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?