Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,752 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #11

Mar 242012


  • 70,000 miles


The contact owns 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the vehicle emitted a loud grinding noise and the ABS warning lamp illuminated. The contact mentioned that the brake pedal continued to vibrate while the failure occured. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 70,383.

- Marcellus , NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 282011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
While driving down the road the headlights will start flickering the traction control lights will come on it the dash and all of the buttons on the drivers door will stop working and the rear heater will only work when it wants too the power light on the rear heater will not even come on then your driving along and it will light up and start working the only way to get the buttons on the door to work again and the lights in the dash to go off is to pull over and shut the truck off and then restart it up again but you may be doing this again with in the hour if still driving and if you don't look for those lights on in the dash you could be in trouble cause if they stay on long enough you will go to stop and the brake paddle will go to the floor and you won't stop but if you quickly hit the brake again it stops the truck is extremely dangerous to drive anymore it scares me every time I get in it I think there should be a recall on these trucks from what I have seen online alot of people are having the same problems and if I hit someone because of this thing I will sue GM for making junk.

- Corryton, TN, USA

problem #9

Feb 022010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
All repairs done within 20,000 of use (purchased used at 50,000 currently have 70,000) back windshield water pump does not work brake lights/left signal light are not working correctly, back up lights illuminate when braking left front driver side tie metal rods visible due to suspension errors causing too much wear on tire service stability track error check engine light on bottom of car is rusting out ABS failed on ice car runs rough left outer tie rod end replaced front/rear alignment done front brakes replaced rear brakes replace left front wheel barring replaced left rear brake caliber replaced driver master switch replaced windshield washer pump replaced fuel level sensor replaced left outer tie rod replaced (second time) front end alignment ignition switch replaced water pump replaced solenoid replaced front hub R/F replaced front disc brake pads replaced brake rotor replaced rear disc brake pad replaced rear brake rotor replaced gas cap replaced tail light assembly L/R. battery replaced.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #8

Aug 202010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the fuel gauge indicated that the tank was empty and that the fuel light was also illuminated; both of these components malfunctioned although the fuel tank was full. The fuel gauge always displayed empty no matter how much fuel was in the vehicle. The contact also noticed that the fittings for the brake system were leaking. The contact called the dealer and was told that he would be responsible for all repairs (fuel sending unit and fittings replaced). The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 77,000. The failure mileage was approximately 74,000. Updated 07/19/11 the consumer also stated there was a problem with the 02 sensor. Updated 07/28/11

- Cudahy, WI, USA

problem #7

Jan 012010


  • 50,000 miles
When I am stopped at a stop light with my foot on the brake, my Trailblazer revs up and tries to accelerate. I have to push harder on the brake to keep it from moving.

- Clyde, MI, USA

problem #6

Jun 032009

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • 42,370 miles
2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. 5.3 liter V8 engine. Tapped brakes lightly and took foot off brake pedal. Brakes continued to activate on their own and continued braking harder and harder until vehicle came to a stop on it's own with the brakes locked up. Had to shut off vehicle and restart to release brakes. Called ryan Chevrolet in buffalo, mn and miller Chevrolet in rogers, mn. They said they have not heard of any problems with the brakes doing this. Could have been bad if on the highway or freeway since the brakes would have completely locked up. Only happened once...and that's enough!

- Buffalo, MN, USA

problem #5

Mar 272009


  • 33,900 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving approximately 45 mph, the battery indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Ten seconds later, the brakes failed and the brake pedal extended to the floor. The contact had to apply the emergency brake in order to stop the vehicle. She drove to a nearby dealer and was informed that the alternator failed while driving and did not produce enough energy to the brakes in order to stop. The dealer replaced the alternator and the battery. The contact believes that this is a safety hazard and the manufacturer should issue a recall. Through online research, he found numerous complaints for this same defect. The current and failure mileages were 33,900.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #4

Oct 292008


  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Whenever the driver depresses the brake pedal, the vehicle fails to stop. She must constantly pump the brake pedal in order for the vehicle to come to a complete stop. She has taken the vehicle to the dealer numerous times and the master cylinder has been replaced 4 times. The vehicle is currently at the repair shop for the fourth time. The contact believes that a recall should be issued and the manufacturer should find a solution to the defect. The failure mileage was 53,000 and current mileage was 61,000. Updated 4/23/09 updated 04/27/09.

- Canton, TX, USA

problem #3

Dec 252008


  • miles
I recently bought a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer from a local used car lot. Two months after my fuel level gauge went out I searched to see if anyone was having the same problem and how to fix it I made many call to GM to see if there was a recall on this part because so many was having the same problem throughout America my mother ask to drive my car I have not fixed the problem I explain to my mother the problem with the car you can't tell how much gas is in your car anyway long story short she ran out of gas on the interstate and pull on the wrong side a car smash into her from the back this is why GM is asking for money and non american car makers is singing we need to make GM recall these half made cars could you please put a mandatory recall on the 2000's Chevy Trailblazers thank you in advance.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #2

Sep 292007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 35 mph, the brake pedal was resistant when it was depressed. The vehicle would not stop and the contact rear ended another vehicle. The road conditions were dry and there were no warning indicator lights prior to the failure. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The front bumper was damaged and the vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the brake failure. The manufacturer stated that the speed was not fast enough to make the air bags deploy. The driver was wearing her seat belt, but she reinjured her back and experiences numbness in her legs. While driving between 30-60 mph, the engine would stall and the check engine warning light flashed. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the failure was caused by a failed seal that caused water and orange sludge to build up in the engine. The engine was cleaned and the failed seal was replaced. The frame around the license plate was leaking tar. The dealer informed her that the tar was coming from the tailgate. She applied tar remover to the tailgate and license frame and no longer experienced the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000 and current mileage was 14,000.

- Columbus , OH, USA

problem #1

May 042007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
I have had many many problems with my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer most recently the transmission is bad, I had started complaining to the dealer about the transmission slipping at around 8,000 miles, the truck now has 17,000 miles on it. The dealer refuses to repair it under my warranty. The dealer will not cover the repair. The dealer told me I had to pay out of pocket. I was informed of this on 5/4/2007. I have had many many repairs done on this vehicle, something is not right. The dealer also refuses to fix the brakes, the dealer claimed to have repaired them 3,000 miles ago and told me that it is not possible for the brakes to be bad again, the dealer said I need rotors, pads, and they did replace a lt ft caliper that they found to be bad. The dealer will not replace the pads and rotors. The dealer has told me to pick my vehicle up. The vehicle is currently not in safe condition to operate on public highway, I informed the dealer that I will leave the truck there while I contact NHTSA and whoever else I find that will help me. If the dealer insist that I remove my vehicle, I will have it towed, I will not operate the vehicle on public highways, as it is not safe. I will now list some of the items most recently replaced. Also, ABS, check engine, and service 4WD lite was on and off since January 2007. The gas gauge malfunctioned. The instrument panel was replaced twice, also replaced the radio, front heater, rear heater, dvd player, both upper ball joints, brakes, ft wheel bearing, lt ft door control, ft calipers, some kind of bearing in the steering wheel. The front suspension still makes noise, rattles (the dealer cannot find the problem) there is more but this is what I remember right now without looking it up. The dealer also told me that it is not possible for so many things to be wrong and has accused me of changing parts over from another Trailblazer.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?