Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,614 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 232007


  • miles


Window doesn't roll down or stay up. Gas gauge broke.. engine light and catalytic converter light stays on. Handle design on door came off. Engine went out due to a pistol loose.

- Silex, MO, USA

problem #14

Jan 242011


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the fuel gauge would fail intermittently. In addition, the check engine light would illuminate sporadically. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable and the current mileage was 94,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mt. Pleasant, MI, USA

problem #13

Oct 012008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Purchased vehicle on 09-08, with roughly 45000, check engine light comes on and off, after several months of going back and forth at Chevy dealer they determined it was a faulty cylinder head on the number four cylinder. Filed bbc complaint and spoke with Chevy who refused to do anything. Couple months later and approx mileage 60000, the fuel gauge no longer works causing me to run out of gas a couple different times. About the same time, the stability control system dash lights would intermittently come on and off. I have not contacted Chevy about the other two issues as I felt they would not do anything the same as the head problem.

- St Charles , MO, USA

problem #12

Jan 052011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 56,468 miles


While having the SUV repaired because of a drive train failure, the auto dealership indicated to me that the fan clutch was not working and defaulted to maximum speed.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #11

Jun 102011


  • 100,891 miles
When I did a routine fill up on my vehicle and upon restarting the car after completion, the fuel gauge showed empty and the low fuel light came on. I turned the vehicle off and then turned it back on and it still showed low fuel. As I was driving the vehicle home, I noticed the check engine light came on. After driving the vehicle for about 20 miles or so, the fuel gauge showed correctly and the check engine light went off. However, upon the next fill up, it did the same thing. Now, it is at the point that it doesn't register the gas in the vehicle at all. One minute it shows empty, the next it shows correctly, and then it slowly goes back to empty. I have to use the trip gauge to know how much gas I have in my vehicle at all times. The check engine light comes on every time the fuel gauge shows empty. Lately, over the last few days, the car is starting to hesitate as if it was going to stall on me upon take off. I am getting worried that this vehicle is going to stall on me as I am driving and cause an accident.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #10

May 222008

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the fuel gauge remained below the full level even when the tank was full with fuel. Additionally, the check engine light intermittently illuminated which started around the same time that the fuel gauge began to malfunction. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that they could not duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The current mileage is approximately 80,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 25,000. Updated 07/08/11 updated 07/18/11

- Newton, WI, USA

problem #9

Mar 012011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Consumer states problem with brakes and traction control light illuminating. The consumer the ABS would activate when making right turns. Several components were replaced, but the consumer continued to experience problems. The blower resistor was replaced due to it only working on high. The engine light illuminated, the fuel sensor was not working, the heat was inoperative, there were noise/creaks coming from the steering wheel when driving slow and making turns, the power windows and heated seats stopped working, the fuel gauge was inaccurate, the 4-wheel drive switch had to replaced, the seat belt was difficult to fasten, the head lights and tail lights sockets burned out, the fan for the heater and defroster stopped working, the transmission would not down shift properly and eventually had to be replaced, the ignition switch didn't always work and the key would sometimes get stuck.

- Branson, MO, USA

problem #8

Feb 142009


  • 61,000 miles
My son and husband purchased a used 2006 Chevy Trailblazer ss on Nov 4, 2008. They purchased an extended warranty with zurich. On Feb 14, 2009 the engine blew up. No warning lights came on notifying the driver of any problems with the motor. Zurich asked for the mechanic to rebuild the motor, now the motor still is not running properly and they refuse to pay the mechanic or order a new motor. They want him to take it apart again. I am wondering if more owners have had problems with this motor-LS2 427. Could you please investigate this as a third party? it has been going on since Feb 14, 09, and my son has been without a car for most of the duration and paying for a truck he can't drive. We would appreciate any help in this matter.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #7

Jan 032009


  • 49,000 miles
My 2006 trail Blazer has approx. 60,000 miles. I have had to replace an injector. The heater fan motor is now not working and the fuel level sensor does not work, the lighter does not work and keeps blowing fuses if you try to use it. I have replaced both brake lights as well.

- Florence , KY, USA

problem #6

Jan 282009


  • miles
The engine light goes on sometimes and sometimes off or sometimes blinking. The car was taken in to check the computer read out to find it is a misfire and I was told the repair would cost almost $4000. One time, the radio sounded 3 beeps and said "fire on", I shut off the car and it continued, took out the keys, still continued. Was told never heard of such a thing from the dealer and on star when I did a diagnostic. On star said my oil is registering -- however the car says 99% remains. Lights go dim especially when applying brakes and sometimes whenever. Check engine light comes on sometimes and then goes off. Sometimes flashes during idle and sometimes not. Since computer has been cleared, engine light has not come on for one day but the gas mileage is very bad since I had it in to check about the light. By the way, nothing was fixed but I was charged $148.50 to find out my fairly new vehicle with 27,000 mis. Is broke. I was told the head needs replaced. They are having problems with them. Why do I have to pay for their problems?

- Hunlock Creek, PA, USA

problem #5

Nov 022008

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. In addition, the fuel gauge dropped to zero intermittently. The dealer stated that the electric fuel sending unit was defective. The contact was concerned with a shortage that could possibly cause a fire or safety hazard. The estimated repair costs would be between $600-$800. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 36,000 and current mileage was over 36,500. Updated 02/18/09.

- Lake Stevens, WA, USA

problem #4

Nov 072006

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic and they discovered a small leak. The source of the leak could not be found. When the vehicle was started, a strong fuel smell was detected. The current mileage was 89,000 and failure mileage was 56,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 152007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The front passenger seat track cover was loose. In addition, the transmission would slip and the engine made a hissing sound while driving between 45-50 mph. The vehicle would drive in reverse and then shift into gear. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times. When the contact removed his foot from the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would stop and not move again until it reached 5-8 mph (stabilizing track). The master cylinder also failed. When making a left or right turn, the power steering would make a loud screeching sound. The vehicle was taken to the dealer six times. The dealer confirmed the failures. The current mileage was 49,000 and failure mileage was 13,000.

- Park Forest, IL, USA

problem #2

May 272007

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,850 miles
We have had two 2006 Trailblazers and both of them have been nothing but problems for us. The first one we brought we owned it for six months and we had it in the shop six times (broken sway bar, heater two times, windshield wiper fluid holder two times, shaky front wheel and motor misfiring. We traded in hopefully to avoid more problems and went ahead after assurance that this one must just be bad and got another 2006 Trailblazer. This one we have only had for 2 months and we're already having problems. Three days after we bought it had to go to the shop for the radio not working properly. Then the engine starting misfiring and the engine light was on and it was running really rough. The tech thought that it was happening because the gas cap wasn't all the way tightened. (when the engine light comes on you loose power and I pulled out in front of a car on the highway and barley moved that's how I found that out.) when he called me back he said that I had two cracked sparks plugs and the battery cable was loose making it start slowly. That was fixed but then 5-27-07 the engine light came on again and it was running rough just like before. It seems like everytime that the engine gets wet that it makes it misfire. I told the dealership this several times now. It had been raining that day. Everytime I take it in for the engine they tell me there is a lot of moisture under the hood on the motor. It's in the shop right now.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #1

May 042007

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
I have had many many problems with my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer most recently the transmission is bad, I had started complaining to the dealer about the transmission slipping at around 8,000 miles, the truck now has 17,000 miles on it. The dealer refuses to repair it under my warranty. The dealer will not cover the repair. The dealer told me I had to pay out of pocket. I was informed of this on 5/4/2007. I have had many many repairs done on this vehicle, something is not right. The dealer also refuses to fix the brakes, the dealer claimed to have repaired them 3,000 miles ago and told me that it is not possible for the brakes to be bad again, the dealer said I need rotors, pads, and they did replace a lt ft caliper that they found to be bad. The dealer will not replace the pads and rotors. The dealer has told me to pick my vehicle up. The vehicle is currently not in safe condition to operate on public highway, I informed the dealer that I will leave the truck there while I contact NHTSA and whoever else I find that will help me. If the dealer insist that I remove my vehicle, I will have it towed, I will not operate the vehicle on public highways, as it is not safe. I will now list some of the items most recently replaced. Also, ABS, check engine, and service 4WD lite was on and off since January 2007. The gas gauge malfunctioned. The instrument panel was replaced twice, also replaced the radio, front heater, rear heater, dvd player, both upper ball joints, brakes, ft wheel bearing, lt ft door control, ft calipers, some kind of bearing in the steering wheel. The front suspension still makes noise, rattles (the dealer cannot find the problem) there is more but this is what I remember right now without looking it up. The dealer also told me that it is not possible for so many things to be wrong and has accused me of changing parts over from another Trailblazer.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?