Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 11
Average Mileage:
53,890 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 14 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #175

Dec 072010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles


Filled my gas tank on my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls 4WD. Just after fill up fuel gauge now registers dead empty. Searched the internet for the problem, seems like alot of people are having the same problem (fuel sensor??). my vehicle has 73,000 approx miles. I read hundreds of posts with the same exact problem. Why is there no recall"??"!!!!

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #174

Dec 062010


  • 51,596 miles
I have read about many owners of the 2006 Trailblazer that have had gas gauge not registering. I was hoping I would not have the same problem. No such luck! my gas gauge registered a little less than 1/2 tank when I filled up. After starting the car, the gas gauge registered empty and continues to register empty even though I had just filled up. My Trailblazer has low miles, a little over 51,000, so a problem like this shouldn't be happening. I noticed that there was an investigation started in Jan, 2010...when will there be a recall"???? this could be a major problem if we run out of gas unknowingly. Does it take someone getting killed in a rear-end collision because we have stalled on the highway, before a recall is issued??" this issue has been going on too long with no resolution.

- Russellville, MO, USA

problem #173

Nov 292010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 43,113 miles
Failure of accurate gas gauge reading on 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls. Have read about hundreds, if not thousands of consumers having the same problem. GM says it is the fuel sending sensor malfunction. They should have a recall on this. The danger it may be posing is, not knowing how much fuel is left in tank and a possibility of losing engine power and causing a horrific auto accident. Today, 11/29/2010, I filled my gas tank and the gas gauge went to empty and the light to let you know that you are running low on fuel came on. It hasn't gone off either. But the tank was full, I just filled it. Please look into the matter....

- Hazleton, PA, USA

problem #172

May 202010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles


While driving at night, the low beam headlights stopped working without notice. Stopped at next convenience store, checked all fuses and all were good. Started ignition and lights still did not work. Checked high beam headlights and they worked. Followed up with mechanic the following morning. Could not diagnose problem and referred to a local dealer. Dealer diagnosed problem as being a faulty BCM. BCM was replaced. Approx. 8 weeks later, same problem w/low beam lights not working. Dealer replaced relay. Now low beams work, check engine light has come on and fuel gauge has stopped working.

- Comer, GA, USA

problem #171

Aug 162010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Gas gauge went crazy bounced to full then empty lights flashing then stopped working all together. I was told it is the fuel gauge sensor which costs around $1000 to repair due to having to drop the gas tank. Also causes engine light to remain on at all times.

- Caledonia, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #170

Jul 082010


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the vehicle ran out of fuel twice because the fuel gauge did not give an accurate indication of the fuel level. The vehicle would be filled with gas but the gauge would give an empty reading. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #169

Feb 152010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles


Fuel gauge on 2006 Trailblazer has completely stopped working.

- Riviera Beach, FL, USA

problem #168

Aug 202010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the fuel gauge indicated that the tank was empty and that the fuel light was also illuminated; both of these components malfunctioned although the fuel tank was full. The fuel gauge always displayed empty no matter how much fuel was in the vehicle. The contact also noticed that the fittings for the brake system were leaking. The contact called the dealer and was told that he would be responsible for all repairs (fuel sending unit and fittings replaced). The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 77,000. The failure mileage was approximately 74,000. Updated 07/19/11 the consumer also stated there was a problem with the 02 sensor. Updated 07/28/11

- Cudahy, WI, USA

problem #167

Oct 142010


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that after dispensing fuel into the fuel tank, the fuel gauge would display an inaccurate reading. The failure would continue until the fuel tank capacity level reached a quarter of a tank. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The failure was contributed to the fuel sender assembly. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000. Updated 01/14/11

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #166

Oct 102009


  • 36,376 miles
Trailblazer ls 2006 fuel sending unit defective fill car with gas, but meter reads empty and warning light comes on even though gas tank is full.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #165

Nov 102010


  • 43,816 miles


Filled 2006 Trailblazer with gas. Gauge then read empty. Later gauge read full, then empty, then full, then empty all within 20 miles. Gauge fluctuates constantly so do not know amount of gas in vehicle which will lead to stalls and rear end collisions.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #164

Nov 112010


  • 108,000 miles
2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel gage light stays on after filling up gas tank with a full tank of gas. Call local GM dealership, they said the sending sensor in the gas tank has gone out. Searched several sites on the internet, many, many other consumers with a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer are experiencing the same issue since 2006 and beyond. GM must recall and fix this issue for free now!!!!!

- Wilsonville, AL, USA

problem #163

Jul 042010


  • 60,000 miles
At approximately 60000 miles my fuel gauge quit working! took to mechanic and they told me it was fuel sensor to replace it the cost would be around $800. Don't have that kind of money and of course warranty has ran out. Chevy obviously needs to do a recall!!!!

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #162

Nov 032010


  • 65,500 miles
We have a newborn and 2 young children which my wife had in the car with her. 2 weeks ago she was traveling down the highway and the car stopped, engine shut off. The gas level indication showed close to 1/4 of a tank of gas. She was able to get it to the side of the road and her mother was called. She brought gas to her and they put some gas into the then started normally. Now the needle provides no indication to how much gas is within the tank and Chevy dealer in cincinnati explained that we must purchase a new fuel level sensor. My wife was almost in an accident due to this sensor failure and only now are we hearing about a hidden recall.....

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #161

Oct 042010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that when he added fuel to the vehicle, the fuel gauge would display that it was full and then move back to empty. He noticed that the failure occurred when he added fuel to the vehicle. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage is approximately 85,000. The failure mileage was approximately 82,000. Updated 02/17/11 updated 02/28/11

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #160

Feb 142010


  • 26,793 miles
Gas gauge quit working. We need a recall.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #159

Oct 282010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 81,203 miles
When I fill up my gas tank in my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer my fuel gauge briefly shows that it is full. Within minutes of driving, the fuel gauge reads empty with a warning light one.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #158

Oct 162010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Fuel gauge on 2006 Trailblazer spontaneously has failed. Without warning approximately 2 weeks ago after filling up my fuel tank the gas gauge still reads empty. The consequences of this failure is without setting my trip mileage I have no idea how much gas is in my vehicle, it is an unsafe guessing game, and could be doing further damage to my vehicle. The estimated cost of repair for this is approx $800, the vehicle is only 4 years old, but out of warranty.

- Lynnville, IN, USA

problem #157

Oct 102010

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel quantity indicator unreliable. After refueling, fuel quantity indicates empty, fuel low light is illuminated and "check engine" warning present -- obds decodes as fuel sending problem. Gauge intermittently starts working normally after fuel level is reduced by an estimated 3-4 gallons and check engine light subsequently clears as fault history cycles. However, gauge must be assumed to be unreliable. Internet search shows this has become an increasingly frequent occurrence for 2005-2006 model years. [this report supports NHTSA action number : DP10001 ].

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #156

Oct 032010

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Gas gauge reading not will read the correct level then drop to empty. Gas gauge does not work any more reads empty all the time it is a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer and doing research on the internet there are numerous Chevy with the same problem. It is a safety hazard because a person could run out of gas in the middle of a intersection or when turning on a road or merging with traffic......

- North Aurora, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?