Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 6
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 11
Average Mileage:
53,890 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 7 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #315

Aug 052011

Trailblazer

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have read thousand's of complaints about this online. I have a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer that needs an immediate recall to get this situation fixed. Many 05-08 Trailblazers have a faulty fuel indicator gauge that gives false readings on how much fuel is in the vehicle. On my specific 2006 chev Trailblazer sits on empty after I completely fill the tank. It also moves around from empty, half full, almost full, then down to empty again while driving. Between my spouse and myself we have ran out of gas 4 times so far, once while on the freeway. This is a public safety hazard.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #314

May 012010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Fuel gauge in 2006 Chevy Trailblazer went out while driving home from work on highway. Was stranded on highway until help arrived with fuel to refill vehicle. Now fuel gauge in Trailblazer shows empty at all times even after a fill up. Nothing has been done to correct the failure due to car just being out of warranty and high price of fix. Currently have to guess on fuel levels by keeping track of mileage.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #313

Apr 132010

Trailblazer

  • 65,000 miles
I have a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls. The gas gauge stopped working over a year ago. After checking with the Chevrolet dealer, this seems to be a common, well known problem. GM needs to recall these vehicles and fix this problem.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #312

Jul 012011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gas gauge on Chevy Trailblazer is very inaccurate. It stops working each time you fill up with gas. This can be fixed but will cost $600. This needs to be a recall.

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #311

Jan 282011

Trailblazer

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the fuel sensor failed and the fuel gauge would display a reading of empty even though fuel was present within the tank. As a result, the vehicle would stall on an intermittent basis. No warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who stated that the fuel gauge sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Montgomery, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #310

Mar 172010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The gas gauge on my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer read incorrectly. The problem just started happening. The car was being driven like normal and no work had been done on the car. The problem is still occuring because I don't have the $800 dollars I was told it would take to fix the problem other probem was noticed in December of 2010. The heater stopped working. Prior to the heater stop working the blower stopped working on 5 then stopped working on 4 then it just completly stopped working. I pulled the blower motor resistor out of the carr and noticed that the connector to the blower motor resistor pack was melted to the connector. I removed some of the melted plastic and tried the heater again and one of the wires was glowing orange when the heater was running. I replaced the blower motor resistor and melted connector. On April 22, 2011 speed 5 on the blower stopped working. I pulled the blower motor resistor on April 27 2010. I noticed the same problem was starting to occur again. The two of the wires leading into the blower motor resistor were melted together. This car is not diven very far, putting less than 5,000 miles a year on it. Is the melting wires a problem that I should worry about" is this car safe to let my wife drive with the kids in the back"

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #309

Sep 252010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,980 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I would file up my 2006 trail Blazer with gasoline, the gauge would not work properly. Never knew for sure how much gas I had. Now fuel gage does not work at all an D periodically check engine light comes on. Have had it tested and it comes up as issues with fuel gage.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #308

Jun 102011

Trailblazer 4WD 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The fuel gauge in my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer has been acting erratically. Within a few miles of filling up the gas tank the low fuel light comes on. Sometimes it will start working again and sometimes it wont. The service station scanned the check engine codes and it showed a bad fuel level sensor.

- Grafton, OH, USA

problem #307

Oct 142010

Trailblazer

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2006 Trailblazer the gas gauge quit working. It is an expensive fix. I have read many complaints of this and I am shocked there has not been a recall.

- Hamilton, MO, USA

problem #306

May 152011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Have a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer that only has 36,000 miles and the fuel gauge is not working properly. If I fill it up, it will show empty and the empty alert will start sounding while the light comes on. Eventually it will start working after about 80 or so miles. Then when the tank gets to about 1/4 it starts acting up again. I have seen many complaints, in fact hundreds if not thousands, of people having the same issue online.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #305

Jun 182011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,055 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1.fuel gauge on our 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer ls sport with 6 cyl. Engine became erratic going up and down without relation of how much gas was in the gas tank. This started when vehicle mileage was below 40,000 miles. 2. now the fuel gauge always reads empty, and we have to go by trip mileage to determine when to fuel up. Once June 18, 2011) when we hadn't filled the tank fully, the distance on it was misjudged and ran out of fuel on a main thoroughfare during heavy traffic. Thankfully an accident didn't happen. 3. we had checked the internet about this problem and found it wasn't rare, but quite prevalent on our vehicle and similar ones, due to defective fuel sending units having contacts corrode. We put in a bottle of GM fuel treatment, with no change. The expense to replace the combined sensor/fuel pump unit that is located in the gas tank isn't worth spending as the replacement part is identical to the original and the problem will happen again. If the fuel runs out in an intersection or rush hour traffic a crash could result that could cause injury or death..

- Fort Blackmore, VA, USA

problem #304

May 242011

Trailblazer

  • miles
The gas gauge reads empty when gas is present. Continues to beep indicating the low fuel. When you first turn engine on it will register an amount of gas then fall to trigger the low fuel light. You are never sure how much gas is in the fuel tank.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #303

Feb 152010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
At around 50,000 mi on odometer, while I was driving in winter weather on a highway my gas gauge suddenly dropped to empty and the chime went off and the car acted like it was going to stall on what is normally a busy highway.I had filled up my tank before I'd left for my trip so I knew that I couldn't be out of gas.. by the time I got to my destination the gauge went back to full, but on the return home again the gauge continued to act up. A mechanic friend told me it was probably the float in the tank and to use the trip odometer. After a few more trips the gauge was acting normal again, but when I filled up it started the same thing. It is now stuck on empty and my engine light remains on and I've had a few stalls due to this. I never know how much gas I really have and if my car stalls or runs out of gas I am in danger of having or causing an accident.

- New Albany, OH, USA

problem #302

May 282011

Trailblazer

  • 81,990 miles
Vehicle fuel gauge had incorrect reading. Vehicle ran out of gas on highway. When gas tank is filled vehicle fuel gauge gives false empty reading. Vehicle also stalls at times. Fuel gauge moves around often during operation of vehicle. It appears this is a common issue with this vehicle.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #301

Feb 012011

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet trail Blazer ls. The contact stated that the fuel gage was providing inaccurate fuel level readings. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but denied assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 80,000. Updated 9/27/11 updated 10/07/11

- Bartlett, IL, USA

problem #300

May 062011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Fuel gauge malfunction 2006 Chevy Trailblazer the gauge is very misleading causing near misses when you run out of fuel and not to leave out steering and braking problems when the engine stops this only effects certain models and should be recalled by G.M. they are trying to blame it on bad fuel I'm not buying the reason this is happening, if it were to be the fuel then more people would have the same issue.

- Dearborn Hts., MI, USA

problem #299

Jul 072011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
I was driving down the highway and my 2006 Trailblazer ss stopped running with no warning. Luckily I didn't have my two young children with me. It was a dangerous situation in heavy, fast moving traffic. This has happened twice now. The low fuel indicator is malfunctioning. It didn't turn on, so I unknowingly ran out of gas. I will now have to get a costly repair done.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #298

Jan 052011

Trailblazer

  • 53,000 miles
The problem originated around the 50000 miles on the odometer. The fuel gauge would bounce back between full and empty, then it stopped working all together. On several occasions I ran out of gas, fortunately I was in a safe area, but I can only imagine if I had been on the freeway or in the middle of a busy intersection. I have researched the problem on line and this is a common problem with this particular model.

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #297

Jan 052011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Gas gauge malfunction. Tank reads empty after filling up. First happened in Jan 2011. Filled up and gauge started showing wrong information. A couple months after it always showed empty. Must set mileage to gauge how much gas is in tank.

- Transfer, PA, USA

problem #296

May 252011

Trailblazer

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph the vehicle stalled. Upon restart, the vehicle continued to operate as normal. The contact also stated that the fuel gauge would display a reading of empty when the fuel tank was not empty. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the ethanol within the fuel was eating away at the fuel sending unit. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The failure mileage was 109,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Summerville, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?