Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,902 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #69

Apr 162014

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On my 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer lt my gas gauge shows I have an empty tank of gas at all times even immediately after filling up the tank. This has caused me to run out of gas four times on the highway with no restart. In both of this instances I had to walk on the highway and off an exit to fill up a gas tank and then walk back, one time being at 02:00 am. This is incredibly dangerous considering I could be hit by a car on the highway or stall where a breakdown lane is unavailable and cause an accident. The tank will never read anything else then empty with the gas light on as well.

- East Providence, RI, USA

problem #68

May 012010

Trailblazer

  • 40,000 miles
Fuel gauge stopped working around 40,000 miles. Reads empty all the time. 2006 Chevy Trailblazer. Diagnosed as bad fuel level sensor....shocking.

- Scottsburg, IN, USA

problem #67

Jul 112011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 59,154 miles
Fuel gauge started fluctuating last week. Drove approx. 4 more times and no problem. Yesterday and today fuel gauge fluctuating again. This only occurs after I've had the car running and then shut it off, run in a store etc.start it up and it shows empty with the idiot light on- as I am driving the needle slowly goes back up.

- Wildomar, CA, USA

problem #66

Aug 202010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My fuel gauge started acting up about a year ago. I have not fixed it because it will cost me at least $500. I am a teacher and my husband has been laid off for over 2 years. My fuel gauge always reads empty now with my check engine light going on and off as it likes. I have to make sure my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer does not go over 300 miles being I live in a remote area. I feel that Chevy should have to pay for its defects. I paid a nice amount of money for a reliable vehicle and I am not getting any part of reliable from it. I am not asking for the moon just for Chevy to treat its customers right and do the right thing and fix the 865,000 vehicle that they have done wrong to.

- Nv, NV, USA

problem #65

Apr 152011

Trailblazer

  • 56,023 miles
Fuel gauge began not functioning correctly around April 15, 2011. The gauge is constantly registering empty after a fill up and then registers a half a tank and then back to empty. I have had to revert to setting my trip odometer and when I get close to 300 miles I fill up. I have check with my dealer and was told there is a fix....a new fuel sensor and fuel pump.

- Anderson, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #64

May 012010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
We have a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer whose fuel gauge became erratic and unreliable. We had it repaired. The sensor part was $135.44 and the labor was $254.61 plus shop supplies and sales taxes. I became aware that thousands of such fuel gauge problems have been happening.

- Parkville, MO, USA

problem #63

Feb 252011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer and my fuel gauge does not work at all, also, in the driver's side door the components melted.

- Ohio, OH, USA

problem #62

Oct 202009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
My fuel gauge stopped working. The gauge would show half full when full-or 1/4 when half full-now it doesn't work and the empty warning lite is on. I use the mileage to gage when to get gas. I took my truck in to fix and was quoted 700 to 900.

- Saint Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #61

Apr 122011

Trailblazer

  • 75,000 miles
My 2006 Chevy Trailblazer ls has a faulty fuel sensor. I have been given quotes for the repairs between $800-$1300 to fix! this is [xxx]! I can't believe that I have to pay for GM's faulty part! this is dangerous! the gauge read I had 1/4 of a tank of fuel left. I stalled out on the highway, I managed to coast, safely, to the emergency lane. Now my gauge doesn't even read there is fuel present, remaining on empty all of the time. Some time the check engine light is on, other times it is not. I refuel every 250 miles, to stay safe. What are you and GM waiting for" someone to die" there is an entire internet site dedicated to the complaints of people who are having the exact same problem. You can not turn a blind eye to this! please call for a mandatory recall! there have been no deaths or injuries or crashes in my car because of this, but rest assured...they have happened or will soon! www.topix.com/forum/autos/Chevrolet-Trailblazer/th8ji6tepo3vrji3D/P29. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #60

Aug 012010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle fuel gauge was moving from empty to full sporadically. Finally my fuel gauge indicated that I had an empty tank; this is after I have completely filled my tank. I took my vehicle into the dealership and was informed that the fuel sensor went bad and it will need to be replaced. I have not had the vehicle repaired because it will cost nearly $900.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #59

Dec 202009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The fuel gauge on my 2006 Chevy Trailblazer has not worked for approximately a year and a half. When I fill the tank, the gauge shows empty, with the low fuel light on. After fill up, the check engine light is on. After using several gallons, the check engine light turns off, but the fuel gauge still shows empty. I have had to depend on mileage readings in order to know when to fill up. I have spoke to the local dealer and was told this was a common complaint.

- Amherst, WI, USA

problem #58

Apr 012009

Trailblazer

  • miles
Fuel gauge reads empty when it is full.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #57

Jul 102009

Trailblazer

  • miles
My 2006 brand new Chevy Trailblazer odometer completely failed in 2009. I did not think much about it until my brother, and sister both complained about the same issue on their new vehicles what makes it so bad is that the gauge is in the tank, and the cost to fix the problem at the dealership was $700. When I saw that an investigation was ongoing, I wanted to log my complaint. This cannot be a coincidence.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #56

Apr 182011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 86,500 miles
I own a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer with about 87000 miles on it. Recently the fuel gauge has been showing empty upon starting with the low fuel light being on. As you drive sometimes the gauge will show the amount of fuel in the tank and sometimes it varies and is all over the place making it impossible to determine how much fuel you have left. I am making it a habit to monitor my miles so as to not run out of fuel. No accidents or injuries have occurred related to this issue, it is just a nuisance at this time. I haven't had it repaired as it involves replacing the fuel pump/sending unit at an estimated cost of $800. This is just an fyi type thing to show you that many of these type vehicles have this issue. Thank you for your time.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #55

Mar 012009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Gas gauge on 2006 Chevy Trailblazer faulty. Does not show correct amount of gas in tank. I notified GM saying I did not think it was right for the gauge to be bad already because it was only a 2006 vehicle. I was given the run around and they basically said they would not fix it.

- New Middletown, OH, USA

problem #54

Sep 202009

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Gas gauge failure. Always shows vehicle on empty and causes the "check engine" light to illuminate. Also causes continuous alarm dings as to "low fuel".

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #53

Apr 042011

Trailblazer

  • 66,418 miles
Faulty gas gauge sensor on 2006 Trailblazer.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #52

Mar 232011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The gas gauge stays on empty.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #51

Jun 012010

Trailblazer

  • 55,000 miles
My 2006 Trailblazer reads empty when the gas tank is full. I have spoke with several other owners and they all experience the same thing. Pretty sure there needs to be a recall for this.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #50

Aug 202010

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Low fuel gauge. Sending unit doesn't work.

- New Castle, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?