Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page Notes: The 2002-2007 Chevrolet Trailblazer is known for many things, but perhaps it is most famous for its faulty fuel gauge.

This gauge flip-flops more than a politician during election season. Some report that the gauge says "empty" after a fill-up, while others report the gauge says "full" when they're running on fumes. Either way, there's one thing everyone seems to agree on: the darn thing is just wrong.

Following hundreds of complaints and a few accidents allegedly caused by the malfunction, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) opened an investigation into the issue in May 2011. Unfortunately for frustrated owners, no recall has been announced.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 2
Average Mileage:
58,970 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer Owner Comments

problem #17

Jul 212016


  • 122,000 miles


Vehicle was traveling on city street at 30mph when it struck a utility pole, shearing it off at the base. Vehicle then traveled straight up a hill and struck a house, coming to rest there. None of the air bags deployed. News story at

- Ursa, IL, USA

problem #16

Jan 232015


  • miles
I was involved in an automobile accident out of state. I was traveling during the evening hours to try to avoid heavy traffic. I started having trouble with the dim lights and could only proceed using the bright lights. The next thing I realize is that I am unable to control the vehicle and struck another vehicle on the road. I then proceeded to slide down an embankment approximately 30 feet. My vehicle sustained enormous damage to the front and side of the vehicle. The front airbags did not deploy and my vehicle was deemed totaled by my insurer.

- Duson, LA, USA

problem #15

May 102013


  • 89,000 miles
My wife weighs about 100 #'s yet the air bag light shows off. This is a safety item.

- Koloa, HI, USA

problem #14

Oct 062014


  • 199,000 miles


The contact owned a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the driver drifted off the road and crashed the vehicle into a tree. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained a fractured nose and left cheekbone that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed back to the contact's residence. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 199,000.

- Inman, SC, USA

problem #13

Jan 132012


  • miles
2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. Consumer writes in regards to problems with dealership management not getting key lock ignition fixed. The consumer stated a month after purchasing the vehicle, she began having problems with the key lock in the ignition. The truck would not crank, the windows would not roll up or down, the radio did not work and the entire dashboard shut down. She had an accident on Jan 13, 2012 and the air bags did not deploy. On June 21, 2014, the vehicle shut down and she had to leave the vehicle, for five days, before she could have it towed to the dealer.

- Washington, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Oct 282013


  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, she lost control of the vehicle while driving in snowy weather. The vehicle nose dived into an embankment and then crashed into a boulder. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was transported to the hospital via ambulance for treatment of a concussion and bruising. The front passenger was also injured and sustained bruising. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000.

- Neihart, MT, USA

problem #11

Oct 102013

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • 47,000 miles


I was driving down the highway and had got cut off by a car. I swerved and avoided hitting the car but ended up hitting the median almost directly head on. The whole front of the vehicle was smashed in and the vehicle was totaled. The airbags never went off, me and my passenger were both wearing our seat belt and I ended up hitting my head on the steering wheel leaving me unconscious. An ambulance rushed me to the hospital and I received 10 stitches above my left eye.

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #10

May 302013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • miles
This complaint is being filed on behalf of the vehicle owner and driver. This Chevy Trailblazer was involved in a two vehicle, double fatal crash. The front of the Trailblazer struck the driver's side door of a cavalier that failed to yield from a stop sign. The Trailblazer stayed connected with the cavalier, forcing it off the left side of the roadway and into a large tree. Both occupants in the cavalier were fatally injured. The front airbags did not deploy on the Trailblazer and no event was recorded on the airbag control module.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #9

Feb 072013

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
I purchased a used car from ez cars & credit located in riverside California because they had some very good reviews. I could of bought a car from a private owner but I decided to go with a dealership because I figured that the law would protect me and they could not sale me a defective vehicle. I purchased an SUV, Chevrolet Trailblazer 2006 on 2/07/2013 and after taking the car for a test drive, I noticed the airbag light on. The manager [xxx] said it was just something that could be fixed in like 5 minutes and that it had to do with the fuses being replaced but his service technician left for the day so I should bring the car in tomorrow. I contacted the dealership and asked for [xxx], I was told by the sales manager who's name is [xxx], that [xxx] was on vacation for 1 week in Mexico. I explained the airbag situation and[xxx]said he doesn't know anything about it and I would have to wait for [xxx] to return from Mexico. A week and a half later driving with the airbag light on, not knowing if my kids, husband or myself were safe in this vehicle but we spent all our money to purchase this car. We here from [xxx] so I brought the car into the dealership, [xxx] had the car for 4 days and the airbag light is still on today! I contacted [xxx] and told him I was on my way to pickup my car, mr. [xxx] he was at the office, now when I pick up my car, I get my keys from the owner of the auto repair shop next door. He doesn't even work for the dealership! I have serious water corrosion under my car, the steering wheel feels shaky the fuel gauge never reads correctly and the lights go off and on inside the car after a while of driving. I don't know what to do?? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 142012


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000.

- Massena, NY, USA

problem #7

Aug 212009


  • miles


I was driving on highway 20 heading towards North Carolina. I was about 5 to 10 miles from meridian, ms and I was driving into a down pour of rain. Two semis passed me splashing water and after the second semi passed all I knew was my vehicle spinning out of control at a rapid speed bouncing up and down for about 30 to 50 yards and finally slamming into a tree on the driver side and the airbags did not deploy. I myself sustained minor injuries along with my oldest son. My two younger sons were in the backseat but I had a basket next to the drivers side passengers door which made one of my son's sit in the middle and my other son to the right of him.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #6

Feb 242011

Trailblazer 4WD 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Inertia reel on seatbelt failed. No air bag deployment. 2006 Trailblazer, full straight head on crash.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 012010


  • 94,485 miles
In approximately April of 2010 my gas gage on my 06 Trailblazer quit working. The part was no longer under warranty at 84K miles. Very dangerous when traveling 400 miles with elderly aunt and small child 2X a week. On October 1, 2010 I was involved in a high speed collision when a car pulled in front of me, while I was going 70mph. The airbags did not deploy, I suffered major trauma to my knees and am unable to walk well or drive. I hit my head on the steering wheel and continue to have pain. My elderly aunt broke 3 cervical vertebrae and still has a trachiotomy over a month later. She is still in the hospital, and it is unknown if she will come home.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #4

Oct 162010


  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While traveling 15-20 mph the contact stated that the passenger and driver side air bags deployed without warning. The contact suffered injuries to her face and right arm. A police report was not filed for the incident. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 79000.

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #3

Nov 202008

Trailblazer 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 30 mph, all of the side air bags deployed without a crash or impact. The vehicle was towed to the Chevrolet dealer and the diagnostic indicated that the vehicle was in a rollover state. The vehicle has not yet been repaired. The vehicle was in good condition. The contact sustained minor injuries to the neck from the air bags burning her skin. The failure and current mileages were 26,000. Updated 12/30/08 updated 01/02/09.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #2

Feb 072008


  • miles
Around 11:45pm a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer traveling over the speed limit on my street crashed into a tree, a parked car, and then continued to roll over across my front lawn, landing sideways after flipping several times. The occupants were severely injured. No airbags deployed during the crash. The driver of the vehicle is in icu needing facial reconstructive surgery.

- Lakewood, OH, USA

problem #1

Sep 292007

Trailblazer 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Trailblazer. While driving 35 mph, the brake pedal was resistant when it was depressed. The vehicle would not stop and the contact rear ended another vehicle. The road conditions were dry and there were no warning indicator lights prior to the failure. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The front bumper was damaged and the vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the brake failure. The manufacturer stated that the speed was not fast enough to make the air bags deploy. The driver was wearing her seat belt, but she reinjured her back and experiences numbness in her legs. While driving between 30-60 mph, the engine would stall and the check engine warning light flashed. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that the failure was caused by a failed seal that caused water and orange sludge to build up in the engine. The engine was cleaned and the failed seal was replaced. The frame around the license plate was leaking tar. The dealer informed her that the tar was coming from the tailgate. She applied tar remover to the tailgate and license frame and no longer experienced the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000 and current mileage was 14,000.

- Columbus , OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?