Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,190 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler 200 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Jul 022013


  • 16,000 miles


Purchased new from Chrysler dealer lot in April 2012. On occasion most commonly in summer months, when the vehicle is turned off the ignition will not release the key it is impossible to get the key out of the ignition I have to start the car and turn it off several times before it will release the key.

- Kimball, MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 252014


  • 38,000 miles
Purchase new off the Chrysler dealer lot April 2012.there are three knobs that control the heating and cooling in the car when the blower is turned to a low setting it will blow hot air regardless of temperature that is selected for example if it is sitting at 66degrees it will blow extremely hot air and only if the blower is set to max will it eventually cool down to the selected temperature. Once the cooler temperature is acquired, if the blower is turned down it will eventually go back to blowing only really hot air regardless of temperature setting.

- Kimball, MI, USA

problem #8

Nov 152013

200 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Driving home from work I entered on to the highway and while driving, the vehicle completely shut off. This has happened three different times and I have two children and this is the only vehicle I have. I am fearful that this problem may cause injury.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #7

Sep 112013

200 4-cyl

  • miles


Re: electrical failure leading to delay in car starting or malfunctioning of vehicle electrical system. While attempting to trade in 2012 Chrysler 200, purchased on 07/15/2014, VIN #[xxx] from Florida fine car located at 1027 S state road 7 hollywood Florida 33023 I was informed by sales representative of carmax that I could not receive the best trade in offer because the vehicle had "evidence of major rear end repairs and re-welded trunk pan. Carmax will not retail this vehicle.? 9/4/13 -- headrest popped open while driving, front power outlet not operating, hesitates on acceleration, noise under hood and splash shield missing screws. Outlet fuse was replaced, plastic hold downs for splash shield replaced and headrest found to be defective. Sadly to see service rep asked, ?if I had tampered with headrest. Two weeks later I received a recall notice. 9/13/13 -- headrest replaced, scrubbing under car persists, front power outlet not operating again, car continues to hesitate during acceleration, brake not operating well and ticking under hood continues. Multi-point inspection complete no problem detected. 10/12/13 ? recall notice received via usps. I immediately reported to the hollywood service department and tech performed recall #N38 on active head restraints?reprogrammed computers for all headrests. Multi-point inspection performed car system running and battery strength is good. 11/01/13 ? car hesitating to start on occasions and front power outlet not working. Multi point inspection performed computer diagnostic shows no codes. 11/25/13 " car was towed on Sunday, 11/24 because it would not start and power outlet blown again. Multi point inspection performed, battery replaced and power outlet fuse replaced. The reason given was the glove compartment light switch was defective. This defective switch caused the light in the glove compartment to remain on therefore draining the battery. The battery passed prior inspections. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 292013

200 4-cyl

  • 35,889 miles
While driving 15mph in a 25mph zone due to not being able to see the road on a downgrade I almost hit an animal and coming close to also hitting a low center median being unable to see in front of my vehicle more than 10 feet or less. Informed Chrysler and as other people stated they want to do an adjustment and diagnosis of problem. I have and drive other vehicles and have not had this issue with anything else just this vehicle there is not enough light and the cutoff is seriously bad.

- Tarrs, PA, USA

problem #5

Dec 242012

200 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
I bought this car use with 27,000 mile on it. I have only had the car for 45 days or so. My car is jumping forward when I come to a stop. At first the lurching was very faint now at 31,000 miles the lurching is more pronounced. I took the car to the dealership prior to the warranty ending and they acted like they where unaware of the issue/or didn't understand the issue. Any way I am beginning to feel unsafe since it is happening more. The car lurched forward during a sudden stop one time, not good.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #4

Nov 262012


  • 2,000 miles


First time car wouldn't start. Dealership charged battery and did software update. Second time car wouldn't start they replaced battery. Third time car wouldn't start battery completely drained they said it was a glove box switch. Fourth time car wouldn't start they said it was the usb cable keeping the radio powered on all the time. Same Chrysler dealership worked on it all four times. Brand new car bought August of 2012. All four times have been in less than two months! this car is not safe. Chrysler is not doing the right thing by their customers! any help would be appreciated. In the usa we should not have to put up with being ripped off like this.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #3

Mar 272012


  • 40 miles
When going over the bridge or entering into traffic car seem to stall, radio and light shutoff and give me a error message enter id code. Have been nearly rear ended by on coming traffic. The console for the heat controls have fell down and dealersays they cannot find anything wrong with it. Purchased the car in March of 2012 and have had problems since I bought it. I love car but hate all the problems that I am having and it's only been 9 months and took it back to dealer about 4 times already and have an appointment on 1/11/2013.

- Salem, NJ, USA

problem #2

Aug 012012


  • 1,000 miles
Projector type head lamps are aimed too low and cannot be adjusted as designed. On dark roads peripheral lighting from head lamps is non existent. Brights are needed but not practical for constant use and is illegal in town as well. This is a real design flaw and some one is going to get hurt in a night time accident due to the poor design of the lighting system on this model.

- Galveston, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 102012

200 4-cyl

  • miles
I just rented the vehicle and noticed the following, the battery has no boot or other insulation device protecting either its positive or negative terminals. The battery is located down in a well in front of the front left tire. It would be very possible for someone to accidentally drop a metal tool down into that well where it could cause a short-circuit to the negative terminal. A short-circuited auto battery is capable of delivering hundreds of amps of current, which equates to an electric arc welder. The potential dangers of those unprotected battery terminals should warrant a safety investigation to determine if a recall should be initiated to correct this apparent desgin flaw.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?