Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,774 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #171

Jun 072016

200

  • 16,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. When coming to a complete stop and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle would continue to roll. In addition, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate when depressing the accelerator pedal and would accelerate without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed as needing a software update. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,500.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #170

Jul 072016

200

  • 7,756 miles
Driving in traffic at 30 mph approached traffic light with cars in front of me when my car down shifted to 5th gear it continued to pull the car at 20 mph until I finally had to hit the brakes to stop it this is an intermitting problem this has happened before

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #169

Oct 092015

200

  • 12,000 miles
Takata recall I started to notice that the vehicle would jerk when switching gears and would almost feel like it ran into a wall soon after I purchased it. Here recently it has happened a lot more frequently. I have taken the car to the dealer 3 separate times to see what the problem is. I was told they were unable to see the problem while they drove the vehicle so was unable to fix it. If I was able to make the problem happen I would as it happens sporadically!

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #168

Jun 202016

200

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact was able to slow down the vehicle. Also, when moving from a stationary position, there was a hesitation before the transmission would engage. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The dealer stated that the vehicle operated as designed. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000. The VIN was not available.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #167

Jun 202016

200

  • 200 miles
My original transmission was replace once, approx. (1) year after purchase. Since then there have been several revisits with the dealer to check the transmission for erratic shifting and free wheeling down hills. They have upgraded the firmware because they had issues that I have been experiencing. When travel at 25 mph the transmission will vibrate when shifting from 4th to 5th and back to 4th. When I come to a hill at 25 mph in 5th gear, it will coast then upshift to 6th (with vibrations). At 59 mph in 8th gear the car vibrates up to approx. 63 mph. Chrysler customer assistance center were working with me until I expressed I need something to be done (not feeling safe in this car), they now are stating (frank-customer service supervisor) that because the dealer who inspected the vehicle (did not allow me to ride with him when he did a test drive), cannot find anything wrong, the case will be closed. I received a communication stating that the case is closed as of 6/20/16. It is very apparent that Chrysler is now in a damage control since I asked to speak with a "Chrysler representative", frank suggested that I would not be allowed to speak to him because they do not deem the issue to warrant such a conversation. He also suggested that if I wanted a second opinion from another dealer, I would have to pay for the service cost. Frank also wanted to know who told me about the "Chrysler representative"? I do not feel safe driving a car that vibrates and free wheels at low speeds and high speeds. It is very obvious there is an issue and Chrysler wants me to go away.

- Zion Crossroads, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #166

Jun 162016

200

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at any speed, the vehicle cut off and completely shut down. On each occasion, the vehicle restarted after a couple of minutes without warning. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was discovered that because the vehicle was out of warranty, the diagnostic test would not be free. The failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Greenwood, FL, USA

problem #165

Jan 152016

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated and was slow to accelerate. In addition, the vehicle coasted in an abnormal way as the failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than four times. The dealer replaced the transmission body valve, updated the software, and made additional repairs, which did not provide a permanent solution. The contact stated that the nine speed transmission models failed and the manufacturer did not take action to address the software update failure since mid 2014. The contact also experienced the alarm system going off and, upon using the owner's manual instructions, the alarm would not turn off. The dealer stated that the software needed to be updated and that the manufacturer had not yet provided the software update necessary to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to disclose to the contact when the software update would become available. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer a fifth time because the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was not available....updated 08/29/16

- White Hall, IL, USA

problem #164

Oct 172015

200

  • 22,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, the contact mentioned that the vehicle violently jerked. The contact stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions where the technician informed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,500.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #163

Apr 212016

200

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the brake pedal was depressed. The check engine and transmission service needed lights illuminated. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road, restarted the vehicle, and resumed driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the pdc electrical connector failed. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Prosser, WA, USA

problem #162

Apr 282016

200

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving various speeds, the transmission jerked intermittently without warning. The contact stated that the keyless entry into the vehicle seized to work and the sun roof became inoperable. The contact stated that the failures did not occur until after the vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 15V090000 (power train). The contact stated that the remedy failed to repair the vehicle and caused more failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #161

Mar 102016

200

  • 17 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that there was a violent hesitation when driving. In addition, the vehicle jerked and vibrated intermittently. The contact stated that the brake pedal required to be depressed in order for the vehicle not to drive out of position. The contact also stated that when shifting drive to reverse, the vehicle jerked in reverse. The contact mentioned that the vehicle previously had the power train module and the transmission reprogrammed but the failure persisted. The contact also stated that a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) was received. The vehicle was with the dealer for over a month and no repairs were performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure on numerous occasions. The approximate failure mileage was 17.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #160

Nov 012015

200

  • miles
There have been 6 recalls on this vehicle and only 2 have been corrected by my dealership. They are waiting for parts to correct the others. The power steering part has been recalled since November 2015, and they are still waiting to fix it. I am the sole driver in my household with a family and only this car. I cannot return it, I can not trade it in I owe more than its worth. My credit is also shot.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #159

Apr 232016

200

  • 28,500 miles
The vehicle has just shut down in midst of driving no warning nearly rear ended on three occasions. Then will not shift into any gear it has been sent for repair twice. I am afraid to drive it again in fear of being in an accident due to vehicle shutting down with no warning. Vehicle is always in motion when this happens on busy city streets, when driving or turning. Please help! this is the 3rd episode 3/24/16, 4/16/16, 4/23/16

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #158

Oct 122015

200

  • 14,000 miles
"takata recall" on or about 8/25/15, I purchased w/warranty a 2015 Chrysler 200 (used). The car shut down while @ a traffic light. On or about 10/11/15. Towed to fulton Dodge, Jeep, Chrysler, sacto. Ca. for "recall repairs" I experienced the car making forward jerking motions when downshifting & coming to a stop on numerous occasions, again on or about Nov. 2015, I were at a local grocery store when the car would not start, and was towed to elk grove Dodge, Jeep Chrysler for further diagnostic and repairs. The car after several weeks driving started jerking upon downshifting and would skip the #2 gear. The vehicle in question was brought back into elk grove Dodge, Jeep Chrysler for further transmission & software repairs on or about Dec. 2015. Several letters and emails had been written to Chrysler corporation complaining about the matter. A "lemon law" complaint had been filed March 2016, settled on or about 4/13/16 with fca., buying back the Chrysler, and reimbursement of payments made, except reimbursement for keeping the car insured, I've yet to be notified when and where to return the "coffin" Chrysler. My life has been in jeopardy from day of purchase.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #157

Aug 032015

200

  • 2,000 miles
Takata recall well I guess I'll join in with the rest. My 200 is just about a year old. I have just a little over 10,000 miles on it. Been back to dealer twice with same problem. Speeds up when braking at about 35 mph. Then when accelerating engine dies and vehicle slows down....then speeds up. 1st time they downloaded an update... 2nd time they said nothing wrong that they could find. (according to diagnostic codes) I like my car.. let me know when they finally get a fix for this. This is on rural country roads mountainous and hilly. Itbis dangerous.

- Laurel Bloomery, TN, USA

problem #156

Mar 042016

200

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle vibrated abnormally while accelerating and decelerating. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the software for the transmission needed to be updated. The failure recurred five times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #155

Feb 022016

200

  • miles
I have recall notice 15V-470 in which I have contacted gladstone Dodge several times and I'm being told that "the power distribution center electrical connector" is unavailable for order. I have been working on this issue since I received the notice and have contacted gladstone Dodge on 2/2/16/ 2/12/16, and now again on 4/4/16. The dealership is not able to take names and contact customers because they don't know when to expect to be able to order the parts

- Platte City, MO, USA

problem #154

Mar 242016

200

  • 14,000 miles
The transmission went out the first day I leased the vehicle (3/27/2015). The transmission shifts very rough up and down. It will also jump gears on the downshift and propel the car. The transmission was replaced once. The issues are still present and it has stopped in the middle of traffic as a result of these issues just last week. A control module was replaced however, the other listed issues still exist.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #153

Mar 282016

200

  • 28,000 miles
I purchased the car and not 6 months later they did a recall on it. After this the car would always completely skip second gear when downshifting. So bad that it shutters back and forth when stopping, which startles me and sometimes its hard to run into people or objects. I have made several attempts to have Chrysler fix the problem but they tell me it's fine. The service people all agree that it's a huge problem but Chrysler continues to cover this up. When slowing down to a slow roll, a yield, and turning left or right, the car shifts erratically. The car will be in 3rd gear, when it's supposed to be in second gear but it won't downshift, the car will literally propel you when there is a slight acceleration of the gas pedal because it shifts into first like you're in a race car. At this point it's hard to maintain being in the lane you're trying to be in. Not only is this a huge safety concern but also nobody wants to ride in my new car because the ride is so rough. It's appointing and absolutely unethical the way Chrysler is treating me. I bought this car with money I saved from deploying to afghanistan and all for nothing. When I think about trading the car in, Chrysler dealerships tell me that they have to give me even less money for the car because it shifts how it does even though Chrysler says it's shifting as intended. I've been dealing with this extremely erratic shifting for a year now. Also when you're slowing down to a stop and don't stop completely the car will do a burnout at times, obviously launching you forward. In the snow and ice the car will downshift violently and causing the car to start sliding down hills. All these issues happen at low speeds from 2-5 mph.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #152

Jan 082016

200

  • 15,868 miles
Transmission was replaced due to recall now the gears dont shift right it vibrates and the car jumps forward on its own and takes off like a rocket sometimes in reverse I talked to Chrysler they had me bring it back to the dealer as I was driving on a city street the front axle came apart I had it towed they fixed the axle but not the transmission no fix is available is what they said then the left axle started popping I took it back the left strut had to be replaced but still no fix for transmission and its gotten worse.

- Enid, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?