Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,365 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #156

Mar 042016


  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle vibrated abnormally while accelerating and decelerating. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the software for the transmission needed to be updated. The failure recurred five times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #155

Feb 022016


  • miles
I have recall notice 15V-470 in which I have contacted gladstone Dodge several times and I'm being told that "the power distribution center electrical connector" is unavailable for order. I have been working on this issue since I received the notice and have contacted gladstone Dodge on 2/2/16/ 2/12/16, and now again on 4/4/16. The dealership is not able to take names and contact customers because they don't know when to expect to be able to order the parts

- Platte City, MO, USA

problem #154

Mar 242016


  • 14,000 miles
The transmission went out the first day I leased the vehicle (3/27/2015). The transmission shifts very rough up and down. It will also jump gears on the downshift and propel the car. The transmission was replaced once. The issues are still present and it has stopped in the middle of traffic as a result of these issues just last week. A control module was replaced however, the other listed issues still exist.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #153

Mar 282016


  • 28,000 miles


I purchased the car and not 6 months later they did a recall on it. After this the car would always completely skip second gear when downshifting. So bad that it shutters back and forth when stopping, which startles me and sometimes its hard to run into people or objects. I have made several attempts to have Chrysler fix the problem but they tell me it's fine. The service people all agree that it's a huge problem but Chrysler continues to cover this up. When slowing down to a slow roll, a yield, and turning left or right, the car shifts erratically. The car will be in 3rd gear, when it's supposed to be in second gear but it won't downshift, the car will literally propel you when there is a slight acceleration of the gas pedal because it shifts into first like you're in a race car. At this point it's hard to maintain being in the lane you're trying to be in. Not only is this a huge safety concern but also nobody wants to ride in my new car because the ride is so rough. It's appointing and absolutely unethical the way Chrysler is treating me. I bought this car with money I saved from deploying to afghanistan and all for nothing. When I think about trading the car in, Chrysler dealerships tell me that they have to give me even less money for the car because it shifts how it does even though Chrysler says it's shifting as intended. I've been dealing with this extremely erratic shifting for a year now. Also when you're slowing down to a stop and don't stop completely the car will do a burnout at times, obviously launching you forward. In the snow and ice the car will downshift violently and causing the car to start sliding down hills. All these issues happen at low speeds from 2-5 mph.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #152

Jan 082016


  • 15,868 miles
Transmission was replaced due to recall now the gears dont shift right it vibrates and the car jumps forward on its own and takes off like a rocket sometimes in reverse I talked to Chrysler they had me bring it back to the dealer as I was driving on a city street the front axle came apart I had it towed they fixed the axle but not the transmission no fix is available is what they said then the left axle started popping I took it back the left strut had to be replaced but still no fix for transmission and its gotten worse.

- Enid, OK, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #151

Mar 122016


  • 16,185 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle jerked when it was restarted. The contact was able to resume driving. In addition, each time the vehicle was driven, it jerked. The vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the failure recurred twice. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,185.

- Gaffney, SC, USA

problem #150

Nov 012015


  • 4,500 miles


Transmission lurching during braking or stopping, jerking when up shifting or accelerating while stopped

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #149

Mar 042016


  • 14,000 miles
The transmission does not shift correctly after having an update done to the tcm and PCM. The transmission had no issues before this occurred and now it shifts horribly while lunging forward coming to stops. Upon deceleration, it will not shift down from 3rd gear until the car is almost completely stopped then downshifts to 1st gear lunging the car forward. Even after stopping, the transmission will sometimes lag on take offs for 2-3 seconds then take off like the torque converter is not functioning properly. I have taken it back three times to have this issue fixed, two times they tried re-updating it and the third time replacing my PCM but nothing has changed this shifting. In fact, after the PCM replacement, the transmission seems to slip in 8th and 9th gears around 1750 rpms. It will also delay shifting up when climbing even the slightest grade even though the car is running at high rpms (5000-7000). This has been an ongoing process since the first update was performed in the midst of front hub replacement back in October or November with no ideas on how to remedy this situation. The car is less than a year old and has already been to the shop 7 times for reoccurring problems.

- Moundsville, WV, USA

problem #148

Nov 132015


  • 6,200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving approximately 15 mph, the transmission began to jerk when shifting from first gear to second gear. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation and driving low speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the transmission ECU was reprogrammed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 6,200.

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #147

Dec 152015


  • miles
I have been having tranmission issues I have already taken it 3 times to do an update and the transmission is still shifting rough in 30 or 40 mph it only has 5000 miles

- Alton, TX, USA

problem #146

Feb 052016


  • 21,500 miles


I purchased this vehicle used on 02/04/2016, and drove it off the lot the following day. I noticed almost immediately a defect in the transmission. During deceleration preceding a full stop, the transmission causes the vehicle to buck forward unexpectedly and substantially, which could cause potential injury or damage to any person or object that may appear in front of the vehicle at a moment when the vehicle has not yet come to a complete stop, but has slowed to a point where the vehicle appears to make no further forward momentum. This, along with the constant annoyance of anticipating and experiencing an uncontrolled forward moving thrust, compels me to file this report. Please note that I returned this vehicle following my complaint. The transmission was subsequently replaced which did not resolve the issue, but in fact continues to worsen with continued use.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #145

Jan 132016


  • 8,000 miles
I was driving my brand new Chrysler 200 that I bought 4 months prior and it was completely shutting off in the middle of the road... I lost control of steering until it shut completely off so I could restart it. Very scary when you have your newborn baby and 10 year old in that back seat. Not once did a check engine light come on or any sensor come on to tell me that my vehicle had no oil in it. So I believe the engine, electrical, and sensors are all messed on this vehicle. I do not feel like I should be stuck with it because in the back of my head I no longer feel safe in this vehicle. I am reaching out for help because Chrysler won't and I have owned this care since August and it was in shop for 17 days in January, I have it back but I still don't think it's running correctly.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #144

Sep 092015


  • 500 miles
Before reaching 1000 miles, I knew that there were terrible problems with the engine: Jerking, hesitating and stalling. These engine/transmission problems make my car unsafe to drive as we have experienced several close encounters with accidents as a result of these defective problems!!. I have complained to our dealership where I purchased my car. But for some reason they couldn't get me in to check on my vehicle because of so many of the same issues I was told & also stated that it wasn't their fault to check with Chrysler Corp?? since then was almost killed twice (my whole family)!! merging onto I-20 in Georgia, going about 50 while merging when there was a tractor trailer moving up quickly in my rear view mirror I hit the gas but nothing happened!!! I started yelling oh my god my kids screamed daddy my wife screaming then, the car shuts off so now im without power, the truck started laying on his horn then there was blue smoke from the tires of the truck!! "twice" this has happened!!! other incidents, while pulling up to a stop sign or stop light while slowing to stop it would jerk then speed up sometimes throwing me into on coming traffic!! something has to happen!! this car is a death trap!!

- Villa Rica, GA, USA

problem #143

Jan 052016


  • 14,000 miles
Engine blocked needed to be replaced at 14,000 miles. Since engine was replaced the transmission is not shifting properly. 2 dealerships blamed the "adaptive transmission" for the issues. I have had the quick learn rolled back 3 times and car is still not shifting or stopping safely.

- Mechanicville, NY, USA

problem #142

Feb 012016


  • miles
2015 Chrysler 200. Consumer writes in regards to multiple recall notices. Vehicle has loss complete power while driving and the replacement of the transmission and fuse box.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #141

Jul 012015


  • 350 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the transmission independently shifted into neutral. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted as normal. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. On a separate occasion while driving, the vehicle unintended increased acceleration. The failure also occurred when in the reverse position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on five occasions but the failure was unable to be determined. Most recent, the contact received NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 350. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #140

Jun 162015


  • 8,000 miles
1.delayed/harsh shift from 2nd to 3rd gear. Especially harsh when the vehicle was cold. 2.vehicle lunges forward when downshifting rapidly. For example, if I was driving 55mph and had to stop quickly, as the transmission downshifted the entire vehicle would thrust/jump around 3rd-4th gears. It almost feels like the car is going to accelerate instead of stopping. a situation where the vehicle is slowed, but not stopped, and then accelerated (such as exiting a parking lot onto a major road), once the accelerator is applied, the engine rpms shoot up, but the transmission delays dramatically before upshifting, causing the vehicle to jerk. speeds between 24-26mph, the transmission jumps around wildly between gears causing the vehicle to jerk. After multiple service visits and software updates, the transmission and torque converter were replaced. The vehicle has been driven for over 3 weeks since this repair, and issues 2, 3 & 4 still exist. Other issues: 1.intermittent extended crank time┐2-3 times longer than a typical crank before starting. A.engine code showed the dealership there had been extended crank times. Dealership attempted repairs, citing an oil pressure problem, but issue continued. B.on a separate service visit, we were told this was due to a recall and they were awaiting parts. C.recall work was performed around 12/1/15, but the issue still exists. The issue has actually gotten substantially worse since the weather has gotten cold. 5.┐park┐ not engaging properly. When putting the vehicle into ┐park┐, there was a loud clunking sound. When the brake was released, the car would roll forward. A.this issue seems to have been resolved by repairs around 12/1/15.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #139

Oct 302015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning and she had trouble switching gears. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #138

Oct 292015


  • 15,902 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated to completely stop. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle jerked without warning. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under an unknown manufacturer recall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician informed the contact that the vehicle was operating as designed. The failure recurred several times. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,902. The VIN was not available.

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #137

Jul 252015


  • 2,431 miles
We purchesed a 2015 chyrsler 200 in April 2015. In July the check engine light came on so the car was taken in on July 25th for maintenace and state inspection as well due to engine light being on and car shifting hard. Recieved call on July 27th stating car was ready for pick. On 07/27/15 car was returned due to check engine light coming back on, at that time was told car needed a new transmisson. Car was returned on 07/30/15 with new transmission. Starting in mid November the car began to shift hard again, called dealership and scheduled car for service on 12/03/15, was told car was fine per computer system. Once car was picked up from dealership and driven we realized car was still shifting and jerking hard. Took car back to dealership on 12/15/15 was told car was fine and that three other cars were tested and all had the same shifting issue. As of 12/28/15 car is still shfiting and jerking very hard with no resolve.

- Erie, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?