Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chrysler 300 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments

problem #13

Aug 252014

300

  • 148,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My cars electric control throttle warning signal came on. My car was going around a curve on a sunny day and the ABS warning light came on and also the warning light for no traction and I have new tires. The ignition sometimes fault when I turn the key to start the car.

- Lavergne, TN, USA

problem #12

Oct 142013

300 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Car is stalling all the time. It's very dangerous ! I believe it is very inappropriate for 100,000 customers to be having the same problem and Chrysler not recall and fix this problem. My car is in the shop now again !!!!

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #11

Jun 292014

300 6-cyl

  • 112,430 miles
I started up the vehicle and there was a weird noise coming from up under the hood. I thought it could have been the vehicle beside me so I turned my car off and the noise stopped. I started my vehicle again and heard the noise again. So I turned off the motor, raised the hood and observed coolant on the vehicle's frame and on the ground. I took the vehicle to a repair shop and they found that one of the two cooling fans separated and punctured the radiator in several locations. I learned of a recall for this issue with my particular vehicle but Chrysler is refusing to pay for the repairs stating that my vehicle is not included in the recall even though the issue specifically stipulated in the recall occurred to my vehicle.

- Interlachen, FL, USA

problem #10

Oct 012008

300 8-cyl

  • 38,589 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've owned the car for six and a half years now. At times the car just loses power without any warning. This happens intermittently and doesn't seem to matter what speed I'm going or what the road conditions are. It happens in good weather (dry roads) and bad weather (wet snowy roads). It's happened both with the cruise control on and off. It has happened at least 10 times to date. At times the car slows to almost a complete stop and then takes off again. At times it has come to a complete stop. I've had to turn the car off and back on again and it's fine. Lately when it happens if I press the gas petal repeatedly the car will take off again and be fine until the next time it happens. I've never had any check engine light or instrument panel light come on. I've taken it to the Chrysler dealer a few times throughout my ownership but it never duplicates the problem for them (of course). The car now has 113,000 miles on it and is out of warranty (figures). This is very dangerous.

- Greenville, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 012008

300 8-cyl

  • 38,589 miles
I've owned the car for six and a half years now. At times the car just loses power without any warning. This happens intermittently and doesn't seem to matter what speed I'm going or what the road conditions are. It happens in good weather (dry roads) and bad weather (wet snowy roads). It's happened both with the cruise control on and off. It has happened at least 10 times to date. At times the car slows to almost a complete stop and then takes off again. At times it has come to a complete stop. I've had to turn the car off and back on again and it's fine. Lately when it happens if I press the gas petal repeatedly the car will take off again and be fine until the next time it happens. I've never had any check engine light or instrument panel light come on. I've taken it to the Chrysler dealer a few times throughout my ownership but it never duplicates the problem for them (of course). The car now has 113,000 miles on it and is out of warranty (figures). This is very dangerous.

- Greenville, NY, USA

problem #8

Jul 062012

300

  • 78,395 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300 touring. The contact stated that while driving and stopping, the vehicle emitted a loud noise and the contact noticed that anti-freeze was leaking. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where they stated that one blade on the radiator cooling fan detached and hit the radiator, causing damage. The vehicle was repaired as the radiator cooling fan and the radiator were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were 78,395. Updated 9/10/12

- Lane , SC, USA

problem #7

May 262012

300

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped at a red light & front end began to shake, I pulled into a parking lot & shut car off. I got out and seen anti-freeze coming out, so I called aaa & had my car towed approx 38 miles to my shop. My mechanic picked the car up the following Tuesday & repaired it. He said the engine cooling fan assembly separated & two of the fan blades broke off & went through my radiator. After I picked it up, I began research on this problem. I found a ( campaign - radiator cooling fan replacement bulletin from Chrysler Corp. From June 2011 ( mdh 042912 ) that said the fan could separate & cause damage to the radiator, I never received notice & I gave them my VIN # & they said my vehicle was not part of the recall & would not re-imburse me for the repair or tow bill. They said that was for 2006-2007 & 2008 models built up to April 29, 2008 ( my car was built in may of 2007 ), I told them that the same problem listed in the recall happened to my car. I don't know what to do next except get a lawyer but can't afford it "???" [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pinellas Park, FL, USA

problem #6

Apr 032010

300

  • 61,000 miles
We had purchased a chrsyler 300 in Jan 20,2007 we got the car with only 42 miles on the car since 2007 the car had been in the shop of the dealership four times. In may of 2007 we took the car in cause the A/C was not cooling at all. The dealership told us that we needed a brand new A/C compressor so we said ok but when they fixed it we had to pay 650 dollars cause our warranty would not cover it so we said what about the factory warranty they said no also so that one was time. Second one was in 2008 shifter cable busted and the dealer ship told us that the cable got hot and it busted ok we didn't pay for that but we had to pay for the new shifter they installed cause they said that the shifter was broken I think they broke it cause it was find when we had it. Third one was in 2009 the cars computer went out and the dealership doesn't know why but that it had caught on fire so we just paid our deductible so I was ok with that. So I remember telling my wife lets see what goes wrong with the car in 2010. But this was the worst coming home from driving about 50 mph and the car shuts off and the brakes lock in place but lucky I was alone and not with my family. So I called a wrecker to give me a boost but they couldn't start the car so we took it back to the dealership comes to find out we have a blown motor and they said it was caused by not doing oil changes how an that be if we bring it here to get the oil changes so he didn't know what to say but im already 61000 miles and my warranty people old republic don't want to fix so we saw the motor and it was cracked in half so our family mechanic said that the metal shavings was due to the oil pump went bad so nobody wants to fix but it would cost about 8000 dollars for a new motor so people careful on what U buy.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 242008

300

  • 52,101 miles
I have a 2007 Chrysler 300 and I've had it for a little over a year. I admit I do drive frequently but I keep my vehicles in great condition. I have 52,000 miles on my car and my engine has gone out. How it happened I believe it had to be a lemon from the start, sad to say I don't want to pay for a new engine and I don't have an extended warranty.I wonder what possibly can I have done about this.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #4

Jun 032008

300

  • 17,776 miles
My Chrysler 300 is 1.5 years old with less than 18,000 miles on it. It has been in the repair shop (dealership) twice for major problems. This latest one is life-threatening. The engine suddenly just stops. The car immediately looses power and coasts to a stop. No warning. The engine dies and steering becomes very difficult. I just spoke to the service rep and he says they can't find anything wrong because the engine light doesn't come on. This car is a real hazard and could potentially cause a serious accident. I've filed a complaint with the Chrysler corporation but have not heard back from them. I will never buy another Chrysler product.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #3

Feb 112008

300

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. In February of 2008, while driving 25 mph, the vehicle stopped in the middle of traffic and had to be towed. The motor sustained more than $2,000 worth of damage. A few pistons were replaced and other repairs were performed. In July of 2004, the contact began hearing a ticking sound and the vehicle shut down and would not restart. The vehicle is currently in the repair shop again for what she believes to be the same failure. The current mileage was 26,000 and failure mileage was 18,000.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #2

May 292008

300

  • 36,700 miles
My husband is in the military, therefore we are stationed in new orleans, la. On May 25, 2008 we had a terrible rain storm in the city. We live in base housing so we park our vehicles in a parking lot. At about 5:00P.M. the end of the parking lot were my 2007 Chrysler 300 limited was parked begin to flood with water. My husband went out to move the car from the before the water got to high. At this time there was approximately 3 inches of water on the ground. He backed the car out of the parking space to move it. One of the neighbors was coming the parking lot at the time and forced my husband to drive out into the street and re-enter the parking lot. As he drove out into the street, I noticed that he immediately stopped. I went out to see what was wrong and he told me the car shut-off. A couple of our neighbors helped him push it out of the street into the parking lot. Not sure what was wrong we called out insurance and they sent out a tow truck to get the vehicle and take it to a near by Chrysler dealership. The dealership called on Friday to let us know that the vehicle sucked up water through the air intake and hd=ydrolocked the engine. After doing some research we found out the air intake for this car, and its counterparts the Dodge charger and magnum, are located on the bottom of the front bumper approximately 20in. Above the ground. I have researched this issue and have been amazed how many people have had this same problem because the air intake system is poorly designed. Chrysler needs to own up to this design flaw and take responsibility for the problems it is causing. I watched numerous other vehicles drive down that street that day, some at a much faster rate than my husband, and they had no problems. This is really a bad design. Chrysler needs to recall all 2006 and 2007 Chrysler 300, Dodge magnum and Dodge charger. Our insurance should not have to pay to have my vehicle repaired for a poorly designed system. I hope to here from Chrysler soon!

- Pinola, MS, USA

problem #1

May 072007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The vehicle was purchased on February 11, 2007 and the malfunction light remained illuminated for two days. On February 17, 2007 and February 22, 2007, the vehicle began to shake while being parked. The owner called carmax and made an appointment to have the vehicle diagnosed. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. While driving 50 mph and greater, the vehicle's shaking intensified. A forensic expert with daimler Chrysler stated that two brains were defective in the vehicle and both were replaced. After the repairs were performed, the shaking worsened. On May 7, 2007, the vehicle was towed to carmax where it currently remains. The current mileage is 2,600 and failure mileage was 8. the consumer stated vehicle makes popping sound when shifting gears and check engine light illuminated and then went off. Updated 06/07/07

- Compton, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?