Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,624 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 7 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #73

Nov 282013

300C 8-cyl

  • 100,995 miles


In August of 2012 my vehicle had around 76,000 miles and it was the first time I experience my vehicle stalling out and turning off while driving at around 30mphs, I pulled over and tried restarting my vehicle and notice there was loss of power and engine was behaving abnormal. I turned it off and restarted after a few minutes and that's when I hard a loud metallic engine noise. I had my car towed to puente hills Chrysler dealer and they told me I had no compression in a few cylinders, due to their bad customer service I had my vehicle towed to an independent shop that told me this was a common issue with all Chrysler and Dodge vehicle's with the 5.7L engines. After diagnosing and taking the valve covers off they found the valve seats had dropped and bent the valves. Total cost was $3,500. Now, November 28, 2013 with 100,995 miles on my vehicle, same thing happened again, vehicle stalled at around 10mphs and once again when trying to restart heard the metallic noise coming from the engine area. This time they are charging me $4,000 to have it fix.

- Hacienda Heights , CA, USA

problem #72

May 152012

300C 8-cyl

  • 86,598 miles
My 2006 Chrysler 300C was a car that was well taken care of. It had less than 90,000 miles at the date of the incident. I was in a drive-thru and I turned off the car to save fuel. When I went to restart the vehicle, the car made a loud grinding noise that sound similar to sticking a baseball card in bicycle spokes but much louder and stronger. I had the car towed to chuck clancy Chrysler and I was informed that a valve seat had dropped and destroyed several cylinders. The bill was $3,000. This car was always maintained by maintenance records and the oil changed with pennzoil platinum ultra. To add to this story, I received the car back and the same issue happened again two weeks later. Needless to say, I was out another $4000 for this repair. Chrysler refused to cover it and gave me the cold shoulder. I would never purchase a Chrysler product again.

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #71

Nov 042013


  • 76,500 miles
The engine abruptly stalls shutting down power steering and brakes while in traffic and oil pressure is reading 0. turn ignition switch off and car restarts perfectly with nl oil pressures. This has happened twice nearly causing accidents. Would probably be fatal if on interstate. There is absolutely no warning. There was also no error codes stored in the cars computer.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #70

Sep 152013

300C 8-cyl

  • 94,120 miles


5 minutes after filling up my 06 Chrysler 300C srt-8 6.1L at a gas station I was crossing over traffic to make a left turn and my car died in the middle of oncoming traffic. It took several minutes to restart then lurched forward after put into gear. This is the second time right after filling my tank this has occurred. The time before it stalled merging onto interstate on ramp.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #69

Nov 172013

300C 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
This issue has been happening for the last year or so. My car stalls for no reason it happens when I am backing out of parking spot, stopped at a light, entering or exiting the freeway, while I am driving on surface streets and when I am driving on the freeway. If I am driving on surface streets or freeway the car does not stall but momentarily dies (for a half second). My engine light flashes and all the gauges on the dashboard go to 0. the car will then come back to life and continue to operate normally but can "die" again a few moments later or not at all for days or months. It feels like an electronic issue but it is very difficult to say has there is no common characteristic between each incident and there does not appear to be any common environmental issue that causes it. The issue is intermittent does not happen often but happens often enough that it is a concern. Some days it will happen repeatedly then not happen for months. Lately it has been happening more frequently I have taken my car into the dealership twice. The first time they found no codes and could not determine there was an issue as the issue is intermittent. The second time I had a engine light and they found a code for tcm sensor but stated that was not the problem. They said I had too much transmission fluid that caused a sensor to malfunction, they removed the excess fluid but the issue has still persisted. The most recent incident did not trigger any codes.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #68

Nov 112013

300C 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
For the past several months, every time I fill up with gas, my car dies several times before I get home, which is about 5 miles from the gas station. Sometimes it will speed up without me pushing the accelerator just before it dies. It dies before I get out of the gas station, sometimes. Other times it dies as I pull to a stop at the light 1,000 feet from the gas station. The most recent occurrence was 2 days ago. I've had it to the dealership service department twice for this, but they can't find anything wrong. The fill up before this last one, I only filled the tank half full, and it didn't die, so it must be something to do with filling it all the way up. I don't top the tank off, either.

- Parkville, MO, USA

problem #67

Nov 112013

300C 8-cyl

  • 90,660 miles


I had just made a left hand turn onto an access road going approximately 35mph. I noticed my car was bucking and seemed to sputter. First the oil light came on followed by the engine light along with all the dashboard lights. Once the lights went off, I had lost all power. The steering wheel was very difficult to turn but I managed to turn off onto a side street and get out of traffic. Thankfully I had not yet made it onto the expressway, which by the way was during 5 O'clock rush hour traffic! I sat there for a minute and then tried to restart the car. It started up and was drivable. It still sputtered some on the way home. I am hopeful I can make it back into town and take it to an auto repair shop. My car is a one owner car that my late husband bought for me. I love this car. Although it is beginning to have issues and I don't know how much more money I can keep putting into repairs. I have had to have to replace the water pump on two occasions. The latest one was replaced in April, 2013. I have had the module front control & ignition switch both replaced at the dealership @ 83,918 miles 5/31/2013. I have it scheduled for a tune up and fuel injector tune up ironically tomorrow morning before the stalling issue happened. I have felt the car sputter and buck before and I thought it was due for a tune up. However, now I believe this is all together a separate issue. Hopefully Chrysler will step up to the plate and recall these vehicles to be repaired at no expense to the owner.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #66

Oct 292013

300C 8-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
After filling up with gas I went about 2-3 miles on US1 in wake forest, after stopping at the light at us1A I proceeded to turn onto us1A and my car stalled. I was in the middle of a lot of traffic and I had to manage to turn onto the side of the road and restart the car to continue to proceed. After traveling about another 1 to 2 miles it stalled again. This is the second time after filling the gas tank that this has happened and when the vehicle stalls I lose power steering which makes it very difficult to drive.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #65

Nov 052012


  • 105,100 miles
I bought my 2006 Chrysler 300C brand new & I've been the only owner. It was purchased straight from daimler/Chrysler, ordered & built to my selected specifications through Chrysler. I set the order in February 2005, it was built & finished 11 Nov 2005. This was done while I was finalizing my career in active duty military service & retired. I returned to the U.S. 7 Jan 2006 & that's when I saw & picked my then brand new 300C. I fell in love with that car ever since. I truly love this car & to this day still love this car. I've never had any major issues with this car from day one otherthan putting gas in it, very dependable car. In 2007 June I was diagnosed cancer of the bone & blood (multiple myeloma, stage 4). After being hospitalized for apprx. 18 mths, one day while coming from chemo it started to over heat & blowing steam, had it towed to nearest dealer & had to have the fans & the sensors replaced, 1st major problem, then after that it was the shift lever stuck in park, then the "a" frame & control arms, now in Nov 2012, after attending my grandmother's funeral, I filled it up @ a gas station & it shut off, would start back up but continued to shut off. There was no check engine light then once I got it started it would sputter, kick, & stall, this was repeated for several miles down the hwy & was fine til I had to fill it up again from then on it continued to do so every fill up. I did receive an indication of the gas cap (replaced) then June 2013 I filled it up as usual & it shut off & it was difficult to restart, I waited & start it again it did so I pulled on to the road, it began to stall, sputter, & buck, as I crept home, I heard a loud crackling sound lost all power, had it towed was told #4 vlv had fell down in the cylinder, after 3 months 2008 5.7L engine put in, problem still exist, evap solenoid, canister, pump, & filter assembly replaced.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #64

May 192013

300C 8-cyl

  • 75,598 miles
Engine stalled for first time less than 2 miles after fill up at 25 mph on city street. Immediately loss power assist of both steering and brakes. Car weights 4040 lbs and I had a difficult time pulling into a parking lot and getting the car stopped. Car was immediately restarted. No future problems until nearly every refill when it stalls within first few seconds or 2 miles. Car now has 79550 miles. My wife drives this most frequently but I always fill the gas tank. I told her when it stalls, steer straight, put car in neural, restart, and hope you do not have to stop quickly. In NHTSA action number PE13016 Chrysler's [xxx] letter Aug 9, 2013 last page 17 states "if a stall after refuel conditions occurs, the vehicle has functioning steering and brake systems". true but with out power assist on steering and brakes car is very difficult to control. Most women and small men would have difficulty safely stopping car. Chrysler concludes this issue poses and minor risk to vehicle safety. I am a retired mechanical engineer and worked 40 years with power trains and strongly disagree. In this review vehicles 5, 6, and 7 all had problems with swollen refueling floats allowing the floats to stick and not function properly. All three cars were 2006 300C with 5.7 liter hemi engines the same as mine.. on 15, Chrysler acknowledges the vent valves was changed for my 2007. This appears to acknowledge a poor or faulty design in my 2006. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gardendale, AL, USA

problem #63

May 052013

300C 8-cyl

  • 115,320 miles


My vehicle will stall out on me intermittently. It mostly happens right after I get finished putting gas in my car. Unlike most other stories I've read about overfilling the gas tank, this happens to me sometimes when I put just a half of a tank of gas in my car. Now, as of Nov. 7, 2013, it's done it well over 100 times; that's since the first time it happened in May. The dealership is a complete scam. They know this is a defect. They've charged me to fix everything from egr valves to pcms to spark plugs. Nothing has worked.then finally I decide to do some deep research, that's when I decided to file my complaint. There are 2 major issues I have. When at highway speeds, I'll lose all power and throttle response for a split second, then it'll kick back in. It's extremely dangerous, to say the least. The more frequent problem, is the car completely cutting off while either at idle, or traveling at a lower speed. Both situations happen almost always directly after I put gas in my car. This happens so much that it is becoming unbearable. Sometime it starts back up, and sometimes I have to wait a minute or two. It's ridiculous. I don't mind paying to have my car serviced. However, diagnose the problem, know that's the problem, and let's get it fixed. Don't run me through $3,000 worth of repairs, knowing that you've got countless others with the same model and model year, coming in around the same time, complaining about the same problem. You know what it is. That's no coincidence. And quite frankly, it's fraudulent. I've got my 5 year old son riding in the back seat. What happens the next time my car stalls out on the highway and loses power, with another car tailgating me" what if it's a tractor trailer next time? will they have enough time to brake or plow into the back of me" more unnecessary stress and worry for the loyal consumer. Thanks Chrysler.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #62

Sep 022013

300C 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The car has been stalling out after being started. Now it is almost shutting off or becoming unresponsive mid acceleration from a stop sign. The car will at random stall. The engine does not need to be restarted so far while driving. It will "die" for a few seconds and then comes back again just short of complete engine shut down. Rear window on passenger side is also non responsive. It has only worked once since I have had the car.

- Laurel, DE, USA

problem #61

Nov 042013

300C 8-cyl

  • 113,332 miles
My husband filled up the tank on 110413 (already had 1/4 tank). I drove to and from work, but once I backed into the yard the vehicle would not crank again. As I revved the engine the car would act like it would continue running after the initial start up, but as soon as I took my foot off of the accelerator the car cut off. I had to have the car towed to a Chrysler dealership, but no one mentioned the issues that customers have been having with this specific vehicle (2006 300C with hemi). Vehicle is currently in the shop and the mechanic mentioned it might be the engine... oh really!!!!!

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #60

Oct 032013


  • 62,000 miles
I was pulling into a parking lot when my car stalled. I was able to restart and continue. But this happened again about a week later. After that I drove it for about a month and half, no problem ! I read a lot of the complaints and several people indicated that it happens when they refill. Well I kind of agree with that. Now its 11/01/13 and today I turned right into a parking lot and it stalled that was on Friday. Since then it has stalled several times but restarts ! I took it to the Chrysler to dealer on Monday. $700 at end of day, was told the pc needed to be updated. And needed a tuneup.. tue it stalled again. Problem not solved. Well today 11/05/13 its at dealer again. They don't know what's wrong with it. I love this car and I have taken very good care of it, its like"???"

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #59

Apr 242013

300C 8-cyl

  • 26,950 miles
After filling my gas tank, at 1/2 a tank, I pulled away from the pump and the car stalled. After restarting I continued on my way. Every time I slowed down for traffic, or a stop sign, or traffic light, the car stalled. This happened 6-8 times on my way home where the car was parked until the next day. After starting, the engine "spitted, and spurted" on acceleration. It then smoothed out, and ran fine, until this latest incident. Also, the last time the car was fueled, it would not accept gas, the hose kept shutting off. Tried another pump, same result, went to another gas station, same result.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #58

Dec 142012

300C 8-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Engine stalls has occurred multiple times. Been in shop all 6 times. In there today. Stalled as I was driving at 60 miles per hour. I had no control over steering or anything. Just had to coast with emergency flashers on till it came to a stop, I also had just filled with gas each time it has stalled.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #57

Oct 212013


  • 86,437 miles
After filling up the fuel tank from a start of 1/8 th to full tank, the car stalled after leaving the service station about 200 feet down the road while stopped at a light. After getting the vehicle restarted I began to accelerate from the stopped position but driving power train was fairly erratic as the car attempted to lurch forward or accelerate unpredictably then would pull back by nearly stalling. This continued for several miles before reaching my driveway. The car while in neutral loped substantially from 2000 RPM to 100rpm several times before stalling. Attempting to start the car after stalling was successful. Leaving the car parked and off for 60 minutes had no beneficial effect. After returning the starting was very difficult and the instrument panel gauges were not lit until the car started again. The car continues to be idle erratically both while in park and in drive and at slow speeds.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #56

Mar 012013


  • 38,000 miles
Im hoping this post will get us some help and answers about the problems we are having with our 2006 Chrysler 300C. We bought the car in November of 2011. It had less than 33,000 miles and was in great condition. We absolutely loved this car for about the first year, but then the trouble started and it is now an ongoing nightmare. It started stalling and dying constantly, usually when we were going slow or stop and go, but a few times when driving 35-45 mph. We had purchased a 2 year/20,000 added warranty when we bought the car (expires in Nov 2013 which has me worried) so all of the servicing and repairs have been done at our local dealer. So far, they have done throttle body clean, cleaned A/F box and replaced filter, coolant flush, steering system flush, fuel kit, changed out fuel tank, vapor canister, leak detection pump filter, new factory battery, complete tune up, oil changes, and more. Not all of this was covered by the warranty, so we have spent thousands of our own money on repairs and rental car all the times it has been in the shop since it is our only car. On October 16, we had to have the car towed back to the dealer because it was dying again and wouldn't stay cranked once put in gear and start moving. As of this morning, still no word from them on what they think it is this time, and yet another rental bill while we wait. In the two years we have had this car, we have only put about 10,000 miles on it, it has less than 43,000 miles. This car has way too few miles and has been too well taken care of for it to be having this many problems. All the things they have done and its still doing the same thing! this is a big safety issue because when it dies, you have very little to none of the steering and brakes. Luckily, we have not had it die in major traffic yet, but I am afraid to drive it now for fear that we are going to be in a wreck because of it.

- Orange, TX, USA

problem #55

Jan 212013

300C 8-cyl

  • 65,409 miles
When I filled the fuel tank the car would stall leaving the service station. Then it started when I was driving slow over rough pavement or speed bumps. At these times I did not realize the car had stalled until I saw the oil light on. The dealership could find nothing wrong with the car but suggested that the oil pressure switch be changed. The problem stilled persisted so I had the car tuned up. Problem still continued and so I stopped buying a particular brand of gas because while leaving the station which is on the incline the car stalled and a bunch of lights came on and one indicated a problem with the gas. I have had the fuel injectors cleaned and stopped topping of the tank but the problem has not gone away. I have to drive two major highways for doctor appointments and cannot afford to have this car stall like this in major traffic. The car will be going along smoothly and then it starts lurching like I am trying to accelerate and brake at the same time. This presents a dangerous situation. The car goes in tomorrow to be checked again.I had driven 25 miles since the last fill and the car acted so erratic that I an afraid to drive it because you can't control where it is going when it stalls (no brakes or power steering.

- Knightdale, NC, USA

problem #54

Sep 252013

300C 8-cyl

  • 186,030 miles
I was on the way to a doctors appt with my pregnant daughter on 264 heading towards chesapeake, va. I was doing 55 mph and the tank was on 1/8 th of a tank. As we were driving, about 15 min later, the car lurched, a ding was heard, the etc light flashed, the rpms dropped to 0, then resumed a second later causing the lurching forward. About 3 to 4 minutes and intermittently over the next 15 min later, it did the same thing, but also stalled at the stop lights on the way there. No codes came up when diagnostics were put on it. The throttle control unit was replaced and a relearn was done, this did nothing. Same thing happened. I have read many other reports of this happening and no one has an exact fix for this. Also, may have nothing to do with this, but about 2 weeks prior to this happening, I was filling up with gas and the tank overflowed. No problems occurred through the next 3 or 4 fill ups, the tank was on an 1/8 when the first hesitation and stalling occurred.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?