Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser clutch problems

clutch problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments

problem #8

Sep 222006

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 65,102 miles


: the contact stated when the clutch was engaged at any speed, the transmission did not shift into gear effectively. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, who was unable to determine the problem. The vehicle was subsequently taken to a private repair shop, who determined that the clutch assembly had come apart. There was a NHTSA recall# 03V076000, which pertained to the clutch assembly. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 072006

PT Cruiser

  • 30,186 miles
2003 PT CRUISER clutch does not disengage. The clutch would not disengage and as a result the vehicle jump backwards about 6 feet in the consumer's driveway. The flywheel and clutch assembly were recalled, recall 03V076000. The consumer continue to have clutch problem after the recall repairs were made. The vehicle has been take to three different dealers on four different occasions. The transmission has been pulled out of the vehicle three times.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #6

Jul 202005

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 31,000 miles
There is no one specific incident date. (see related correspondence 10161568.) date unknown: Remedy for recall 03V-076 provided by goeke Dodge. No transmission problems noticed prior to this date. 07/20/05: Clutch failed to disengage during unrelated warranty work at goeke Dodge. Recall remedy provided for the second time, at no cost to owner. 05/01/06: Clutch intermittently failing to disengage. Clutch fluid found leaking at improperly connected quick disconnect by kahlo Chrysler, fluid and labor $91.98. 06/07/06: Clutch intermittently failing to disengage. Clutch kit and input shaft replaced under extended pt warranty by champion Chrysler. Date unknown: Clutch failing to disengage. Clutch line slave cylinder replaced by champion Chrysler.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #5

Sep 012004

PT Cruiser

  • Manual transmission
  • miles


Consumer has been experiencing problems with the 2003 turbo charged Chrysler PT CRUISER. Clutch when depressed to start the vehicle it feels like it does not have any pressure and drops to the floorboard. The mechanic replaced portions of the clutch.

- Belen, NM, USA

problem #4

Jan 222005

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,270 miles
2003 PT CRUISER GT purchased brand new April 29, 2003. Clutch has failed 3 times over 10 consecutive months. March 8, 2004 mileage " 19,842: Driving home at night entered onto the 60 fwy East the clutch goes out on the freeway in traffic! have truck towed to jammin Dodge Chrysler that night. The car is almost 12 months old! March 12, 2004 removed and replaced clutch module assembly. Car picked up. December 17, 2004 mileage ? 35,930: This is just 9 months after the clutch was first repaired! clutch goes out. While attempting to start the car; it launched forward because it was in first gear. It misses the concrete walkway to my office building by less than a inch. December 21, 2004 star Chrysler repairs clutch January 22, 2005. Mileage ? 37,275: Just one month since last repair to clutch! I am driving to bank in morning. I come to stop at the end of my street at the stop light. My car clutch is malfunctioning. I stop the car. I try turning it off and then back on. The car launches forward hitting the bottom of the truck in front of me. The man gets out of the truck. He looks and there is not damage to his truck. He asks me did I see him" I told him that my clutch went out and he came over and saw how the clutch just went to the floor. He shrugged his shoulders wished me luck and took off. My grill in the front is bulging. My license plate frame cracks. And the top of my bumper is scratched. I call aaa. Have the car towed to jammin Dodge in pomona. I request no work to be done. I will call Chrysler corporate Monday morning. I will no longer drive this vehicle as it is not safe.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Mar 042004

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,300 miles
2003 Chrysler PT CRUISER 5 speed turbo: On 3 occasions, with the clutch in the car lunged forward upon ignition. 1st incident around 12,000 miles then again a few hundred miles later twice. The dealership is not familiar with this problem & not too motivated to fix it. What do I do now?

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #2

Jun 052003

PT Cruiser

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
NHTSA#03-V-076-000:on certain passenger vehicles, manual transmission models only, a welded pin internal to the dual-mass flywheel (dmf) assembly can unseat and become lodged between the flywheel and the clutch disc. The consumer purchased the vehicle on May 23/2003 and on May 25/2003 the clutch assembly failed.

- Waverly, WV, USA

problem #1

Feb 072003

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The vehicle would suddenly accelerate while stopped at a light or a stop sign. The recalled clutch assembly was replaced.

- Camas, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?