If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$637.00
Average Mileage:
51,827 miles
Total Complaints:
9 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (5 reports)
  2. cylinder 3 exhaust valves burnt (1 reports)
  3. injector replacement (1 reports)
  4. replace fuel injector (1 reports)
  5. replace fuel injector and map sensor (1 reports)
2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments

problem #9

Jan 112011

PT Cruiser Touring Edition 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,828 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

this thing has been a problem from the first day we got it,the pressure switch was replaced

- , Clayton, New York, USA

problem #8

Jan 172011

PT Cruiser Touring Edition 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,995 miles

it needed camshaft position sensor,valve stem,and 1 tire

- , Clayton, New York, USA

problem #7

May 302009

PT Cruiser

  • Manual transmission
  • 48,000 miles

January 19, 2011

C. Robert Kidder Chairman – Chrysler Group LLC P.O. Box 21-8004 Auburn Hills, MI 48321-8004

Complaint Ref #20327496

Dear Mr. Kidder:

As the father of six, a retired United States Air Force Technical Sergeant, a current High School Higher Mathematics teacher and the present owner of a 2007 PT Cruiser, I would like to express my complete dissatisfaction with both the reliability of the Chrysler 2007 PT Cruiser and the consumer relations division of your company.

On March 31, 2010 the Heater Core of my Chrysler PT Cruiser blew. I took the vehicle to a reputable auto repair shop to be fixed. When attempting to order the part from your local Chrysler dealer, the shop was told the part was on back order. I contacted the customer assistance number on your website. The representative indicated that, according to their system, there was only one available in all of North America – in fact it was not. After many days, multiple phone calls and much frustration, the backorder was finally filled and my car repaired and returned to me on April 13th, 2010.

On June 2, 2010 (just before our family’s 2,200 mile planned vacation) the Heater Core went out again. I took it back to the shop and they replaced it saying they were glad they had ordered a spare of the part.

On June 4, 2010, half way into our trip the Head Gasket blew; stranding us over 500 miles from both our destination and our home. We were stuck in the middle of nowhere for 5 days – virtually half of our vacation. The repair shop said that in all probability the Head Gasket blew from overheating caused when the Heater Core went out. While replacing the Head Gasket, they discovered the two Exhaust Valves for cylinder three were burnt and needed replaced. This explained a previously “unexplainable” cylinder three misfire code. Online suggests that this is a common unexplained problem of the PT Cruiser. The mechanic, a previous employee of a Chrysler Dealer’s Repair Shop, said there had been no other explanation for this other than “Manufacturer’s Defect”. On June 9, 2010 we gave up on our vacation and returned home.

On August 10, 2010 and again on October 15, 2010 the Heater Core blew . . . two more times!!! Each time it was replaced under the repair shop’s one year parts and labor guarantee. Because of the frequent reoccurrence, the repair shop checked the car’s electrolysis system to verify that nothing else was causing the problem.

On December 3, 2010 the Heater Core blew again! In the process of replacing it . . . yet again, the repair shop asked David Stanley Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge what was going on with these parts. Their only response was that it will once again be guaranteed, just like all the previous ones. I ask you sir, was this supposed to inspire confidence in the reliability of my vehicle?

I followed up with a visit to Norman Nobody Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge, where I purchased the 2007 PT Cruiser (new), requesting the sales manager. After listening to my concern, your Chrysler representative first attempted to lay the blame on the repair shop(s), suggesting that, “Since they weren’t Chrysler/Jeep certified, maybe they didn’t know what they were doing.”

When I suggested that being out of stock nation wide might indicate a recurring problem with the heater core, your Chrysler representative’s response was, “That just tells me we have a lot of 07 PT Cruiser’s on the road.”

Finally, when I pointed out that this appeared to be an escalating, repetitive problem, he asked me how many miles the manufacturer’s warrantee was for – I told him 36,000 miles. He then asked, when I began having these problems – I answered, at about 48,000 miles. Your representatives response was, “Well, it worked fine while it was under warranty. What do you want me to do about it?”

Mr. Kidder, I have a large family and somewhat limited resources. When I bought a new 2007 PT Cruiser, I anticipated a reliability of more than 36,000 miles.

On January 17, 2010, the Heater Core blew . . . again. Now, David Stanley Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge is saying that they “can’t keep replacing these, even though the parts are obtained from here and we have not been able to get one to last three months”. The repair shop has no problem honoring their one year parts and labor, but they are upset at their loss of income for having to cover these “warrantee repairs”.

Again Mr. Kidder, when I purchased this 2007 PT Cruiser, I thought I was buying a reliable, affordable vehicle from a reputable company, for myself and my family; not a burden that would cost thousands in repairs, breakdown on an almost monthly basis, prevent us from venturing any measurable distance with any confidence, and introduce me to the epitome of Chrysler Customer Service. My one year parts and labor will expire soon, and because of my experience and the frequency of the part failing, I am tremendously concerned. I am currently unable to afford a new vehicle – what do you suggest I do?

Sincerely,

Michael P. Ellis 4720 Bomarc Dr Del City, OK 73115

Cc: Sergio Marchionne, Chief Executive Officer - Chrysler Group LLC Doug D. Betts, Senior Vice President, Quality – Chrysler Group LLC Brian Pritchard, Sales Manager – Norman Nobody Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge Joe Costello, Parts Department Manager – David Stanley Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge Oklahoma Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Protection Unit Central Oklahoma Better Business Bureau

- , Del City, OK, USA

problem #6

Sep 182010

PT Cruiser 2.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving Home and the Check Engine Light came on and the car just died. I ran the code and it was P0340 (Camshaft Position Sensor Circuit Senor A Bank 1 Malfunction). I clear the code so that I could a least make it home. Called the dealership but can not get it until next week. Car is still under warranty and have had other problems as well this is just the major one.

- , Hilo, HI, USA

problem #5

Mar 142008

PT Cruiser Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,384 miles

Cause: E Test drove and verified #2 Misfire, replaced spark plugs and wires for arcing flashed.

4 S3RE14MCCs Plug

1 5018394AG Cable

I left the dealership Ron Sayer in Idaho Falls and the light came on within an hour.

- , Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

problem #4

Dec 042009

PT Cruiser Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,120 miles

20th Centry Ford, Dodge in Blackfoot, Idaho

Took the car to a dealership 30 miles from Idaho Falls. The car was there for 1 week.

Installed 4891574AD (FP): Injector: Fuel Diag P0304 Miss Fire #4 Cyl Test in Sys Pass Compression test, Pass Remove Upper Intake, Replace #4 Injector and passed Test Drvie.

I drove the car 30 miles back to Idaho Falls the following week and around town. Light came on again that same day. I now have had the car in to the dealerships many times with no value added 5 different times, with the same issues. I also, took it somewhere to have them check the code with light one other time, and it was a fuel injector misfire. Rented a vehicle to go on my scheduled vacation and left the vehicle with the dealer. They didn't work on it for that couple of weeks and said, it was because I had the code reset.

Car is not worth the money I have invested and is now upside down to even trade it in.

- , Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

problem #3

Nov 032009

PT Cruiser Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,305 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ron Sayer Idaho Falls

Cause: E 1200 Active Code - Tested spark plugs and wires, also tested compression and replaced #4 Injector. Replaced Map Sensor.

Part 4891574AD Injector

Part 5033224AB Sensor

I have had this car into the dealership 5 times and the problem returns (if the car is at a stop light, the light will come back on. I put $9,000 down on this car and purchased it March 14th, 2008 with 9 miles on it. I have paid almost for 2 years on the loan and it is a 4 year contract. Still owe $10,000 and someone told me the car would only be worth $8,000 for a trade in. Went out and purchased a 2001 Chevy with 33,000 miles for $5,000 to have a car to get to and from work. The new car has spent time waiting to be repaired and for parts to be ordered from Denver.

- , Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

problem #2

Jun 052009

PT Cruiser Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,357 miles

Ron Sayer Idaho Falls

Cause:E 1200 Cylinder #2 Misfire - Replaced fuel injector, test drove no misfire felt found, engine operation OK. 1 4891574AD Injector.

I asked why the fuel injector's keep going out. Maybe just a bad part or bad gas. I put the most expensive gas and I have had this car maintained.

I can't count on this car to get me to and from work.

- , Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

problem #1

Sep 112009

PT Cruiser 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,456 miles

The engine light came on for the first time in Dec 2008, lost power in engine and took to dealership (still under warranty)--I'd had the car for only 2 months!! The dealer said there was fuel in the engine and plugs and wires had to be replaced. Supposedly all was taken care of--car ran good for 8 months. In Sept 2009 the engine light came on again--took car to my mechanic and found out 3rd cylinder was not pulling enough pressure--upon taking it apart they found the 3rd cylinder was totally gunked up and needed scraping and cleaning. Seems to me that is what was supposed to have happened when the car was @ the dealership, while it was still under warranty, in 2008!!! I have not even had this car for a year!! IT SEEMS TO ME THAT IF CHRYSLER MADE ALL ITS CARS W/ QUALITY PARTS THAT THESE KINDS OF PROBLEMS WOULDN'T COST CONSUMERS ADDITIONAL EXPENSE--WE ALREADY PAY TOOO MUCH FOR THE VEHICLE AS IT IS!!!!!! I WOULD LOVE FOR CHRYSLER TO PAY FOR @ LEAST HALF OF THIS REPAIR---CHRYSLER IS NOT IN ANY MORE FINANCIAL STRAIGHTS THAN I AM!!! PLEASE SEND MY 'BAILOUT' CHECK OF $700!!!

- , Indpls, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?