Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,203 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Avenger electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Sep 012011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle conditions only happen when it is raining outside. Vehicle stalls or idles erratically during deceleration and hesitates when taking off from a stop.

- Clinton Twp, MI, USA

problem #37

Nov 012010

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My 2008 Avenger stalls when accelerating. It seems to happen when it is wet and cold out. It happens mostly when you are at a complete stop and push the gas or when you are slowing down and the accelerate. I have almost been in several accidents due to this happening. I have taken it to the Dodge dealership and they said they can't find anything wrong. There is definitely something wrong.

- Beaver, PA, USA

problem #36

Dec 052011

Avenger

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact was not able to start the vehicle. The contact stated that a lightning bolt failure icon appeared on the instrument panel during the failure. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 94,000.

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #35

Apr 122011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle from a used car lot a year and a half ago. From the very first day I purchased the car, I had problems which are recorded with the place of purchase. I was told I could not get my money back. The only remedy offered was for the actual car dealership who sold me the vehicle would fix the problem. The first problem iv'E had started with the head lights, it then went onto my entire electrical system that gives mileage, warnings ect went out. Soon after that the alarm system, horn, and door locking system. There after "a pin" in which holds the gear in place went out and would not operate. The next thing that went out was the entire air conditioning and heating system. On or around April 12 there was a what looked like a spark near the air conditioning panel. When I removed the panel, there was evidence that there was a small spark or fire that actually melted a switch on the cooling and heating elements. It has yet to work since then. Today the 11/29/11 my car completely stalled while I was turning into a very dangerous intersection. This car is a total death trap waiting to happen. Unfortunately I am a single mother of 3 children with very little options financially to do otherwise. I have attempted several times to schedule recalls to be fixed by the Dodge dealer and they have not been helpful at all. There is no rental car offered and the estimated time of repair is not feasible. I hope this information will help.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #34

Aug 212008

Avenger

  • 75,900 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact was driving 45 mph when the engine stalled. The vehicle was restarted and taken to the dealer who confirmed that the alternator was defective and there was as short the cruise control. The manufacturer was contacted and stated the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V152000 (electrical system: Wiring). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,900.

- Pearl, MS, USA

problem #33

Sep 192011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
We were driving on the highway about 65 mph when our electric throttle control indicator light along with our engine light came on. When this happened we did not have a speedometer or RPM gauge. All of the lights that are related to the shifter (park, neutral, drive) also all lit up. The car did continue to drive but had less power. We pulled over and turned the car off. We tried to start it again but it would not start at first. The power locks and truck release would not work either. After about 5 minutes we tried it again and everything worked. The check engine light did stay on but the car drove fine. The engine light is still currently on.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #32

Jun 012011

Avenger

  • 99,939 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the etc warning light illuminated and as a result, she was unable to start the vehicle. In addition, the vehicle would surge forward intermittently. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The current and failure mileages were 99,939.

- Anderson, IN, USA

problem #31

Jul 292011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
I have a 2008 Dodge Avenger that burst into flames all of a sudden when I was headed home from work during rush hour on a city street doing between 25-30 miles an hour. There was no warning when a man started shouting for me to get out of the car. In another half an hour my kids would have been in the car. This is the third time I've heard of this happening with this Chrysler made car, yet the insurance is giving me the run-A-round. I'm sure with instructions from Chrysler. I need them to pay up, I need to be able to get to work and take my children to day care. I could have been killed cause there is obviously a defect in the engine or fuel system.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #30

Jun 242011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • miles
My 2008 Dodge Avenger had been sitting in front of my house since the beginning of May 2011. On the 24th of June 2011 I decided to take it in to the Dodge dealers to have it fixed. While driving on the highway the car suddenly started to make a loud roaring noise and jerk. I drove into an exit in order to get off the highway. While trying to turn the steering wheel to enter the yard of a station I noticed that there was no response. The car kept sliding towards the curb. I had to quickly pull up the handbrakes to stop the car from running into the curb and beyond. Then it stalled blocking the entrance to the gas station. Before totally stopping, all the lights and indicators on the dash board were going on and off like crazy this is the second time that I have had to tow the car in to the Dodge people. The first time, in 2010, the shift stick would not budge from park to drive and the car just wouldn┐T start. We had it towed to the Dodge dealer in baltimore. In January of 2011, we had had to take the car in to Dodge repair shop for a problem for which they had recalled their vehicles, including ours. We mentioned to the mechanics at the Dodge repair shop about a loud noise that we were hearing. They had said that the loud noise was probably the alternator. We bought this car in March 2009 at a Ford dealer in baltimore. We noticed very soon after, that the clock raced ahead. Next the controls on the driver's side stopped working and would not lock nor unlock any of the doors. Only the controls on the passenger's side worked. The cost to fix the alternator is $650. It has cost us, not only car rental fees taxi fees and towing fees, but the uncertainty of safety on the road. This is a very unfair deal for any consumer. This is a vehicle that needs to be recalled and consumers compensated or refunded..

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #29

Apr 162011

Avenger

  • 55,000 miles
Purchased my 2008 Dodge Avenger in April 2008 and have had nothing but problem after problem with it first the air bags were recalled then the latches on the doors were recalled. The tire pressure sensor light just never goes off most recently the fuel pump went on the vehicle costing me close to 700 and now the alternator which is going to cost me another 600. What kind of vehicle did Dodge build. This is some bs an all of this is while the vehicle only has about 65000 miles or less N it.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #28

May 302011

Avenger

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated while driving 40 mph there was an electronic control model light that illuminated causing the vehicle to shake uncontrollably. The vehicle was parked on the side of the road because the contact was unable to drive due to the shaking. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic. There have been no diagnostic test performed. The dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Falling Waters, WV, USA

problem #27

May 052011

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
Vehicle stalling since date of purchase February 2009. Brought into dealership with complaint and they replaced the fuel pump. Problem continued with the addition of a gas smell after initial start of vehicle. Have brought the car in for service to dealership and they could not find the problem. Brought the vehicle in for other complaints and I again told the service dept that the car continued to have the same issue with the stalling and gas odor. The service dept tool my car for a test drive while I was still there and since they could not replicate the problem my vehicle was not serviced for the issue nor was it fixed. I called to have the vehicle looked at once again in February 2011 and was told I would be called by the new person in charge of my car and I did not receive a call. I did speak with someone giving them the details of the fas smell and the stall issue. After 2 weeks of no return call I called the service dept and was told my warranty had just expired and would not be covered. When I spoke to the service dept in February I asked about several recalls that had to do with the electrical wiring of the same model and year as my vehicle and was told it did not include my VIN # but there are numerous complaints of electrical issue of these vehicle and the service dept cannot seem to find the electrical problems until the car completely breaks down. On May 5, 2011 my car stalled again and the dealership says it is an electrical problem with the car. My car would stall several times a week while sitting at a light and the gas smell would occur everytime I start the car. The dealership does not know how to fix/find the problem until the car no longer runs. The electrical issue burned out the battery and could have caused a serious accident.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #26

Feb 162011

Avenger

  • 57,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Avenger. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact pulled the vehicle to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technicians stated the battery and fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was aware of recall 08V152000 (electrical system: Wiring) and was informed by the manufacturer the repairs had been performed on the vehicle prior to the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 57,300.

- Coalinga, CA, USA

problem #25

Dec 272010

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
I have a 2008 Dodge Avenger rt. In the beginning of December, when I would start up my car all of the warning lights would come on and then the car would cut off. I would try again in 30mins or so and it would start and stay running, but the engine light would stay on and read no bus. Eventually the light went off and the car ran fine. The same problem happened again except this time the car wouldn't come back on. I had aaa come out to charge and check the battery, and they said that my battery was dead, but it was a good battery. Something in my electrical system was causing it to drain. I took my car to thompson Chrysler and told them that it wasn't the battery. They claimed to fix the problem days later, but within an hour of picking it up I had the same problem, warning lights except this time the car was shaking violently. I took the car to them 4 times with today being the 5th. They replaced my battery 2 times as if that was the problem and ripped out my alarm system the last time. I had to pay for this, but the same problem is not fixed. Corporate was of no help in the situation. I am seeking legal counsel because this morning I was in the middle of the road when the car shut off. I'm just relieved that the baby wasn't in the car.

- Edgewood, MD, USA

problem #24

Jan 092011

Avenger

  • 90,000 miles
I have a leaky trunk in my 2008 Dodge Avenger. My window also stopped working on my drivers side. After searing the internet I discovered many others with this same issue. If an official recall notice was made this would prevent vehicle owners from spending thousands of dollars on repairs that should be made by the dealer. The trunk has been leaky since I bought the card and Dodge keeps telling me nothing it wrong. It also makes my third break light go out I've been issued 3 police warnings for this. I hope I never get a ticket. Also, my window is now stuck down and if it rains I will have damage. As for the trunk its also moldy and makes me sick when I get into the car.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #23

Aug 252007

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
A/C is blowing out hot air, I was told by the dealership that I needed to get a replacement computer component. I told them at the time that my car has only 70000+ plus miles and that should not be replaced plus I had older cars and people with older cars never once had to get the ac fix and they have over 150000 to 200000 miles on their car. Mean while back several years ago, my car caught on fire do to hay falling in the road, therefore all wiring/equipment under the hood got replaced. Currently my driver side seat belt does not stay fasten all the time.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #22

Jul 072010

Avenger

  • 56,000 miles
While I was driving with the air conditioning on I noticed the left 2 vents were coming out warm air. A couple days later there was a mist coming through the only 2 vents that work. I took it in and was told my heatercore/heater housing was broke. That would cost $900 to fix. Also I have had my car stall 6 times, mostly when it is raining and I am coming to a stop sign or stop light. I took it in for that but they couldn't find anything. I also had the clock run 2 min fast every day or two. That had to be updated which doesn't make since to me since it is a 2008 car. It should not need an update on the clock. That was $50. The car has 56,000 miles on it.

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #21

Jul 192010

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,700 miles
Automatic transmission: I was not able to put the car into drive, reverse or neutral.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #20

May 212010

Avenger

  • 78 miles
My 2008 Dodge Avenger started making a loud noise. The dealership told me it was my alternator. But I have power to everything. They told me they could get one for $360 +100.00 labor. Total miles 78,000. I was also told by the dealership that this has happened alot on mini vans.and other cars, but come to find out it may just be the clutch bearing and only going to cost $75 to fix. Seems to me Chrysler would not try to sell you things you don't need. Someone needs to bring them to the carpet. The car was only 3,000 miles out of the ext.ml.warranty.

- Millport, AL, USA

problem #19

Apr 052010

Avenger

  • 47,009 miles
April 5, 2010 my 2008 Dodge Avenger totally stalled out on me and I had to maneuver my vehicle to the side of the road and put my vehicle into park. This is the third incident in which this has happened, the first incident was on the highway going 55 mph and stalled out with traffic in back of me.I currently have my vehicle in the shop because my car shut down once again and the radio completely shut off. Everytime this happen there are no codes which appear on the diagnostics. I am confused what to do about this vehicle it is unsafe and want to know what I can do.

- Dover, DE, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?