Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,098 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Avenger engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments

problem #17

Nov 162016

Avenger

  • 141,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Etc (electronic throttle control) has cause my car to be out of operation twice in the past month alone. I had the car repaired and it is already broken again within a months time.

- Macon, MO, USA

problem #16

Sep 302016

Avenger

  • 90,000 miles
Takata recall 2010 Dodge Avenger. My lights blink on and off inside my car. My throttle control light came on. My car pauses at intersection like its going to just stop. Like it can't make it down the road. I'm worried for my childrens safety also my own.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #15

Apr 292016

Avenger

  • 90,000 miles
The etc body has been replaced twice within 6 months and now needs replaced again. The car accelerates on it's own, stalls out and doesn't start consistently. The car has been running and stalled, the car has been at a stoplight and thrusts forwards on it's own, making it unsafe to drive

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #14

Jun 142015

Avenger

  • 61,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electronic throttle control warning lights came on while driving 15-20 mph. The light stayed lit while driving on an interstate highway. The car has less power train compare when I bought it. I have concern that the car will stall while driving on the road.

- Inwood, WV, USA

problem #13

Sep 092014

Avenger

  • 88,250 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the electronic throttle control light illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who recommended that the electronic throttle box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,250. The VIN was not available.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #12

Jan 162013

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 37,439 miles
The car would sputter like it was having a hard time accelerating then the electronic throttle body light came on. I was on my way to a dealership to find out what was wrong. I was merging onto a busy interstate when my car went from 60-65 mph down to 30-35 mph while I was still trying to speed up to merge onto the interstate. This incident came very close to resulting in me getting rear ended. The next day I went and had the whole throttle body replaced (January 2013). In October 2013 I started to have the same problems, the throttle body light would come on and the car would sputter like it couldn't pick up speed or it would rev up while I was slowing down. I had the throttle body cleaned and it ran okay for a week or two. Then September 2013 I took it to a dealership yet again, they said it was old codes causing the problem. They cleared the codes and it was fine for a little bit. Then around April 2014 it would start up again. It would run fine and on occasion the throttle control light would come on. But in August 2014 it started acting up again. The rpms would rev up from 1 to 3 while in park. I would be sitting at a red light with my foot on the brake and the car would rev up for no reason. It has completely stalled out on me two days in a row. Luckily it was when I was in parking lots. This is a newer car and there is no logical reason to have this much ongoing trouble with the throttle body except some kind of defect. It is also very dangerous. Because it will act up a day or two then be fine for a few days making it difficult for a shop to actually see what the car is doing. The light comes on and it acts up and sometimes when you turn the car off and back on it'll be fine. But the fact that it will stall out or decelerate with no notice is very dangerous especially since I drive on a busy interstate at least twice a day.

- Spanaway, WA, USA

problem #11

Jan 162014

Avenger 4WD 8-cyl

  • 37,439 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car would sputter like it was having a hard time accelerating then the electronic throttle body light came on. I was on my way to a dealership to find out what was wrong. I was merging onto a busy interstate when my car went from 60-65 mph down to 30-35 mph while I was still trying to speed up to merge onto the interstate. This incident came very close to resulting in me getting rear ended. The next day I went and had the whole throttle body replaced (January 2013). In October 2013 I started to have the same problems, the throttle body light would come on and the car would sputter like it couldn't pick up speed or it would rev up while I was slowing down. I had the throttle body cleaned and it ran okay for a week or two. Then September 2013 I took it to a dealership yet again, they said it was old codes causing the problem. They cleared the codes and it was fine for a little bit. Then around April 2014 it would start up again. It would run fine and on occasion the throttle control light would come on. But in August 2014 it started acting up again. The rpms would rev up from 1 to 3 while in park. I would be sitting at a red light with my foot on the brake and the car would rev up for no reason. It has completely stalled out on me two days in a row. Luckily it was when I was in parking lots. This is a newer car and there is no logical reason to have this much ongoing trouble with the throttle body except some kind of defect. It is also very dangerous. Because it will act up a day or two then be fine for a few days making it difficult for a shop to actually see what the car is doing. The light comes on and it acts up and sometimes when you turn the car off and back on it'll be fine. But the fact that it will stall out or decelerate with no notice is very dangerous especially since I drive on a busy interstate at least twice a day.

- Spanaway, WA, USA

problem #10

Oct 052013

Avenger

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the traction control warning light illuminated intermittently. Additionally, the contact stated that while at a stop, the vehicle surged forward and the engine rpms increased. The contact applied excessive force to the brake pedal in order for the vehicle to come to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Brostol, ME, USA

problem #9

Mar 032014

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 39,150 miles
Car was having trouble starting but would always go, then one day needed to have it jumped since battery died. Assumed it needed a new battery. Next day driving on the highway when car started accelerating sluggishly was struggling to reach 60mph and rpms were about 7-800 higher than when normally at that speed. Called local Dodge dealership to schedule repair and the service tech stated that they had numerous problems with throttle body. After checking this websites complaints and recalls section I see dozens of similar complaints where the throttle body was the core issue. There should be a recall since failures are nearly identical with this model.

- Chilliwack, WA, USA

problem #8

Mar 042014

Avenger

  • 95,760 miles
The electronic throttle light came on and the car would not go over 15 miles per hour. I pulled over, turned the car off and it restarted. The light eventually went off and kept coming back on with the car not being able to accelerate over 15 mph. I took it to the Dodge dealership today and they stated that the throttle body needs to be replaced. The cost of the part alone is $257 which is on back order. There are over 1200 on back order at this time. They also checked to see if this part would be included in the 100,000 mile powertrain warranty which it is not. This is part of the powertrain and should be included in the warranty through Dodge. There should also be a recall on this part. Evidently there are more people with the same problem since there are 1200 on back order.

- Rockholds, KY, USA

problem #7

May 212013

Avenger

  • 64,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph the electronic control warning indicator illuminated with a sudden reduction in engine rpms. The accelerator pedal was engaged but there was no response. The vehicle was coasted into a nearby parking space and the failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not driven after the second failure occurred nor was it diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 64,800.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #6

Feb 182013

Avenger

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the thunder bolt warning icon illuminated and the vehicle decelerated independently to 15 mph. The vehicle then became resistant to acceleration attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the contact was informed that the throttle body would need to be cleaned. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred the following day. The vehicle was returned to the dealer and the contact was informed that the throttle body would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 68,000.

- Marianna, AR, USA

problem #5

Mar 152012

Avenger

  • 46,800 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. The contact was driving approximately 55 mph when the vehicle began to lose power and stalled. The etc warning icon illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stopped the vehicle on the shoulder and restarted the vehicle. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic advised the contact that the throttle would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 46,800.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #4

Jan 092013

Avenger

  • 68,631 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the electronic control throttle illuminated while driving at low speeds and the vehicle stalled. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle began to function normally after it was restarted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,631. The current mileage was 68,645.

- Parksville, GA, USA

problem #3

Sep 272011

Avenger

  • 7,900 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated and failed to slow down. When the brake pedal was applied the vehicle continued to accelerate and crashed into two nearby poles. There were no personal injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle sustained moderate body damages to the front end and driver's side area. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for repairs. The cause of failure had not been determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,900. The VIN was unavailable.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #2

Aug 062011

Avenger

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the throttle control light illuminated on the instrument panel. The engine then began to lose power, but did not stall. The contact also stated that vehicle would experience a hesitation when attempting to accelerate. A mechanic informed the contact that throttle issues were a common problem for this model year vehicle. The vehicle had not been inspected. The failure and current mileages were 32,000.

- Woorster, OH, USA

problem #1

Jan 192010

Avenger

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Avenger. While driving approximately 50-55 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle hesitated and stalled. The contact restarted the vehicle which functioned properly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who could not duplicate the failure. The failure continued and the dealer was once again able to duplicate the failure. The throttle was replaced on the third visit but the failure continued. The manufacturer had not been notified. Also the contact stated that there was a problem with the brakes as they were noisy when the contact was driving in reverse. The brake pedal extended to the floorboard and popped back up when depressed. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 13,000 and the current mileage was 17,386.

- Texas City , TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?