Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,694 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Avenger drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments

problem #16

Jun 012016

Avenger

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Avenger. When attempting to accelerate the vehicle at highway speeds the vehicle hesitated before accelerating. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who was unable to identify the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #15

Dec 032012

Avenger

  • 65,225 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Avenger. While the vehicle was stationary, the traction control indicator illuminated without warning. The contact stated that the transmission had a downshift issue and would not switch gears properly. In addition, the engine overheated due to a coolant overflow. Furthermore, the engine made a loud shaking noise while driving. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was approximately 65,225.

- Edmonds, WA, USA

problem #14

Sep 092016

Avenger

  • 49,000 miles
About 3 weeks ago, I was driving down the highway and the etc light came on for a split second, the car wouldn't accelerate, than the light shut off and drove fine. For the next few day's it did it once or twice on the highway when I would go up hills. The last day I drove it before taking it to a mechanic it did it again, only this time the light didn't shut off and I had to pull over on the highway. I shut the car off and it started, there was no light on so I began to drive. About 10 miles down the highway, the light turned on again and the car wouldn't go over 60mph. I got it to a mechanic shop. They did a diagnostic test and couldn't tell me what exactly was wrong with it. They said they cleaned the throttle body but it didn't help and suggested that I take it to the dealer ship. I called the manufacturer to see if there was a recall and to see about a warranty. They said that I still had power train warranty and should take it to the dealer so they could do adiagnostic test. After telling them what the other machines did they said it probably was the throttle body but it's not under power train warranty. They manufacturer said they would get back to me about who's going to cover the cost.

- Casper, WY, USA

problem #13

Jul 262013

Avenger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since day one I have been having with my 2013 Dodge Avenger shifting rough, constantly shudderring, and clunking the dealership and Chrysler will not fix the problem

- Gautier, MS, USA

problem #12

Jun 092015

Avenger

  • 42,252 miles
6/9/15 car in motion city street refused to accelerate. Coasted to side. Dealer ship replaced tran pump& torque converter. 7/21 at stop light heard hard knock, stuck in 1st gear coasted to side. Dealership did tran overhaul. 7/29 again! on freeway complete shut down of engine and electrical and coasted off freeway ramp. Glad we did not get killed. Dealership said fixed issue. My son nor I will drive it any longer. Other issue was airbag light continuously on 2nd dealership said airbags may not work. Glad no accidents occurred.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #11

Sep 032015

Avenger

  • 54,000 miles
Recently purchased this vehicle and after a week and a half, noticed that my car is not gearing correctly on its own and at times decelerates when trying to accelerate. Also when shifting vehicle from park, reverse, drive, etc... it makes a jump with a loud noise.

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #10

Sep 172014

Avenger

  • 11,980 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Picking up change (money) the top bezel cut finger. Due to flaw in plastic resulting in sharp edge on top front of piece.(bezel trimming). Chrysler sent a inspector out twice. Inspector stated to me. All the vehicles were made like this. Dealer replace shifter bezel trimming and stated a flaw in the plastic resulting in sharp edge on the top front of piece. New bezel trimming still sharp. But not as ragged. Chrysler stated in a letter dated 10/03/2014 I received. The inspector found no indication of a manufacturing defect that caused or contributed to my finger being cut. This is not safe. It is being swept up the rug.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 162013

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
I purchased a brand new 2013 Dodge Avenger with the 3.6 engine and six speed tranny about a work later I noticed rough shifting clunking and popping sound from the motor mounts and constant thumping and shuddering from the transmission. Dealership keeps saying is wrong with it and will not help me. One year later same problem still no help.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #8

Oct 222012

Avenger

  • 13 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Avenger. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle failed to shift into the next gear. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 13.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #7

Jul 072014

Avenger

  • 23,052 miles
Previously had issue with transmission, valve body replaced and now having same issues as before it was repaired approx. 15,000 miles ago. On July 7th I was passing a vehicle in a passing lane, once I got passed the vehicle and on top of a hill I released my foot from the accelerator only to have my car continue to accelerate to the speed of 82 mph. On its own. My cruise was not on so this could not be the problem. I have never used the cruise and would never have it set over 82 mph even if that could be an issue as I have been asked. Extremely scary situation but the brakes did engage when applied and I was able to slow to a safer speed (with my knees knocking in fear!) I have not had this checked yet knowing that the answer from Chrysler and the dealer will be "we are unable to duplicate" or "your car is just learning how you drive" (granted I have been driving it since it was brand new). I am extremely nervous to drive this vehicle or have my children or anyone in this vehicle with me.

- Alexander, ME, USA

problem #6

Jan 022014

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 29,376 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car has had a vibration and trans shift problem sense the day I purchased the car. From there it has just gotten worse. The car will down shift on it's own to first gear wile driving at highways speeds. This has happened multiple time which usually causes the trans to fail. When this vehicle down shift at highway speeds it causes the engine to exceed the RPM that the dash can even show. The trans has been replaced 3 times. Being rebuilt twice and a full new replacement the 3rd time. The first rebuild did not last 5 miles from the dealer before it failed. The second last about 4500 miles and failed. The 3rd trans did not fix the problem and now because the engine has been forced far past what the rpms it should exceed there is now a noise coming from the engine. I have had this vehicle in multiple times to no avail it's still not repaired I was told the vibration was tires. Dealer replaced rims and tires. Problem is till there took it in many more times was told it's bad tires. I have replaces the tires with 3 different sets. Problem is till there. Dealers have told me there is nothing they can do to fix the problem they can't figure it out. Was told by Chrysler that they were done fixing it and I was on my own that they don't know how to properly repair the vehicle as they can't duplicate the problem. I feel this vehicle is not safe to drive and posses a risk to my self and other drivers on the road was told by Chrysler llc they can't duplicate it to drive it how it is please help.

- Melvin , MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 012013

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
I purchased my car (SXT V6) 5/2013 from joe cecconi's in niagara falls, NY.. I've previously owned a 2008 Avenger with the 4 cyl. Engine and I am a driving enthusiast. I felt the car shifting roughly and I decided to take the car in to the dealership on 10/12/2013 because I was also having a problem with the car pulling hard to the left. The techs assured me that the car was only "learning how I drive" and I explained that my 2008 did the same thing. For the pulling, they did an alignment. When I picked the car up, I drove it and it was about 2 weeks (10/31/2013) before I was able to take it back in due to the same issues; pulling, shaking and a hard shifting transmission. The tech once again told me that there was nothing wrong with the transmission and that my car was way off alignment...even though it was recently serviced. Around 12/5/2013, I took the car back once again and I spoke to a tech around 6pm and he told me that Chrysler uses "snowmobile type transmissions" and that they will always shift roughly, he explained that there was no fix. I was told that they could not service my car at that time of day. On 12/11/2013 they did a wheel rotation and an alignment, the car stopped pulling for several months, pulling is very slight now, possibly due to needing another alignment now. I have an issue where I will also be traveling in what should be third gear shifting to fourth (attempting to pick up speed quickly, usually thruways) and there are times that the car will not pick up speed quickly, as if it was sitting in sixth gear rather than third or fourth. This issue is not always present and I have decided to drive the car with the auto stick since there is no failure in shifting this way. The rough-shifting transmission is something that Chrysler has known about in the Dodge Avengers for a long time but they seem to disregard their Avenger owners.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #4

Dec 152012

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
Back of car slides for no apparent reason took to dealer 3 times they don, T have a fix for it chyrlser is going to recall these at some time don't know when.very unsafe to drive they won't give me different car to use until fixed. What happens when I have an accident "?" it is only certain suspension packages that have this problem they tell me they don't know to fix it. I bought this car new how they can allow these cars to remain on the road is dangerous please respond let me know what to do.

- Stacyville, IA, USA

problem #3

Feb 042014

Avenger 6-cyl

  • 13,200 miles
I was accelerating to 30 mph with traction system on than my car started to slow down had high RPM but speed was decreasing almost had a guy rear end me bc of the speed accelerated fine than just dropped this is the 2nd time this happened to me within a week.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #2

Jan 312013

Avenger 4-cyl

  • 701 miles
Bought a 2013 Dodge Avenger in Jan 2013 within a couple weeks of purchasing the vehicle I start having "transmission problems".. when I would take off from my work parking lot at lunch my car would shutter.. a few times at lunch it would not start! I called dealership about how strange my car feels. Seemed like it was slow at changing gears and would shift hard. Dealership can not find any thrown codes and doesn't feel anything! so I leave frustrated that they can not feel what I am feeling so I take it to my home town dealership tell them about what I feel everytime I take off from a parking lot. ( Feb 7th 2013) what they believe is that my car is "trying ro learn how I drive" that they updated my computer. They sent me about my way a few days later when I try to leave work I have to try 4 times when starting my car before it fires off! I then go straight to our local autozone they put a tester onmy battery it shows up weak. Then they test my alternator it shows up bad. I have been given two manufacture advisors and havesince been to red river for diagnosis yet to get accomplished! it is now Aug 2013 this past Sunday I picked up my 6 yr old father as I was leaving a parking lot my car shift hard then did right before I was able to pull out into traffic!!! which is not the first scary car traffic incident we've had in this car! we were out for the weekend here in ar. We were on landers road which is a complete circle almost that exits into high speed traffic where my car then proceeds to shutter as I take off from the exit which was extremely terrific considering it was coming a down pour! at this time red river Dodge service men saythey know what I am claiming to feel that it is the way Dodge has made their transmissions that this has been a problem in the past and that they are still seeing this problem with other new models. Say I'm stuck w/it bc they rep.

- Batesville, AR, USA

problem #1

May 242013

Avenger 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Avenger. The contact stated that the vehicle began to shake while driving at high speeds and there was also a problem shifting gears. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer were it was purchased three times, but the dealer was never able to determine the failure. The contact took the vehicle to another dealer who determined that the valve body needed to be replaced. The vehicle also back fired and was sluggish. The dealer planned to repair the vehicle, but did not know if this would correct all of the problems. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 6,000.

- Alexander, ME, USA

Not what you are looking for?