Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2007 Dodge Caliber has all kinds of suspension problems at relatively low mileage: typically 40-50,000 miles.

The most commonly reported problems are with ball joints & control arms going bad. Tie rods & leaking struts are also reported failing in the same mileage range.

Unfortunately all the suspension problems means some owners only find out after they notice their tires are ruined.

We've given the 2007 Caliber our worst rating because these problems happen at such low mileage, & it involves a wide range of apparently defective parts. With most other cars, major suspension work is pretty rare under 50,000 miles.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,717 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Caliber engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Caliber:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Caliber Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #4

Jun 022008

Caliber 4-cyl

  • 1,298 miles


I drive a 2007 Dodge Caliber. It had 9,125 miles on the odometer at the time of purchase. It currently has 13,001 miles on it. I have owned it for 2 months. Several times the engine has stalled while I've had it in neutral or reverse. I've mentioned it to the dealership when it first occurred. They had me bring the car in to get it looked at but they said they found nothing wrong with the vehicle. It has been one month since they have looked at the vehicle and the same situation has been occurring repeatedly.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #3

Nov 302007

Caliber 4-cyl

  • miles
My 2007 Dodge Caliber has been in and out of the shop 8 times (invoices enclosed). And 5 of the complaints were about the rattling my engine was making. Nov 11 " rattling on passenger side also a ticking noise in the passenger side. Result: Tech found missing bolt on fender causing the rattle. Nov 30 ? rattling noise in engine area; also rattling noise when on incline and accelerates result: No service performed ? unable to duplicate. March 28, 2008 ? engine making noise rattling noise on the passenger side. Result: No service provided " unable to duplicate customer concerned, they suggested a part for my vehicle. They ordered it and called me when the part was at the shop.) April 12, 2008 -they replace the exhaust mid-pipe isolator, re-torqued the mid-pipe clamp. April 17, 2008 " I told them the car is still making rattling noises and they typed " customer states veh. Making noise in front of the veh. Result: They erased & reprogrammed gpec powertrain control module with new software. They told me my car was fixed I took it on a test drive. They did not fix the problem. I never took the car home with me. It stayed in the shop for another week.) April 23, 2008 ? customer states veh. Making rumbling noise at 1500 RPM. (this has been the same complaint over and over again.) result: Idler pulleys causing excessive vibration. Replacement of the idler pulleys. Now, the rattling is minimal, however I still hear it, constantly, and the nerve wrecking ticking on the passengers side of the car. I told them now that the rattling is minimal the engine still does not sound right (straining) and now there are other noises that can be heard while driving. This car has cut off on me while making a turn and has almost stalled on me, now, three times.. I wrote DaimlerChrysler a third letter -please take action under this act: Virginia motor vehicle warranty enforcement act. I hope they take this car back... I don't feel safe driving my daughter or myself around in it.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #2

Jun 152006

Caliber 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 430 miles
The first week I heard a hard & solid click noise coming from the rear of the vehicle 6-15-06. On 6-18-06 while in stand-still traffic the vehicles oil light lit up & chimed prior to the engine stalling & in neutral with the clutch to the floor. On 6-19-06 I took it in to the shop. John and I returned to the dealership 6-22-06 spoke with bob corlette about the multiple mechanical failures. We were told by bob that there is nothing that they can do. We spoke with david tindale (who provided the owners manual) & who reassured both of us that the problems would either be fixed or if they couldn't be fixed that they would be able to enact the lemon law & replace this car with a new one. I dropped the vehicle off the following week 6-26-06, len thomas said the stalling problem could not be duplicated. Since picking up my vehicle, over the last 2 weeks the vehicle has still stalled at least 8-10 times. I received a call from lori at the dealership on a follow up to my service where she stated she too heard the clicking noise since she drove the vehicle. She also stated that the vehicle stalled on her while at a red light, but wrote it off to possibly her error and so this was not documented to service. On 7-12-06 w/ len thomas & david tindale to please call me back in reference to what lori stated about the stalling problem. I called and sp/ w david tindale & len thomas about these mechanical issues 7-13-06. I also followed up w/ a Chrysler customer assistance request 7-13-06 file number 15156132. Len thomas called after speaking with Chrysler about the problems and found that there were 4 other 2007 Dodge Calibers in the us that have been exhibiting the same stalling problems. Furthermore, while sitting idle in traffic my speedometer display races up to 20 mph and back to 0 and races to 40 mph and back to 0. this has now occurred approx. 6 times in the past few weeks. I reported this new mechanical failure to len thomas 7-20-06.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #1

Jul 182006


  • miles
While accelerating I was hearing a rattling noise in the engine of the car. There also was a recall on the car regarding a faulty PCM which is supposed to detect an engine thermostat malfunction. I took my car into the dealership for the recall, and they looked at my engine and fixed the rattle which they told me was due to the PCM needing to be reset....I read another complaint about the engine rattle and thought I would put mine in so the person could read this and now that the rattle is actually something due to the recall and not the type of gasoline they were using as they were told.

- Rohnert Park, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?