Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,469 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Charger steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Sep 152016


  • miles


Chrysler has issued a recall regard the ignition switch which includes a list of their vehicles including the 2008 Dodge Charger, which I drive. The recall states: Chrysler says ignitions keys on certain vehicles may not fully return to the "on" position after they are turned to start the engine. Instead, the key ends up between the "on" and "start" position. In that case, the windshield defroster and windshield wipers won't work. The greater danger, which Chrysler calls "less probable, " is that the key moves to the "accessory" or "off" position. If that happens, the car's engine will turn off, it will lose power steering and the air bags won't deploy. I am experienced this problem while driving my vehicle which prompted me to see if there was a recall. I reached out to Chrysler and questioned why I received recall a recall notification for the airbags but not for the ignition. I was advised that my VIN is not on the list for the ignition concerns. The Chrysler agent advised me that my VIN # was not on the list for the ignition problem. I advised the agent that I am experiencing the issues outlined in the recall. She advised that it was nothing Chrysler can do until my VIN number is added to the recall list. I asked if there was an escalation process, since driving with a faulty ignition is extremely dangerous. She advised me that there was not a process to escalate my concerns even though I provided her with my VIN number and she could clearly see that it was for a 2008 Dodge Charger sedan. Please assist in the resolution of the ignition switch concern.

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #26

May 192009


  • 300 miles
Eletrical failure 2010 - 2015, steering resistance 2013-2015, wires burning left signal back light gone. Front signals left/right malfunction, trunk unable to open with program key 2012 -2015. Wepplease save my family and consumers of us.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #25

Apr 012014


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the the steering wheel was difficult to turn left or right. The contact also mentioned that the wheel alignment failed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The details of the repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #24

Nov 102014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V567000 (electrical system) and 15V313000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact stated that the steering column and gear shifter locked several times. The failure was progressing randomly. The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was not available. MA 10/26/2015

- Clark, NJ, USA

problem #23

Aug 052015


  • 147,345 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power, swerved violently, and veered into a ditch. The vehicle sustained severe damage. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. A police report was filed. There were no injuries. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 147,345.

- Morgantown, KY, USA

problem #22

Mar 182015


  • 90,000 miles
In November of 2014 I received a recall for P57 which is the wireless ignition node module stating that the parts were not currently available and I would be notified as soon as they became available. I received another notice in February of 2015 at which time I contacted my local Dodge dealer and was told there were currently no parts available to fix the issue. Sometime during the middle of March I was turning right onto a 5 line highway when I lost all power to my vehicle. As I tried to get off the road and out of traffic the power restored on it's own. This same power lost has occurred once more since March. I have continued to check with my local dealer but no parts are still available. For the past 3 weeks I have had significant trouble getting the vehicle to start. When I place the key in the start position it will do nothing except turn on the warning lights. After attempting this several times it will eventually start but then will sometimes just shut back off. I am very concerned about being on a busy interstate and losing power which takes all of the vehicle control. On August 26, 2015, I once again contacted my local dealer and was once again told me there were no parts available. I was given the number OF1-800-992-1997 to contact. After spending 51 minutes on the phone with a gentleman named alex I was basically told that unless the car was broken down or I was involved in an accident there was nothing they could do, but if I did become involved in an accident because of the malfunction I could contact them back and they would try and assist me better. I suppose that if I get killed in a traffic accident caused by the issue that isn't being fixed, then that is one less car they have to repair.

- Marion, NC, USA

problem #21

Aug 222014


  • 60,000 miles


I was leaving for work. First the car didnt want to start it took several times with nothing happening I could turn the key but the car would do nothing. I finally got the car started and on the way to work I made a turn and it made a loud pop in the steering wheel and then the steering tried to lock up. I took it to a dealership in corinth Mississippi and he told me it was going to cost 1100 to fix it. I bought this car new and the car company should have to fix this. Well it is getting bad now somtimes it wont start for 30 min and the steering still does the same thing. I am getting afraid to drive it.

- Kingsland, GA, USA

problem #20

May 302015


  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the contact crashed the vehicle into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a back injury that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a friend's residence. The vehicle was destroyed and not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 129,000...updated 11/02/15 Chrysler did an investigation and claimed nothing was wrong with the vehicle. Updated 11/05/15.

- East Prarie , MO, USA

problem #19

Dec 112013


  • 57,190 miles
Dodge has a recall P57 NHTSA 14V-567 and no parts. It has been ongoing since December 2014. I fixed my vehicle prior to the recall in December of 2013. Dodge will not refund my money until the parts come in.

- Lakewoo, NY, USA

problem #18

Apr 232015

Charger 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
I was driving my 2008 Dodge Charger about 45 mph, when suddenly the power went out on my vehicle causing me to stop in traffic. When I tried to restart my car, it wouldn't start. After several attempts to try to start the vehicle, it finally started.. a few miles into my journey, the problem happened again.. the problem is with the ignition switch that is recalled on my vehicle. I drive everyday with small children in the car and this is very unsafe. The Dodge dealer said the part is unavailable. I need my car to go to work everyday and this is very disturbing.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #17

Feb 052015


  • 145,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while trying to start the vehicle, the key was extremely difficult to turn over on several occasions. The electronic throttle control warning lamp illuminated several times. The contact mentioned that as the failure progressed, the steering wheel was shaking while traveling over 60 mph. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop, who reprogrammed the keys and checked the battery. However, the failure recurred. The contact mentioned that the vehicle stalled several times. The contact was not notified but was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000.

- Ridgeville, SC, USA

problem #16

Oct 012014


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. While driving at approximately 10 mph and making a left turn, the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The vehicle was restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Eufula, AL, USA

problem #15

Jul 102010


  • 26,036 miles
Purchased 2008 rear wheel drive V6 Dodge Charger 11/8/2008. 1st time I had issues w/ worn out front end suspension parts was in 7/14/2010. I had to have the outer tie rods replaced on my car which only had 26,036 miles on it, luckily, this was covered under warranty. Since 7/2010, I have had to have multiple various front end suspension and steering components replaced, not covered under warranty./1/11 sway bar links & outer tie rods/2/12 outer tie rod end/control arm and ball joint/1/12 outer tie rod/27/13 sway bar links/10/14 control arm/stabilizer bar bushing. I've had to have my tires replaced 3 times due to excessive/uneven wear caused by reoccurring, expensive suspension issues. I am not a hot rod driver, nor do I live on a long bumpy dirt road and feel my complaint should be looked into for a possible recall and force Dodge to correct this issue. I can not afford $400 to $600S and tires $800 every or every other year. This is ridiculous.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #14

Oct 182010

Charger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated the steering wheel was difficult to turn and made an abnormal noise when the vehicle was driven in cold weather conditions. The contact also stated that while driving at approximately 25 mph, the radio lights and all of the interior lights failed. The vehicle was restarted and resumed to normal. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 4/27/15..updated 05/11/15. The consumer also received recall # 15V313000. However, the parts were not available. Updated 08/19/15.....updated 09/17/15 updated 09/21/15....updated 10/05/15. The consumer experienced a resistance in steering while turning left or right for the past 18 months. There was a smell of wires burning inside the vehicle, due to the left signal light wiring had burned out, the right front window was difficult to roll up, the blinkers stopped working, and the trunk would not open. Updated 10/19/15.....updated 11/10/15. Updated 11/30/15. The consumer also stated the vehicle would not start. The battery and ignition switch were replaced. The vehicle had a coolant leak. The gasket and thermostat were replaced. Updated 12/22/15......updated 12/24/15....updated 02/18/16. Updated 03/17/16..........updated 04/01/16 updated 04/12/16. Updated 04/14/16. Updated 06/02/16. Updated 06/09/16. Updated 06/16/16. Updated 06/29/16.8jb

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #13

Jul 012014


  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the steering wheel was tight, difficult to turn, made a noise, and vibrated. The contact indicated that the vehicle stalled several times, but was able to be restarted. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop. A diagnostic code for the voltage regulator was discovered. The alternator, oxygen sensor, and a second sensor were replaced. The contact indicated that the vehicle continued to stall and jerked forward while in motion, as if it would stall each time it was driven. The failure progressed and occurred intermittently. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The contact was waiting for the parts to schedule the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 132,000.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #12

Oct 012012

Charger 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
It started out as a battery problem. I am on the third battery 2 of them within 90 days. Then the ignition, you could turn the key and it would not do anything for 30 to 40 seconds. Then sometimes nothing at all and I would have to turn key off then back to start. Sometimes the car would try to start then stop and try again before it would start. Now when I use the turn signal and make a turn it tries to lock the steering. I have a second Charger same year that is now having the battery problem... what's next ?

- Booneville, MS, USA

problem #11

Jan 102013

Charger 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Vehicle is experiencing major safety defect similar to recent GM ignition recall. On numerous occasions vehicle has experienced sudden engine shut-off at varying speeds including highway 65mph plus. Complete electrical system shut down deactivates all onboard systems, including power-steering, breaking, and air bag deployment. Vehicle shut down occurs randomly. Re-occurrence has been as frequently as hours between similar occurrence to as long as 5,000 miles between occurrences. Vehicle has been in for repairs to dealer without dealer able to recreate defect. Various electrical system parts were replaced without successfully curing the defect. Two separate dealerships recommended wireless ignition (win) module replacement but Chrysler has refused to send the part. Chrysler customer care states that win module is only replaced when vehicle fails to start at all times. Vehicle owner requested replacement part as recommended by certified technicians but Chrysler will not release part to VIN associated vehicle. Therefore, vehicle has not been repaired. Current mileage is 78,000. Identical occurrences have been reported to NHTSA under id numbers: 10294768, 10369140, 10370988, 10386410, 10390065, 10396098, 10508333, 10520262, and 10525632. Vehicle defect has serious potential for death and serious injury due to product failure (airbags failing to deploy).

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 012013


  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Charger. The contact stated the steering wheel seized and became hard to turn. The contact restarted the engine and the traction control warning light was illuminated however, the steering wheel had returned to normal. The failure was recurring. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 170,000 and the current mileage was 205,000.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #9

Jun 082013


  • miles
Ignition modulator switch shut the car completly down as the was coming to a stop this part attaches into the computer and can go at anytime even when driving. Chrysler has a major back order on this part and has no idea when they can get the part to the dealerships to correct the issue. There are over 1000 vehicles currently with issue across the usa. I have checked with dealerships from NJ as far as mo after they check the database in the parts department I get the same answer no part in stock.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #8

May 062013

Charger 6-cyl

  • 101,761 miles
1 solution 2008 Dodge Charger the esp/bas light comes on when I make a left turn and stays on for a while and the resets. This is a re-occurring issue. Was told by Dodge that steering column may have to be repaired. (was this a recall for Dodge?). the car seems to be difficult to steer due to the car being very "loose" and feels as if the car is not aligned but recently had new alignment done. Also, left rear driver's side door lock will not work. The window works fine but the door lock has stopped functioning. Have had issues with rotors since I purchased the car with only 17 miles on it. Rotors replaced several times and was even told that the rotors were warped in factor installation.

- Lenoir, NC, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?