Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,572 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Dodge Charger brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Charger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Charger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 232016


  • 92,000 miles


We had a catastrophic failure of the alternator which nearly caused a wreck with my entire family (infant daughter was in car at the time when the high heat came on and windows locked not allowing us to turn heat off or get out for a minute) while we were driving back home and had to have the vehicle towed and get it fixed at the dealership earlier this year around January. Now the air bag warning light is staying on constantly, and as of 3 days ago (08/21/2016) the radio stops working and yesterday (08/23/2016) the ABS & traction control lights came on and will not go off now (at 60 mph that's scary when your family is with you and brake warning lights and airbag lights come on!!!!!!!). so this makes 3 warning lights that are now on constantly, yet the recalls for these issues do not apply to this VIN number, but the problems are happening exactly the same as other peoples problems who were part of recalls. My dealership won't fix it unless I pay because my cars VIN number doesn't qualify for the recall, yet the same exact problems are happening as recall problems. I will never buy Dodge again as they have nearly killed me and my family enough, and are turning out to be very dishonest!

- Rocky Mount, VA, USA

problem #20

Jul 192016


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power while being operated. The brake and air bag warning indicators illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the first dealer stated that the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The vehicle was towed to another dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator shorted out the battery. Additionally, the alternator malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Cardington, OH, USA

problem #19

May 182016


  • miles
I had he exact same alternator failure as described by the Dodge Charger P60 recall. I was on the highway going about 60mph when my radio and front panel flickered, then cut off for a few seconds before coming back on. My traction control and ABS lights stayed on. About a minute later, I lost power and my car completely stalled. I was able to drift to the center lane before coming to a complete stop. This was frightening because it was dark outside, it's a poorly lit road and of course I had no electricity to turn on my hazard lights. With no way to pop the trunk, I had to crawl into it via the back seat to grab flares (luckily I had some-most people don't). I was almost struck by several cars during this time. Alas, the tow truck came and I was taken to a safe location. The average quote from mechanics in the DC area is about $800. The dealership wants $970. The 180amp alternator should be recalled just as the 160amp alternator. Its defective and its a safety risk.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #18

Jan 222016


  • 69,090 miles


While driving, the vehicle started making a whining noise. Soon after, we smelled an odor of burning rubber. Within 10 minutes, a vehicle warning light appeared indicating the charging system was malfunctioning. About 5 minutes later, the battery save mode light came on, we lost ABS and ESC, and the car seemed to have lost power. We were close to a Dodge dealer so we had the car looked at. Dealer had to replace the alternator. I asked about a recall or service bulletin and the service agent said there wasn't anything on the car. This car was in otherwise perfect condition, all services performed on time, with under 61000 miles.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #17

Dec 032015


  • 87,025 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. While driving 20 mph, the brake pedal was depressed, however, the contact had to apply extreme force to the brake pedal as it took a longer distance to stop the vehicle. The ABS warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the master cylinder needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,025.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #16

Nov 172015


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving at 20 mph and coming to a stop, the ABS warning light illuminated and started flickering. In addition, the vehicle becomes difficult to stop. After being able to be stopped and driving, the ABS warning light does not illuminate until the vehicle comes to a stop. The ABS warning light then stays on and the vehicle continues to become difficult to stop when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure occurred on several occasions. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #15

Jun 162015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that the ABS light remained illuminated. The contact believed that this was a safety issue since it meant the anti-lock brake system could not be turned off. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown.

- Miami , FL, USA

problem #14

Jun 042015


  • 59,375 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate and stalled. The ABS and traction control warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,375.

- Darlington, SC, USA

problem #13

Mar 292015


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. While driving at 30 mph, the ABS and the traction control warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #12

Feb 212015

Charger 6-cyl

  • 50,156 miles
Vehicle ABS and traction control came on engine light came on battery saver mode turn on then off again radio screen shut off RPM went up dash board screen turn white and then the vehicle shut off while I was driving.

- Conley, GA, USA

problem #11

Dec 102014

Charger 8-cyl

  • 28,900 miles


While parked and while driving, the ABS, ESC, and brake malfunction indicator lamps illuminate with a double warning chime. After 1 to 2 minutes, the indicators turn off. While the indicators are illuminated, the respective systems are not enabled. This was tested in winter weather by braking on slippery roads with no anti-lock intervention, and accelerating around a corner with no traction control or stability control intervention. The issue only happens when the car has been in operation for more than 30 min, and is aggravated by wet conditions, or a car wash with undercarriage spray. I have taken the car to the dealership with the same results. "could not reproduce the problem".

- Chesterfield Township, MI, USA

problem #10

Mar 042014


  • 10,400 miles
On March 4, 2014, my car shut completely down while I was driving on the interstate. The message on the dash board said "ABS" and the traction lights came on and turned my car off. I had to pay $807.84 out of pocket for a new alternator.on December 1,2014 I received a recall notice for the alternators in the Dodge Charger which I currently have. I purchased this car July of 2012. I've already spent over 2,000 out of pocket in repairs for a new model 2012 car. The dealership I received the car from is very unprofessional. I now regret ever getting a Dodge Charger from [xxx] usury(when I purchased) (current name). The salesman/service team make a mockery out of me bringing my car to the dealership to get repairs every 3 to 6 months. Once salesman suggested that Dodge is not a good car and I need to trade it in immediately. The service team can see that you need assistance when you pull up to the door and will not even acknowledge the customers. On 1/19/15 I had to take my car back to the dealership due to the check engine light being on. Instead of telling me that it would be a fee of $143 before taking my car into the service shop that did not take place. I never signed anything stating a fee would be charged to me to tell me why the light was on in my car. Now I need a new thermostat and a coolant flush which they quoted a price of an additional $400. After the hell I have experienced at this dealership I will never purchase another vehicle from this dealership. I submitted all of my receipts on 12/5/2014 to the Chrysler customer assistance center for reimbursement and I have yet to hear anything back from them in reference to reimbursing my $800 dollars for replacing a alternator. In the past I have had to replace a water pump as well that cost over $400 dollars. Its becoming very expensive to drive this car.

- Utica, MS, USA

problem #9

Sep 272013


  • 25,000 miles
I was traveling around 30 mph and as I was braking to stop for a traffic light the car turned off by itself. I was able to re-start after a minute. I almost rear ended the car in front of me as my brakes were disabled when the car shut off abruptly.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #8

Sep 192014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 49,098 miles
I was heading to work early am. Heading down the freeway, notice the battery save mode on the dash. By that time the radio shut off and didn't have A/C, started to blow hot air.I started to smell burning rubber. Almost didn't make it off the high before the car shut off. It was hard to steer, and lost brakes. Almost hitting a couple of cars. So I look up what battery save mode was, then check the forums. It is common in the 2011-2012 Chargers. I had to get the car towed to dealership.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #7

Sep 172014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 52,271 miles
I had this same problem fixed in August 2014 at dutch miller in South charleston, wv, and today the warning lights came on again, ABS and ESC warning lights in the dash.

- Eskdale, WV, USA

problem #6

Sep 132014


  • 60,000 miles
Complaint concerning: NHTSA preliminary evaluation #PE14022 on Saturday 9/13/14 I was driving home from the store on a residential road going 35 miles per hour and my vehicle began to flash the ABS light. Then the emergency brake light began to flash, the touch screen went blank. My radio and A/C shut off, the windows would not roll down. The mileage meter read 0, than started to read miles up to 80 miles per hour. I lost power steering, and the power brakes!! my car was 100% inoperable!!! I tried to coast to the side of the road, almost hitting several motorist and pedestrians as I had not control over the breaks!!! my daughter and I were almost killed B/C I was unable to stop or steer and almost had a head on collision!! I coasted to the side of the road, when my car completely died!! would not recognize the key, could not open the trunk, etc. I had my car towed to my Dodge dealer, they notified me that the alternator went out, drain the battery completely! the alternator on this car is too weak for the size of the vehicle! repairs cost me $1,500 total, not covered under powertrain warranty! this car is only 2 yrs. Old! this should not happen with a new car! I contacted Chrysler Corp. Office and they did not offer me any assistance! some one will die due to this type of vechicle flaw! there needs to be a recall on this issue!!!!!!!!!!!

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #5

Sep 032014


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact mentioned that the steering wheel then became difficult to turn and the brakes could not be applied. The contact also stated that the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the alternator failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Houston, MS, USA

problem #4

Aug 012014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 52,271 miles
Started my car Friday morning August 1, 2014 and those 2 lights came on and haven't went out, called a Dodge dealer and was told it was not a recall problem but I read on here that it is.

- Eskdale, WV, USA

problem #3

Jul 232014

Charger 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Leaving work I noticed my radio suddenly turned off, display showed power saver mode. I contacted my husband by cell phone and he advised me to stop driving it because there had been reports of fires, crashes and loss of control. I was turning on to my street and I lost control of steering, brakes, and all power in the car. I was coasting to park and noticed that there was smoke coming out from under the hood. My husband came down to look at the vehicle and could not turn vehicle on at all. Now, I drive our car to and from work, a 15 minute trip 6 days a week. We regularly keep our vehicle serviced. This car is coming on a 2 year anniversay and I have paid for a new battery, parts/labor and diagnostic test. Dealership says that my car is safe to drive but the alternator is making a noise and that it can last from 6 months to a year or die a week from now. How dramatic is that? Chrysler gave me a case # and adivsed me that they needed to know what was wrong with it before they offered cost assistance. There is no amount of money that either company can give me to replace the loss of a life in my family. Please keep us safe and fix these defective vehicles off of the road to prevent even more unnecessary collisions.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #2

Dec 202013


  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Dodge Charger. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the ABS and traction control lights illuminated and caused the vehicle to stall. The vehicle was towed because the brakes would not release. The dealer stated that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,000.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?