Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,841 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Dodge Dakota engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments

problem #20

Mar 082009

Dakota

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle was recalled but the day I was going to bring it in the transmission stopped working and the motor is no more good. The truck would not shift gears good and it was going on for a while. My father changed the head gaskets but it did not help.

- Montegut, LA, USA

problem #19

Jan 042007

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,985 miles
- the contact owns a 2001 Dodge Dakota truck. The engine started to make a noise, and there were no warning indicator lights. The manufacturer advised the contact to file a complaint. The current mileage is 48,900. The contact was advised by the mechanic that the coil spring caused damage to the head gasket. The mechanic stated this was a common problem with these vehicles.

- Pikeville , KY, USA

problem #18

Aug 252006

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,400 miles
: the contact stated while having the vehicle serviced, the dealer noticed the brake pads and rotors were worn and needed to be replaced. Also, upon starting the vehicle, the key would not turn the ignition switch. The dealer determined the switch needed to be replaced. The contact removed the switch and cleaned it with no further problems. Updated 11/30/2006 - the check engine light was illuminated constantly. The dealer determined there was a vacuum leak. The wheel cylinder locked up.

- Gratis, OH, USA

problem #17

Sep 232006

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 63,213 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loss of engine compression, which resulted in the #3 cylinder misfiring and the check engine light staying on and not able to reset. Vehicle was at the mechanics shop for 2 weeks. After receiving vehicle back, check engine light came on again. When the problem of the #3 cylinder misfire was detected, it was caused by 2 valves being bent, which according to the mechanic was due to a carbon build up in the engine. Vehicle is and always was well maintained and never had any sort of mechanical problem. I am the original owner and purchased new in 2001, only had 63,000 miles on it. According to the dealership parts department, the 4.7L engine is known for a carbon build up around 50,000 miles or so and the problem that I had was not an uncommon one. Was also advised that was one of the kinks that Dodge never could correct. Gee thanks! I corrected the problem myself, however, I traded it in on a 2006 Toyota Tundra. It's no wonder why the american auto industry is in such poor shape!

- Stem, NC, USA

problem #16

Aug 152006

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 62,950 miles
2001 Dodge Dakota quadcab began running rough approximately 3 weeks ago, from this date, 09/15/06. Brought it into the dealership because the "check engine" light was on. After charging me $500 + for a tune-up, cleaning the injectors, and replacing an oxygen sensor, the dealership still could not make the truck run smoothly. They ended up telling me that if I left it with them for a week or so that they could possibly determine the problem and it was probably going to entail them removing the heads and would be a minimum of $1,000. I was also advised that my front end needed to be aligned. I just put the tires on last summer, had all these problems checked by another mechanic. Front end did not need aligning but they did determine the problem with running rough. Seems that due to a carbon build-up inside the cylinder, some carbon actually got into the #3 cylinder and caused the valve to bend slightly. I am the original owner of this vehicle and it only has 63,000 miles on it. I have never ran it hot, without oil and always make sure I maintain my maintenance on it. Last year, my front brake calipers had to be replaced, at $900 which in turn ruined the front brake pads. The dealership then told me that the boots in the calipers were dry rotted. I like the truck but it seems as if since I paid it off 3 yrs. Ago, I have had some sort of mechanical problems with it every year since then. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone, unless they were a mechanic. My mechanic says that a lot of it is due to poor workmanship. What a shame, it is no wonder why the U.S. auto industry is in such bad shape.

- Stem, NC, USA

problem #15

Jan 202006

Dakota

  • miles
Just bought a Dakota truck 2 wks ago, second day engine light went on and car kept stalling when driving, it completely turned off while driving. It also does not change gear; it takes a while to get going. This happened 1/18/06. On 2/10/06 I noticed an idling sound right after breaking and it didn't want to stop. Very unsafe driving with children. Uncertain of its brakes and the complete shut off of truck & or stalling while driving. I took it to Chrysler and wanted to charge $170. For diagnostic work 2 weeks after I bought it. Why haven't they recalled these type of unsafe vehicles?

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #14

Dec 292005

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Thursday, December 29, 2005, I was returning home from findlay, oh, I was about 37 miles from home when the check gauges light came on and the oil pressure gage dropped to 0. I was able to get off the highway into a parking lot at which time the truck wouldn't start. I had the truck towed to the dealership where I bought it. The service department checked it out and said I needed a new engine due to sludge build up caused by improper maintenance. I change my oil on a regular basis. I have a Dodge neon with over 120,000 miles and my previous car was a 1987 Chevy nova with over 199,000 miles.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #13

Dec 282004

Dakota

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,910 miles
While driving 55 mph the engine stalled without warning. Vehicle was towed to the nearest dealer.

- Bassett, VA, USA

problem #12

Dec 032004

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
When cold my 2001 Dakota stutters from 2300 to 2500 RPM. When I talk to other Dakota owners they all have the same problem. This could be dangerous for someone not informed of the problem.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #11

Jul 202004

Dakota 6-cyl

  • miles
When the gas pedal was released, the engine idled high. When moving slowly or accelerating from a stop the vehicle continued to idle high a while before it would idle down. The vehicle's throttle sensor and air sensor were replaced.

- Pilot Grove, MO, USA

problem #10

Dec 282003

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,025 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Dodge Dakota equipped with a 4.7 liter eight cylinder engine with 46024 miles began to have a light knock. I had the vehicle towed to metrolina Dodge where I was informed that the vehicle had spun a rod, due to excessive oil sludge build up. The vehicle was purchased with a extended warranty, but I was informed that the damage would not be covered under the warranty because the oil had not been changed by Dodge certified mechanics. My husband and father have changed the oil every 3500 miles, but according to the people at metrolina if Dodge did not perform all the maintenance on the vehicle then the warranty is voided. My husband went to metrolina Dodge to have the service writer show him the sludge build up that they were telling me about. While he was there the service writer kevin St.clair told my husband that they have had several 4.7 and 2.7-liter engines with the same problem. Kevin said that it would cost $6500 to replace the crankshaft, one rod, and the bearings.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #9

Apr 142004

Dakota

  • miles
While driving 65 mph vehicle stalled. Consumer tried to restart vehicle, but was unable to do so. Consumer had vehicle towed to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic determined that engine needed to be replaced due to sludge built up.

- Axis, AL, USA

problem #8

Mar 232004

Dakota

  • 85,000 miles
While driving at 45 mph an alarm sounded warning the consumer to check the instrument panel. Oil pressure gauge registered very low oil pressure. Consumer checked the oil level with the dip stick and found it to be up to par. Dealer examined the vehicle, and found a sludge build up in the engine. A new engine was needed.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 122003

(reported on)

Dakota

  • 36,000 miles
Problems with vehicle's engine. When using the defrost or A/C, the engine pump did not function properly. The seat belt was installed improperly and also the wheel bearing was not functioning properly, the consumer was told a hose would be placed on the retaining bolt.

- Oneida, IL, USA

problem #6

Jun 012003

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
Engine failure due to sludge.

- Jefferson, LA, USA

problem #5

May 152003

Dakota

  • miles
The vehicle back fired while driving 35 mph.

- Lawrenceville, IL, USA

problem #4

Apr 172003

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Noisy valve train on 2001 Dodge Dakota with 3.9 engine. The roller tappets were changed by the dealer, but they are still noisy. Also in cold weather there is a shrill whistling sound at slight throttle pressure. The dealer said Dodge was working on it. Wondered if any other complaints about the same things? there is no safety problem that I know of, just concern of reliability.

- New Philadelphia, OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 212003

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,980 miles
With only 48K miles on my truck, I had total engine failure. The problem was oil sludge that built up around the valves and blocked the flow of oil. The blocking of the flow of oil prevented the rest of the engine from being properly lubricated causing the engine to cease.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 192003

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,050 miles
I was driving through a tunnel in boston and my truck suddenly died for no apparent reason. I was able to pull over far to the side of the road but was still in the travel lane. The odometer was flashing "no bus" and all the dashboard indicator lights were on. The vehicle showed no mechanical signs of failure prior to stalling and made no noise when stalling - it just died. After being towed out of the tunnel (30 min. After the vehicle stalling), I attempted to start the truck and it started right up. I called the dealership and they had no service appointments for one week. This is unacceptable. Then, today (March 21), the truck died again in the same tunnel on my way home from work. This time, it started up after 5 minutes before the tow truck arrived. This is a safety issue and Dodge seems uninterested in fixing it promptly.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #1

Jul 162002

(reported on)

Dakota 4WD

  • miles
The check engine / mil (malfunction ignition light) comes on & the truck runs rough & the gas mileage goes down to half the normal amount. The 1st time was 11 months after purchase & has happened approx. Every 3 to 4 months since. The spark plugs have been replaced after finding 1 cracked, the right side head was replaced due to warping & the #1 fuel injector replaced.

- Algonac, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?