Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,718 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Dakota seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Jan 052015

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/10/16

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #22

Jun 162015

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Santa Paula, CA, USA

problem #21

Sep 092015

Dakota

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Winfield, MO, USA

problem #20

Jul 012015

Dakota 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/05/16 the consumer stated the air bag were replaced. Updated 03/01/1.

- Dunnellon, FL, USA

problem #19

May 292015

Dakota

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Williamson , GA, USA

problem #18

Sep 122015

Dakota 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/09/15 updated 1/20/2016

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #17

May 292015

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbia, MO, USA

problem #16

Sep 102015

Dakota

  • 31,000 miles
I was told that it would take 30-90 days for a part to be delivered to my dealer. I received a recall notice about the airbag indicating that metal fragments could strike and potentially cause serious injury if my driver side airbag deploys. A thirty to ninety day wait is unacceptable.

- Wilson, NC, USA

problem #15

May 272015

Dakota

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waverly, TN, USA

problem #14

May 012015

Dakota 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall for the airbag P40/NHTSA 14V-354 at least 6-7 months ago. In July I was informed by king auto center, lihue, hi. That the parts were in. Then I received another recall, R25/NHTSA 15V-313. I called the dealer and was told they had the parts. Then after 3 days, they called and told me they had to order more parts. It is now September, and I called and they told me they were just now resubmitting the order for parts, and I have to wait. This is ridiculous, especially since my vehicle has been in Hawaii it's whole existence! I need help! thank you!

- Koloa, HI, USA

problem #13

Jun 242015

Dakota 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/8 updated 3/22/2016

- Plainville, CT, USA

problem #12

May 272015

Dakota 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/18/15 the vehicle was repaired on 11/ 4/15. Updated 01/25/16.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #11

May 152015

Dakota

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Seaford, VA, USA

problem #10

Jun 012015

Dakota

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable time for the recall repair. The recall was received in June of 2015. The dealer advised that the part was not available for repair and they did not know when the part would be available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Johns Island , SC, USA

problem #9

Nov 122014

Dakota

  • miles
The manufacturer first sent recall notification in November 2014. I immediately responded to the local dealership to request remedy. I received a second identical notification a few months later to which I responded again to a different dealership. I have now received a third recall notice for the same problem (June 2015) and they manufacturer has not made these parts available to the dealerships. I am complaining about the timeframe for this matter.

- Mount Airy, NC, USA

problem #8

Apr 152015

Dakota

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V354000 (air bags) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Jacksonville, AL, USA

problem #7

Jul 012015

Dakota

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact crashed into the rear of a parked vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle sustained extensive front end damage. The contact was informed that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the notification or recall repair was never received. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Broomsfield, CO, USA

problem #6

May 052014

Dakota 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact stated that there was a noise that was progressing for months near the front passenger air bag area. The contact notified the authorized dealer for several months before receiving the recall notification and they provided no remedy. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact continued to hear the noise. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 8/21/15 the consumer also stated the steering column was noisy. Updated 09/01/15

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #5

Dec 172014

Dakota 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Re: safety recall. I have made 4 attempts to resolve recall # P40/NHTSA 14V-354 airbag failure in my Dodge Dakota truck.. no parts available per dealership and probably will not be available per Dodge until the 3rd or 4th quarter of this year, if then. Why"?"

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #4

Nov 282014

Dakota 6-cyl

  • 83,500 miles
I was notified by Dodge in November that my takata airbags needed to be replaced due to explosion issues. I called dealer promptly and they scheduled an appointment for January 9. as of today, they still have not honored this appointment because Dodge is not even shipping replacement airbags yet. Meanwhile, there has been yet another report of a fatality due to these airbags. So, I am driving around with a potential "bomb" in my truck and the company is doing nothing to fix it.

- Loxahatchee, FL, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?