Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,718 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Dakota seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Dakota:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Dakota Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #43

Sep 092016

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Eagle River, WI, USA

problem #42

Jul 012016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Antioch, IL, USA

problem #41

Jul 182016

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall: Received notice S43 / NHTSA 16V-352 on July 18, 2016. It has been 3 months and parts are still not available for repair. This imposes a significant risk to any front seat passenger that an inflator rupture could result in metal fragments striking the vehicle occupants resulting in serious injury or death. I am especially concerned that since I live in an area with high levels of absolute humidity for extended periods of time that the at risk condition is more likely to occur. What can the dot do to see that these parts are expedited for those of us living on the Texas gulf coast?

- Huffman, TX, USA

problem #40

Aug 182016

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #39

Aug 012016

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Dodge Dakota. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall notice repairs and consumer seeks replacement vehicle until repairs are complete.

- Leland, NC, USA

problem #38

Jul 222016

Dakota

  • 118,715 miles
Takata recall.

- Pascoag, RI, USA

problem #37

Jan 152016

Dakota

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. While driving 40 mph, the contact's vehicle was struck by another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was not injured and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Roland, NC, USA

problem #36

Jun 142016

Dakota 8-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/06/16 updated 09/07/16.

- Creighton, MO, USA

problem #35

Jun 012016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall - it's been over a year since I've notified my Dodge dealership and nothing has been done.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #34

Jun 292016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- North Port, AL, USA

problem #33

Aug 172015

Dakota

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Spring City, TN, USA

problem #32

Jun 062016

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall...two vehicles in family affected. The Dodge dealer says that it will be months before the parts can be obtained. The Saab letter says "who knows" when the parts will be available!

- Poulsbo, WA, USA

problem #31

May 172016

Dakota

  • miles
Nothing has happened but this is under the takata recall and it needs to be fixed

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #30

Oct 292013

Dakota 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN toll confirms parts not available. Updated 06/29/16 the dealer replaced the driver's air bag. Updated 07/07/16.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #29

Apr 142016

Dakota

  • 93,981 miles
Takata recall I took this truck in for the recall, left the dealer and the steering locked up as I turned onto a road, I had to jerk it very hard to release the wheel and when it did release it made a snapping sound from the steering column in the area where the airbag sits. Went back and told them what happened and five minutes later I was told my steering shaft couplers are bad. I never had this issue before, but they say I'm wrong as of now we are afraid to drive this vehicle.

- Greendale, WI, USA

problem #28

Jun 242015

Dakota

  • 52,000 miles
Takata recall. I have received two recall notices. The first dated June 24, 2015, the second dated September 3, 2015. I have contacted my dealer on several occasions and have still yet to receive this recall repair on my vehicle. The dealer says that parts are still not available. Do you know when I can expect to have the recalled part available for install?

- Maryville, IL, USA

problem #27

Aug 312015

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/04/16

- West Plains, MO, USA

problem #26

Jan 192016

Dakota

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Williamston, SC, USA

problem #25

Jul 162015

Dakota

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Dakota. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribute disconnect.

- Allardt, TN, USA

problem #24

Mar 012007

Dakota 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
I'm sill waiting to have my vehicle repaired, when can I expect to have this problem resolved !! thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tuskegee, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?