Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,971 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Jun 012015


  • 50,000 miles


Weve had issues with the car since day one of driving it off the lot but the dealership didnt want to do their job here about 3 months ago we were in the process of moving and my fiancee had the car floored I thought for sure my family was going to lose their lives because the car didnt have the power to speed up its not the first time and my family lives comes first weve tried getting it resolved and even tried to use it as a trade it at another dealership and they refuse to even touch it the car had already 43000 miles on it when we drove it off the lot and 5 days after having it the shifter cable popped off and since then its been problems after problems and theres so much more wrong with it and since June its been sitting I refuse to have my family hurt do to a malfunctioning car my fiancee jamie wagner's name is also on the paperwork from dealership amongst weve contacted attorney general Dodge Chrysler mopar and deal with reinkes and findlay Dodge for things one this car

- Defiance, OH, USA

problem #12

Apr 062013


  • miles
El vehÍculo en marcha, SE siente ruido Y haloneo, que SE siente como si SE fuera a apagar. El radio SE puso negro Y dejÓ de funcionar. Luego en varias ocasiones, el carro no prende. AdemÁS el vehÍculo en marcha, prende el check engine Y un mensaje "servicio de trasmision". en el dealer supuestamente le cambiaron la tcm de la trasmision, pero luego, el vehiculo vuelve a presentar el mismo problema, "check engine", servicio de trasmision". en el dealer alegan que solucionan el problema, pero el mismo ya SE ha presentado en 3 O 4 ocasiones. Tengo un auto "limon".

- Villalba, PR, USA

problem #11

Jun 172015


  • 39,000 miles
2013 Dodge Dart bought new from dealer. June 17, 2015 while traveling through a parking lot a approximately 20mph axle broke pulling it from transmission. Cv knuckle/joint, tie-rod all broke. Wheel and tire turned at a 90 degree angle from car. Left a divot in concrete where everything hit ground. Visual estimate by dealer was $6,500. Nothing was hit, no curb, no pot hole, speed bump, or any other object. Police report states there was nothing in the area to hit. No other damage to vehicle, such as impact from other objects. Service manager at dealership car was taken to said there was so much damage he couldn't tell what broke first. Chrysler legal special investigations team inspected vehicle. 3 weeks later they sent me a report saying it was not a mechanical defect and my extended warranty would not repair. They insist I file with my insurance carrier. A vehicle that is 18 months old with only 39,000 miles should not fall apart like that if it doesn't strike anything. I've requested copy of report Chrysler used to make their decision.

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #10

Jul 082015


  • 40,000 miles


When getting into my car in the morning or after work (any time the car has been sitting for a while), the clutch pedal goes straight to the floor and doesn't come back up. I cannot put my car into gear or even start the car. I have to pump the clutch pedal for a few minutes until I have a little pressure to even start my car. My car stalled out twice from this when entering a parking garage and I almost hit another car because of this. After driving the car for 2-3 miles the clutch seems to come back to normal pressure and I can shift fine at that point.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #9

Jun 122013


  • 4,679 miles
Desde que compre el auto completamente nuevo, comencÉ a recibir recalls. MÁS adelante Y por dos ocasiones el carro no prendia. Lo lleve en MÚltiples ocasiones al dealer Y segÚN estos, el auto no reflejaba nada, todo salÍa bien. En la primera ocasiÓN al prender el auto, hizo un ruido espantoso Y luego, lo apaguÉ. al tratar de prenderlo, no respondio. Llame a servicio en la carretera Y enviaron unas personas para que le dieran carga a la bateria. La 2da vez, carga a la bateria. ES mi opiniÓN, ese no era el problema. Hoy hace 3 semanas el auto esta en el taller del dealer, porque supuestamente tiene la computadora que controla la trasmisiÓN daÑada. Para mi el auto no sirve. Quisiera una investigaciÓN. no deseo seguir pagando por un vehÍculo que no me da ninguna seguridad. Gracias!...updated 08-06/15

- Villalba, PR, USA

problem #8

Apr 012014


  • 5,000 miles
I went and attempted to start the car. Car would not start. It was like the clutch would not engage. Released the clutch and re-engaged, and it started. During shifts, it didnt want to go into 3 or 6th gears. It was like the clutch is not engaging once again. Took the car back to where I purchased it, performance Dodge, and they told me that Chrysler knows of the issue but Chrysler star will not fix it. I asked how can they know that the clutch has issues, but they are not going to fix it. The employee informed me that they all are like this. Chrysler knows of the clutch issues due to all the complaints, but they still risk the lives of the individuals who purchased the vehicle by not replacing the clutch. I have also had issues with my windows not rolling up or down and the radio keeps resetting itself. They do updates, but it does not fix the radio issue. The last time I took it for the update, the update wouldnt even load to fix the issue. How can a company know of issues but refuse to fix them?

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #7

Sep 102014


  • 12,500 miles


Car sounds like struts and shocks are already going out. Car lunges forward sometimes when stopped. It changes rom auto transmission to manual transmission on its own which causes the car to stall service people just look at you like your a idiot when you complain about issues and the loud popping noise is horrible.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #6

Nov 032014


  • 16,000 miles
I have had multiple issues with my Dodge Dart. It started back in November 2014 when the car wouldn't start and it said service transmission, I had it towed and they dealership said it was an update issue. The second time the service transmission light came one I took it back to the dealership where they said that the update didn't take, hours later told me it was all set to go, went to pick it up and the car wouldn't start, dealer kept it over night, called next day and told me that they couldn't recreate issue and I needed to pick the car up unfixed! couple days later the service transmission light came back, took car back in they replaced the tcm. They car still shifts horrile, the car starts shifting gears while at a complete stop, and most recently the car has started not knowing what gear its in and just shifts to neutral, which is pretty dangerous while driving!!!! dealer cannot find anything wrong with it....over all I hate driving the car because I don't feel safe at all and I feel like I have no place to turn with the dealer I am working with as they cannot find the problem.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #5

May 162015


  • 35,993 miles
Engine light came on while driving noticed a failure in power when stepping on the gas felt no go with the turbo. Stopped to have vehicle checked at advance auto diagnostic indicator stated turbo failure. Vehicle had not reached 36000 miles.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #4

Dec 112013


  • 7,780 miles
I purchased my 2013 Dodge Dart on August 9, 2013 from federico Chrysler Dodge Jeep in wood river il. Within 4 mos on December 11, 2013, I had my car in the shop because my middle console was inop. After checking it they determined the console needed replacing. Two months later on February 11, 2014 I had my car in a second time for middle console. This time they installed an integrated stack. Then, 9 mos later on November 21, 2014 a third time I had my car in again for middle console not operating properly. This was my first contact to Dodge about this issue and was assigned a customer care manager. I asked if my car would be considered for lemon law and was told Chrysler was intersted in buying my car back and was given a mopar warranty in deductible of $100 and at time car had over 34,000 and warranty expires at 60,000. Then just this past April 2nd of 2015 I had my car in shop at cassens and sons in edwardsville, il again because middle console was not operating properly. They downloaded an update per star. I was responsible for $100 deductible. I then went on a trip to new orleans, la and while on my trip the middle console was not operating properly. I contacted Chrysler again was assigned a case manager and was told that they would get to the bottom of the issue. So, I took my car in on April 29th the soonest I could get it in and after 8 hours at service was called and told that star couldn't figure out why it was happening and since they couldn't duplicate problem not to replace any new parts. After hearing this news I was called and john customer care manager told me that Chrysler wouldn't iniatate the lemon law that I would to do so.

- Granite City, IL, USA

problem #3

Jan 012013


  • 1,000 miles


The horn fails to honk quickly and reliably when the steering wheel horn switch is pressed. To explain what this is like, when you want to "double tap" the horn to signify to a friend in a parking lot, or as often happens when I'm driving to signal to another driver a "double quick honk" of concern. If the horn sounds, its either a single short blast or extra long blast. The cause of this, is that the horn switch goes to one dbus controller that must cycle through the inputs, once this first controller sees the horn switch active* then sends a signal on to another control module, this one too operates on a databus/scan type system, and so has to cycle through its inputs until it happens upon the "horn switch active" signal, and then the second module activates the horn relay to send current to the horn. Because both databuss scans are so slow, it either misses the horn press initially, or when it picks up on the horn switch press, it fails to see the switch has been released for until the 1st module has cycled back to the input, .. and again the same happens with the 2nd module. In three cases now, its caused road rage, when the other driver though I was "laying on" the horn, when all I attempted was a double tap, because they were encroaching on my lane as I was passing and wanted to make sure they didn't hit me. The horn is an instrument for warning, and its obvious when someone attempts to piss someone else off by holding down on the horn switch.. where a double tap is usually taken as a cautionary alert, and for the horn not to function reliably every time and with the speed that a human can press the horn switch, is an absolute failure on Dodge's part to have a safety device operating properly. This happens every day, all the time, and I'm told by others, that its like this now across all of Dodge's fleet, this is a design flaw and should be repaired!

- Strasburg, VA, USA

problem #2

Jul 252014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
I have a new Dodge Dart that for the past month have been fighting with arrigo Dodge service dept regards to my concerns with issues. My calls went unanswered and was given the blow off. This past Friday my ac quit working was when I took the car in they were forced to address my concerns... when I asked for a rental I was refused...

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

May 162014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 11,509 miles
On 5/16 2014 while at the bank my son-in-law noticed a bulge in the left front tire. It is an obvious separation of materials 2 calls to kumho 800445 8646 ext [xxx] has not generated a return call. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Big Prairie, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?