Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,703 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jul 152016

Dart

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My radio with the touchscreen has been replaced 4 times I believe due to an electrical issue-continued to flicker on and off. The visor fell off, now there are no interior lights. Brake recall repair done, but now engine light on, steering wheel locked up while in reverse, all system lights came on looking like failure. Car was accelerating on its own, but when putting foot on gas it would have no effect. Now the car does not start or even turn over including when jump started. I have documentation of the radio repair and brake recall and have videos on my phone of the acceleration with foot on the brake.

- West Olive, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 052016

Dart

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Dodge Dart. While driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The brake pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to stop and crashed into a creek. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was approximately 82,000. Updated 05/11/16

- Coosada, AL, USA

problem #19

Feb 072016

Dart

  • 24,723 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While accelerating from a stop sign at 10 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The dashboard, radio, and other electrical functions failed. The contact attempted to steer the vehicle, but crashed into a parked vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard and later to a body shop for repair. The vehicle was not destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,723.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #18

Jan 312015

Dart

  • 23,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. While driving 50 mph, the contact heard a noise coming from the steering column or the instrument cluster. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V800000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,500.

- Delran, NJ, USA

problem #17

Sep 182015

Dart

  • miles
I, sylvia, never received a recall notice on my Dodge Dart 2013 car. I purchased this car on my birthday of Nov. 30, 2013 at carl gregory Chrysler Jeep Dodge hyundl albany, ga. When I go to the shop and change my oil, I will ask the clerk if there a recall on my car. The clerk's answer is no, after looking on her computer. My car stall after start-up as well as hard to start sometime after I put the key in to start up my engine. I am having problem with my car and still paying payments. I purchased this car new and I should not have problems so early in life. Furthermore, I really like my car but having these problems is getting me to not trust my car. Please, look into this issue for me as soon as possible.

- Smithville , GA, USA

problem #16

Apr 212015

Dart

  • 16,100 miles
As I was approaching a traffic signal, my car lost power and did a half shut off (lost power items, but did not actually lock the steering out as if the car was in park). I was still moving and was doing approx. 20-25 mph when this happened. My power steering, brakes, etc were all lost and there was an overwhelming sound coming from the stereo system (sounded like a bomb going off in the car.). I was able to get the car stopped and pulled over to a turn lane that was not in use without getting hit. Once I got the car stopped, it started back up and I was able to take the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer has not been able to diagnose the problem. This is not my first issue with the car. It also has had 'service transmission' errors and gave us numerous issues on christmas day as it would not start when we were headed home. Each time, the dealership was notified and they had the car for 92 days while they rewired the electrical system. These cars are not safe, even after having the electrical rewired, the car is still sending error messages and now shutting down while driving it. These need to be recalled.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #15

Jan 122015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 13,503 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving at 30 mph, the lower control arm snapped in two causing the wheel/tire to disengage, turning to a 90 degree angle to the vehicle, which became inoperable. Had the vehicle for 13 days when this happened. Incident is now being investigated by Chrysler.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #14

Feb 252013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 1,045 miles
I purchased this vehicle on 01/22/2013. The first of many incidents happened while driving down a major highway. I was in the fast lane changing lanes and I suddenly had full power loss. I was unable to steer the vehicle and was almost hit by several faster moving cars. The car was also quickly slowing down. I was able to get the vehicle started again and pulled off the highway. As I went to turn into a parking lot this vehicle had power loss again. Between 02/25/2012 and 11/07/2014 and 26,000 miles this vehicle has been in the shop over 10 times. It has multiple power loss issues, and gauge issues. Headlights and turn signals have gone out, and random windows roll down when pushing the buttons. This vehicle is a safety hazard and should be recalled in its entirety. Repair shops tell consecutively that they cannot repair all the issues. It has been in the shop since for 5 days this time and they cannot get the vehicle to start. Shop failed to put power loss issues on first issue on ticket, until it happened a second time on 07/02/2013 while I was in a school zone.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 092014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
I was coming off the highway and was on the brake slowing my 2013 Dodge Dart from 65 to 40 then to 20 to take a sharp right turn, in the turn the string went dead and for a brief second was unable to turn almost causing an accident with another car and that was the second time that has happen the first was with my whole family, I was driving around in a parking lot. Also this car has an airbag light on for the passenger seat, the car over heats and the backup cam no longer works the battery is now dead and were unable to drive, were out of warranty by a little over 500 miles and the dealership will not fix the issue unless I pay more money to fix this paper weight. I can drive it after getting a jump but the electrical system fail to work the speedometer fades in and out and the gauge drops to 0mph. My car was sold to me after replacing a power control module and has been replaced a second time. This car is not worth the $21000 spent and I should be given back half of my money. My car still overheats after many dealership visits over just that very problem and every time I pick it up it seem like something new I was wrong (( !! I bought this car to travel back and forth monthly from san antonio to ft. Hood for my military obligations im a pissed a veteran who wants my car to work like it was advertised! because that is what I paid for!! ))

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #12

Apr 082014

Dart

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact stated while making a right turn over a bump there was a loud thud sound and the vehicle would jerk and veer to the right. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the spring kit, adapter, strut mount, insulator and the strut. The steering wheel continued to pulsate. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000.

- Linden, WI, USA

problem #11

Mar 272014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering seems to lock up on the car when you want to steer to right it will not turn until you go left a little and then back and you may go long time before it does it again, my son is driving the car and he seem ok with what is happening because he does not panic about it but is worried about if other drivers that would panic, his folks are not happy about it... it has been to dealership and they tried to get it to do it and of course it will not do it for them and they say they can not drive the car at 70mph for company reasons, [xxx](my son) says this has happened about 7 times now and every time he has the cruise set and traveling a distance when it happens, his fear is one of these times it may not work turning to left and there he will be setting along road some place...if you want to talk to [xxx] some time I can give you his number(cell) an you could talk to him for more information about it. So after long story has there been any one else with this issue that has contacted you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Redding , CA, USA

problem #10

Dec 302013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
While braking, this winter, my ABS would activate causing my dashboard and radio to go blank. It was only until recently that I learned that while the screens are blank and rebooting my cars power steering system is also inactive. After 4 attempts at fixing this issue all the dealership is telling me it that it is a grounding issue.

- Carman, IL, USA

problem #9

Feb 162014

Dart 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,386 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the steering wheel suddenly seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the steering fuse needed to be tightened. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 12,386...updated 03/18/14 the steering rack was replaced updated 03/20/14

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #8

Nov 272013

Dart 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the steering contact experienced extreme difficulty in controlling the steering of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who performed a software update but to no avail. The dealer advised the contact that a special technician was going to further diagnose the vehicle. The contact called the manufacturer and filed complaint. The failure mileage was 13,200. Updated 03/11/14 the dealer updated the eps module, and replaced the steering rack. Updated.03/13/14

- Arab , AL, USA

problem #7

Nov 252013

Dart

  • 6,500 miles
I purchased a 2013 Dodge Dart SXT multiair turbo 6-speed manual on 11/23/2013 and within a week, I took the car back for service being that the wheel was off-centered to the left and the service department aligned all four wheels. Shortly after that, I began to notice that the steering wheel would stick when I tried to turn as if it had locked while driving straight then unlock when engaged in turning. Also, I noticed that while driving along in 6th gear around 65-70 mph, I would hear a thumping or something going on underneath the car like something was loose, or a flapping sound. I am going to take the car back to the dealership to see if they will do anything about it but have documented the complaint up here for my records. My car only has about 8,500 miles on it and also I see there are recalls on the side airbag, parking brake, and the powertrain. All of these recalls were placed prior to the date of purchasing my car and I will question the dealership asap to see if these things were fixed prior to the purchase of the car. I will submit further updates on this site once I see how this dealership handles this!!!

- N/A, NC, USA

problem #6

Nov 062013

Dart

  • 6,500 miles
Not sure if it is a real concern, just checking to see if any one else has had issue with steering, my son drives this car and says when driving, when he goes to turn the steering wheel it is like it is locked -- (example) when went to turn left it would not turn, let off or turn wheel to right then he could go ahead and it would let him turn to left, going to get it to dealer to be checked but I was wondering if any one else has said any thing about the steering on this car? it is a sweet car and this has been the first issue with it. My son said it does not do it all the time. Please let me know if the has been an issue reported or if this is a first. I have been in touch with Dodge an we are getting on top of it. By all means I am not complaining I just was wondering. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 042013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
The car runs great, but the mpg are around 25.5 to 26.5, the sticker said 24 to 34 mpg. Like two months ago I heard noise like something was vibrating inside of the car, but recently when I make stop, I turned on the air condition and the car started to vibrate in the steering wheel and of course depend of the level of vibration I feel and it is transmitted from the hand to the chest and specially it I am stressed because the traffic I can get nervous, and it is worse when the speed in the A/C is increased.

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 032013

Dart

  • 1,400 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart. The contact stated that the vehicle rolled away and crashed into a tree while the emergency parking brake was engaged. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who advised that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V124000 (parking brake). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact also stated that the steering wheel electrical module failed and the steering wheel features would not function. The sound system had also failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 1,400.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #3

Jun 152013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 5,500 miles
I was going to pull out of a parking lot onto a busy street. I went to turn the wheel sharply to the right to merge into traffic and the car died as I was trying to merge.I was almost hit by oncoming traffic when it died and this is a serious problem that the dealer always says "we cant duplicate the problem". it has done this a few more times since then and it happens when at a complete stop and turning the steering wheel quickly. It also happens sometimes when backing out of a driveway in reverse then shifting to drive and as soon as you turn the steering wheel the power almost shuts off or it will completely die.

- Eureka, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 022013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
While driving approximately 70 miles per hour down the highway my Dart suddenly lost all power. The steering wheel acted as if there was no key in it and locked up. The breaks slowly applied themselves, and the vehicle would not shift into neutral so that I could move over to the side of the road. I have worked with the company and the dealership and it will not duplicate for any reason. However, I have been having issues with power of the vehicle every month since January. Wither it be not starting or failing to key less start. This is the first time for complete power failure. Chrysler refuses to do anything about it and wants me to drive it around with a black box in it.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?