Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,056 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Dodge Dart wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments

problem #20

Apr 062016


  • 23,013 miles


2 kumho solus KH25 tires on my 2013 Dodge Dart have had weakened sidewalls that bulged causing replacement at 14000 miles and 22000 miles.

- Lexington, OH, USA

problem #19

Aug 282015


  • 29,852 miles
Noticed excessive tire noise while driving vehicle. Upon examination of the tires, 3 out of 4 tires had sidewall belt failure with noticeable bulge on sidewalls and onto tread surface. All tires were original equipment kumho solus KH25 size 225/45R17 dot K2X5 yal 8 date codes 4912, 4912, and 0313.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #18

Feb 032015


  • miles
Bubble on side wall tire. Kumho 225/45R17 91H dot K2X5 yal8 1113.

- Mayetta, KS, USA

problem #17

Nov 032014


  • 20,000 miles


Kumho KH25 225/45/17 tires developed bubble on sidewall at approximately 20,000 miles. Replaced tire due to safety issue. Second tire developed same problem at around 24,000 miles. Remaining two KH25 tires are losing air and appear to be cracking. The tires manufacture code is outside of the current recall on these tire with manufacture date of 4812.

- Arab, AL, USA

problem #16

Nov 032014


  • 20,000 miles
Kumho solus kh 25 tires included on my 2013 Dodge Dart. Bubble on sidewalls. Replaced with different tire and rotated. Second time this has occurred and replaced on August 1, 2014 one of the tires. Two other kumho solus kh 25 tires leaking air.

- Arab, AL, USA

problem #15

Aug 012014


  • 15,000 miles
Kumho solus kh 25 tires included on my 2013 Dodge Dart. Bubble on sidewalls. Replaced with different tire and rotated. On November 3, 2014 noticed bubble on another kumho solus kh 25 and had to replace second tire at 20,000 miles. Two other kumho solus kh 25 tires leaking air.

- Arab, AL, USA

problem #14

Jul 152013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles


Kumho solus kh 25 tires included on my 2013 Dodge Dart (safety recall) all 4 tires on my 2013 Dodge Dart are breaking in the sidewall, cracking, and losing excessive amounts of air. First tire replaced (2/7/14) iao $132.42 replaced with a brand new solus KH25. Now, I have two rear tires leaking air quickly (dot 4212) & the driver side tire has been replaced with my spare. These tires started performing safety hazards 3-4 months after the first tire replacement in 02/14. I would really appreciate this complaint be investigated, so I can drive on safe tires with my child after being provide a set of new tires.

- Coward, SC, USA

problem #13

Jun 212014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
I have had several issues with this car. For starters when driving it will all of a sudden stop going for no reason. The car didn't die it simply doesn't go. The RPM's stopped working on one occasion and the head light blew out all in the same night. Dealer said there was no connection, so I had to replace the head light for $100. They advised the ground wire was lose so they tightened it. I had my tire blow out for no reason just driving down the road and it blew. Now on occasions my automatic door locks aren't working. And still wont go when giving it gas. It sounds like there is some kind of electrical problem with this model vehicle. I love my car would want a new one. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle at the time until it is fixed. There are no recalls on the vehicle and my warranty is almost up with problems repeating. I don't know what else to do. I just wish Dodge would fix whatever problems there are.

- Kerens, TX, USA

problem #12

Nov 192013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
After a routine trip in vehicle where speeds did not exceed 55 mph, a broken sidewall was noticed on drivers side front tire, a kumho solus KH25. Decision to replace delayed initially. Days later, a second break in sidewall appeared inches from first. Upon inspection, a third break in passenger side front tire noticed. No new routes or roads had been traveled in comparison to previous vehicle/tire combination and no known severe impact contributed. After reading that many other owners have had issues with kumho factory installed wheels I determined mine is not an isolated issues and that the stock wheel is, as it seems, more likely to fail than others. This is an unprecedented number of failures all at low mileage in conditions and on roads that previous vehicles experienced no issues with. During a service visit for an oil change a dealer tried to sell me two tires but made no mention of other owners having similar issues or any attempt to reduce the cost/impact despite the fact that I had taken delivery of the vehicle a short time prior to two tires failing.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #11

Jun 232014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 10,200 miles
8 sidewall cracks similar to NHTSA campaign number: 12T020000 on kumho solus KH25 225/45/R17. Dot serial: K2X5 yal8 dot range: 3612, 3712, 3812.

- Taunton, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 212014


  • 26,770 miles


Driving on highway was slowing down from about 70 mph and the tire sounded like it blew... but after replacing the tie could not see any damage to the tire....

- San Antinio, TX, USA

problem #9

May 122014


  • 6,495 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart with kumho solus KH25 tires, size P225/45/R17. The contact noticed that the front driver side had a size of a quarter bulge on the outer wall. The tire was replaced and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage and current mileage were 6,495.

- Monroeville, IN, USA

problem #8

Jun 012014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 4,013 miles
Hit a pot hole at 65 miles per hour on a bridge and tire blew out. Same thing happened 3 months ago except it blew out the tire and tore the rim when a pot hole was hit. When I finished changing the tire I looked up, and another Dodge Dart was behind me with the same front drivers side tire blown out, except her rim was torn. Dodge told me the tires have no warranty. There kumho tires.are pieces of crap.. apparently.. I was told by my tire guy that they are cheap and have weak sidewalls..there are many incidents of problems with these tires. I will call covert Dodge in austin tomorrow to complain. Ill get 4 new Michelin tires put on tomorrow. The car has 4000 miles on it. My first and last Dodge. They don't care about the safety of there customers apparently !!!!

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 122014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The first incident occurred after a commute home from work. My wife noticed a bulge in the kuhmo tire on her driver's side rear. The dealership replaced the tire at no cost. This happened at roughly 2000 miles. The second incident occurred on the commute home from work as well. This time the passenger side front tire exploded at 55 mph sending my wife into a panic state as she attempted to slow the vehicle safely. This occurred at roughly 4400 miles. The dealership had to replace the rim and tire as the explosion ruined both. The third incident occurred today as she got out of her car at work she noticed the most recently replaced tire had a huge bulge in the side wall again. So I took the car to the dealership who informed me there was nothing more they could do. Kuhmo and Chrysler have refused to solve this issue and we were forced to spend $700 on new tires so we could make a family trip this memorial day. We plan to seek legal advice on this issue and feel that neither Chrysler or kuhmo take safety seriously.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #6

Feb 112014


  • 6,000 miles
The car started vibrating and shaking uncontrollably and then began to smoke. I had to stop it in the middle of the road and get it towed. Since we've purchased the car about 8 months ago, we've been in the dealership monthly for one issue or another (electrical, pieces falling apart, tire issues, splash guard issues, etc). It is a horrible car. No one cares when you contact customer service.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #5

Jan 202014

Dart 4-cyl

  • 9,970 miles
Traveling 30 mph on road and noticed my right rear tire went flat. Tire store said it was a sidewall blowout and would have to replace it. I replaced it with same brand tire. 3 weeks later 2/16/2014 same exact thing happens to my right front tire. So being the car is new I wanted to keep the tires all the same brand. Tire store got me the same tire. The very next day that 1 day old tire sidewall blows out. These are kumho solus KH25 tires size M225/45/17. I called kuhmo usa and was told there is a recall on those exact tires with same dot numbers K2X5yal8 3411-2512. My dot numbers were K2X5yal8 with dates 4812, 0313, 0913. I was told that I didn't qualify for the recall and there was nothing they could do. I think there should be a recall on all of these kumho solus KH25 tires. They are junk! not even lasting 1 day! I will not be buying kumho ever again.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #4

Nov 182013


  • 1,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart equipped with kumho solus KH25 tires, line size: 225/45/R17 (dot K2X5yal8). The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the front driver's side tire blew. Approximately three weeks later the front passenger's side tire. The contact stated that the side wall split, causing the blow outs. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 13T004000 (tires) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the tires did not fall within the date range of the aforementioned recall campaign. The tires were replaced. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage of the tires and vehicle was 1,200.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 202013


  • 6,900 miles
My 2013 Dodge Dart had a tire with less than 7000 miles on it bubble at the sidewall. This was found by the tire shop that (rightly) refused to re-install the tire. They did not have the model in stock, so I ended up buying 2 new to be safe on the road. Since the dealership determined it was a impact related damage, it is not covered by warranty and there is no road-hazard. The same model tire was recalled by kuhmo last year according to the forums. I do still have the old tire. The rest of the tire looks fine and has not been abused. Their reasoning was that if you cannot see it when deflated, then it was impact related, not manufacturing defect. I can find it either way.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #2

Oct 012013

Dart 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
One of my tire inflation sensors is bad because the warning in the dash shows 11-13 psi when the tire is at 32 like the other tires. I went to dealer but they just put nitrogen in tires and said its because of the cold.

- Ypsilanti , MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 232013


  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Dodge Dart equipped with kumho solus KH25 tires, size: 225/45/17. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph over a slight bump, a loud noise was heard from outside of the vehicle. The contact continued to drive to a safe location where she noticed that the front driver's side tire had exploded and the rear driver's side tire exhibited a bubble on the sidewall. The defective tires were in the process of being replaced with new tires. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 200.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?