Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Dodge Dart steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Dodge Dart Owner Comments

problem #12

Nov 012015

Dart

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

November 1 2015 while traveling on parkway 376 in pittsburgh Pennsylvania. I became trapped behind a portion of a tree that had made it's way in the lane I enter the parkway. After being forced to stop, and put hazards on and attempt to merge into traffic. I was rear ended by a GMC Envoy traveling at least 55 mph, forcing me into tree I was trying to avoid.my passenger and I left in ems vehicles, my car was returned to monroeville Dodge for repairs. After getting my car back I noticed when it rain, or snow the trunk of car would get wet. Whenever operating the car in speeds 35 mph or more, you could feel air coming through backseat. After returning the car to Dodge for inspection, I was told that they found nothing to cause problem. Car was inspected and pass with only requiring 2 rear tires. August 2 2016, while at a stop sign, a driver driving a 2005 Honda Pilot with original grill, rear ended the car, at this time I drove my car home, in the morning I noticed tires were bent outward. After filing a claim with the driver"S insurance co, I learned that the car was not aligned after rear end hit on Nov 1 2015 that caused car to slam into the tree on parkway. After the insured fix only body, found not responsible for mechanical damage, once again the car was repair without wheel alignment by monroeville Dodge and offered back for operating on road. After taking the repair statement to other auto body repair shops, and pictures of both rear end accidents, I was advised the car could have sustained frame damages from Nov 1 2015, making it unable to be properly align and unsafe for operating. I'm currently still in a rental car my car is still at Dodge with no wheel alignment repairs after neither accident. Dodge has told both insurance companies, (state farm Nov 1 2015, and geico Aug 2, 2016) wheel allignment was not needed. Please help

- North Braddock, PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 042016

Dart

  • 24,900 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Dodge Dart. While making a left turn from a stop, an abnormal sound emitted from the steering wheel without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering column was fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 24,900.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #10

May 122016

Dart

  • miles
I've had my car for over a year now and I have 9850 miles on my vehicle. Around 1am after coming back home from work going 60mph, I heard a loud clunk in my steering wheel and I decided to not pay attention to it because I thought it was the road. I tried to switch lanes, when suddenly I couldn't move my steering wheel at all. Luckily there was no one behind me so I started to slow down as soon as I hit about 13mph my steering wheel became unstuck and I was able to move again. The next day I took it to hunter Dodge in lancaster ca and when I brought it in they told me they couldn't find anything wrong with the vehicle. About 3 days later, I was driving about 60mph again and my car started to drift into the dirt while I was going back home. I tried re-centering my car to the center, but my steering wheel locked once more and I started going into the dirt. I slammed on my brakes and luckily I was able to stop before I hit a tree. I took it back a 2nd time and asked them to look at it again and they had it for a couple of days and they still didn't find anything wrong with it. Luckily the times it has happened I was alone in the car. Inam.glad to say that my family and my soon to be wife wasn't in that car. I cannot drive my car to la because of the fear that my steering wheel may lock up on me while on the freeway. Please help.

- Littlerock, CA, USA

problem #9

May 262016

Dart

  • 7,186 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 18 year old daughter was driving in motion when steering went out causing vehicle to go into oncoming traffic almost causing accident vehicle was on acme rd in rittman Ohio a country road moving forward at 50 mpg steering did not respond to my steering until I had to slam on brakes almost hitting incoming car. Took to dealer and they 3 bulletin repairs.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #8

Jan 172016

Dart

  • 17,000 miles
Unexpectedly loss motive power resulted in a crash.

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #7

Jan 142016

Dart

  • 11,000 miles
Car slows down battery light came on steering locks up car G=has 11000 miles took car to dealership and of course couldnt find anything wrong with car

- Seaford, DE, USA

problem #6

Oct 192015

Dart

  • 20,008 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After numerous times the car has stalled in traffic, Dodge placed vehicle on an oil consumption study, the car failed the study and a new engine was placed in the car. The car went back to the dealer the next day due to metal to metal grinding in steering at the slightest hint of a turn or curve

- Southport, FL, USA

problem #5

Aug 242015

Dart

  • 929 miles
Driving at approx. 20 mph, getting ready to make a right turn into a parking lot, battery light illuminated, instrument panel went black, total loss of electrical power and steering. Coasted into a parking space and returned to car in about 20 minutes. Car started and acted normal. Next incident was about 35 miles later driving about 35 mph in a residential area. Same senario, battery light illuminated black panel and loss of steering. Took 10 minutes for car to regain power and start. Third episode at about 45 mph, battery light flashed, I shoved shift into neutral, panel remained lit, but no RPM so engine had quit. I pushed start button, engine restarted and I put shift lever into drive. Took to dealer but no codes. This car is dangerous but issue cannot be duplicated at the dealership because it is intermittent. I am trying to get Chrysler to repurchase this death trap.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 042015

Dart

  • 71 miles
Just bought the 2015 Dodge Dart on 9/2/15. I have 71 miles on it right now. While I was driving the steering wheel locked up and I could barely turn the wheel. Took a lot of effort to turn the wheel. I did not loss engine power at all. I had a steering wheel light on with an exclaimation mark. I pulled over and turned the car off. I turned the car back on and it was fine. Started driving down the road and 5 mins later it did it again and I could not steer

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #3

Jan 022015

Dart

  • 8,853 miles
While driving in the morning in a neighborhood speed limit of 30, I decrease speed to come to a full stop and suddenly the vehicle shuts off engine power and power steering at approximately 10mph. Vehicle was unable to start until the 3rd attempt. Had the vehicle towed to dealer and they were unable to diagnose the issue until the vehicle stalled the 2nd time. They updated PCM/tcm, but still had stalling issues. This vehicle had stalled over 5 times and the dealer were not able to pin point the issue. My vehicle is now at approximately 15,400 miles. I feel like I'm on the edge and unsafe every time I get behind the wheel. Also had trouble with the automatic headlights not turning on and as well as the rear passenger windows not closing.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #2

Jan 292015

Dart 4-cyl

  • 60 miles
Vehicle had a defective, broken clasp spring which could have allowed the air bag to deploy at any time while driving....causing serious injury or death to the driver, passengers and all others in the path of the vehicle driving California highways. The vehicle was defective from the moment it was driven off of the car lot.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 272015

Dart

  • 1,800 miles
I purchased my 2015 Dodge Dart on January 19, 2015. The vehicle currently has approximately 1800 miles on it. This morning when backing out of my driveway I turned the steering wheel to back into the road. While turning the steering wheel I heard a rubbing and a slight clanking sound. To give a little background on my experience. One of my job functions is driving new vehicle's to listen for unidentified interior noises. I also inspect new vehicle's for any type of exterior paint defects, body panel fit and alignment, paint seeds, chips, etc...I basically inspect the vehicle's before they are shipped to the dealer. I work for a top automotive maker. With this said, I understand that when vehicles are new quite a few of them make suspension sounds similar to what I described because, they are still tight, not broken in, etc...this is definitely not the case with this Dodge Dart. I had to drive around town for several hours today running errands. Making of sharp turns at stop signs, into parking spots, etc...the vehicle continued to make this sound all day as I made any sharp, low speed turns. This vehicle has not previously made this sound or any sound similar, until today. I believe there is a defect somewhere in the suspension or steering column. I am the only person that has ever driven the car since purchased new. I have not hit any pot holes, or had any other incidences that could cause this issue. I have not contacted the dealer as of right now. I will contact them first thing tomorrow to have the vehicle checked out by their mechanics. I know that other Dart owners have and still are experiencing this same issue. I've read of several model years 2013-14 with the exact issue and a majority of them have gotten the runaround from their Dodge dealerships. I hope this issue gets investigated further.

- Evansville, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?