Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,707 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Nov 052004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light turns on and off intermittently while driving the vehicle. Drb III scan tool indicated driver's squib circuit #2 failure. Clock spring replaced, correcting the failure. Failed part retained by dealer.

- Eden Prairie, MN, USA

problem #12

Dec 082003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
My wife was driving the 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan sport down the street and turned right to go to work. All of a sudden both air bags deployed and shut the engine down. She didn't hit anything. They just deployed on there own. That was frightening, but just lucky she wasn't on the highway when it happened.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #11

Dec 082003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
My wife was driving the 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan sport down the street and turned right to go to work. All of a sudden both air bags deployed and shut the engine down. She didn't hit anything. They just deployed on there own. That was frightening, but just lucky she wasn't on the highway when it happened.

- East Hartford, CT, USA

problem #10

Oct 222003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,432 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

5-8-02 wiring harness falls into serpentine belt. Harness not replaced, repaired also replaced cam sensor. I was told the belt wasn't put in properly at the at the Dodge plant. Van has intermittent power surges. Dealer cant find anything. Dodge gave me an extended warranty because of this problem. I think they knew something.-27-03 replaced transmission solenoid pack. 2-25-03 van making humming noise, could not find problem 8-22-03 air bag light is on.replaced passanger side airbag. 8-22-03 speedometor out of calibration, instrments flipped around backwards 9-30-03 left front stabolizer bar making noise. Repared 9-30-03 car shaking during a turn, repaired 9-29-03 power surge again, can't find the problem 10-22-03 air bag light on again, replaced clock spring. I'm consulting an attorney, I feel this van is not safe. I want Dodge to replace the vehicle, it's a lemon and a danger on the road! who's to say if the air bag won't go off as I'm driving...or maybe not, when I need it. This vehicle clearly has an electrical problem that will never be found. Voss Dodge has been very understanding about this problem. Unfortunately they can't figure it out either.

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #9

Apr 252002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Problems with seat tensioner and automatics doors malfunctioning. Air bag light remains on, as a result consumer has had the seatbelt tensioner and airbag module replaced. Automatic doors have also malfunctioned and has been reprogramed.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #8

Sep 042003

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Air bag sensors light has started to come on called dealer on 09-04-03 to set up an appoinment for 09-05-03. Notice other complaints for same thing. Any recalls planed?.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #7

Aug 202003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Reported airbag light to dealer. Set up appointment. Brought vehicle in, was informed that the body controler not communicating with airbag modual. Wiring ok, needs airbag module or BCM. Was then informed that it is not under warranty due to mileage. The mileage at the time of call into dealer was around 34,000. Because of their busy schedule it took over a month to get the vehicle into them. By the time I drove over to the appointment a month later the vehicle was "out of warrranty". parts on back order.

- Kanab, UT, USA

problem #6

Jul 272003

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On 4/17/02 I purchased a new 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan. The salesman sold the vehicle to me with the airbag light on, informing me that it was supposed to be that way. Immediately after reading my owners manual, I discovered that it was not supposed to be that way. I made arrangements to have the van checked out and since then I have had nothing but trouble with the airbag light/seat belts/automatic doors, etc. This van has been in the shop eight times for the above reasons. On 7/24/03 the ABS light along with the hydraulic brake light came on. I took the vehicle to the dealership and it is still there as of today's date - 8/23/03. I contacted Chrysler directly on 8/22/03 and informed them of the hazardous history of this vehicle - the airbag module has been replaced several times, the seatbelt tensioners replaced several times, automatic doors reprogrammed, etc. I informed the customer service representative, arlene, that I was afraid of the vehicle and did not want it back. I was informed by "arlene" that the vehicle parts had been delivered to the dealership and that the van would be fixed. I don't want the van "fixed". it doesn't stay "fixed"!! it is a safety hazard and I do not want to base my children's safety on their idea of a situation being "fixed" when their track record obviously stinks. Am I going to have to wait until an accident and either myself or, lord forbid, one of my children are sent airborne through the windshield" I was informed by "arlene" that since the van was not in the shop for the "exact defect" every single time, that I was not eligible for a new van. I would think that the fact that the airbag system has shown it has consistent problems, the seatbelts obviously have consistent problems and now the airbag system and hydraulic brake system lights are on - isn't that enough???? or do I have to die in an accident for my family to get a safe vehicle".

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #5

May 272002

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a new 2002 Dodge Caravan on 4/17/02. On 5/27/02 the van was in the dealership with the airbag light on (this was the second time it was in the shop for this same problem - previously in on 4/25/02). According to the dealer, the seat belt tensioner circuit was opened, wires traced back from acm to tensioner, no crimps found, module needed to be replaced. The airbag control module was then replaced.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #4

Apr 252002

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a new 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan on 4/17/02. On 4/25/02 the vehicle was in the dealership for the airbag light being on. A seatbelt tensioner had to be replaced.

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 172003

Grand Caravan

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag sensor light continues to stay on. Dealer notified.

- Reedville, VA, USA

problem #2

Oct 252002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
While driving the vehicle's air bag light illuminated indicating there was a problem with the air bag. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who indicated that the air bags may not deploy in an accident.

- Riverside, OH, USA

problem #1

Jul 082002

Grand Caravan

  • miles
First incident was the airbag light came on intermittently. The dealer repaired it last week. Today, the entire instrument panel functioned intermittently. Dealer was called and another repair date was set.

- Va Bch, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?