Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,962 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

May 252004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,700 miles


Pulled vehicle into parking spot, tried shifting into reverse and although heard a clunk, vehicle not in gear. Could not get it to go into a forward or reverse gear. Marketplace Dodge dealer in rochester, NY states a thrust bearing in transmission shattered tearing through gears. Cost $2,790 to repair, mileage 41,000, 2002 Dodge Caravan.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #10

May 052004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
My Dodge Caravan worked well until I received recall notice to replace power steering hoses. When that repair was complete, the throttle control sensor would not work properly. As soon as the car was returned from that repair, the fuel guage malfunctioned, and shortly thereafter the transmission broke (at 46000 miles). Either a very bad vehicle or dealership is causing damage during repair work.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #9

Apr 122004

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When the brakes are applied there was a noise coming throughout the driver and passenger sides. Dealership inspected several times, replaced disc, pads, and sensors, at least three times. However, the problem still recurred. Also, automatic transmission problem.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #8

Apr 052004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,400 miles


While driving vanS transmission will jump into neutral.

- Sawyer, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 162003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,153 miles
On 6/11/03 vehicle was making power steering noises & auto dr locks wouldn't lock at 15 mph. Replaced power hose, hose clamp & oil trans. Informed I needed new brakes (22, 153 miles & didn't req that they do this when I arrived at shop). 7/2/03 took van in 'cause left rear (driver side) speaker caught on fire while at a gas pump. While at gas pump w/2 of our 4 kids in the car. Brakes that were just replaced prev month were squeaking as well as the steering again. (dealer-brakes squeak 'cause they are metal & there is air in the steering line). 9/23/03 van battery blew up when started. Replaced battery. 12/3/03 steering making noise during turns. Replaced both sway bars links. 12/29/03 steering is very tight & shuddering again & auto lock button on key chain won't work. Ordered new power steering rack & resevoir. Then on 1/6/04 tach spiked at 4K, vehicle lost power & engine light came on while on expressway w/my baby in the car. Determination was the transmission solenoid assy failure & replaced the same. This cost me $107 (would have cost more if I wasn't given an extended warranty for fire I had). 1/19/04 van was giving a burn smell from under the hood along with smoke. They found A/C compressor clutch shorting in coil. A/C compressor replaced & recharged. 2/5/04 vehicle taken for the last time for loud popping sound under the dr's ft area when turning left. All suspension parts tightened. Next visit is req'd by the fl lemon law to give them 1 more chance before paperwork can be filed. Done on 3/8/04 for steering noise when stopped & just turning wheel. Replaced pt that was replaced before: Power steering pump resevoir. Paperwork filed for Florida lemon law on 4/5/04, unsave vehicle & fear for safety of family.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #6

Mar 112004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
Transmission diferential broke if broke during driving may have caused vehicle to lock up and cause accident.

- Ranger, GA, USA

problem #5

Nov 282003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles


Our 2002 Dodge Caravan with 23000 miles does not move when shifted into reverse. The transmission slips and grabs. We have taken it back to the dealership 2 times for the same problem and they can not duplicate the problem therefore they have done nothing to correct this problem.

- Gretna, VA, USA

problem #4

Oct 222003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,432 miles
5-8-02 wiring harness falls into serpentine belt. Harness not replaced, repaired also replaced cam sensor. I was told the belt wasn't put in properly at the at the Dodge plant. Van has intermittent power surges. Dealer cant find anything. Dodge gave me an extended warranty because of this problem. I think they knew something.-27-03 replaced transmission solenoid pack. 2-25-03 van making humming noise, could not find problem 8-22-03 air bag light is on.replaced passanger side airbag. 8-22-03 speedometor out of calibration, instrments flipped around backwards 9-30-03 left front stabolizer bar making noise. Repared 9-30-03 car shaking during a turn, repaired 9-29-03 power surge again, can't find the problem 10-22-03 air bag light on again, replaced clock spring. I'm consulting an attorney, I feel this van is not safe. I want Dodge to replace the vehicle, it's a lemon and a danger on the road! who's to say if the air bag won't go off as I'm driving...or maybe not, when I need it. This vehicle clearly has an electrical problem that will never be found. Voss Dodge has been very understanding about this problem. Unfortunately they can't figure it out either.

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #3

Sep 262003

(reported on)

Grand Caravan

  • 34,600 miles
While driving in cruise control mode at 55 mph automatic transmission disengaged and went into neutral mode. Dealership indicated that transmission went into sleep mode, but they were unable to correct the problem because they couldn't duplicate it.

- Hilton, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 202003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
In 2002 I purchased a new Dodge Grand Caravan sport. The vehicle has been in my possession just under a year and has approx. 20,800 miles on it.this vehicle has already had 2 major repairs to systems that affect the safety of the vehicle. 1. power steering hose recall 2. transmission pump failure. In addition to these repairs there was also an extended warranty placed on the A/C unit because it is expected to fail, replacement of the stereo and repeated repairs to the front carpet pulling out at the corners. The carpet has been "fixed" however now the emergency brake assembly is protruding on the driver floorboard.

- Patterson, CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 112003

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
2002 Dodge Grand Caravan vehicle does not move when shifted into reverse. Intermittent problem. Dealer unable to duplicate problem and refused to replace transmission unless problem could be duplicated. Safety hazard: Driver may inadvertently exit vehicle with gear selector in reverse position. Vehicle may suddenly move and cause injury or death. Eventually, transmission engages in reverse, taking between 15 seconds to one minute. Cycling gear selector and changing engine RPM seem to have no influence on when transmission may engage in reverse.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?