Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,664 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 12 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jul 012008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. Both the driver's and passenger side sliding doors open and close automatically. The vehicle has been to a mechanic and the dealer. The dealer replaced the program module in the vehicle twice. Currently, the computer is being replaced. The current mileage was 68,500 and failure mileage was 68,000. Updated 10/14/08. The consumer traded the vehicle. Updated 10/15/08.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 072008

Grand Caravan

  • 52,000 miles
Our body control module or BCM has failed at 50,000 miles. This module control the power doors and locks. This failure is very common and several hundred $ to fix.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 052008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 32,327 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. On June 5, 2008, the door lock failed. When the contact pressed the lock button, the alarm sounded; however, the doors did not lock. The hatchback door is the only door that locks. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on June 25, 2008 and the dealer reprogrammed the remote system; however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle will be taken back to the dealer. The failure and current mileages were 32,327. Updated 09/29/08. The dealer replaced the computer board. There have been no other problems. Updated 09/29/08.

- Middlesex, NJ, USA

problem #16

Aug 082007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The body computer. Something is wrong with it, wont let a dealership into it, the traction control doesn't work along with the ABS, the left door wont open with the bottoms automatic.. as far as the dears know and we have had it top 3 of them that all these things are tied in 1 thing this vehicle isn't very old to have this go out!!

- Fremont , IA, USA

problem #15

Dec 152007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,700 miles
Front windshield wipers and all instrument gauges were inoperable accompanied by a rapid "clicking" noise from center dash console upon start-up in heavy snowstorm. Dash lights remained lit and flashing with the engine running. Remote keyless entry, driver's side power door lock, power sliding doors, power liftgate and radio were all inoperable. Servicing Dodge dealer found fault codes for loss of communication but bus wires and comm wires checked out ok. Inoperable driver's side power door lock switch determined to be caused by faulty body control module (BCM). Dealerships "on star online" system contained a report for similar intermittent problem with lights, wipers, etc. Resulting from BCM faults. BCM was replaced. All parts retained by servicing dealer.

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #14

Jan 042008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,400 miles
Electric door locks stop working. Have to manually push down locks on all 4 doors. Remote keyfob also does nothing to lock/unlock. Have had to disconnect battery terminals to force a reset each time, then locks start working.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 012007

Grand Caravan 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The power lock controls worked intermittently. The failure occurred with the key pad and the controls in the passenger compartment. The dealer stated that they could perform an electrical upgrade. The cause of the failure was unknown. The failure mileage was 29,000 and current mileage was 33,034. Updated 01-15-08. Updated 12/12/07.

- Greensborough , NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 012007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle--Dodge Grand Caravan (2005)- was traveling about 30 miles an hour and right front fender/light area struck concrete barrier. Immediately upon impact, sparks came shooting out, tire caught on fire and car burst into uncontrollable flames. The entire car was torched and declared a total loss. Pictures are available. After talking to body shop, from estimation of structure damage from impact was approximately $2000-3000, however now because of fire, the van is a total loss. I literally have 3 tires and a license plate remaining.

- Sanford, NC, USA

problem #11

May 082007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
We may be having two separate problems with the 2005 Grand Caravan. The issue of primary concern was that the vehicle occasionally, and for no apparent reason, died while being driven. Since we owned the vehicle this happened on four different occasions. When the vehicle died we lost the ability to steer or stop. On all occasions we have been going at speeds of less than 35 mph. On the last occasion while making a right turn on a red light the vehicle died 1/4 of the way into the turn. Had the steering wheel not been turned prior to the vehicle stalling we would have been going straight into the crossing traffic with no way of stopping or turning away. I am a mother of 4 children and was in the vehicle alone at the time. Luckily none of my children were with me, and the vehicles around me were paying attention. I started the vehicle, and was able to drive home without having the problem again. On the other occasions the problem persisted until my husband was able to get up to speeds greater than 35 mph. We took the vehicle to our local Dodge dealer twice for this problem, and they could not reproduce the problem either time. No repairs were been made to the vehicle in this regard. The above sounded very similar to the NHTSA action # PE05027. Our second issue may or may not be related to the above and we considered it a nuisance. We included this information with the thought that it could be a symptom of above that others were experiencing. The same failure. The vehicle will not start sporadically. When we tried to start it all of the needle gauges on the dashboard will shoot to the right, and then drop back down to the left, and bounce around on the left quarter of the gauge. We attempt to jump start the vehicle and after several tries it will start up. There did not seem to be a correlation between the two problems, beyond they both appeared to be electrical.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

problem #10

Oct 132004

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT intermittently shuts off/ stalls and power cuts out while driving, parking, stopping at traffic lights. We've been extremely fortunate that we haven't gotten into an accident with this vehicle since the problem can occur while doing 65 mph on the highway or 30 mph on local streets. We've been experiencing the problem since a month into owning the vehicle. The problem has occured 9 times in the last 2.5 years. We've brought the van to the dealer numerous times with the same complaint, yet they are unable to determine what is causing the problem. The most recent incident (last month, Feb 2007) where we experienced stalling and loss of power in the van, the dealer had a co-Pilot diagnostics device setup in the van and it didn't get any readings when the problem occured because the electrical system shuts down (when the problem occurs). The dealer has since asked us to continue to drive the van with the co-Pilot in it and "press the button" if we think the problem is going to occur. Since we seem to know about as much as the dealer regarding what causes this issue to occur.... we're basically putting ourselves at risk anytime we drive the vehicle.

- Wynantskill, NY, USA

problem #9

Jan 152007

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am concerned with overall quality control on this vehicle. I purchased this vehicle new to provide safety and comfort for my growing family. I was disappointed in the vehicles performance and gas mileage during the first several weeks of ownership. I returned the vehicle to the dealership and they replaced the oxygen sensor units that they said where defective. Several months later the heater/air conditioning blower went out. Next with less than 20,000 miles on the vehicle I had to replace the brakes. Now with less than 28.000 miles on the vehicle I noticed that the passenger side floor was soaked, the vehicle was making unusual sounds when turning and the passenger side door would not close automatically. At the dealership I found out that the rack and pinion steering unit had failed along with the the cable on the passenger side door. On investigation of the water leak the dealership found that the passenger side pillar had not been sealed properly to the roof causing water to run into the van and rot the carpet. While the vehicle is in for repairs the dealership is also replacing the heater/air conditioner blower which is making grinding sounds again.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #8

Aug 052005

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
I purchased a cpo 05 grd Caravan from a local dealer. Within months the electric door locks would go up and down while unlocking the doors by the key, would go up and down while traveling down the road & while opening the electric windows while inside the van..* * the steering wheel would lock up while pulling out onto the road. My wife and kids could have been killed by the approaching fully loaded log truck. The van was taken to the lithia in roseburg & was informed of the issued. It was inspected and the reply was that "they could not find any problems & they said they could not get the door locks to go up and down. The van was taken in a 2nd time on 07/28/2006 with the same issues, again they kept the rig and told us they could not get the door locks to do anything. On 04/07/2006 the van was taken in to lithia after kendall said that they could not work on the van because of us buying it from lithia. So the van was returned to lithia with the same problems along with the rt rear brake light staying..you know the sad thing is I still own 15K on this van. The steering on the van locked up again while traveling down the road and almost caused an accident with my wife and kids in the van. I just pray that when we take it in for the "4th time" and we leave it at the dealership to fix, that they will get it done right and that if we either keep the van or trade it off that nobody gets killed from this major safety issue. I feel that I have been shafted due to having a cpo and Dodge dealers are not able to do their job due to skills or ?. I sure hope that if you are in an accident and your unable to get out of the van due to the door locks you don't burn up or if you can not open the door that hopefully somebody can get the door open from the outside of the van. Oh I forgot, when I go over a speed bump it sounds like the engine is going to drop out.

- Winston, OR, USA

problem #7

Aug 212006

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Vehicle stops. Motor shuts off, no power available. At highway speeds. Very dangerous loss of control in traffic! happened at least 4 times from date of purchase May 2005 to August 2006, but only at start up in parking lot. Then it happened at highway speed on the highway with 4 children in van ages 1, 2, 8 and 10 years old! have no faith in safety of vehicle! dealer still wants me to drive around with the kids in this condition and I cannot put my children in danger.

- Tumbler Ridge ,B.C. Canada, 00, USA

problem #6

Mar 012006

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Grand Caravan electrical system has been serviced on five different occasions. Door lock and air bag indicator malfunctions. *****

- Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA

problem #5

Mar 172006

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
This is the latest in a series of headlight failures on a Dodge G.V. van. Today, the headlights would not come on when the switch was pulled until I cut it on and off 4-5 times. The driving lights would blink on-off while driving and the switch was off for those lights. Then the headlights went out totally when I was driving about 45 mph after 7 :00 pm....in the dark!! as I said, this is about the 3rd-4th time that this has happened and it is not something I want to continue. I have had it to two(2) dealers and they cannot find the problem. Thanks for listening.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #4

Feb 262006

Grand Caravan

  • Manual transmission
  • 25,701 miles
On Jan 22,05 I had my 05' Dodge Grand Caravan in the dealership because my air bag light had come on, they supposedly replaced my sensor along w/ my wiring harness, well on Feb 26 06 my air bag light came on again, the dealership deal maker said I could bring my car in but I'll have to pay for it to be checked along w/ any repair, and this is because my warranty had expired. I don't feel I am responsible to pay for any repair on this. None the less for them to supposedly replace my sensor last year, along w/ my wiring harness and spark plugs beause of misfiring etc. To have bought this car used in Nov of 04 and then to have it in on Jan 05 is a little ridiculous. I have 40 some thousand miles on my car. And this issue should of been done correct the first time.

- Fort Drum, NY, USA

problem #3

Jan 182006

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,209 miles
: the contact stated the headlights, dash board lights and dome lights intermittently flicker. The vehicle was taken to the local dealership numerous times for repair. The dealership mechanic replaced the headlight switch, body control module, alternator, inspected and cleaned the ground circuits. These modifications and repairs to the vehicle were unsuccessful.

- Ashville, OH, USA

problem #2

Jul 172005

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
At 500 miles the electrical system malfunctioned leading to loss of instrument cluster, windshield wipers, ac, and power sliding doors.

- Rockford, MN, USA

problem #1

Feb 082005

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
Vehicle experienced problems with electrical odor constantly appearing to be burning, and the air bag light would intermittently illuminate while driving. Vehicle had been to the dealer shop on several occasions, and they were unable to locate the cause of the problems. Phone interview update (Oct 24, 2005): The dealer replaced both air bag frontal impact sensors (part # 4686957ac) one at a time. However, the air bag warning light still comes on during wet weather conditions.

- Hilton, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?