Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,406 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Apr 142014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On April 18, 2014, consumer made an appointment at lithia Dodge in kennewick Washington with the sole purpose to check to see if the air bag warning light on their 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan being on constantly was covered under the NHTSA recall 10V008000 "front airbag crash sensor failure". when consumer arrived for the appointment on April 21, 2014, the dealership indicated without looking at the vehicle or checking the VIN that the van may or may not be covered under the recall. They just didn't know. They could do a diagnostic on the vehicle, though: If the vehicle was covered under recall, the visit would be free. If the vehicle wasn't under recall, they would charge a $125 "diagnostic fee" to tell the consumer that it wasn't under recall. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired.

- West Richland, WA, USA

problem #34

Jul 232012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The airbag dash lights came on and have not shut off. After researching I found that there is a recall for this problem only when I call I'm told the service for this has already been done. I explained that it had not, that I had never taken it in for this before. He stated it had been done in 2007, yet this recall wasn't in effect until June of 2010. I called him out on that and all he could say was that I don't qualify. According to NHTSA campaign id number : 10V008000 my car is included in this recall. What can I do?

- Springville, UT, USA

problem #33

May 152010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated the air bag sensor warning light illuminated intermittently until it remained illuminated. The contact located a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 10V008000- air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module) but was advised by the dealer that his VIN was not included. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where the mechanic found that the right up front acquisition sensor experienced a loss of communication which caused the air bag warning light to illuminate. The mechanic advised he was unable to repair the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 67,000 and the current mileage was approximately 70,000. Updated 11/08/10 the mechanic informed the consumer he could not ascertain whether or not the air bags would fully function in the event of an actual accident. He was only able to determine that the right up front acquisition sensor had a loss of communication. Updated 11/10/10

- Union Town, OH, USA

problem #32

Feb 162010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,356 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the air bag sensors were rusted. The dealer stated the failure was normal because of the salt on the roadway. The sensors were replaced. The failure mileage was 96,356 and the current mileage is 102,000. Updated 08/13/10. Updated 08/23/10

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #31

Dec 052009

Grand Caravan

  • 65,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated intermittently; however, since December 2009, it remained illuminated. She took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that the air bag sensors were corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was being repaired at the time of the complaint. She had not spoken with the manufacturer. The current mileage was approximately 67,000. The failure mileage was approximately 65,500.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #30

Feb 152009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 45 mph on normal road conditions, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The indicator remained lit until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the failure was caused by corrosion in the wire connector and the front driver's side impact sensor. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA campaign id number 07V192000 (airbags, frontal, sensor/control module), although the failures were identical. The failure mileage was 70,000 and current mileage was 71,800. Updated 05/05/09 the drivers side sliding door was difficult to open manually and the passenger sliding door did not open all the way. Updated 05/07/09.

- Maplewood, MN, USA

problem #29

Feb 062009

Grand Caravan

  • 99,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light comes on. This is the same issue covered by recall campaign 07V192000 NHTSA action EA06003 but my vehicle was manufactured 4 months passed the end of the recall.the dealer diagnosed the problem as exactly what the recall issue is.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #28

Dec 282008

Grand Caravan

  • 37,971 miles
Check air bag light kept coming on and off. Check air bag light consistently stayed on. Checked internet for recalls. Found NHTSA campaign id #07V192000. However, our vehicle was not included as part of the recall. Took vehicle in to have it inspected. Technician found no left impact sensor communication. Sensor was replaced and wiring was repaired. Technician confirmed that the sensor component had brass bushings as noted in the recall. We have the part in question. Chrysler was then contacted at 1-800-853-1403 and informed of the problem. Chrysler customer service would not agree to pay for the repair as stated in the recall. We were told to contact Chrysler 's reimbursement center regarding our case #318265532 for the left sensor. We are filing this complaint to inform you that our vehicle is affected and should be included in the recall. The right sensor has the same brass bushings and needs to be replaced, as this is a safety issue.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #27

Apr 152008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,550 miles
I bought a 2005 Dodge Caravan SXT in October of 2007 with 50,000 miles on it. The next week the airbag light started coming on at random when driving at slow speeds (< 20) and then would go out. I called the dealer and they said they could not diagnose it because it was occurring on a random basis. The light stopped coming on a few weeks later and did not come on again until last week. Now it is coming on frequently and staying on at highway speeds. Coincidentally, the weather warmed from the 40's to the upper 70's just before the light started coming on again. I checked the Dodge website for recalls but it showed no outstanding recalls for my VIN.

- Broadalbin, NY, USA

problem #26

Apr 032008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
Air bags sensors failures.

- St.Helen, MI, USA

problem #25

Mar 312008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Dodge Caravan air bag sensor and wiring corrosion, a know issue internal customer satisfaction notice to dealer June of 2007 to repair no charge.. my vehicle did not meet the "date, " it has the same issue/defect they are ignoring, covered part but not labor. Should recall and inspect all vehicles.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #24

Mar 092008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The airbag sensor light went on and the dealership told us they would run diagnostics on it for $89. After doing so, they said that vehicle has 2 airbag sensors that have an internal short. They said the parts would be $223.52 and it would take 2-3 days to order them.

- Baraboo, WI, USA

problem #23

Jan 152008

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
Air bag impact sensor failure.

- St.Helen, MI, USA

problem #22

Nov 012007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan. The air bag warning light illuminated. The dealer stated that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced and referenced NHTSA campaign id number 07V192000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module) for the 2005 Dodge Caravan. The failure mileage was 70,000 and current mileage was 79,000. Updated 03-04-08

- Warrensville , NC, USA

problem #21

Apr 122007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,392 miles
I took my vehicle, a 2005 Dodge Caravan, to kempthorn Dodge in canton Ohio because the air bag light came on and the fob keys were making the left front and rear lights flash and locks click when you got the keys close to the vehicle. There was also a clunking noise in the right front suspension. Kemthorns told me that there was a short in the passenger air bag, the key transmitters were bad and that the front sway bar links and bushing were worn out. The vehicle had 42,392 miles on it. They told me that to fix the short in the air bag, the dash board had to be pulled and the total cost to fix everything would be $1,000. I was charged $150 just to find the problems. I took the vehicle to another mechanic and he verified the short in the air bag but found that the sway bar links and bushings were in good shape. The problem was the right front strut at the top. He also had the two keys replaced at a fraction of the dealer's cost. Since then the air bag light went out.

- Bolivar, OH, USA

problem #20

May 142007

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,900 miles
On my 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan, the air bag warning light started coming on when the vehicle was going over 45 miles per hour. During the last oil change I had the dealer review the issue and it was determined that both front air bag impact sensors were corroded due to water getting to the sensor. I did a quick search for a recall and found that the 2005 Dodge Caravan was on recall for this exact issue (07V192000) however I was told that even though this was an issue on the Caravan my VIN did not match so I wasn't covered by the recall. So I wanted to make sure that the nhtas was aware of the problem which I also reported to the manufacturer.

- Norwalk, IA, USA

problem #19

Mar 302006

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,023 miles
About 2 weeks after my warrenty expired the light indicating that the air bag had deployed came on, but I have not been involved in an accident. I have not had it fixed yet because heard on the news that Dodge was concidering a recall, but have not heard anything else..

- Cleveland, NY, USA

problem #18

Apr 032007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
- the contact stated that while driving the 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan with (36000 failure mileage the air bag light on the dashboard turned on and would not turn off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who looked at the vehicle and they could not explain the reason for the failure. There was an open investigation on the air bags for this particular year, make, and model. The current mileage was 36,200.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #17

Mar 192007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,984 miles
My 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT with 50100 miles on it had the airbag indicator lamp on the instrument panel remain on during normal vehicle operation. The vehicle was occasionally driven in heavy rain and seasonally was exposed to mid-atlantic winter weather conditions. The vehicle has never experienced any impact or disturbance to front end. The vehicle was brought to the local Dodge dealer for diagnosis, and the technician found no communication from lf impact sensor. Further inspection revealed corrosion on the pin connectors, located inside a supposedly waterproof weatherpac rubber connector, where the wiring harness plugged into the sensor. The lf sensor and about 3" of the wiring harness was replaced at a cost to me of $240. After reading the number of instances of this occuring on other vehicles I assume that it is only a matter of time until the rf sensor fails as well. I strongly feel that this failure is a design defect and the cost to remedy the problem (past, present, and future) should not be bourne by the consumer. Additionally, the method waterproofing the splicing of the new sensor wiring consisted only of hand wrapped electrical tape around the wires. If that method is standard replacement procedure for a component that is directly exposed to wheel spray, then it seems likely that there will be a second wave of failures when the wiring splices short out in vehicles that have been serviced. I do have the defective sensor and mating harness and would be happy to provide it for inspection if necessary.

- Titusville, NJ, USA

problem #16

Feb 092007

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Airbag sensor started coming on about 6 weeks ago. I took vehic le to dealer two days ago, and was told that the sensors were bad and would need to be replaced. I was also told that they were not covered under warranty, have approx. 39,000 miles, and will it will cost around $300. At the same time, the right passenger sliding door was malfunctioning, so they checked that one as well. The track needed to be replaced and was covered under warranty since it was considered electrical. Why were the airbag sensors not considered electrical? the airbag sensors were on backorder, and could take 1 - 2 weeks. I was advised not to drive my car until the sensors were replaced. My car was only 2 years old and I bought it brand new. In March 2006 I had to have to fuel guage/sensor replaced as the light would not come on when I was low on gas. I ran out of gas twice.ak

- Oh, OH, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?