Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,180 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

May 012016

Grand Caravan

  • 127,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. While trying to restart the vehicle, the contact noticed that the key fell out of the ignition. The contact replaced the key and was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 127,000.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #32

Jun 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received a recall notification in June of 2015; however, the dealer placed the contact on a waiting list and stated that the part was not available for repair. The dealer did not know when the part would be available. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Olmsted, OH, USA

problem #31

Oct 022015

Grand Caravan

  • 66,114 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that it took several attempts to start the ignition. The failure has occurred for a month. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 66,114.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #30

Mar 112014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at an unknown speed, both rear sliding doors opened independently. The contact stopped the vehicle and manually closed the doors. While parked, the rear sliding doors closed independently and had to be forced open. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and diagnosed the cause of failure as electrical. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. MA 08/11/15 the consumer stated the failure causes physical pain and anxiety to occupants. The doors would lock children inside the vehicle. The interior lights and radio would not operate. The vehicle would also shake violently. Updated 8/14/15 updated 09/03/15 updated 3/29/2016 the consumer stated she as well as her children have been smashed by the doors and her family has been under doctor's care since the vehicle was purchased. Updated 04/05/16.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #29

May 082015

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles
This vehicle has a stalk on the steering column that controls the windshield washer, wiper, as well as the vehicle bright lights, and the turning signals. Around May. 2014 the washer began working intermittently. Sometimes it would work, sometimes not. Wiggling the stalk would sometimes make it work. By pulling the stalk toward the driver, the bright lights are suppose to come on temporarily, until released. They stopped working, also about may, 2014. It is still working intermittently, but now the turning signals are also affected, working intermittently, or even putting on the left turn signal, when the switch is turned for a right turn, or right for left. I am afraid that this switch is defective, and can cause an accident if it does not work reliably.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #28

May 272015

Grand Caravan

  • 88,870 miles
My headlights have been turning on by themselves while the switch is in the off position.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #27

Jun 242010

Grand Caravan

  • 64,155 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our air bag light comes on after repeated, exact turns of the steering wheel. Has to do with the steering wheel clock spring. It only illuminates in temps over 70 degrees or so. We live in the desert of Arizona and have been excluded in previous recalls. We are afraid the air bags will not work properly in the event of a crash.

- Arizona City, AZ, USA

problem #26

Oct 302013

Grand Caravan

  • 135,000 miles
The parking lights turn on and off randomly when the vehicle is off. When the vehicle is running, the parking lights don't operate properly using the light switch--e.g. the parking lights stay on when turned off. Cycling the switch several times can turn the parking lights off. Our car was manufactured late in December 2005 according to Dodge. This appears to be related to NHTSA action # EA11010. Dodge has refused to cover the headlight switch assembly (hsa) under what should be a lifetime warranty. The hsa has been replaced at owners expense and the problem appears to be fixed. We saved the defective part.

- Richfield, WI, USA

problem #25

Jun 272014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 49,500 miles
Passenger side sliding door will not lock by remote key. Driver side sliding door will not open or close by remote key or interior console key. I believe the system is defective and that switches are defective as well.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #24

Aug 112010

Grand Caravan

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact attempted to open the passenger side sliding door, but it would not open when the remote door control was activated. The failure occurred for four years. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- La Crosse, WI, USA

problem #23

Jan 062014

Grand Caravan

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Electric locks no longer work for side doors. Can still manually lock/unlock doors, but this involves reaching around from front seat. This is a safety issue because my child cannot manage to manually pull up the lock to unlock the door and let herself out in case of an emergency. Side doors also no longer automatically lock when reaching driving speeds, which is another safety hazard related to children. Various solutions have been posted online but all accounts state these are only temporary fixes and do not resolve the issue long term. Cannot operate the electronic locks from the driver side door switch, either, so this is not a key battery issue. Whatever electrical short is causing this has also shorted out the dome lights inside the front of the van (driver and passenger side).

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #22

Mar 172012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My son was driving my van on the interstate when suddenly everything on the van shut off. Luckily, there were no vehicles immediately behind us.he said that he bumped the ignition with his knee.

- Ruma, IL, USA

problem #21

Jun 012013

Grand Caravan

  • 106,000 miles
Vehicle headlights intermittently turn off even though the headlight switch is in the on position. Headlights are able to be turned back on by cycling the switch off and on multiple times. Sometimes headlights flicker on and off intermittently even though the headlight switch remains in the on position. This has been a problem according to a previous investigation by your organization. The investigation number EA11010. Your findings showed this problem occurring with this particular make model and year of vehicle. It also indicated that Chrysler corporation was going to initiate a lifetime warranty on the headlight switch assembly for this particular vehicle. It indicated that this was going to start sometime in early 2013. I contacted Chrysler corporation service and they indicate that there is no warranty or known problem on that particular headlight switch assembly. When I referred them to your site and the particular investigation and conclusion in regards to this issue they indicated that this was not a known problem and just because it was on the internet does not mean that is true. The identified issue and problem with the headlight switch assembly will not be taken care of under warranty according to Chrysler corporation. This seems to be in direct conflict with what Chrysler corporation told your organization that they were going to do which was to place this part under a lifetime warranty beginning sometime early 2013.

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #20

May 202010

Grand Caravan

  • 70,867 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated there was an egr and electrical problem that recurred. The engine light illuminated when she was driving on multiple occasions. The rear right passenger door would not lock or close properly. The left brake light and left turn signals were repaired multiple times. The failure was diagnosed by an independent mechanic. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the egr valve system, the left brake light, left turn signal light, front wipers, front brake pads, and rotors needed to be replace. The vehicle also needed a major tune up. All of the repairs were made minus the egr valve system and the rear passenger side door which the dealer was unable to repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70867.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #19

Jan 092014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while he attempted to start the engine, smoke emitted under the hood. The main wiring harness was on fire and spread to the central computer system and the wheel wells. The manufacturer investigated the failure and concluded that the wiring harness failure was not caused by a manufacturing defect. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 162,000. Updated 3/31/14 the consumer stated as of Feb 27th, the insurance company totaled the vehicle, due to the extensive repairs of $6,800. The main wiring harness and all the computers were damaged, along with the fuse block. Updated 04/01/14..updated 04-22-14 updated 04/23/14

- League City , TX, USA

problem #18

Jan 092014

Grand Caravan

  • 162,000 miles
My sliding door quit working half way thru cycle. My power went dead in doors and locks I took it to the Dodge dealer they could not find the problem said it was either the ECM or the BCM but not sure. They did not want to replace as they would just burn out again if this was the problem and still a short somewhere it was safe to drive. I drove it home and next day went to start it and the main wiring harness under the battery and above the drivers side wheel well burst into flames burning the entire main electrical harness and ECM and fuse box up. Took it by tow truck to Dodge dealer again they said looks like wiring harness was worn through where it was fastened to the frame at the assembly plant. Called Dodge and they said this has happened before suppose to send an inspector and no one showed up it has been over a week and no help from Dodge or the dealer who told me it was safe to drive. I received a letter from Chrysler stating it was not a manufacturer defect yeah right!!

- League City, TX, USA

problem #17

Jan 092014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 154,000 miles
My sliding door quit working half way thru cycle. My power went dead in doors and locks I took it to the Dodge dealer they could not find the problem said it was either the ECM or the BCM but not sure. They did not want to replace as they would just burn out again if this was the problem and still a short somewhere it was safe to drive. I drove it home and next day went to start it and the main wiring harness under the battery and above the drivers side wheel well burst into flames burning the entire main electrical harness and ECM and fuse box up. Took it by tow truck to Dodge dealer again they said looks like wiring harness was worn through where it was fastened to the frame at the assembly plant. Called Dodge and they said this has happened before suppose to send an inspector and no one showed up it has been over a week and no help from Dodge or the dealer who told me it was safe to drive.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #16

Jul 082013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
Vehicle quits while driving in the rain and loses ability to steer.

- Prestonsburg, KY, USA

problem #15

Nov 012011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The automatic door locks are jammed on both sides of the vehicle and will not unlock even manually. While this may seem like a minor issue, if we were to end up in an accident with no way for my 5 children to exit the vehicle except through the front 2 doors, it would be a huge safety issue. I understand that the automatic locks occasional malfunction, there should be a safety mechanism that at least allows for it to operate manually but this is not the case. I researched online and on many sites there are others with the same issue. I called Chrysler to issue a complaint and they referred me here.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #14

Mar 252013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 72,900 miles
2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SE 72900 mi. Turn stalk inoperative signalling left hand turn though 4 way flasher works; so it is not the flasher. Right turn phase works. Intermittent failure. Will report to Chrysler 18009921997. Dealer refused to fix, not recalled. This is the second dgc with a turn stalk failure I have owned, other was 1999 dgc. Chry. Does know about the headlight switch failure and replaced free.

- Rochester, NY, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?