Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,459 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #14

May 062015

Grand Caravan

  • 141,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving at 35 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 141,000.

- Dayton, VA, USA

problem #13

Oct 012012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
After filling fuel tank, pulled into traffic and the van stalled 30 seconds later. Was able to pull out of traffic and restart. This happens now every time the fuel tank is filled. Within a minute or two of leaving the gas station, the engine will at least hesitate and many times stalls completely.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #12

Sep 052013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
After fueling, the vehicle with surge and often stall with need for restart. Very frequently it does this when taking off from a stop sign which can cause a stall in the middle of an intersection.

- Hastings, NE, USA

problem #11

Jan 312015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 84,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up with gas engine stalled approximately 1/2 mile from the gas station. Had to coast to side of the road without power steering. Placed engine in park, turned of key and restarted. Engine ran rough had to depress accelerator for additional gas. Once restarted engine ran fine for the rest of the trip. This same problem also occurred in early January 1/03/2015 after filling up with gas. Not only is this an inconvenience, but very dangerous in heavy traffic scenarios.

- Byron, IL, USA

problem #10

Jan 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Engine unexpectedly stalls shortly after refuel.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #9

Mar 032014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Investigation: Dp 14-002; prompted by: Defect petition; date opened: 09/05/2014; investigator: [xxx]; reviewer: [xxx]; approver: [xxx]; subject: Engine stall after refueling. Please include me in the above mentioned complaint/investigation # dp 14-002. After refueling, my engine stalls about 1 to 2 minutes after starting almost every time I fill-up with fuel. When the fueling nozzle trips for the first time, I do not attempt to continue adding more fuel and possibly overfilling the fuel tank. I have been caught in heavy traffic at times with the engine stalling and it takes 2 to 3 attempts to restart the vehicle. This is very dangerous! now after refueling, I pull away from the pumps and park out of the way and allow the engine to stall. After attempting to restart several times, the engine will misfire for about 30 to 45 seconds, then the engine will smooth out and run fine until the next refueling. I want to thank you in advance for all of your help in this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #8

Nov 202014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 220,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Over the last several weeks my 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan with a 3.8 liter engine will stall out several times after refueling. It will restart & stall several times before the problem seems to rectify itself. All power assisted steering is lost and the vehicle becomes difficult to steer safely. Power braking is also affected. There have been a couple of occasions where I have been turning into traffic and had the vehicle stall. One time I was unable to complete the turn and stay in my lane. On one occasion I breached the lane to my left. While traffic was traveling in the same direction I was, another motorist had to slam on the brakes to avoid hitting me.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #7

Oct 072014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
After filling the tank with gas, the van engine runs rough and then stalls out. This has happened numerous times over the past three to four years. When it happened on tues, October 7, 2014, I had just pulled out of the gas station and was getting ready to cross a busy intersection when the car stalled. I had to quickly put it in to park and restart. Scared me to death. Again, this has happened at least fifty times to me. We have taken it to the dealership and they can never get the problem to happen for them which makes sense because it is only going to happen after refueling.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #6

Feb 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT. While attempting to shift the vehicle into park, the vehicle accelerated unexpectedly. As a result, the vehicle crashed into the rear of another parked vehicle. The contact suffered from hip pain. An independent mechanic cleaned the throttle plate. The vehicle sustained severe front end damage and was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. Updated 05/18/2015

- Brownsville, PA, USA

problem #5

Jun 052014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The brake pedal went straight to the floorboard when it was depressed and the contact stopped the vehicle using the emergency brake. The vehicle was able to be restarted and resumed normal operation. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure had not recurred. The failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 08/28/14 the consumer stated while driving the vehilce lost engine power, brakes, and steering. Updated 09/2/2014

- Hiawassee, GA, USA

problem #4

Jan 172007

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 5,758 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For no apparent reason, the engine shuts off while driving. The clock remains on, but accessories such as the heater also shut off, and I have no power assist with steering. So far, it's happened within 5 minutes of start-up; the outside temperatures were below freezing, but the engine has not always been cold. 1/17/07 approx. 5 min. After I'd been driving, at about 30mph, I realized the noisy fan for the heater turned off. I thought maybe the new van has a feature I didn't know about, where it reaches a set temperature then shuts off automatically? then I realized the radio had also gone quiet. I tried to accelerate but it wasn't responding, so I went to pull off on the shoulder and discovered I didn't have power steering, either. Fortunately, I was able to brake. I turned the key to the off position, restarted the van, and it seemed to work fine. At no time did I see a check engine light. 1/18/07 I had driven to a gas station, turned the van off to fill the tank, and restarted it a few minutes later, to drive away. I accelerated about 5 feet before the van turned itself off again. I stopped, moved the key to the off position, restarted it, and went on my way. 1/24/07 I backed out of the garage, but after I accelerated in reverse, about 10 ft. Down the driveway the van turned itself off again. Other days I had the heater/accessories running, but this time nothing else was turned on. The clock remained lit, so it doesn't seem like a battery issue. I turned the key to the off position and restarted the van, resumed my drive, and made an appointment with the Dodge dealership under warranty. They said there were no computer codes showing; they drove 17 mi. But couldn't duplicate the problem. Since then, the van has only shut off by itself once more when my spouse was driving, but now it seems like a probable ignition switch safety issue to investigate.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #3

Apr 052012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled intermittently on multiple occasions. Additionally, the vehicle jerked violently and was extremely difficult to steer. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure was unable to be replicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 8/14/14 updated 8/27/2014

- Spencer, IN, USA

problem #2

May 202010

Grand Caravan

  • 70,867 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated there was an egr and electrical problem that recurred. The engine light illuminated when she was driving on multiple occasions. The rear right passenger door would not lock or close properly. The left brake light and left turn signals were repaired multiple times. The failure was diagnosed by an independent mechanic. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the egr valve system, the left brake light, left turn signal light, front wipers, front brake pads, and rotors needed to be replace. The vehicle also needed a major tune up. All of the repairs were made minus the egr valve system and the rear passenger side door which the dealer was unable to repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70867.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #1

Jul 082013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
Vehicle quits while driving in the rain and loses ability to steer.

- Prestonsburg, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?