Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 21 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #355

May 192015

Grand Caravan

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was outside of our house without the van keys and the horn started blaring and the wiper pump started spraying fluid. The wipers were shuttering. Several days prior the headlights stopped working. I disassembled the tipm and reassembled it to restore the headlights. I had hoped that I wouldn't see the headlight flashing/horn/wipers/wiper fluid spraying behavior again but it followed my investigation of the tipm. I have one on order - this is a safety issue, I've read that this can happen while driving and the van can shutoff while driving. I called Dodge who referred me to their service department who wants payment to diagnose this known problem with the tipm. I've heard that there is a class action lawsuit for this problem as well.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #354

Apr 292015

Grand Caravan

  • 86,500 miles
My wife walk into the garage and the van horn started blaring. The windshield wipers were shuttering and the windshield washer pump was spraying fluid continually. The lights were flashing.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #353

Jul 012014

Grand Caravan

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly shut off. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired. In August of 2014, the contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #352

Jun 022014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was a factory recall. I received a notice and called the dealer and was told the part was not available yet. 1/21/15 went to dealer & was told they were already out of the parts. Went back 3/16/15. Part was installed. This caused the complete electrical system to fail. Returned to dealer and they removed part & electrical system returned to normal. They gave the part to us. I am not sure how to resolve this problem. The dealer said they had problems with what the factory had sent to fix the problem. I would like to get the problem resolved. My families safety is very important to us. I feel that there has been ample time to get this problem fixed. I would like to hear how this problem can be repaired professionally without causing further problems. [xxx], my phone # is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #351

May 132015

Grand Caravan

  • 75,000 miles
Dangerous to drive dangerous to park in garage. Day 1: wipers, horn went on at 55 mph. After 5 miles it stopped. Next day everything was dead. Battery replaced. Next day, horn/wipers go on when engine is started. Eventually stopped. Mechanic pulled horn fuse. Day 3 : early am opened door, windshield wipers go on and stay on. I start car (big mistake), now I can not put car in gear, can not turn off engine or wipers. I just let it run, very dangerous in an attached garage, I was afraid to open hood or attempt to disconnect battery in a running car, eventually engine shut itself off, later wipers went off. I fear gassing my family or burning us down if it starts in the night. What more will happen if I drive it ? a few years ago, on highway, warning lights came on and engine stopped and vehicle was totally inoperable towed to Dodge, they replaced a computer module (warranty). Now I read it may be a very costly computer module again and that I am in danger.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #350

Feb 122015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/9/15

- Bellville, MI, USA

problem #349

Mar 022013

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A need a recall on tipm part which controls the engine which turns it on and off. Now a recall is due>becauase it is the issue with vehicle because now the ealerships are saying it is the issue or what is causing it to turn off.as a Dodge owner of a Grand Caravan, from the time I brought the vehicle there were issues. First it started with the vehicle turning itself off and did start back. So the dealership fix it. Then it was the brakes and rotors on the front end. Fix, repair, issues again, then issues again. So many other issues with this van later on. But I decided not to complain to Dodge company.. boy do I regret it now..it's been almost 4 years now, I still have issues with the engine cutting off while driving. This has gone on for awhile, then recall come out saying it's the engine switch, so now we are waiting on the it, still... when I have did some research and ask some people with computer knowledge on vehicles and they say by the engine cutting off while driving can cause issues with the tipm part (computer). I have taken it so many times to the dealership for this reason for the engine shutting it self off, they would brush it off it's the battery, got new battery then it happen again. Then took it back again, no engine light on, then they can't diagnose any issues. Now warranty is out.. still no part for the recall engine switch.... 2015. Now that the engine is still shutting it self off, dealership is now saying its the tipm part which is 1200. Or more... I believe it has been the issue the whole time, so Dodge needs to have a recall on this part before someone is kill... I worry about it happening to my family.I have three children. It's our only vehicle.. as of today still no part available.call Dodge - no help from them. They need to have a recall on the tipm part before its to late.

- Elizabethton, TN, USA

problem #348

Apr 202015

Grand Caravan

  • 106,288 miles
(I do have the 2nd incident recorded on my daughters cell phone. However, turning off of SR795 onto main street coming home from work - my wipers began to work on their own, as well as the message light center - all started blinking rapidly, and my seat belt sound was continuously beeping. Then last week as we were going on the expressway (280-75-475) my speedometer would jump from 60 down to 0 back up - continuously, while my wipers were going, all the message indicator lights were blinking, as well as my window would not (still don't) work nor can I lock/unlock my van from the drivers side. The incident on the expressway, incident #2 - is the one I have recorded. I phoned grogantown Chrysler - and was informed they were never sent the L25 part that is recalled. My complaint is this: If my van is a 2008, the original recall was in 2011, how can a dealer put the van back on the lot for sale if the recall has not been addressed or fixed. Insane - and an inconvenience - I was told I could drive it til rouen (which is closer to me) can do a diagnostic test on May 26th. What happens if it is indeed the L25 recall and myself or my kids are injured in an accident cuz Chrysler corporation has not made this part available.

- Millbury, OH, USA

problem #347

Jun 162011

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #346

May 012015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to no parts available to repair ignition problems.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #345

Mar 202014

Grand Caravan

  • 133,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down normal road when car shut down, engine died. Was able to pull over and restart the car. This same event has happened three times.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #344

Oct 082014

Grand Caravan

  • 61,000 miles
The ignition in my van turned itself off while I was driving on the freeway. No injuries. In 2014 there was a recall and I was under the impression that this serious condition would be remedied quickly. I have had 4 incidents of the ignition shutting off since the first time last year. The Dodge dealers in my area keep telling me the replacement parts are not yet in stock. Last week mckevitt Dodge in berkeley accepted my vehicle for repair stating they would have to charge me for the repair and that I would get reimbursed by Chrysler. After waiting just over a week, they told me that the parts weren't available until the end of June 2015. Isn't this a similar problem that GM had with their cars, that caused at least 13 deaths" how long can Chrysler play russian roulette with its customers lives"

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #343

May 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while in park, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 7/29/15 updated 9/23/15

- Clover, SC, USA

problem #342

Jun 162011

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact stated that the engine stalled without warning three times. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Arlington , TN, USA

problem #341

Jun 162011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 08/10/15

- Higginsville, MO, USA

problem #340

Nov 122014

Grand Caravan

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. When starting the vehicle, the key would not remain in the start position and returned out of position. In addition, the signal lights failed to illuminate. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #339

Dec 022014

Grand Caravan

  • 140,600 miles
The vehicle's engine suddenly stop functioning, causing the vehicle stops and turned off itself. Also the electrics malfunction made dash lights and signs turned on. This vehicle being inspected by authorized in la ca and advised me that this recall can not be completed due to the Chrysler unable to supply the relevant parts. This vehicle being used for terminal ill patients and requires urgent repairs of this vehicle. Please advise urgently your decision. Kind regards

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #338

May 042015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
While driving the vehicle, the engine stopped while making a right turn. The vehicle could not be steered and braking was difficult. Once the vehicle was brought to a stop, the engine was restarted and continued without fail. This is the second time in two weeks that this failure has occurred. It is related to the recent recall notice. I am very unhappy with Chrysler as, after calling them, we were told that there is no plan yet for the fix. We can certainly do the fix ourselves, but at our cost. When calling the dealership to get the new ignition switch, we were told that there is only one in the entire state and it may be difficult to get that part. This is a safety issue and could easily have caused an accident, had another car been coming around the corner.

- Eden Prairie, MN, USA

problem #337

Oct 222014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. Once restarted, the vehicle resumed normal operation. The failure recurred several times. Most recently, the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the recall part needed to service the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. Updated 06/01/15.

- Santee, SC, USA

problem #336

Jul 212014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- East Northport, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?