Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 29 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #195

Dec 112013

Grand Caravan

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle intermittently does not start. Turn the ignition key and hear the starter click, but does not engage starter and engine does not turn over. Sometimes, on next try (turn ignition switch to off position and then back to start position) will start. Sometimes after many tries it will start. Sometimes turn the key to on, place shifter in drive, then hard back into park and will start then. Have replaced battery, starter, relays, and made no difference. Codes do not come up and dealer has no idea of how to correct.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #194

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan

  • 110,000 miles
Received recall notice L25/NHTSA 14V-373 on 9/15/2014 indicating that I would be receiving a follow-up notice when the remedy part is available. To date no notice has been received. Called the dealer, the Chrysler recall center and the NHTSA vehicle safety hotline with no one able to find out when the replacement parts will be available. Someone must be able to find out that information! please provide the name and telephone number of the person I should contact to obtain the information as to when the part will be available. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #193

Dec 252014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
I was driving down the road, the wipers came on, the horn started honking the engine stalled and the lights went off- sat on the side of the road for 30 minutes and it started back up -tipm needs to be replaced.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #192

May 132013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When the problem first occurred, the car power would blip: The gauges would go to zero, the clock would go off, the lights would flicker on and off. I took it to the dealer and they said they fixed some wiring. After the car was returned, the problem persisted and worsened. Now, when the car slowed down (at a stop sign or light) the power would turn off completely, the engine would stall, light would go off, clock would go off, etc. I had to turned the key off and on to start the car again. I took it back to the dealer. They replaced two different parts - the ABS module and the main fuse panel for the car. When the car was returned, the problem persisted and got worse again. Now the car, when stopped or slowed down, power would shut down completely, shutting everything down as before, but now the key wouldn't turn. I couldn't turn it off or on or do anything for minutes at a time. The car power would suddenly turn back on it's own. So, once again, I took it to the dealer. This time they did a software update to several modules. I just received the car back from that visit on 12/17/14. The problem still persists. On 12/22/14, I lost power in the car while driving at a normal speed (30 mph) going down a hill. The power steering and brakes went out and I had trouble getting the car to a stop. I was finally able to put enough pressure on the brakes to slow the car and pull to the side of the road at the bottom of the hill. Since then, I've lost power twice when stopped at stop lights. I've been able to turn the key off and then back on. I called the dealer again. They said that it's most likely related to a recall and there was nothing they could do because they didn't have parts. They advised me to remove all other keys and rings from the ignition key. Even after that, I still lost power once so far.

- Beaver, PA, USA

problem #191

Dec 222014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
Driving van and justshout off. Lost all power in vechile and almosted crashed. This is very dangerous and needs to be addresss asap.

- Oakland , NJ, USA

problem #190

Dec 202014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 41,357 miles
Vehicle just quits. Only thing showing is the anti lock brake light. Have taken to dealer and there have been no codes associated with these continuing problems of the engine quitting. This has happened on numerous occasions.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #189

Dec 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. Chrysler complains about recall and not being able to get the vehicle fixed. Recall # 14V373000.

- Greenacres, FL, USA

problem #188

Apr 222014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 87,590 miles
Our 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan had an issue on the evening of April 21st, 2014 where the key just fell out of the ignition. It did not have an impact on being able to drive the car, but it just fell out. The next morning the vehicle would not start and the key would not turn or come back out once it was placed into the ignition. We had to have the vehicle towed to carmax where they completed the repair and we were fine with their service. We originally purchased the vehicle in November 2011. We were later notified by Dodge about a safety recall that involved a win module and they described the possible issues exactly as what happened to us. Since we had already gotten the work done and the vehicle has been driving great since carmax did the repair, we felt Dodge should reimburse us since that is what their recall notification stated. Now Dodge is saying it was a different part and they will not honor their own recall. Carmax was awesome and we are very happy with the vehicle, but not happy with Dodge since they acknowledge a manufacturer defect and refuse to honor it.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #187

Jul 232014

Grand Caravan

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the key failed to release from the ignition. The contact had to wait several minutes before the key released. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #186

Dec 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
Slowly driving through mcdonalds parking lot and van accelerated for a second. Pulled out into the street and did it again, this is the first time this has happened. Several times van would not start but electrical works. Wipers not turning off twice. Door locks won't lock or unlock. Worried that this small acceleration is another sign something is bad. Googled, reading tipm is faulty. This is our family van and only vehicle, we have a daughter with down syndrome and medical issues and now I'm scared to drive.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #185

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle, while driving, began to honk the horn, windshield wipers turned on, wiper fluid began spraying, lights flashed. This continued for approximately five straight minutes. Turning the car off did not stop the actions, neither did restarting the car. Eventually the malfunction stopped on it's own. I brought the vehicle for diagnostic testing through Dodge service and was told total integrated power module needed replacing but could not be ordered. They stated car was safe to drive. This continued to happen sporadically. At one point, the vehicle malfunctioned and in additional to previously listed problems, the vehicle lost all power steering and power brakes when it occurred while driving on the highway. When we were finally able to order the part, two months later, it was replaced. After three weeks with the new tipm, the vehicle once again, started to malfunction by horns honking, wipers turning off, fluid spraying, lights flashing and so on. I am told by Dodge that I will need to pay for another $100 diagnostic test to see what the problem is. They continue to state that the car is safe to drive despite intermittent and unexpected loss of power steering and brakes.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #184

Dec 122014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #183

Dec 112014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lancaster, KY, USA

problem #182

Sep 032014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Grand Caravan consumer is seeking reimbursement from Chrysler for out of pocket expenses for replacement of win module. The consumer stated the vehicle would not start at times. The consumer received a recall letter the next day. However, Chrysler denied the consumers request for reimbursement stating the part that was replaced was more than what the recall entailed.

- Hillsdale, MI, USA

problem #181

Nov 162014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received NHTSA campaign number:14V373000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 1/21/15 the consumer believed the problem was the ignition switch for the key fob. Updated 01/26/15

- Springfield , OH, USA

problem #180

Jun 182014

Grand Caravan

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was unavailable for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure. However, the vehicle experience intermittent difficulty returning the key to an idle position. The failure mileage was 2,000. The VIN was not available.

- Roseville , CA, USA

problem #179

Nov 192014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Commerce City, CO, USA

problem #178

Aug 292014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle stops running while driving down the road.......this happened occasionally but is happening more frequently. This morning it happened while driving around a curve and I nearly wrecked.

- Winchester, OH, USA

problem #177

Oct 062014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the key failed to turn over into the on position in order to start the vehicle on several occasions. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for months. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #176

Sep 152014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Wallingford , CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?