Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,354 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 9 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #595

Aug 072015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. After starting the vehicle on some occasions, the windows, the radio, and the ignition switch failed intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Mccammon, ID, USA

problem #594

Sep 092015

Grand Caravan

  • 164,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while parked and idling, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle required a jump start in order to restart. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact was informed that the alternator had failed. The vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 164,000.

- Temperance, MI, USA

problem #593

Jun 022015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Received recall notice R03/NHTSA 14V-373. Have tried to get fixed at pueblo Dodge in pueblo, co since 6.2.2015 with no luck scheduling appointment. Called 6.2.26 and spoke with a jennifer. Called 7.1.15 and spoke with a kevin C. called 8.20.15 and had my called returned by a leslie. Called 10.23.15 and spoke with dominic and was told still no parts, but I am 4th on their list.

- La Junta, CO, USA

problem #592

Jun 262014

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Custer Park, IL, USA

problem #591

Apr 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Safety recall R03 / NHTSA 14V-373 I have contacted the local Dodge dealer (adamson motors) in my area (rochester, mn) when I first got the recall notice in the spring of 2015. I called them again in the summer of 2015 and the had no record of my first call. I feel that they have had a reasonable amount of time to fix my vehicle and they have not done so.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #590

Oct 222015

Grand Caravan

  • 76,915 miles
The passenger power sliding door on my vehicle has opened on its own on several different occasions when in motion. The automatic locks keep the door from opening at high velocity, but until the automatic locks turn on the door can open unless I manually lock the door. I also have issues with the door not being able to close at all, and I have to manually close the door.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #589

Sep 012015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Washington, MO, USA

problem #588

Jul 082015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lutherville-Timonium, MD, USA

problem #587

Jul 012015

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/05/16

- Marplewood, MN, USA

problem #586

Jun 262014

Grand Caravan

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start promptly. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Pittburgh, PA, USA

problem #585

May 152015

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hudson, WY, USA

problem #584

Sep 252015

Grand Caravan

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the ignition switch was extremely loose. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the part for the repair was not available. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #583

Oct 202014

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #582

Aug 272015

Grand Caravan

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle lost power. In addition, while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. All the warning lights and interior lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 137,000.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #581

Oct 082015

Grand Caravan

  • 66,450 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working. This occurred twice on the day listed. The second time, I disconnected the battery and the problem would not stop. Also, with both terminals of the battery disconnected, I was able to start the car up.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #580

Oct 072015

Grand Caravan

  • 66,300 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on. All of this occurred while the vehicle was parked in the driveway. The engine had been off for 10 minutes. The battery had to be jumped because it was drained too much.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #579

Oct 042015

Grand Caravan

  • 66,100 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #578

Sep 212015

Grand Caravan

  • 65,860 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working. I disconnected the battery and everything stopped. It happened twice on this day.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #577

Sep 202015

Grand Caravan

  • 65,800 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluids was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #576

Jun 042015

Grand Caravan

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?