Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,948 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jul 042014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles


The calipers locked up on my rear driver side wheel. There was a terrible smell and loud sound when it happened. I was out of town with my daughter. I had to leave the van on a country road and come back for it later in order to let it cool so it didn't catch fire. The cost to repair was $750 to have all 4 calipers replaced. I had a 2006 Dodge Caravan that had the same thing happen 3 years ago. When it happened to me in 2011, it smoked and 911 was called to check out the issue. Having had 2 of the same types of vans have the same problem indicates to me that there is something wrong with Dodge's design of their vehicles. There are instances of this problem all over the internet with several Dodge models. A friend of mine several years ago had the same problem with a brand new Dodge Dakota that she had for 2 weeks. This is a dangerous problem that should be addressed by Dodge. Having brakes catch fire is a dangerous situation. I can no longer take my van out of town for fear of it happening again.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #30

May 072014

Grand Caravan

  • 60,000 miles
Shuddering while driving and loud noise coming from front of van while stopping. Made it home and husband inspected the brakes to find that pins were missing from the calipers! pins should not just fall out of calipers. So many others have posted issues with brakes from this make/model of car, yet no recalls. Why??

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #29

Jul 202012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
When brakes are applied, it sounds as if metal is rubbing against metal. Brake pads are brand new and rotors are in excellent condition. Have had the vehicle looked at and have also talked to others to find out the calipers are bad and this is a common problem. Even when replaced, the same thing begins to happen shortly afterwards.

- Coal Hill, AR, USA

problem #28

Feb 052014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles


I was driving down the road and I noticed that my steering was tight. When I looked down, my RPM's were on 0, my car had shut off and the traction control light came on. I pulled over to the side of the road, put car in park and it started right up. This happened again a few weeks after that, going the same speed. Brakes & steering gave out, was able to coast to side of road, put car in park and it started right up. On March 28th I was driving into work, going approx. 45-50 mph, noticed that my steering got tight, car had shut off again. Thankfully I was in the outside lane so I could pull over. Car started right up. It happened a 4th time on April 2, 2014. This time I felt the steering wheel getting tight, I put car in neutral and it started right up. Every time this happens my car shuts off first and then there is a 1-2 second delay before the traction control steering light comes on. My car is at the dealership right now, waiting to hear. I checked on the ignition recall for the 2010 Grand Caravan and I was told that my VIN# does not fall into the recall dates. This is very dangerous for myself, my family and others on the road. I am afraid to drive my car!!

- Mechanicville, NY, USA

problem #27

Mar 282014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
The ignition moved itself from start to accessory, shutting of the engine, disabling the power steering and brakes. Luckily I was already coming to a stop otherwise my lack of power steering and power brakes would have caused me to crash by the time I realized what had happened.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #26

Nov 132013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Driving through a school zone to take my daughter to school. The engine just stopped with no warning. This caused me to loose power steering and brakes. This happened on 6 subsequent occasions in different areas and at different speeds between November 2013 and March 2014 the most recent was March 11, 2014.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #25

Nov 012013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 17,500 miles


Van shakes and makes squealing noises while braking.premature wearing of brakes both front and rear. Manufacturer issued a recall only for front brakes, dealership changed front brakes and rotors when vehicle had 10,000 miles appx almost one year back( around first quarter 2012). Shaking of vehicle when brakes did not resolve. Dealership charged and changed rear brakes and rotors. Now one year later dealership is recommending changing rear brakes and rotors to eliminate the issue of van shaking while braking. Its only after 7000 miles of changing both front and rear brakes and rotors.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #24

Aug 242011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Brakes went out one month after purchase from the dealership. Replacement cost $936 for which we received no help from the dealer even though we paid for extensive insurance on the vehicle. Had to replace the entire brake system and just one and a half years later we are forced to do the same thing again. If the brakes cannot support the weight of the vehicle the vehicle should be recalled before fatalities are caused by a faulty brake system. We did receive a letter stating we would be reimbursed for our payment of the brake system but since we had moved and I could not locate the receipt we were not reimbursed.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #23

Aug 222012

Grand Caravan

  • 18,000 miles
In 2012 our 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan started shaking while driving. We took the vehicle in they agreed to fix not replace the brakes but we had to pay $100 deductible. We are having the same issue again August 2013. In doing some research I am finding many people are having issue with their brakes.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #22

Jun 042013

Grand Caravan

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed, the brakes pulsated and made a grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the mechanic where it was found that the rotors and brakes wore prematurely due to defected calipers. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 51,000.

- Apollo Beach , FL, USA

problem #21

Feb 032011

Grand Caravan

  • 18,000 miles


The brake rotors warp every 20,000 miles or so, so bad that the steering wheel shakes. This has happened on both my 2008 and my 2010 Caravan. Dodge has known about this problem for years and has refused to address it other than to give a discount only if you ask for it. Getting them fixed at the dealer is a pain cause they take the van for at least a day some times two. Also the wheel bearings on the 2008 did not last very long at all first set was replaced under warranty(37,000 miles) second set(68,000miles) was not. I have not had the wheel bearing issue on the 2010. The wheel bearings are sealed so it has nothing to do with the warped rotor issue.

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #20

Mar 312013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 31,700 miles
Vehicle full loaded with family of 5 and at highway speed began to shutter violently when braking in traffic. This was not the activation of ABS. Stability and control seemed at risk as well as braking power. General style of driving is to coast a great deal for greater gas mileage so this event may mirror similar events related to failed, inadequate, or deteriorated brakes at lower mileages. Authorized dealer indicated the brakes were fine but they will continue to vibrate/shudder due to "rust" and "pitting". dealer's experience when test driving was with only one person, the driver, in the vehicle. When there is only one driver the shuddering is tolerable rather than fully loaded where control and stability become a significant concern. Dealer indicated that if I did not like the shuddering of the vehicle, they would happily replace the brake rotors and the pads. In the interest of safety for my family, I chose to replace the brake rotors and pads. This is the earliest I have ever replaced brakes on a new vehicle. I wanted to share this information since it falls into place with similar information being shared to help others in evaluating whether or not to purchase this vehicle. This experience will be something to consider in my future vehicle purchases. The new brakes work very well without any shudder/shaking/vibration. I am hopeful the new brakes will last more miles than the original set.

- Bangor, ME, USA

problem #19

Apr 262013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
We had a very loud scraping noise coming from our rear drive side tire. At first it was when you applied the brakes but it quickly be came constant. We called the dealer and the quickest we could get in was 4/30/13. The dealer let us know that the rear caliper saddle ceased and this caused severe damage to the rotor and the pads. The caliper is under warranty but the damage is causes is not. I did a search and it looks like this is an issue with these vans but no recall from Dodge. They did however add an extension to the front brakes because they were all so causing issues in these vehicles. Looks like they need to do the same for the back. I am located in Canada.

- Navan, OR, USA

problem #18

Mar 232013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 17,020 miles
While driving on the highway I noticed a burning smell. I pulled over and noticed smoke coming from the rear brakes. I waited until the smoke clear and then continued driving. When I reached home, I noticed that the rear rotors looked like it something was digging into them. I bought this car for my family travel, with 2 young kids (2 and 6). I am starting to feel unsafe. Something needs to be done because of all of the complaints.

- Landing, NJ, USA

problem #17

Sep 022011

Grand Caravan

  • miles
I have a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan, that I bought new in July 2010. I have 31,000 miles and had to change the brakes and rotors 4 times. Dealer claims front end is to heavy. They supposedly have put a "revised brake pads" but same thing is still happening. Car pulsates repeatedly when I come to a stop, especially if I am stopping at the end of a hill. I bought this car because of my 2 small children and this is something that needs to be fixed.

- Mount Pocono, PA, USA

problem #16

Mar 122013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 38,696 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds and then applying the brakes, she heard a loud grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. After diagnosis they advised her that the rear brakes and rotors were improperly installed and worn. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 38,696. The current mileage was approximately 38,800. The VIN was unavailable....updated 04/25/13 updated 05/24/2013

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #15

Nov 052011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 15,688 miles
Driving down the road I smelled a burning smell coming from my van. I got out of my van and discovered that the smell was coming from my rotor. I took it to the dealership and they replaced my calipers and rotors due to a caliper sticking on the van.I have had numerous issues with the braking system.pulsating of brakes, calipers sticking, premature of rotors. I have had my rotors replaced at 7186 miles, 15688 miles and 24,527 and 39,435 miles.

- Willow Spring, NC, USA

problem #14

Apr 012011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 7,180 miles
When pressing brakes there is a real bad pulsating vibration. There has been numerous times I felt like the van was not going to stop properly which could lead to an accident.

- Willow Spring, NC, USA

problem #13

Feb 252011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The rear brakes and calipers seized and overheated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that they needed to replace the rear brake pads. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and a claim was filed. The failure mileage was 30000.

- Birdsboro, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 102012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 23,489 miles
Problem with brakes. Rear calipers stick causing rotors to overheat and pads to wear prematurely. Dealer fixed front brakes because of recall but would not repair rear brake problems. Chrysler should be made to stand behind their product.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?