Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,003 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments

problem #10

Oct 012014

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,933 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that when the key was turned to the off position, the engine remained activated. The contact stated that in order for the engine to shut off, the battery needed to be disconnected. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis. The mechanic stated that the ignition module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 118,933. Updated 11/21/14 the vehicle was repaired by the dealer. Updated 01/08/15

- Ashflat, AR, USA

problem #9

Jun 232014

Grand Caravan

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that while in park, the vehicle failed to turn off with the key in the ignition. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to a dealer where they performed the recall repairs but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 62,000.

- Whitehall, WI, USA

problem #8

Jan 012013

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,477 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle cut off while driving at 70 mph. The contact was able to coast the vehicle onto the shoulder where it was restarted. The vehicle was able to be driven to a private mechanic where it was found that win module had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system: Ignition). The failure and the current mileage was 67,477. Updated 2/19/13 updated 02/25/13 updated 02/28/13

- Eden, NC, USA

problem #7

Sep 062012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 27,718 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Prior to 9/6/2012, engine light came on for what the dealer said no reason. Then on 9/6/2012, van broke and would not start. It appeared as if stuck in all gears and I was told this was an electrical problem. There is a recall on this type/year of van for electrical problems, recall #11V139000;however, no recall shows up for my van VIN #. I don't feel this vehicle is safe. The dealer has had my vehicle for a week now along with another one same make and model/year that they are having the same issue. There is a definite problem with this model vehicle. My vehicle is still not repaired or exact problem diagnosed. Yet, they expect me to drive it again when I get it back. These electrical issues need to be further evaluated. Yes my van was in a parking lot but that was lucky. Please look into this further. The dealer don't even understand the problem on these 2 Grand Caravan per our last conversation we had today.

- Natural Bridge, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 022012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 23,900 miles
Rear passenger wheel gets extremely hot while driving. It appears that the caliper may be locking up. The rear wheel on the driver side also makes a high pitched whine, which is intermittent and usually goes away by tapping the brake pedal. We took it to the dealer and they said we needed a rear brake job. However, I believe this is due to defective calipers which are not releasing the pads from the rotors. The rear brakes on every car I have owned always last significantly longer than the front. The fact that the rear pads are worn excessively while front are not indicates a defect in the rear brake assembly. The ignition was repaired as part of a recall. However, after starting the car, the key does not return to the "on" position. This allows the car to run and be driven, however none of my lights or directionals work. I can wiggle the key to get it into the correct position, but sometimes it is not obvious that the key is in the wrong position. This results in me driving without headlights in the rain and thinking that I am signaling properly in turns when in fact everything is off.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #5

Apr 142012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA recall campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system:ignition); however, after the repair was performed the ignition key fractured when inserted into the ignition cylinder. The failure occurred six times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 07/06/12 updated 07/12/12.

- Rancho Cordova , CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 142012

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that after having repairs performed on the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number:11V139000 (electrical system:ignition), the turn signals, windshield wipers and the power windows failed intermittently. The contact stated the failures were non-existent prior to having the recall remedy performed on the vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and the current mileages were 7,000.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 012011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall notice concerning frequency operated button ignition key the consumer was informed, the parts were not available to fix the recall, even though he received a recall letter in the mail.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #2

Sep 012010

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall sporadically without warning. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure but denied any assistance with further repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was repaired at the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 23,000 and the current mileage was 26,000. The consumer stated the vehicle continued to stall after the recall was performed. The consumer stated she no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 11/16/11.

- Cordile, GA, USA

problem #1

Mar 042011

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall without warning. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer who found that the vehicle was not included in (NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000; electrical system: Ignition). The failure mileage was unknown but the current mileage was 15,000. Updated 06/01/11

- Tigard, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?