Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 8 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Jul 132010

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact rented a 2009 Dodge Journey from a local temporary rental vehicle facility. The contact stated the vehicle would vibrate excessively when applying the brakes from a speed of at least 35 mph. The contact stated the feeling was similar to metal scraping against metal. There was an increased stopping distance and there was a hesitation in brake engagement when the brakes were applied. The failure would occur intermittently. The rental vehicle facility stated they were not aware of the failure. The contact was unaware if the rental facility made any repairs to the vehicle. The failure and current mileages are unknown. Updated 10/13/10 updated 10/21/10

- Livermore , CA, USA

problem #46

Jul 062010

Journey

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated while driving at 30 mph and applying the brakes, the brakes began to grind abnormally and sounded as if metal was grinding on metal. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and advised the contact to return in two weeks for further diagnostic testing. The manufacturer advised there was not a recall for the failure and would not provide any assistance. The contact had the front brakes replaced at a different dealer and the failure did not persist. Most recently, the rear brakes began to exhibit severe brake dust surrounding the rear tire well. There were no repairs to the rear brakes. The failure mileage was 24,000 and the current was unknown.

- Tenley Park, IL, USA

problem #45

Jul 262010

Journey

  • 15,401 miles
Brakes and rotor issues on 2009 Dodge Journey, at 15,400 miles my brakes started grinding one day out of no where and the pads need to be replaced and rotors machined already. In looking at various sites this seems to be a prevalent problem with this vehicle.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #44

Jul 222010

Journey

  • 18,620 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have a 2009 Dodge Journey with defective brakes. Vehicle has only 18,000 miles and this is the 3rd set of brakes and rotors needing replacement. Premature brake wear leading to brake failure front and rear. Contacted Chrysler, they want me to pay for defective brakes. Dealer admitted to me seeing on going problem with this car. Chrysler says nothing wrong. Numerous complaints online from same vehicle owners, same complaints. Something needs to be seriously done about this before someone gets hurt.

- Cedarhurst, NY, USA

problem #43

Jun 012010

Journey

  • 25,000 miles
Having a fairly new vehicle 2009 Dodge Journey I just needed to get new brake pads and rotors I can believe how bad the brake were at 25,000 miles.

- Liberty Hill, TX, USA

problem #42

Jun 102009

Journey

  • 7,009 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that he had experienced braking difficulty which included excessive pressure applied to the brake pedal and an extreme throbbing feeling while braking at various speeds as low as 35 mph. The dealer replaced the two front rotors but the failure recurred. The contact also heard a loud, unusual popping noise when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the front brake pads, replaced the front passenger side rotors, and reshaped the front driver side rotors; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that they would take the liability for partial repairs. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a three times who advised the identical repair that was previously performed. The contact declined the repair. The contact was concerned since there were numerous complaints pertaining to the failure for his year, make and model vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer advised the contact that the failure was contributed to normal wear and tear. The failure mileage was 7,009 and the current mileage was 18,945.

- Nedham, MA, USA

problem #41

Jun 072010

Journey

  • 19,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 35 mph when pressure was applied to the brakes the contact could hear a squeaking noise. The failure recurred whenever the brakes were applied. An authorized dealer was notified and informed the contact that this was a known failure and he would be responsible for the repair cost. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 19,500 and the current mileage was 20,300.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #40

Jul 132010

Journey

  • miles
Front left brake pads and rotor excessive wear. Back left brake pad and rotor very little wear (to the point pitted rust was on rotor). Original front pads and rotors changed out at approximately 36,000 miles due left to right uneven wear. Back pads and rotors changed out at 49,000 miles, due again to uneven left to right wear. After having the braking system looked at for this issue by the dealership tech where I bought the car from, I have been informed that it was due to "excessive rust". I had an ase certified mechanic change the back pads and rotors and was informed that there was no issues with brake slides, pads calipers, or rust. Now dealership has informed me "that due to all evidence of the issue being destroyed, I will have to wait for it to reappear or complete failure to happen in order to resolve issue".

- Darien, WI, USA

problem #39

Jul 202010

Journey

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving 45 mph the contact applied the brakes and heard a squeaking sound in the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the contact was informed that the front rotors and pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. There were no prior warnings. The VIN was not available. The current and failure mileages were 21000.

- Valley Township, PA, USA

problem #38

Jul 162010

Journey

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for a routine oil change. The technician inspected the rear brake pads and informed that the brake specs were 4 millimeters. The contact stated the failure occurrence was extremely early for the mileage on the vehicle. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 17,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #37

Aug 012008

Journey

  • 4,143 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated when the brake was applied the vehicle and the steering wheel shook. The vehicle was taken to the dealer numerous times for the failure. The dealer replaced the front and rear rotors, and brake pads four times. The rear differential assembly was also replaced, but the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The failure mileage was 4,143 and the current mileage was 52,175.

- Highland Mills , NY, USA

problem #36

Jul 142010

Journey

  • 30,000 miles
2009 Dodge Journey SXT brakes are faulty. Have seen numerous reports of problems with these brakes. Chrysler needs to recall!!! had to have new brakes @30,000 miles.

- Abernathy, TX, USA

problem #35

May 152010

Journey

  • 19,000 miles
2009 Dodge Journey- noise with the front driver side brakes. Router and brake pad are worn at only 27,000 miles. Noise started at under 20,000 miles and has gotten louder and router is in worse condition. Dealer stated they could not find any issue with the router or brakes. There is a visible groove in the router and the sound of metal on metal when the car is in motion and the brakes are applied. Major premature wear of the brakes and routers.

- Pound, WI, USA

problem #34

Apr 102009

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in mechanicsville va in 2008. The vehicles front brakes have been replaced 3 times and the front rotors twice in 55,000 miles. The rear brakes also needed replacement once. There is no warning when the brakes become warn, except for metal-on-metal sounds when the hardware for the pads make contact with the rotors. The quick loss of braking surface and rotor wear is effecting braking response and causing the vehicle to shake violently when the brakes are applied. I contacted Dodge customer service and a dealership, and both stated that it was driving habits that were causing early wear on the brakes and rotors. However, I have never had to replace these components so early and often on any vehicle I've owned before.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #33

Jul 072010

Journey

  • 15,700 miles
I own a 2009 Dodge Journey. The front rotors have been replaced twice and my current mileage is only 15,700!

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #32

Jun 292010

Journey

  • 11,000 miles
I bought my car May 2008. The first time it went into the shop was in Jan 2009 and my car had about 11,700 miles with squealing noise. (my husband is military and we had to move across country, that's why we have that many miles on it by Jan). At that time we didn't have any money to look closer into it. We took into a dealership and was told $600 would fix it. April 2009 my husband changed out the brakes of the car and took it to the base hobby shop to get it rotated. September 2009 squealing noises started again. Dec 2010 we took to a Firestone and they told us our brakes needed to have the brake pads changed out again. We were shocked. Waiting for income tax to come back. Feb 2010 we had the whole front brakes and rotors replaced. Cost $400. April 2010 squealing noses came back. April the rotors were resurfaced! June we stared having squealing noises again. Took it into Firestone since we could the brakes done there. The manager was so shocked at how our brakes were already he called my husband in to the shop to look at the back brakes!!! the back brakes now!!! he told us the caliper was torn and that the brakes needed to be replaced. At this time he told us that he thought we really needed to take it into the dealership. Took the car into the dealership that same day and told the service adviser everything. The side, the brake and ect. By 10am he called us telling us that all the brakes were 90%!!! I don;T think so., I told him to call my husband at that time because my husband saw what they say isn't there! so my husband got out of work early went into the dealership and the service adviser wanted to hand back the car and my husband said no I want to show you. Adviser said it will be a minute as we are busy. 1 hour later he calls my husband. Okay my husband showed him!!! pointed at it and showed him! the adviser was shocked and didn't know what to say but I'll come see you in a minute in the waiting room. (can't fit all of it).

- National City, CA, USA

problem #31

Jul 012010

Journey

  • 20,800 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in April 2009. It is now July 2010 and 20,000 miles later I already have had to replace my front brake pads and the rotors needed to be replaced as well!! after calling Chrysler because this is way too early to be replacing them they simply stated that it was not under warranty and there was nothing they could do. I have noticed several complaints of the same nature on blogs and on here.

- New Haven, MI, USA

problem #30

Jun 242010

Journey

  • 12,800 miles
This is a follow up E-mail to phone call. My comp# is 274123. My last name is spelled wrong and there are a few discrepancies. Also wanted to give an update. I own an 09 Dodge Journey in which I had to replace the front brake pads at 12,800 miles, just after warranty, replaced by midas in Dec.09. At 19,800 I felt my steering wheel shake when I applied the brakes. Upon inspection I realized my rear brakes pads and rotors were shot. Being suspicious of this premature brake issues I googled "09 Dodge Journey brake problems" and found hundreds of the same exact complaint! premature brake failure. Hundreds of people who needed their pads and rotors replaced from 5K-22K sometimes even more than once! at the average expense of $360. I also noted that there are numerous of the same complaints from Chrysler Town & Country and Dodge Caravan owners. When I contacted the dealer I was told by their service clerk that the ceramic pads originally installed at the manufacturer are wearing prematurely and that they are being replaced by a totally different pad with "extended life". in most cases they are being replace in "good will"(free of charge). A service tech also confirmed this but told me he could not promise that this service would be free until further inspection. When we dropped the car off at the dealer our main complaint was the rear brakes and rotors. We asked (in writing )that they be replaced in "good will" and that they also inspect the front brakes an rotors because they were replaced at 12,800 with the same ceramic pads that are causing all the problems. The dealer called and said they would replace the front pads and cut the rotors free of charge but would not replace the rear pads and rotors. The tech said they were already doing enough "good will"repairs on the car and that if we wanted the rear brakes repaired it would cost us $370. I called Chrysler directly and got the same response. It's amazing! the front pads need to be replaced again after only 7K.

- Highland Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #29

Jan 092010

Journey

  • 15,500 miles
Replaced brakes at 15,500 miles.just had car in for oil change and inspection at 20,000 miles and was told I need new brake pads again.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

problem #28

Jun 212010

Journey

  • 17,459 miles
I bought a brand new Dodge Journey in April 2009, this is June 2010 and I have 17,459 miles on it. Brakes started squealing when I back out of my garage and sometimes when I'm pulling up to stop sign or red light. Had them checked with my regular oll change and was informed today that I had less than 10% left on my front brakes!!!!!!! I live on a barrier island for gosh sakes, I'd have to ride the brakes 24/7 to wear them out that fast! called Dodge Corp. And they say its not covered under the warranty after 12,000. Miles, ha!!!!! I traded in a new Chevy Impala with greater than 60,000 miles and still had 40 % left on the brakes and I was the driver......this is definitely a default in materials and has to be addressed before someone gets killed. I wasn't even going to ask them to look at it as I would never suspect a new car needing brakes. I make a new car payment so I won't have repair bills, this is not right. From what I have researched this is an ongoing problem with Dodge and has not been addressed.

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?