Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,263 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 10)

problem #187

Mar 152016

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. When starting the vehicle, the stability control, ABS, and emergency brake lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V047000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 07/26/16 the consumer stated on two separate occasions, the brakes brought the vehicle to an abrupt stop. Updated 08/02/16.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #186

Nov 022015

Journey

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle faulty brake system issues. The consumer stated all four wheels were locked which left the vehicle immobile. The brake pads, rotors, calipers and master cylinder were all replaced and the vehicle still can't be driven.

- Montfort, WI, USA

problem #185

Feb 152012

Journey

  • 40,000 miles
When brakes are applied, the steering wheel shakes so bad that I am afraid of losing control of the vehicle. No one else wants to drive it and I only dare to drive it back and forth to work which is less than 7 miles and speed limits do not exceed 35 mph. I have had brakes replaced twice since I bought it in 2011 and now it needs them again. I had to replace all 4 tires with less than 20,000 miles on them. Cost was over $1300. What can I do with this lemon? also, when it rains, the driver's side rear door fills with water.

- Augusta, ME, USA

problem #184

Jun 032013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The door control panel has failed, causing the driver to not have the ability to roll down the window, or lock and unlock the door. The airbag warning light has also come on, presumably indicating a defect in the door panel airbag sensor. I spoke with Dodge regarding a safety recall for the same model year, but excluding my VIN. They indicated that they would not cover the costs of the replacement of the faulty parts, but to "save my receipts" in case they decide to replace the parts in the future. Now my family's daily driver has a faulty airbag, in addition to brakes that have to be replaced every 12-18K miles, and no help from Dodge... thanks for the bailout americans...

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #183

Feb 012013

Journey

  • 98,000 miles
Brakes, allignment, drive shaft was bent...4th set of tires purchased in Feb. 2013 gas tank & fuel pump needed replaced April 2013 caliper locked up causing fire, vehicle needed to be towed May 2013.

- Webster, TX, USA

problem #182

Feb 022012

Journey

  • 19,600 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for routine maintenance when she was informed that the brakes would need to be replaced within 10,000 miles. Whenever the contact applied the brakes she would hear a loud squeaking noise. The front brakes were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 19,600.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #181

Mar 242012

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought this car used in 2011. We had an inspection done of the brakes by the dealership we bought from and were informed the brakes were in good shape. We have taken the vehicle to the local Dodge dealership for regular preventive maintenance and they have told us the brakes are in good shape also. The last visit they told us the front brakes were completely gone. This after just 4000 miles. The electrical system is also failing. The vehicle at times just won't start or other times will shut done. We feel this vehicle is an accident waiting to happen and feel we have a lemon with no course of action and still 5years of payments.

- Bismarck , ND, USA

problem #180

Apr 032009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 3,424 miles
Purchased date 7/3/2008- 4/3/2009- 3,424mi. Wiper blades had to be replaced. 4/8/2009- 3452mi.- replaced power inverter connectors because of recall. 6/22/2010-8,661mi.- hood arm came off, hood liner torn. Had to be replaced. 6/10/2011-13,082mi. Replaced both front door wiring harness because of recall. 5/18/2011-12,636mi.- small oil leak noticed by tech., was not oil leak so did not pursue further. 12/30/2011-15,258mi.- went in for oil change and tech. Noticed water leakage under car, said I had left ice in cooler compartment in back of drivers seat and it had melted and overflowed into carpet. I dried it up and on 1/16/2012 -15,382mi.- after alot of rain returned car to dealer, carpet and foam under drivers seat was water soaked again. Front and rear door gaskets on drivers side was replaced. Carpet was not dried so I had to return it on 1/24/12 to be dried. On 2/10/2012-15, 532mi.- water leaking inside again from rain. Tech foundbody seam imcomplete and pinch weld drain blocked. Repaired and water tested, said no further leaks detected. Carpet was not fully dried so I air dried. On 3/16/2011 -15,835mi.- returned car after raining. Water in car again. Now it is 3/26/2012 and nothing has been done except water testing. Working with Dodge Corp. And dealer has been very frustrating. Meanwhile I am without a vehicle and still payin for it. If there ever was a car called a lemon Dodge Journey 2009 is king of the lemons.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #179

Feb 252011

Journey

  • 18,984 miles
Had hard time bring car to a stop went to a Dodge dealership to have them look at it.they said that it was so bad that I could not drive it until it was fixed, it was not fixed until Monday Feb,28,2011 they charged me $50 dollars for the repair. Then on March 19,2012 had to go back to same Dodge dealership and have them replace the rear brakes & rotors the car only had 31000 mile on it. They charge me $100 dollars for repairs said they did not know why the brakes and rotors gave out, but would only charge me $100 for the repairs. There is no way that the brakes & rotors should wear out this fast they need to recall all Journey's with this safety problems and put the proper size brakes on.

- Redford, MI, USA

problem #178

Mar 012012

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to issues with vehicle brakes the consumer stated the dealer replaced the front brakes. Then at 29,000 miles the rear brakes were replaced due to excessive squealing.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #177

May 282010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 34,966 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes making a scraping noise, multiple repair attempts. Told not to drive car until caliper and bracket fixed. Have already had to replace hub and bearings, caliper and bracket in front, front brakes and rotors and back brakes and rotors. Was told by the service representative at dealership that I would probably have to replace brakes every year.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #176

Dec 012008

Journey

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the steering wheel would wobble whenever the brakes were applied. As a result, the contact had to replace the brakes and rotors every 15,000 miles. The brakes were replaced by an authorized dealer, an independent mechanic and by the contact herself. The authorized dealer informed the contact that the constant failure was due to the way she was operating the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Chandler, TX, USA

problem #175

Jun 142010

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Brakes continue to go bad. Vehicle calls for numerous brake changes including the rotors as well. Dodge notified and nothing has been resolved. Also their valve stems are breaking in half in cold weather. Causing tires air to deplete within 8 seconds. I have the valve stem from my car that broke and the other was replaced earlier under warranty. If this valve stem was to break in half while at high speeds on the highway, someone could be killed.

- Lester, WV, USA

problem #174

Feb 182012

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Pads, discs and rotors need to be replaced at 22,495 miles on the vehicle.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #173

Feb 142012

Journey

  • 62,472 miles
Upon taking an exit ramp from the freeway I removed my foot from the gas pedal and placed it on the brake pedal. The traction control light came on and I immediately lost power, then I noticed the electronic throttle control light was flashing too. After sluggishly lurching my way to the side of the road I read that the manual said to place the vehicle in park and cycle the ignition. Upon doing this the lights went off and the vehicle appeared to function normally. Then, it did it again the next day under very similar circumstances, I removed my foot from the accelerator and applied the brake and both lights came on with a total loss of power and some lugging to the side of the road. If a semi had been behind us, there is no way he could have stopped soon enough to avoid a collision. I find numerous complaints about the etc on the internet, but nobody taking action. Does someone have to file a lawsuit first? because I will.....

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #172

Oct 122010

Journey

  • miles
I have had to replace the brakes on my 2009 Dodge Journey 3 times since March of 2009, my car only has 35,000 miles on it. I feel that the brakes are defective and are not safe. They do not provide a safe driving enviroment.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #171

Dec 072009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 19,414 miles
On my 5th set of brakes & rotors on my 2009 Dodge Journey. The car only has 53000 miles on it. Chrysler refuses to admit there is a problem with the braking system on the car. I am now averaging replacing rotors every 10,000 miles. Very expensive and most importantly not safe. Please investigate this problem as Chrysler extended the warranty on the brakes when we received a letter in July of 2011 to 36,000 miles. They know the brake system is too small for the car. There have been other electrical problems as well. I feel this car is a lemon. Thank you!

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #170

Mar 162011

Journey

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the brake pads and rotors wore down prematurely. An authorized dealer replaced the rotors and pads on four occasions in an attempt at duplicating the failure, but the failure continued. The failure mileage was 12,000 and the current mileage was 55,000.

- Hugo, MN, USA

problem #169

Apr 082010

Journey 6-cyl

  • 14,608 miles
Brake pads and rotors. Brake pads wear away way premature and rotors also wear to fast.

- Wadesville, IN, USA

problem #168

May 242011

Journey 4-cyl

  • 34,795 miles
My front brake pads and rotors required replacement in may of 2011 at 34,795 miles. The driver's side front brake pad and both rear pads needed replaced by December of 2011, as well as resurfacing all rotors. The mileage at that time was approx 48,000 miles.

- Yukon, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?