Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,790 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 30 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Jul 132011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles


At random times the engine will not start. It is not a battery problem, as all lights and radio work even when the engine will not turn. If you wait long enough it may start again. This is a safety issue as you never know when or where this problem will occur.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #38

Oct 072010


  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated occasionally the vehicle failed to start. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic who could not identify the problem. The contact replaced the battery but that did not remedy the failure. The contact did not notify the manufacturer of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #37

Jun 122010


  • miles
NHTSA it all started when I bought my Journey: Nice looking but very, very bad experience 1.transmission, it change speed by itself. It change speed from 80 mph to 40, then 70 mph to 30 mph.. I was driving in the expressway and this change of speed happen to me several times. I took it to the dealer and they said that they could not found the problem, after so many incidents I got mad to the dealer and told them that my life is at risk because the car change speed by itself that they have to do something about it. They finally fix the car. 2.brakes, I have problems with the brakes too. They run fast and have to keep changing them. 3.battery, I have problems with the battery too. I have told them numerous times too check the battery, because the car does not want to start and they keep telling me that there is nothing wrong with the battery. So my question to them is the following if the battery is good., what is the problem? I have to turn on the switch several times until the car start. They said that they cannot find the problem. And now the latest problem!!!!!!!! 4.steering, every time I turn the wheels the car make a wear sound like an old car does not turn off. Now my car does not want to turn off the dealer said that I bought the car and that now the car is mine and I have to take care of it. Yeah right!!! so my question is the following what is NHTSA going to do about it while Chrysler ignore their customers complaints and not taking responsibility. In the mean time we the consumers have to pay for Chrysler poor performance, etc. Dodge Journey should be remove from the market. And we as consumers should be reimburse or at least Chrysler should recall all cars.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #36

Sep 302011


  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that when the key was placed in the ignition the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and they have yet to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure and current mileage was approximately 62,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Ezusa, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 012011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
On multiple occasions, entered 2009 Dodge Journey, turned the key, and all I hear is a click. Wait a little while, try it! finally, after 1/2 hour of trying to start the vehicle, it finally starts. This happens on too many occasions. I searched the internet, and it seems to be a consistent problem, not only with the Dodge Journey, but with all Dodge vehicles. Other owners have complained about the same thing. Brought my car to the dealership to diagnose, and they cannot replicate the problem. Brining it for a second time.

- Wapwallopen, PA, USA

problem #34

Jul 222011


  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and they advised him that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Farmington, UT, USA

problem #33

Nov 042010


  • 39,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 40 mph, the headlights and hazard lights began to illuminate without intent. In addition, the windshield wipers functioned without activation. The contact drove to the side of the road and after waiting approximately thirty seconds, the vehicle began to operate normally however, the hazard lights remained illuminated. The failure recurred four times and also the horn sounded unexpectedly. On December 4, 2010 the front driver side door wiring harness was replaced at the owner's expense. The identical failure recurred and the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 10V658000 (electrical system: Wiring). The failure recurred after the recall remedy repair and currently the vehicle was being repaired by the dealer. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Rincon, GA, USA

problem #32

Aug 232011


  • 66,326 miles
2009 Dodge Journey SXT. In the year I have owned it, I have replaced brakes twice, as rite now I am replacing them cause they started squeaking a week ago and today they locked up. Also replacing one of the calipers. Any time I take a hard left turn, there is a loud grinding noise. I have replaced the tires already, and have had to replace the rear 2 again recently. Any time I go to brake when going over 40 mph, the steering wheel shakes uncontrollably. I have also received a recall from a local dealership for a wiring harness in drivers side. When I went in to dealership, they put it on order and said they would call when it came in, but never did. That was 6 months ago.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #31

May 012011


  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the key would not fit into the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer several times for the failure and the dealer replaced the key. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who performed a diagnostic test and stated that the failure was located at the win module. The dealer also stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system: Ignition). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was awaiting a response. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000 and the current mileage was 68,000.

- New Castle , DE, USA

problem #30

Jun 282011

Journey 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Bought this vehicle about 3 mos..ago. Had 53, 000 miles. Have had nothing but problems with this vehicle. Engine light comes on and off, had it checked, stated fuel problems. Mechanic stated needed new fuel cap. Still not better. Was driving today and electron throttle came on, car act as tho it was going to stop. I pulled car over, turned off engine. Read book, than started car back up. Light went off. Also door locks lock when they want to. This car has some kind of problems with computer, needs to be recalled.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #29

Mar 012011


  • 38,500 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after receiving a recall notice in regards to NHTSA campaign id number 10V658000 (electrical system:wiring). The vehicle was then taken to a dealer, but they advised him that they do not have the parts available because the manufacturer was only distributing one part every so often. The failure and current mileage was approximately 38,500.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #28

Jun 122011


  • 53,350 miles
Purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey with 53000 miles on it. The car will not start intermittently and had it towed back to the dealer. Dealer cleared the fault codes out and car started "100 times" says the service rep. Then, had to take son to hospital and car would not start. Had it towed at my expense and cab to the er at my cost. Dealer has no clue what is wrong. So imagine buying a certified used car and being in this situation. Car is still at dealership, been there for 3 days and they have no clue. They are going to start "replacing things" service bulletins state that ignition switches can go bad and should be replaced in these models. Problem is, it is intermittent.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #27

Jun 012011

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer states vehicles stalled on several occasions and wouldn't restart. The electronic throttle, engine and air bag lights illuminated a week after the dealer serviced the vehicle. The consumer asked the dealer if there were any related recall on the vehicle and they stated they were not aware of any recalls. The consumer stated two days later, he received a recall letter in the mail. The consumer stated he mailed the receipts in for reimbursement, but he didn't receive the full amount. Updated 08/17/11.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #26

May 022011

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Journey. Consumer writes in regards to not receiving recall service the dealer informed the consumer, the replacement part was not available.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #25

May 112011


  • 35,000 miles
Bought 2009 Journey with 47,000 km's on it about 3 months ago from Dodge dealer. Have had to have the car towed twice now because it would not start. Dealer seems to be in the dark about how to fix problem. Poor, poor, example of customer service and car quality.

- New Glasgow, 00, USA

problem #24

Mar 032011

Journey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after receiving a recall notice regarding the front door wiring harness. She scheduled her appointment for March of 2011 and the vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they advised her that the part was on a universal back order and was unsure when it would become available. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. Updated 06/17/11 the vehicle was repaired on May 17, 2011 after the consumer contacted corporate. Updated 06/30/11

- Chatsworth, CA, USA

problem #23

Feb 252011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V658000 (electrical system:wiring). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told the parts necessary to remedy the failure were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was also told the dealer was only allowed to order enough parts to remedy two vehicles per week. The failure and current mileages were 50,000. Updated 06/01/11 updated 06/13/11

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #22

Sep 152010


  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would fail to start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted to report the failure. The failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage 50,000.

- Detroit , MI, USA

problem #21

Jun 302009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Dodge Journey in August of 2008. I have had repeated problems with rotor and brake wear. The rotors have been replaced twice and all 4 brakes have been replaced twice with the front being replaced 3 times. The first of which occurred just past 12,000 miles. This is when brake and rotor wear warranty ends. I have also had significant problems with the wiring sensor module, resulting in stability control and anti-lock brake light to come one. I also have power ports in the vehicle that do not work as well as a lift gate that does not lock. I currently have 48,000 miles on the vehicle and now have issues with leaking. I am unsure how water is entering the vehicle, possibly thru the air conditioning drainage system. The entire drivers side floor boards are wet as well as the built in cooler behind the drivers seat being completely filled with water within several days of emptying. This occurs when it is not raining or wet outside. I now have mold issues in the vehicle. Myself and my children have significant allergies and asthma. This vehicle is unsafe to drive. The electrical problems resulting in air bag failure are defiantly scary.

- Dawsonville, GA, USA

problem #20

Sep 282010

Journey 4-cyl

  • 43,201 miles
Purchase a Dodge Journey 2009. I inform the dealer that the windows were not coming down as they should. Didn't get fixed. The keyless remote was suppose to be with the car it wasn't, they installed a after market keyless remote, don't work correct. The brakes were squeaking and could hear air within the car when applying brakes. I was told that there's nothing wrong and it was normal. It has been 4 to 5 months later now its not starting. Contact chrsyler llc, told me I had to have it towed to a dealer, get diagnose, get it fixed and I have to pay for it all and they will reimburse half for the part, labor is all on me. The vehicle has done this no start problem 3 times in 2 and half days. Also notice that the steering column gets hot for some unforeseen reason. Inform the dealer I purchase my Journey from, I was told that is normal. Still have the Journey can't trade in back because I have no money, so I am stuck with it. Having it towed to dealer to get problem looked at and all expense is on me. What do I do. I think chrsyler will not repay me. I have to borrow money to get this done because this is my only transportation. I am scared that I might have a electrical fire while driving and will not notice it until it too late. What do I do. Please help in richmond va.

- Henrico Or Richmond, VA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?