Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 8
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,306 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 29 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Apr 012012

Journey

  • 29,345 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The failure recurred randomly. The contact stated that all of the lights on the instrument panel illuminated after inserting the key into the ignition. When the contact attempted to start the vehicle, the vehicle emitted a cracking sound. The vehicle was taken to dealer, but the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of failure. The failure mileage was 29,345 and the current mileage was 29,845.

- Sturbridge , MA, USA

problem #64

Jun 172012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 37,735 miles
Today after a short trip, the engine refused to start. It clicked, but nothing. Everything else worked. Doors locked and unlocked, windows opened and closed, but as for the starter, nothing. This is the 3rd time the car has refused to start first time. Both other times were less than a year ago. The dealer has not yet been contacted, so I don't know what it will do. A federal complaint will be filed and a link to this site will be provided. 45 or 46 similar complaints are far too many for this not to receive serious attention. The following link shows 45 other similar complaints. www.carcomplaints.com/Dodge/Journey/2009/electrical/engine_wont_turn_over.shtml.M

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #63

Feb 012012

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact turned the ignition key and there was a delayed response. The engine started after three attempts. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer twice but the contact was uncertain of the cause of failure and the specific repairs performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Bradon , MS, USA

problem #62

Apr 172012

Journey

  • 47,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer twice for the failure. The wind module was replaced once but the failure was not corrected. The dealer recently placed the wind module wires and the engine started but the contact believed that the failure could recur. The failure mileage was 47,700 and the current mileage was 47,900.

- Petal , MS, USA

problem #61

May 052012

Journey

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the battery, alternator and the starter failed. The battery needed to be recharged approximately three times per week. The contact stated that if the vehicle would sit an hour after the recharge and not started, the failure would recur. The battery was only six months old. The dealer was notified of the failure who advised that the power distribution center would need replacing, but the parts needed for the repair were on back order. The manufacturer was notified and a complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #60

May 202011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While attempting to start the vehicle, the contact noticed that the vehicle would not start unless the key was turned inside the ignition a total of six continual times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the software was updated, however the contact was still experiencing the failure. The current mileage was 102,000 and the failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 05/31/12 the consumer stated it took up to four times to start vehicle. He took the vehicle to dealership twice and the dealership made two area adjustments. The problem was not fixed. He took back a third time but dealership stated the problem was fixed but will re-check it again. The consumer left the vehicle for two days. Updated 6/6/12

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #59

Apr 132012

Journey

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was getting gas. Shut the car off. Went to restart and nothing. Sits an hour or so then starts. No recall, im not the only one. Seems like oh well. Thanks for listening.

- Quincy, OH, USA

problem #58

Apr 142012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Vehicle will not start or crank. Electrical systems work when door is open, close the door nothing works. Battery has plenty of juice doesn't need jumped. Dash reads "badkey" for a milli second when you insert key fob. Wait an hour or so and the car will start up with no problems. Turn the car off and it will not start again. Dealership wants to replace win module as a "starting point" since their computers can't get code from the car.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #57

Apr 092012

Journey

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would occasionally not start. The vehicle was taken to the delaer, where the battery was replaced. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 24,000.

- Northville, NY, USA

problem #56

Mar 192012

Journey

  • 40,000 miles
I like so many others are having an issue with my vehicle. At times the vehicle does not want to start. I have had it towed 2 times to the dealer and of course once they get the vehicle there it starts. They then tell me that there is nothing that they can do for me. I called Chrysler and they said they were unaware of the problem which seems so funny to me cause every where I read it is something about the vehicle intermittently not starting. This is my first and last Chrysler product I will ever own. How many complaints do you need before they are going to do something?

- Memphis, IN, USA

problem #55

Feb 152012

Journey

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The contact was able to successfully jump-start the vehicle with the assistance from another driver. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. While examining the vehicle, the contact applied pressure to the brain box under the hood and the vehicle unexpectedly started on its own. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and a loose wire was repaired. The wire was located near the started. The failure continued. The vehicle was towed back to the dealer, but they could not diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 82,000.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #54

Mar 242012

Journey

  • miles
We bought this car used in 2011. We had an inspection done of the brakes by the dealership we bought from and were informed the brakes were in good shape. We have taken the vehicle to the local Dodge dealership for regular preventive maintenance and they have told us the brakes are in good shape also. The last visit they told us the front brakes were completely gone. This after just 4000 miles. The electrical system is also failing. The vehicle at times just won't start or other times will shut done. We feel this vehicle is an accident waiting to happen and feel we have a lemon with no course of action and still 5years of payments.

- Bismarck , ND, USA

problem #53

Apr 032009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 3,424 miles
Purchased date 7/3/2008- 4/3/2009- 3,424mi. Wiper blades had to be replaced. 4/8/2009- 3452mi.- replaced power inverter connectors because of recall. 6/22/2010-8,661mi.- hood arm came off, hood liner torn. Had to be replaced. 6/10/2011-13,082mi. Replaced both front door wiring harness because of recall. 5/18/2011-12,636mi.- small oil leak noticed by tech., was not oil leak so did not pursue further. 12/30/2011-15,258mi.- went in for oil change and tech. Noticed water leakage under car, said I had left ice in cooler compartment in back of drivers seat and it had melted and overflowed into carpet. I dried it up and on 1/16/2012 -15,382mi.- after alot of rain returned car to dealer, carpet and foam under drivers seat was water soaked again. Front and rear door gaskets on drivers side was replaced. Carpet was not dried so I had to return it on 1/24/12 to be dried. On 2/10/2012-15, 532mi.- water leaking inside again from rain. Tech foundbody seam imcomplete and pinch weld drain blocked. Repaired and water tested, said no further leaks detected. Carpet was not fully dried so I air dried. On 3/16/2011 -15,835mi.- returned car after raining. Water in car again. Now it is 3/26/2012 and nothing has been done except water testing. Working with Dodge Corp. And dealer has been very frustrating. Meanwhile I am without a vehicle and still payin for it. If there ever was a car called a lemon Dodge Journey 2009 is king of the lemons.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #52

Jul 012011

Journey

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technicians adjusted the engine wires but to no avail. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Fort Covington, NY, USA

problem #51

Jun 012011

Journey 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that after turning the ignition switch, all of the lights would illuminate but the engine would not crank. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 52,935. Updated 04/10/12 updated 04/16/12

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #50

Dec 132011

Journey

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle would resist starting attempts sporadically. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and had the battery and wind module replaced but the failure persisted. The dealer advised the contact that they were unable to determine the cause of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- Lusby, MD, USA

problem #49

Dec 072009

Journey 6-cyl

  • 19,414 miles
On my 5th set of brakes & rotors on my 2009 Dodge Journey. The car only has 53000 miles on it. Chrysler refuses to admit there is a problem with the braking system on the car. I am now averaging replacing rotors every 10,000 miles. Very expensive and most importantly not safe. Please investigate this problem as Chrysler extended the warranty on the brakes when we received a letter in July of 2011 to 36,000 miles. They know the brake system is too small for the car. There have been other electrical problems as well. I feel this car is a lemon. Thank you!

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #48

Oct 172011

Journey

  • 37,000 miles
At 37,600 miles the cars electronic throttle control indicator lit and the car would not start. The car was towed to the dealership and the dealership reported it was a bad starter. It was not covered under warranty and the total cost of repair was $386. At 41,000 miles the electronic throttle control indicator light went on again and the car was towed to the dealership again. The dealership reported it was a bad throttle body and this would need to be replaced at a cost of $613. As of this date the total cost of repairs for the same problem, the electronic throttle control, has been $999.

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

problem #47

Aug 012011

Journey

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that intermittently, the vehicle would fail to start. The dealer made three attempts to duplicate the failure but to no avail. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 41,112 and the failure mileage was 30,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #46

Dec 092011

Journey

  • miles
Our electronic throttle control (etc) came on last Friday evening. We cycled the key and the etc sensor shut off. However, further searches showed that this problem could be caused by cold weather. No recalls are noted on NHTSA's website. The Dodge Journey handbook is very vague on what action should be taken if the etc sensor appears for a short time but then disappears after key cycling is complete.

- Springfield, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?