Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: A prime example of why you should never buy the first model year of a new vehicle.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,211 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Dodge Journey steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Jul 302016


  • 85,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 15 mph, the esp warning indicator remained illuminated. The steering wheel made a loud noise as if something was loose. In addition, the vehicle stalled and failed to start. The vehicle was previously repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure recurred and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #31

Aug 182016


  • 125,000 miles
My 2009 Dodge Journey SXT will completely shut off while driving, not stopped but right in the middle of driving. This has happen 2 times sense getting it back from the dealer in January from taking it in for the recall for this very problem. This is very dangerous and now I am being told to bring it back to the dealership for a diagnostic test to see if it related to the recall and if not related then I will have to pay for the diagnosis lol yea right!! I have never heard of a car dying while driving it. If I am told I have to pay as mich as one penny the only thing I will be paying for is a lawyer.

- Kc, MO, USA

problem #30

May 072016


  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While attempting to make a right turn, the vehicle became difficult to steer and stalled without warning. The front end of the contact's vehicle crashed into the front end of another vehicle. The front end of the contact's vehicle was damaged and was no longer able to be driven. The vehicle was towed. A police report was filed. The contact received neck, back, arm, and head injuries. Medical attention was received. The contact received notifications of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) and 16V047000 (air bags); however, the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #29

Feb 122016


  • 82,000 miles


The failure that occurred on Feb 12,2016. Put the life of my child and myself in eminent danger. While traveling 70 mph in the high speed lane, with moderate traffic on the highway, the car sudden shut off. The dashboard went black, the engine stalled and the car became almost impossible to drive. Not one indicator light on the inside or the outside of the vehicle worked, I reached for hazard lights that did not respond, the gas pedal was unresponsive. The steering was slow and hard to use- power steering was not available. Brakes seemed slow to respond. I know for certain had I collided with any item the airbags would absolutely without a doubt not deployed. The car had simply decided to "shut off", I put the car in neutral hoping to continue rolling forward down the highway with traffic. I was able to muscle the car to safety on the side of the road. I placed the car in park, and turned the ignition to the off position. After several minutes of calming myself and my daughter down I restarted the car. It started, however now every light that can illuminate on the dash, the wipers, day time running lights, radio, and door chimes in a 30-40 second repeating pattern. The dashboard indicates that the car is in park, reverse, neutral, and all forms of drive at the same time. The speedometer, RPM gauge, gas gauge, oil pressure and temperature gauge bounce from the minimum to the maximum during the cycle. The car has clearly had a extensive electrical failure- the "main computer" - as I dont know the exact component that has failed is no longer able to determine whats going on. Having this terrifying failure with my daughter in the car caused me to google the problem, im not the only owner this is a reoccurring situation for many owners. Im just so thankful to have walked away unharmed

- Portsmouth, RI, USA

problem #28

May 202014


  • miles
The ignition reads bad key and won't start. The tire stems corrode and break off. The calipers are defective which cause the breaks, tires and rotors to wear. This vehicle has too many defects and should have been recalled years ago.

- Adelphi, MD, USA

problem #27

Nov 232015


  • miles
Power steering hose was leaking fluid and burst, spilling all liquid out. Happened 3 times during 2015.vehicle was stationary when hose or connection to hose broke.leaking might be happening while in motion, but its hard to tell

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #26

Jul 142009


  • 58 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact also stated that the steering wheel shook while making a right or left turn. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 58.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #25

Apr 152015


  • miles
I had to replace power steering hose as it was found leaking on my Dodge Journey 2009. My concern came after looking at 10V475000 campaign where it say 2010 Dodge Journey had same faulty part, do it also applies to 2009 Dodge Journeys?

- Marlorough, MA, USA

problem #24

Jan 162015

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
Power steering fluid leaks, I have looked up recalls and found on some years of Dodge Journeys that there have been recalls due to crimped lines that leak and can cause engine fires due to the fluid leaks, also I found that there was a recall on my vehicle that did not get serviced before I bought the car at the dealership.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #23

Jan 112014


  • 115,000 miles
Power steering pump making whining noise. Service shop replaced cracked hose, adv may have been due to extreme cold weather, occurred in Jan 2014(mn) -25 -30 below temps at that time. Second occurrence was in March, different hose, again may/may not have been result of cold, adv would need to replace the entire fluid routing system. 1 large part with hose/piping. Was able to carefully cut the split part and re-attach the hose. Car has ran fine, no issues, until Nov Dec 2014 cold weather appears to affect pump/hoses.

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #22

Aug 292014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles


Turning left onto highway, lost all ability to steer, brake, etc. Car just froze up. Put on flashers, coasted to right side of road (no left shoulder) across traffic. Turned ignition off, restarted in 1 minute, and was able to drive away. This has been happening with increasing frequency since, now several times a week usually with turns right or left. Took to dealer "could not reproduce", but said the ABS bad so installed new ABS, installed recalled ignition switch but actually now happening more! taking to different local Dodge dealer to assess since not satisfied with primary dealer (purchased vehicle) and their lack of further diagnostic testing.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #21

Jul 012014


  • 100,000 miles
While driving on the freeway @ about 70 mph suddenly the steering locked up and there was no power. While I was trying to merge over to the side of the freeway( I had to cross 3 lane, I was almost hit by multiple cars. I had no control of the car. I managed to get off to the side off the freeway and happened to look down to see the ignition key turned to the off position. I dont have any other keys attached to it because I had just had the starter replaced maybe 1 week before & was advised not to. I started the car thinking maybe it was a freak thing and it wouldnt happen again. It did 2 days later. This time I was approaching an intersection turning left on a green arrow. Just as I started to turn the car turned off making it very difficult to turn and barely missed a group of people on the sidewalk where my car ended up before stopping. I had the car towed to the service center the dealership I bought the car from. This was not a Dodge, Chrysler, or Jeep dealership either. I was told that rwi module had to be replaced and it was not covered under my warranty and Dodge would not cover it either. While the car was being repaired I came across recall L25. But was told my VIN number was not included in the recall. The car was in the repair shop for 5 days. It cost me over $600. The day I picked the car up I came across documentation of the expansion to the L25. I was then again told the VIN was not part of the recall & an investigation was being done and eventually the VIN would be in the recall but I could not be given a date as to when this would happen. I called Dodge corporate offices and was told the same thing. I feel like I own a coffin on wheels.. all in all I have had this car in for repair for the key turning to the off position 3 times now. Something needs to be done now before someone is seriously hurt or killed in a crash because of this defective part.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #20

Jan 072014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Power steering hoses rupturing from cold weather. Second hose in less than 1 month to blow out while vehicle is parked and warming up. Many people online with same complaint, when it gets cold the Journey starts blowing the power steering hoses. Seems to have been a problem from the start, but the problem hasn't been fixed and newer models are still experiencing this problem. The mechanic feels this is due to the material being used is not the appropriate material, it is too hard and brittle. Once the hose blows out you lose the power steering which is dangerous and it starts to get smoke inside the vehicle as the power steering fluid is smoking in the engine.

- Star Prairie, WI, USA

problem #19

Dec 172012


  • 54,390 miles
We bought the Dodge Journey in Dec 2012 3 weeks or so later I returned to dealership with a clicking sound when I moved the steering wheel that the front end was shaking and that there was a load roar long story short every 6 months rotors brakes tires are having to be replaced and I guess what really set things more in motion was Jan 21 2014 while traveling down the interstate to take a sick child to the dr the left front tire valve steam blew out my husband got the car off the road only to jack it up to change tire when the weight of the vehicle bent the jack causing it to fall almost on my husbands foot, we bought this car because it was a V6 and had the room we need to travel to dr appts with our special needs child because we have to travel so far I have had nothing but trouble the dealership after a fight agreed to put new brakes the machined the rotors and said the steering was a Dodge thing nothing to worry about only the load clicking when pulling in or out of a parking space and the roar in the front they claim is the raos and they also at this time put 4 new tires on the car now mind you this was all done 7/6/13 and they done all of this when they purchased the car in 11/20/12 and when I go back in to the car fax every 6 months the breaks rotors and tires have to be replaced. Now here it is 6 months later for us and blow out also we just changes the rotors and brakes on the 11 of this month so see the 6 month deal with this car and when searching other complaints I am finding the same problem I have contacted Chrysler and they say call my dealership I informed [xxx] at Chrysler it was not the dealerships problem they didn't make the car. It is a death trap there are so many more issues with this car but the deadly ones are the tires blowing out the brakes crumbling and the rotors wearing out with in 6 months thank U and I so hope that someone can help us. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hillsville , VA, USA

problem #18

Jul 192013


  • 55,000 miles
I am not reporting an accident... yet. I was driving on residential street about 35 mph when the "airbag warning light" came on. Thereafter it came on each time I started my car and started to drive. Contacted nearest dealer and was told that my vehicle was not apart of the recall ( 09V118000), although the recall named 2009 Dodge Journeys. They wanted me to pay to have it checked! I then called Chrysler Corp and spoke with a rep who also stated that my vehicle was not apart of the recall. It appears to me that it should have been since I never had this type of issue before with any of the approx. 7 vehicles I have purchased over the last 50 years. I drive to California at least 3 times each year and various locations within the state of Arizona. I want Chrysler to contact the bill-luke dealership and have them check my electrical system and fix the problem, at Chrysler's expense. I am sure I am not the only owner who has this complaint.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #17

Apr 152013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 53,600 miles
Have had the rack and pinion fixed 1 1/2 years ago and it is leaking again. Have had to put 3 sets of brake pads on in 3 years. Also had to put new rotor and brake caliper on right front due to brake locking up! this car only has 53,600 miles on it and has been one thing after another breaking down on it. Been told by two Dodge mechanics this should not be happening. Would like for the dealer to do something about it. Been told there were recalls on this car and we have never gotten one in the mail. Help!!

- Niota, IL, USA

problem #16

May 152012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
Since I brought my Journey I had to get my brakes replaced several time & rotors replace, transmission sealant leak and recently when I was driving to work my tire pressure light came on and within minutes my tire was almost flat. I was able to just make it to a gas station and went to fill up my tire and my valve stem went all the way in and my tire went totally flat and lost all pressure. My car had to be towed and ended up spending $300 to get my front passenger and rear passenger side valve stems replaced. The service guy agreed that it was unsafe and I could of easily spun out if I lost all tire pressure right away. I have 2 kids and I feel unsafe to drive with my children in the car. On top of these issues my steering wheel continue to shake but I had it in to the service department a number of times and they said everything is ok. One of the instances they said the shaking was because of my routers and resurfaced them twice. Please help me. I don't know of my options but I am concerned for me and my family's safety with this car. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #15

Jan 082012

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
While pulling the car into my driveway the car just shut down/died. I had no control of the steering. Extremely frightening and thankfully this did not occur while at an intersection or on the highway.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #14

Sep 102011

Journey 6-cyl

  • miles
We purchased this vehicle 2/2011 with 47,000 miles and recently in 9/2011 at our regular oil change we were told the left-front tie rod was going to need replaced. Now the steering is loose, and its loud in the front end while driving over bumps. We don't feel like we should be replacing tie-rod ends this soon on this vehicle that is in excellent shape otherwise. I know there is a Dodge Ram recall campaign#10V65800 for the same thing. Could this be something also related to the 2009 Dodge Journey?

- Galion, OH, USA

problem #13

Jun 122010


  • miles
NHTSA it all started when I bought my Journey: Nice looking but very, very bad experience 1.transmission, it change speed by itself. It change speed from 80 mph to 40, then 70 mph to 30 mph.. I was driving in the expressway and this change of speed happen to me several times. I took it to the dealer and they said that they could not found the problem, after so many incidents I got mad to the dealer and told them that my life is at risk because the car change speed by itself that they have to do something about it. They finally fix the car. 2.brakes, I have problems with the brakes too. They run fast and have to keep changing them. 3.battery, I have problems with the battery too. I have told them numerous times too check the battery, because the car does not want to start and they keep telling me that there is nothing wrong with the battery. So my question to them is the following if the battery is good., what is the problem? I have to turn on the switch several times until the car start. They said that they cannot find the problem. And now the latest problem!!!!!!!! 4.steering, every time I turn the wheels the car make a wear sound like an old car does not turn off. Now my car does not want to turn off the dealer said that I bought the car and that now the car is mine and I have to take care of it. Yeah right!!! so my question is the following what is NHTSA going to do about it while Chrysler ignore their customers complaints and not taking responsibility. In the mean time we the consumers have to pay for Chrysler poor performance, etc. Dodge Journey should be remove from the market. And we as consumers should be reimburse or at least Chrysler should recall all cars.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?