Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,865 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Journey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Jun 222015

Journey

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The interior lights stays on for a long period of time when I start and after shutting down the SUV. The interior lights go out about 15 minutes or so after turning the SUV off. Once I start the SUV and drive, the interior light remains on in the front & upper rear overhead. The electronic key is now locking my doors just from touching the top of the key. There are times, I'm not hitting the button to lock, but just from touching the top of the key with my finger, the doors will automatically lock.scary!!! the steering wheel shakes visibly when braking. Updated 8/28/15

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #57

Jan 222015

Journey

  • 80,362 miles
I was driving at the speed limit on interstate 5, (California) when a vehicle in front of me swerved partially into my lane. In order to avoid hitting said vehicle, I swerved to the right slightly, at that time I believe engine died, as I had no control over said vehicle I could not steer or maneuver my vehicle at all. Thus it was continuing on the path of the swerve and hit the wall on the passenger side of the highway. I at no time had any control over the vehicle, the car started spinning from the impact of the wall and sent me across 3 lanes of traffic and I was hit by 2 cars. The only airbag that deployed was the front passenger side airbag. (there was no passenger in that position.) I was in the driver seat, and my son (was 9 years of age at the time of the incident) was sitting directly behind me. When the car stopped, I was unable to remove the key from the ignition, it was locked in place. Originally, I believed that there were no major injuries, only bumps, bruises and the like. However in the months since the incident, it has come to light that I have torn muscles in 1, maybe both elbows. I am currently under a doctors care, and will be requiring surgery to reconstruct the muscles and tendons.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #56

Jul 122013

Journey

  • 58,000 miles
Came off highway, stopped at post office, smelled like something burning. Left post office 2 minutes later, no smell. Drove 1/2 mile home, parked in garage, walked around car to get out of garage, felt extreme heat from rear passenger wheel. Brake disc was glowing red. Pulled car out of garage, towed to performance Dodge (where purchased brand new) brake caliper had locked up. Had all replaced. This is the same car I have complained about not starting, bright lights coming on by themselves. I have had it towed, waited for an hour for it start, pulled off the highway in tears because the "strobe light effect" when the bright lights(high beams) act up. I have had the steering angle sensor replaced in Aug 2012, recall L25 trim ring-ignition key cylinder done, I paid to have the wireless ignition node module replaced on January 6, 2015 at performance Dodge dealership in Lincoln Nebraska (thought would fix starting issue-did not help) paid to have rear brakes replaced, paid for rental vehicle. I have complained to Dodge Corp. I have complained to performance Dodge dealership. Now I get the recall for the win module and will have to fight to be reimbursed. I have the original papers and invoice from performance Dodge. Any chance of being reimbursed for a piece of junk car, rental cars and the like"???"

- Valparaiso, NE, USA

problem #55

May 222015

Journey

  • 37,727 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As of 5/22/2015 vehicle has 37727 miles. Chrysler issued in 3/2011 an extended warranty citing premature brake and rotor wear. Cars front rotors and brakes were replaced on 8/7/2013 - 27581 due to excessive vibration in front axle during braking. On 10/24/2013 - 28170 rear rotors had to be resurfaced due to sever vibration in rear axle. On 5/22/2015 - 37727 front brakes were replaced and front rotors were resurfaced because of excessive vibration in front axle during braking. Vibrations are severe at highway speed and could cause loss of control.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #54

Mar 102015

Journey 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
My steering started to vibrate excessively and then the brakes started to get hot, it sounded as if I was running over the bumps on the side of the road that warn drivers they are about to leave the road; however, I was no where close to them. They eventually stuck and began to smoke. I stopped the car and left it in a parking lot so that it would not burn to the ground if I decided to drive it. Both driver and passenger side rotor and caliber were changed and I am still having problems with the brakes sticking.

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #53

Dec 182014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 37,424 miles
I went to the store got what I needed came out and the Journey would not start. I had it towed to the Dodge dealership and they told me the tipm was bad.they replaced it and has been working so far. It cost $900 dollars to fix with only 37424 miles on it.the other problem was the brakes all had to be replaced with just over 20000 miles on the car. The dealership covered the front brakes but with a deductible of $100 dollars but I had to pay for the back brakes.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #52

Jan 292015

Journey

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second time in a year that we have replaced the rotors on this vehicle. There is currently a tsb on this item.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #51

May 012014

Journey

  • 55,000 miles
First our brakes were grinding and had to replace rotors and brakes, next the oil pan leaked, next full battery replacement and now overrated engine and coolant pouring out the bottom!!! no one will help us this car is a lemon and they should be recalled. I have to small children that depend on me having a car. Dodge should be ashamed!!!

- Manteca , CA, USA

problem #50

Jul 012013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Vehicle was running and suddenly lost all electrical power. Car was moved to shoulder of roadway and I turned the engine off. The engine didn't want to restart. When engine did restart car ran normal for about 1 month. This has happened about 5 times from 6/13 to 10/14. Dealer can not find the problem. Ignition is not on recall list for this particular VIN. I had dealer replace ignition on 10/14 and had to purchase two additional keys because the old keys could not be programmed to the new ignition switch.

- Owensboro, KY, USA

problem #49

Mar 252012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 48,452 miles
Continuous brake failure due to premature brake wear and rotor wear. Caused failure with brakes resulting in going through intersection narrowly missing another car. Brakes failed and repaired at my cost 3/25/12 at 48452 miles brakes failed and repaired at my cost 7/16/13 at 67356 miles brakes failed and repaired at my cost 10/17/14 at 82951 miles key ignition replaced due to recall in 2012 and the vehicle still loses power with gauges and lights.

- Burkburnett, TX, USA

problem #48

Jun 112014

Journey

  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated the brakes on the vehicle failed. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 23,000.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #47

Jul 152014

Journey 4-cyl

  • 25,119 miles
Rear brakes and rotors need to be replaced at 25,119 miles Dodge extended the warranty for the front brakes only. Cost to replace rear brakes and rotors is $370 brakes should not go bad after 25K miles Dodge appears to be aware of the problem but refuses to extend the warranty for the rear brakes.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #46

May 102011

Journey

  • 25,000 miles
There are times when the ignition would just click, when attempting to start the car. I have to remove the key multiple times and try to start it, till it starts. I would be driving and all the electrical components in the vehicle would just go dead. (all electronics in dash board, air conditioning, radio). I would have to pull over, turn the ignition off and restart the car. I am still experiencing this problem. I replaced the key, thinking it was the problem and I continue to have this problem. I have had to replace the tires on this car/truck 4 times at an average of 30 thousand miles. I had the rotation and balances as recommended. The tires wore uneven to the point where the wires were exposed on the inside of the wheels. Based on the dealers I have not needed a front end alignment. I have also had the brakes replaced on this vehicle three times in the front and twice in the rear. The vehicle has 115, 000 miles and I have never had to replace part on a car like I have had to do with this one.

- Lancaster , TX, USA

problem #45

May 012011

Journey

  • miles
I do not for the life of me understand why there has not been a recall issued for the 2010 Dodge Journey for the brake, tire, and rotor issue! I have had to replace the tires which were an arm and a leg because they are not a common tire/size, they wanted me to switch to a different tire size which then would affect the speedometer.. no way.. I have had to put 3 sets of rotors on the car and 2 sets of brakes, and going on 2nd set of tires.. you can't tell me there isn't an issue.. if I could get rid of the lemon I would but financially I am not in a position to. I have a friend with an identical car/color and we have the same story.. ridiculous! please help the owners of this lemon!

- Shippensburg, PA, USA

problem #44

May 122014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 25,800 miles
I was traveling approx. 65 mph and when I applied the brakes the steering wheel started shaking so bad I nearly lost control of the vehicle. Dealer tells me it is caused by worn brakes and rotors. The brakes were changed at 8600 miles, and the current brakes have approx. 18000 miles.the the dealer tells me they will do nothing to correct this problem unless I pay full price for equipment plus labor. Wit the low mileage on this set of brakes I feel dealer or Dodge should at least furnish the new brakes and rotors.

- Coshocton, OH, USA

problem #43

Jun 022014

Journey

  • 49,000 miles
Brakes & rotors replaced at under 30.000 miles. Now failing again.

- Aurora, OR, USA

problem #42

Mar 112014

Journey 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
While driving I was approaching a stop sign and depressed the brake pedal to stop. I kept pressing to stop but the pedal went all the way to the floor and I could not stop. I had to roll through the stop and make a hard right turn. If there was traffic I probably would have had an accident. This is the second time this vehicle had breaking issues after the first event which was aprx 15000 iles ago the dealer said the problem was the master cylinder which they replaced.action should be taken against Chrysler before someone gets hurt or killed.

- Minooka, IL, USA

problem #41

Feb 232011

Journey

  • 24,000 miles
Had just purchased the car. While driving car a week later, I hit the brakes to slow down for a traffic light. Steering wheel started shaking. Had to let off the brakes to keep control of car. Reapplied brakes and got stopped. Pulled over to check wheels. Everything was good. Took to mechanic and said I needed rotors and pad. Had them replaced. Within 7000 miles, same problem. Has constantly been a problem. Having to get new pads and rotor about every 7000-10000 miles. This is not right. Something needs to be done and heaven forbid you are close to warranty. I think Dodge trains their technicians to cover up problems to make it to warranty so they don't have to pay for it.

- Dallas , NC, USA

problem #40

Jan 172013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 34,904 miles
The problem I encountered was that the steering wheel shakes violently if brakes are pressed at 60 mph. The mechanics at carmax, machined the rotors and replaced the brake pads which seemed to fix the problem. Roughly 3.5 to 4 months later, I had the same problem. This time, the mechanics at carmax replaced the rotors and the front brakes. The vehicle was once again placed into service last Wednesday on December 18, 2013. Once again, the rotors were machined and the brakes replaced. I purchased the vehicle O January 17, 2013 with the starting mileage of 34,904. I have put roughly 10,000 miles on the vehicle. When I took the vehicle in for the third time, I decided to look on the internet hoping that might help. However, I found hundreds of people with the same vehicle that were having the same problem as I was. I contacted Dodge but they say that this is a maintenance issue. I believe that this is a safety issue. I have 4 children and god forbid that the brake system suddenly decided that it doesn't want to work! apparently, there is a flaw in either parts or design that needs to be acknowledged and corrected by Dodge.

- Dickinson, TX, USA

problem #39

Oct 042013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Upon purchase of this vehicle, rotors and brakes needed to be replaced. One year later, brakes again needed to be replaced and now rotors need to be replaced as car shakes when you brake.

- Kaneohe, HI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?