Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,941 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Dodge Magnum engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Dodge Magnum:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Dodge Magnum Owner Comments

problem #7

Mar 142011

Magnum

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 12 Mar 11, I heard a clanking noise coming from my 2006 Dodge Magnum engine. I took the car in on mon, 14 Mar 11, to a repair shop an was told I needed a new engine. Before I could return the next day to drop the car off, the engine stopped. I had the car towed to a repair shop and was told the timing chain had broken and there was oil sludge build up. My Dodge has only 63K miles and preventive maintenance is performed every 3,000 miles. The car has not yet been repaired. I am seeking some sort of resolution with Dodge to correct this issue.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #6

Jul 022007

Magnum

  • miles
On or about June 6, 2006, I purchased a 2006 Dodge Magnum 3.5 liter engine and received a letter in later that year advising of recall an defect in the engine. The vehicle was taken in for inspection and I was told that my car was not applicable to the recall. In July 2007, the car was taken in because of claking noise coming from the engine. The car was diagnosed and valves from the engine was changed. In June 2008 the car cut off and the check engine light appeared. The vehicle was immediately taken to the dealer for diagnostic and correction. The findings where that the thermostat had to be replaced. Recently my car has been take to the dealer because a recurring noise and issue that was address in July 2007 and the dealer and manufacture is denying liability for the noise and issue. The Dodge dealer located in cerritos is alleging that they have contacted Chrysler who alleges that the noise of complaint is normal for my vehicle, but I never heard this notice until July 2007 and valves was changed and know the issue has recurred. In addition, to the aforementioned, there has been a continuous issue and complaint with the brake coming on. The vehicle has been taken in for examination and the dealer alleges that there are no issues with the brake light. Recently as of September 2008, the cerritos Dodge dealer alleges that the brake fluid is low on the vehicle which is causing the light to continuous come on. However, the brake light has been coming on since two months after the purchase of the vehicle and have addressed the brake light issue at regular maintenance appointments and they have never mentioned that the brake fluid los. Please advise. I have further documentation to provide if required and I also can provide a detail explanation and complaint.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #5

Aug 122008

Magnum

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Dodge Magnum. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly began to accelerate automatically. The contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle would still accelerate to speeds higher than 70 mph. He had to turn off the engine in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that a fuel induction cleaning service was needed. The contact did not notice any differences beforehand. The current and failure mileages were 42,000.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #4

Apr 202008

Magnum 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I brought a 2006 Dodge Magnum in March of 2007 with 19,230 miles. The engine is now at 50,000 miles and the engine is no good. The Dodge company can't tell even tell me the problem with the engine.

- Darlington, SC, USA

problem #3

Apr 102008

Magnum 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,400 miles
2006 Dodge Magnum SXT April 14, 2008 - faint tapping noise from motor started 3 weeks. It could only be heard while standing next to the motor. April 10, 2008 tapping because very loud, you could hear the noise in the cab of the car. April 14, 2008 - dealer calls, 3 failed rocker arms, 1 intake 2 exhaust.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #2

Mar 132008

Magnum 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,190 miles
I started to hear a tapping from the engine and the rpms would drop as I sat at a traffic light. I thought I might have an oil pressure problem. I took it to a garage and the mechanic checked the oil pressure. Which was ok. Then he said I had a bad lifter-rocker arm.

- Buena Prk, CA, USA

problem #1

Nov 162007

Magnum 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
My Dodge Magnum has about 47,000 miles. I noticed in November that I was getting a faint ticking noise from the engine bay while the car was sitting idle. A couple weeks later, it started getting louder and progressed when the vehicle was accelerated. Took it to the dealership, and they had no clue. My car ended up being at the dealership for a whole month. Finally, they figured out that it was the rocker arms (all of them) which had broken pins and had to be replaced along with the lifter. This should not happen in a vehicle that only has 47,000 miles. The only thing that saved me an arm and a leg was the fact that the dealership couldn't figure it out and cut me some slack. My engine had to be broken down and put back together 3 times before they got it right. Have heard similar issues about this, so it needs to be made aware that the rocker arms fail on these vehicles very early as well as the lifter. If gone unchecked, could've caused engine failure. I never missed an oil change and have since switched to synthetic oil to be safe.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?