Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,103 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Jul 282009

Ram 1500

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck 2004 Dodge 1500 Ram does not start., it does it once an a while., not often. It does open all switches and if I bypass the starter., it does crank but never starts it does works back either in 15 minutes or two days at the most so far. This is a bizarre problem where many times appointments., got lost I have to pay for tow truck.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #24

Apr 012009

Ram 1500

  • 53,000 miles
Speedometer moves in 5 mph increments when it's not stuck; it also shows vehicle speeds of 5 - 10 mph when stopped and in park. Dealer says the entire instrument cluster needs replaced at a cost of approximately $800.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #23

Feb 102009

Ram 1500

  • 55,000 miles
The anti-lock brake controller in my 2004 Dodge Ram pickup truck caught fire and burned. The wiring harness completely melted through wires and all, and the brake control mechanism itself melted and burned. The part was inspected by Chrysler but in their determination since I am the second owner of the vehicle they are not responsible for any repairs. The service manager at my local Chrysler dealer has told me that he has seen this problem before, and I have been told by independent service tech's that this is definitely a manufacturers defect. That the braking controller is drawing more amperage than it should be. Chrysler has told me that there is nothing more they will do in this situation.

- Coldwater, MI, USA

problem #22

Mar 022009

Ram 1500

  • 68,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

About 1 month ago the dash board lights and gauges started to act up so we carried it into the local dealership where we purchased the vehicle. They stated that there was condensation in the fuses. They said it was repaired and charged us about $100. Then a few days ago it started to do it again. Before we could take it back to be looked at it burst into flames in our driveway at 2 am on 3/2/09. Fire dept. States that the fire started under the hood. I've been searching on the internet for an explanation and I've found that there was a recall on 2004 Dodge Ram's, a short circuit in the generator harness can cause "under the hood fires"! I've contacted the dealership and Dodge customer service. They say that my VIN # is not included in this recall. It seems like it should... our vehicle was purchased brand new, it had 5 miles on odometer when we left the lot. It had 68000+ miles when it burst into flames.

- Liberty, TN, USA

problem #21

May 202008

Ram 1500

  • 64,000 miles
I have 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7 liter, it has had a problem with electrical system the wiper will start and stop while it is running and the head lights will flash on when the truck is shut off it has been in the shop more than 7 time and have replace numerous parts.

- Sullivan, IN, USA

problem #20

Jan 212008

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
Water is leaking into the wheel sensor causing it to short and then the entire cluster in the dash to short. ABS and brake light will come on and speedometer start jumping around. Happened in November 2006, had it fixed by dealer and now it has happened again. Dealership nor Dodge will take any responsibility for it.

- Cleveland, TX, USA

problem #19

Jun 112007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,229 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 45mph the throttle stuck and the pedal extended to the floor. He was able put the vehicle in neutral; however, after starting the vehicle it accelerated without warning. The vehicle was towed and the dealer stated that the failure was due to a cracked battery. They also stated that there was a software problem with downloading the computer diagnosis to the vehicle. The insurance company stated that the vehicle shut off on 2 occasions when they attempted to start it. The insurance investigator stated that the failure was caused by acid leaking from the battery. They stated that the alternator could have caused the crack in the battery. The vehicle has been at the dealer for 2 months. They stated that the failure was electrical; however, the would need to remove as many components as possible to determine the failure. The cost for the repair was approximately $6,000. The dealer was unable to determine how long it would take to make the repair. The dealer stated that the repair was not covered under the warranty. The manufacturer stated that there was nothing they could do. The maintenance on the vehicle was up to date prior to the failure. The dealer replaced the throttle module, PCM unit, the electrical harness, the battery and the battery tray were replaced; however, the failure worseend. The current mileage was 53,235 and the failure mileage was 53,229.

- Belleview , FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 282007

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,600 miles
ABS module failed. Water leaking from hood caused ABS connector to corrode up resulting in failure of the instrumentation panel (all gauges) including windshield wipers and overhead information center. No anti lock brakes.

- Bay City, MI, USA

problem #17

Mar 012007

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My husband bought our 2004 Dodge Ram 1500 (hemi) in Jan 2004 and has about 130,000 miles now. We had problems with the breaks and rotors just like every one else on here in March of 2005 when driving down the highway with cruise on and the truck lost all power. The RPM went to zero but the truck was still running. To get the RPM to come back on we would have to turn off the truck and restart the truck. Every time the electrical light would come on, all while in traffic at 65-70 mph. This went on from March 2005- Jan 2007. We have been to the dealer many times and they couldn't get any codes to come up. Then in January 07 we got off the highway to stop at a store and had to make a left turn into the store. The truck made a loud pop noise and died. When my husband started the truck back up it was sputtering and wouldn't stay running without keeping the truck above 2000 rpms. I took the truck to my dad who is a robertson tire repair tech. He couldn't get any codes to come up. Then about 45 min after letting the truck sit he ran the codes again and got about fifteen codes. We replaced all the sensors and it didn't help so went to the dealer again. They couldn't get any codes and couldn't tell us what was wrong. Why it wouldn't stay running. So I just thought I would file my complaint and let everyone know what happens after its done stalling what happens next. I will not buy another Dodge.

- St. George, UT, USA

problem #16

Oct 122006

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
At around 8:00 am on October 12, 2006, there was a spontaneous combustion from the driver's dashboard of my 2004 Dodge durango while it was parked in the garage (not even turned on). This incident nearly burned our condo unit which was above the garage and endangered my wife and kids who were still sleeping. Luckily, my wife awoke and called 911 (incident report #2006-6223247-000 ccfd clark county). After several communications with Chrysler Dodge, they sent an "investigator" only after 4 days to take pictures; they sent us a letter saying it was not a factory defect and they were not responsible for the damage. When asked what could have been the possible cause -they said they didn't know ("!"). we then consulted and asked help from the dealership (integrity Dodge, lv, nv -since we got the vehicle only a year ago and is still under warranty and that it was our only car) they said the same thing and insist we contact our insurance. We asked them why we should use our insurance when there was no accident because the car was just sitting in the garage? besides, if the insurance company were to reimburse us it would be very much below what we owe our bank and would also charge us a deductible. Honestly, my family is having such a hard time with what happened and especially when we are also a little tight on our finances since my wife is not working because she is taking care of our 8 year-old daughter and 6 month-old baby; and I just started on a new job. As of now we can't afford fancy lawyers or hire private investigators to scrutinize the cause of the fire -so we don't have anybody on our side. Hoping you can help us and thank you very much for your time.

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #15

Sep 292006

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle stalled while coming to a stop and while idling. The dealership determined the seals in the electrical system of the transmission (wiring harness) leaked allowing water to get into the electrical system. The wiring to the wiring harness was corroded. The dealership cleaned several connectors and replaced a ground wire. The dealership informed the contact that if cleaning the connectors did not correct the problem, the entire wiring harness would have to be replaced.

- Baker, MT, USA

problem #14

Feb 102006

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
I have an 2004 Dodge durango that has stalled 7 times the dealership has done nothing but give me a run around I went to Dodge forum and have seen many people have filed complaints with the NHTSA the last time it stalled I was driving with my 8 year old I lost all power this is a serious situation if this were to happen on a major highway there is no way you would get out of the way in time I am very frustrated in the results I am getting from Dodge but as I research there are many out there with the same problems and are also getting nowhere something needs to be done I am not wanting a serious injury or death to occur before they take action.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #13

Mar 062006

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,668 miles
I have a 2004 Dodge 1/2T 1500 series truck I have had it at the shop 3 time in the last 2 weeks. You can be driving along and all of a sudden it slows down to 5-10 miles per hour for no reason. The shop said it was because of the crank in the computer, the 2nd time it was because of the air conditioner(which it is winter so I don't have it on) and the last time it has been 4 days since they have had the vehicle and still don't know what has caused the problem. So I am still without a vehicle.. I would hate to be driving down the interstate at 55-65 if this thing decides to shut down. Because it is all of a sudden. Thank you for you time. Fyi.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #12

Feb 092006

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
2004 Dodge durango w/5.7 liter hemi engine just stalled/shut off on its own when going up a parking garage ramp at approximately 15 mph. Lost all power to power steering and brakes. Had to come to a complete stop, place in park, and then restarted without any problem. Have had vehicle since may of 2004 and this is the first time this problem has happened. Very concerned since I have seen other complaints with same exact problem.

- Treasure Island, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 292005

Ram 1500

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,500 miles
ABS and brake lights on dash on, the speedometer bounces 5 to 10 while in park or at a stop. Dealer has had truck 3 times for the same issues.(10/2004 1/2005 10 2005 and on 12/2005) it was repaired by cleaning or replacing speed sensors and ABS sensors but it has returned again.

- Fremont, NC, USA

problem #10

Aug 012004

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
Consume rowned a 2004 Dodge 1500 Ram. Sometimes it will stall while consumer was driving. Once it caused the consumer to bump a brick wall. Which caused a slight dent in the bumper. It has a vibration that seemed to be coming from the transmission. Sometimes the vehicle will not start. The rear driver side door would not unlock. When the dealer ran a diagnostic test they said that it was not showing the codes for these problems. After five tries the dealer was able to get the door lock fixed. As for the other problems the dealer put a new computer in the vehicle. This fixed the problem for about a week, and then the problems came back. The manufacturer was the one that said to put the new computer in.

- Lisbon, CT, USA

problem #9

Jun 282005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
I own a 2004 Ram 1500. This is truck number 2 of this year and model. I am experiencing the same problems with this vehicle that I was with the last. 1. the rotors and brakes are wearing prematurely. 2. it has stalled on occasion usually when decelerating to make a turn. 3. the transmision will hit a "flat" spot when excelerator is depressed to the floorboard. 4. the radio does not display properly while opperating. It puts out jibberish of numbers and letters. I say this is truck number two because I went to the dealer where I bought the truck and complained of the same excact problems several times on truck one. They were less than helpfull blaming everything other than the truth. I tradded the first truck in and sited my problems with the vehicle. They then stated that it might have been a bad batch. They paid off the first truck and I bought the second one. Now I regret that decision. I should have gone with my instincts and contacted my lawyer. Because it is still the same problems in a different truck. That is not a lemmon its a poorly built truck fetching top dollar for their company, who will do nothing to correct the problem hopping we go away or out of warrenty!!.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #8

May 232005

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
Truck was purchased new, problem started about 1000 miles. Truck stalls, usually happens at slower speeds such as when you remove your foot from the gas petal to turn. Idle drops very quickly and the engine stalls. Several times I have come close to hitting someone because the vehicle is hard to stop or turn when you loose power, you also loose the power steering and the brakes. I took it in and they did an update on my computer. Update has not stopped this from happening. Dealership has told me a new update will be out soon, but that was 5 weeks ago, and it still has not happened. In the meantime the vehicle still stalls out when you are moving!

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #7

Feb 142005

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
Customer complaint- erratic idling and no power when throttle fully pressed. Etc (electronic throttle control) light flashing. Vehicle not operable. Advise customer to 'cycle' ignition to reset computer. Replace computer with upgrade (under warranty). Customer complaint - recurrance of previous problem (identical circumstances) unable to identify/isolate/reproduce in shop. Advise customer if recurrance to cycle ignition to reset computer. No suggested repair.

- Cold Lake, 00, USA

problem #6

Dec 012004

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The consumer's vehicle would turn off while braking around turns. As a result the power brakes and steering went out.

- Clackamas, OR, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?