Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,751 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 23 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #61

Aug 192014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 146,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 and I was traveling on the local highway at approximately 45mph when with no warning or strange sound my drive shaft dislocated from my rear end and my back tires began to lock up. I manage to pull over to the shoulder of the road with out losing control to bad. The experience was like the whole front end of my truck nose dived and there was terrible banging and vibrations coming from the rear of my truck. My friend that came with a roll back to tow my truck home is also a mechanic told me the pinion failed and that I was going to just have to replace the rear end. I tried to just remove my rear drive shaft and place the truck in 4X4 to have the front wheels pull the truck home but the rear tires would not turn. I take care of my vehicles and I have never had a issue out of my truck until now. For there to be no warning signs what so ever leads me to believe that there is a manufacturer flaw. While looking for replacement parts on edmuns.com I discovered an article dated 06/30/2014 titled feds probe 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 after complaints of rear differential failures that describes exactly what happened to me.

- Greenwood, MS, USA

problem #60

Aug 152014

Ram 1500

  • 79,432 miles
While driving on the interstate out of the blue I started to hear a rattling and shaking noise coming from the rear end of my 2005 Dodge Ram. I immediately took it to the dealership in which I was informed that the drive shaft on the truck started to come apart. Dealer would not cover the cost. The damages for this repair was over $1000.

- Shorewood, IL, USA

problem #59

Jan 052014

Ram 1500

  • 136,000 miles
At about 3:30 pm on 2-27-14 headed S on 360 just South of I20 while traveling at 60mph drive shaft failed and came off striking another vehicle. Successfully pulled off onto shoulder when rear end locked up about last 15-20 feet. Rear end was locked at that point. Tires had flat spots due to drag and towing. Had to replace rear end completely and drive shaft as well as insurance claim on other vehicle. Mechanic stated nut in differential had come off completely.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #58

Aug 142014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After having been stopped at a stop sign, I made a right turn and accelerated to proceed straight for approximately 300 feet or so where I was going to make a left hand turn into a store parking lot. All of a sudden there was a whining sound and it felt like the engine was straining, there was a loud bang and thud as if I had run something over. The truck started "jerking" violently and came to an abrupt stop. As soon as I put the car in park, the loud noise stopped and the engine was idling normally as if there was no problem. I exited the vehicle and, to my shock, saw the drive shaft detached from the rear differential (the truck is a rear wheel drive) and laying on the street. Later on, with the key in the on position but the engine off, I put the car in neutral and some road workers tried to push it off the road. It would not budge. The rear wheels were locked. Suffice it to say, had I been traveling on the highway at 55-60 mph the results of the malfunction could have been disastrous. A recall need to be issued immediately before someone gets seriously injured or killed.......updated 01/12/15 updated 6/11/2015

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #57

Aug 022014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 112,014 miles
At 35 mph truck made a thud noise and the rear axle locked up and the truck skid to a stop in the middle of the road. Got out and found the drive-line hanging down and fluid coming out of the pinion area. Tow truck was called and had to skate onto the truck as the rear axle would not move. After removing the truck to a safe location we noticed the drive line was still attached to the rear axle yoke and the pinion nut was missing. The threads on the pinion look fine and the yoke looks fine but pinion nut is missing. Went online to see about how to fix and found it was a common problem.......updated 01/12/15 updated 6/11/2015

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #56

Jul 082014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 157,000 miles
Rear end locked up without any noise or problems and driveshaft came out when that happen. Got it stopped before wrecking.....updated 01/12/15 updated 6/3/2015

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #55

Jun 072014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 66,530 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On June 7 2014 we we're driving to a landscape business to purchase some landscape stones and about 100 feet before the entrance of the business my driveshaft fell off my truck causing my rear wheels to completely lock up and nearly causing a catastrophic head on collision after the northbound vehicle had to swerve to miss my truck and almost hit a southbound vehicle head on. I had the truck towed to a nearby auto facility where it was looked at and confirmed that my complete rear differential was completely destroyed causing my vehicle to a complete stop once the driveshaft fell off. It cost me nearly $2000 to get it repaired. I also contacted Chrysler via email and explained to them what had happened and their response was that there was nothing they could do and I was out of warranty. The technician at the auto facility that repaired my truck told me that he remembered something about a recall for that on the Dodge trucks. I then did some research and discovered that on the newer models there was a recall but not on mine but exactly what happened to the trucks on recall (rear end differential lockup) is what happened to mine. It could have very easily killed somebody if the southbound vehicle hadn't reacted so quickly. My truck only has 66000 miles on it which is an average of only about 6000 miles a year.[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)....updated 01/07/15 updated 6/11/2015

- Bruce Township, MI, USA

problem #54

Jun 112014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
While driving on the highway at 60 mph the back wheels suddenly and without warning locked up for an instant. I immediately braked to reduce speed and try to get to the side of the road. In order to avoid being hit in the rear by other vehicles, I needed to accelerate to 60 mph and the wheels locked again. I was able to get to the side of the road. I have called Dodge about this issue.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #53

Jul 032014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
I was driving down the turnpike and I heard a whining sound as I was passing a semi truck. I thought it came from the semi. However I heard it again as I applied the brakes only it was louder. Then I heard a loud bang the rear wheels locked up and something was dragging on the ground as I managed to pulled over onto the shoulder of the road. I looked under the truck and the drive shaft had ripped away from the from the rear axle. It was a complete failure from the pinion gear. The yoke was still attached to the drive shaft.,,updated 01/07/15 updated 06/11/2015

- Hiram, OH, USA

problem #52

Jul 032014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 118,104 miles
I was getting off the highway I heard some loud noises and my drive shaft came apart from rear end and then my rear end locked up on me resulting in me being stranded on side of road we my son. Had to call for a tow truck.

- Oxford, MA, USA

problem #51

Jun 272014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 174,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear differential failed.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #50

Jun 072014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 66,530 miles
On June 7 2014 we we're driving to a landscape business to buy some landscape stones. About 100 feet before the entrance to the business I heard a noise coming from the rear of my truck and as I was turning into the entrance approach of the business my driveshaft fell off truck completely locking up my rear wheels and completely stopping my vehicle which almost caused a catastrophic head on collision.my truck was blocking part of the road and the northbound vehicle had to at the last minute swerve into the southbound lane to prevent from hitting my truck at approximately 45 mph and just missed hitting a southbound vehicle head on. Somebody immediately stopped and threw my driveshaft into the bed of my truck and told me to engage the 4 wheel drive and hit the gas barely moving my truck because the rear wheels didn't turn. I then had to have the truck towed to a nearby auto facility. They called me the next day with a diagnosis of what happened and an estimate. They told me that rear end differential completely locked up preventing my rear tires from not turning at all. It ended up costing me almost $2000. The automotive technician told me to check and see if there are any recalls for this because he thought that he had read something about rear end differential lockups on Dodge Ram. So I did some research and did find that there were certain years that did have recalls but not for the 2005. I did at that time contact Chrysler via email and explained what had happened and their response was that I was out of warranty. My truck has only 66000 miles on it which is an average of about 6500 miles a year which is extremely low for a almost 10 year old vehicle.

- Bruce Township, MI, USA

problem #49

Nov 242013

Ram 1500

  • 180,000 miles
Driving on the highway and the rear axle locked up which caused us to skid sideways off the road. Had to be towed. Also caused bald spots on both rear tires due to skidding several feet.

- Napoleon, OH, USA

problem #48

Jul 022014

Ram 1500

  • 153,000 miles
Driving down highway got off the express way started down the road at 50 mph when we heard and felt a loud bang my trucks rear end slid back and forth like I had the rear brakes on. I slid off the road came to a stop got out to see what happened. My rear differential and the drive shaft separated. Not broken U joints. My rear differential locked up and my drive shaft ripped right out of it....updated 01/07/15 updated 06/2/2015

- Lockport, IL, USA

problem #47

Jul 012014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 96,712 miles
The driveshaft came loose from the rearend. It was preceded by a slight whirring noise which appeared to be coming from the rear of the vehicle. The whirring noise was only present for a short period and was only heard on deceleration. Upon acceleration, there was no noise. Immediately before the driveshaft let loose, there was a louder whirring noise, some jerking, and then the lack of connection between the transmission and rearend. The differential was locked up and the wheels would not move forward. The speed when this happened was approximately 20 mph. The repair has not been done as of 7/2/2014. If anyone from the NHTSA would like to inspect the vehicle due to the recent investigation into this model and problem, they are welcome to do so.

- Dallas, PA, USA

problem #46

Jun 122007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
While driving with the air conditioning on when I slowed down to stop behind a stopped vehicle my 05 Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab with a V8 stalled out. I had to put the truck into neutral to start it back up & continue going. This has happened so many times while slowing down or stopping that I no longer can keep count. It has also happened when making a turn which caused all loss of power steering & power brakes. So far I have not wrecked when this happens but it scares me or my teenage driver to death. I have reported it several times over several years & nothing is being done. I also know this happens with the 2004 model of Dodge trucks as my nephew own one that I have drove & it happened the only difference in trucks is his 04 has the hemi. And this only happens when the air conditioning is on. I guess someone is going to have to wreck & die before Dodge recalls & fixes the problem. But until then I will keep reporting here & to Dodge.

- Logansport, LA, USA

problem #45

Jun 282014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 178,647 miles
Last Saturday on June 28 2014 I was leaving my residence when I observed a small leak dripping out of my rear differential where the pinion gear goes into the differential. I ordered a pinion seal at my local auto parts store. On my way to the parts store I noticed a very faint whine coming from the rear end. About 1 to 2 miles after the whine was first noticed it quickly became a roar for no more than 20 seconds and then the pinion gear snapped at the differential locking both my rear tires up sending my truck sideways. With my son in the back seat it was a very frightening experience for a 2 year old. I couldn't move the truck out of the middle of the street so I sat helplessly and waited for a tow truck. The next day I looked underneath the truck and realized that along with my rear end being toasted so was my drive shaft which had damage from spinning freely. Then I observed my gas tank with a dent so big I have no choice but to purchase a new tank. So far I have been quoted for a used rear differential at several salvage yards from 800-1400. It's ridiculous that this problem continues with Dodge trucks and nothing is being done about it. Is it going to take someone loosing there life because negligence from Dodge to get these problems fixed and hold Dodge accountable!!!!

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #44

Jun 222014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 93,072 miles
I am the original owner of a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500, and have always kept my truck in excellent physical and mechanical condition, and there are no incomplete or unperformed recalls on this vehicle. There were no indications of any kind of mechanical issues with this truck until Sunday, 6/22/14, approx. 6pm. I was driving at approx. 35-40 mph along a local street, approaching an intersection, when it sounded like a blowout, but the truck continued to drive into an intersection. This was followed by whining and banging sounds, which as it turns out, was a the drive shaft tearing up the underside of my truck.,,I made it thru the intersection, and part-way into a parking lot driveway, when the 2 pieces of my driveshaft flew off and the entire back end locked up, with my truck blocking traffic. I am disabled, and was fortunately not injured, and no one was hit by the flying pieces of the drive shaft as they flew out. The truck was inspected by a geico adjuster, who indicated he was well trained with truck parts and mechanical, and that one of the pins had backed out of the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 drive shaft into the rear differential, causing spider gears to lock up and the driveshaft to tear away from the rear axle. I have a copy of the geico report. The adjusters assessment was confirmed also by the repair center, who mentioned that they had seen this same issue before. This is an extremely hazardous mechanical failure; the vehicle appears to keep running, but the driver and passengers are in a vehicle that ultimately cannot be controlled, and the drive shaft comes into 2 pieces and flies out, potentially injuring by-standers and other property....updated 01/07/15

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #43

Jun 292014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Was driving South on sr 19 in wakarusa in at 50mph and started to feel a small vibration. Let off of throttle and heard a whining noise. Then heard a bang and clanging. Pulled off to side of road and coasted to a stop. Looked in rear view mirror to see drive shaft laying on ground behind me. It had came loose from the rear axle. The bolt that holds the drive shaft hub to the rear axle had came out of the hub and separated. After separation the rear end made terrible noise. Removed cover on rear end to see gears and bearings had exploded inside and it ripped a hole in the axle housing inside the gear box....updated 01/07/15 updated 6/11/2015

- Nappanee, IN, USA

problem #42

Aug 092011

Ram 1500

  • 118,419 miles
The drive shaft locked up. Saw your report on this and wanted to add mine to the list. It fell apart while driving without warning and caused a major expense in repairing it and towing.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?