Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,966 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 24 of 25)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

May 072014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 53,600 miles


I have a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 crew cab with the 4.7 and 4X4. Today while driving with cruise control set at 75 the accelerator stuck and I had to turn the key off to stop the truck. The truck has less than 54,000 miles on it. I don't have floor mats in the truck and once the truck was stopped I checked under the hood and the cable was tightly connected but lose on the throttle body and the same on the gas pedal.

- Midland, TX, USA

problem #38

Jan 142014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Shutter and noise from rear end when turning at slow speed usually from stop or slow turn. Have had service done on differential at 15000 mile intervals even though no towing or dusty condition. This does not happen all the time. After reading so many complaints on here about pinion nuts and differential failure thought should I should submit to help start a investigation and recall it seems their is a problem that should be addressed. Whither in part failure or service procedure of differential fluid service.

- San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA

problem #37

Feb 072014

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Pinion nut came loose, and tore out the drive train, rear end, transfer case, drive shaft and transmission.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #36

Sep 012012

Ram 1500 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


Differential failure vibration, clicking bearing/gear mesh sound.

- Indialantic, FL, USA

problem #35

Jan 102012

Ram 1500

  • 70,000 miles
Differential: Over the 90000 miles I have on four occasions I have pulled the differential cover, cleaned the receiver, and replaced lubricant. These are defective parts and as stated in several accidents lead to complete failure and accident potential. This would be a $3000+ repair at a dealer - almost the value of my truck. The rest of my truck would go for another 100,000+ miles. This is the second time I have written your Agency. Differentials were defective. I limit use to local driving only. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Indialantic, FL, USA

problem #34

Nov 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 143,575 miles
The pinion nut on the pinion gear in the rear axle backed itself off and caused the rear drive shaft to come off and the pinion gear to fall into the axle housing and destroy all the gears.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #33

Oct 162012

Ram 1500

  • 90,000 miles


Complete failure of automatic transmission while driving after complaining about trans problems to dealer.

- Flanders, NJ, USA

problem #32

Mar 052013

Ram 1500

  • miles
Another vehicle cut in front and braked for red light causing me to "lock up" the brakes. The truck has rear ABS which kept the rear wheels from "locking up". vehicle accelerated during heavy braking which caused the collision. About 50 feet of brake marks were left on the road surface from the front tires. In a separate incident, a vehicle suddenly merged from left side of road causing me to swerve to the soft shoulder on the right. Truck had come to a complete stop when the right rear wheel started to spin. It spun for about 10 seconds before it stopped. Tire dug into the soft shoulder and left a spray of dirt behind the truck.. have been searching for a facility to test the braking system. It appears related to the stalling while stopping problem.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #31

Jul 202013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 111,081 miles
My complaint # is 10533970, there's not enough characters for this to be said there. Please review this info, someone has to get these death traps off the road before people start or keep dying. The following complaints alone for 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 hemi's 4X4! 10525317,10522824,10522467,10515234, 10512746,10508477,10508200,10507139,10503157,10502707,10502402,10499587,10487800,10478873, 10446068, 10248039, 10446048, 10479516, 10129030. There's another 20 on 04 Ram models,18 on 05 Ram, dakotas & durangos, 06 models same way. Its all on here. The Canadian highway dept has a 2007 on lock down and awaiting a full investigation after pinion nut came loose and catapulted the Ram on its roof at 60 mph! its on facebook, and many on line forums state the same issues with pinion nuts coming loose. Dodge talk, the straight dope, just google it. I am requesting a better investigation be performed into the rear end/pinion nut recalls with Dodge Ram, Dakota, durango and Chrysler aspen vans from 2002-current date. After my investigation I found the following recalls on this site associated with the rear end/ pinion nut coming loose. Here's the info, recalls #95599, 79940, 793042, 93043, 95601, and lastly 95600 2/6/13. According to this site, almost 1 million vehicles on the recall list, just 2009-12. The recall 95600 states the 2009-2011 Dodge dakotas manufactured Feb 27, 2007 ect. I have a hard time believing 2009 dakotas were being manufactured N Feb of 2007, which means the 2007 and 2008 models were being built then, but they are not in the recall, why not? also according to the Chrysler's own admissions (viewable on this site) at your request to provide all info according to your investigation, (quote) that these same parts are "backwards" in earlier model years(meaning they have been using these same parts for years prior) and based on info I have found seems to be since 2002.

- Ottawa, IL, USA

problem #30

Jul 202013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 111,081 miles
My request for a complete and thorough re-investigation by NHTSA will follow this complaint. Myself and 2 children almost died as a result of the power train failure of my 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 hemi pickup. On sat morning 7-20-13 around 10:30 am traveling home from a baseball tournament, we were westbound on 80/90, mile marker 115, traveling around 70-72 mph near elkhart Indiana. The rear pinion nut came loose, causing the pinion gear to fall into the rear differential, locking up the rear end, and throwing the drive shaft completely off my vehicle with no warning. We were in heavy traffic, there was a semi pulled over into the shoulder for a down tire, all the vehicles were merging over to give the semi room, when all of a sudden my vehicle made a loud noise (bang), and I lost immediate control of the vehicle. I fought to regain control of my truck, just missing being rear ended and broad- sided by several vehicles as well as wiping out vehicles to my right and behind me. I barely got some control as my vehicle was attempting to go sideways I was in fear we were going to roll at 50 mph right down the highway. I kept the vehicle from rolling somehow and came to a screeching stop barely off the roadway. My truck was smoking from everywhere and I could not see for what seemed like 2 minutes. As traffic lightened up and the 2 cars that also left the roadway to avoid a collision, got back under power and left, I found my drive shaft on the roadway completely off my vehicle. Once my mechanic was able to see the vehicle on Monday and diagnose the issue. It was found then that the rear pinion nut came loose. It has cost me over $4500 so far between towing, rear end, drive shaft, front end, gas tank smashed and were not done. The trans also has issues now. This is the 2nd Dodge vehicle my mechanic has seen this happen to. Please look at the recalls and complaints on here....updated 01/07/15

- Ottawa, IL, USA

problem #29

Dec 252011

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles


The contact was the mechanic working on a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while the vehicle was stationary and in neutral, the vehicle erroneously accelerated. The contact crashed into a hydraulic lift and sustained injuries to the shoulder and leg. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The vehicle was neither diagnosed for the cause of the failure or repaired. The failure mileage was 78,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 9/4/13

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #28

Apr 162009

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My 2005 Dodge Ram has been stalling on the freeway when slowing down in traffic and when coming to stops at intersections. It has been doing this for years. I have had engine lights come on and had mechanics work on it. This problem continues and is very scary. I can not trust to take it on long trips.after goggling on the internet I found that most Dodge have this problem. I will use social media to let my family and friends know that Dodge is not the truck to buy. I can not believe they are not recalling this issue in their trucks some thing needs to be done to correct this issue. Starter will go out if this continues also putting in neutral will not do the transmission any good, it feels like it is messing up now.

- Jonestown, TX, USA

problem #27

Jul 152013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while traveling 30 mph, the rear tires seized. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 118,000.

- Haver De Grace , MD, USA

problem #26

Jun 202013

Ram 1500

  • 74,000 miles
I was driving along interstate 80/94 in northwest Indiana when I started to hear a whirling noise coming from my truck. As I was trying to determine what was going on I heard a loud a pop and clanking noise coming from the rear of the truck. After pulling to the side of the road I noticed that my differential had fallen off the vehicle and rear end was completely locked up. I drive a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 that has never been over worked and properly maintained for as long as I have owned it. After having to have the truck towed to the dealer ship I was informed that the rear differential had "hand granaded inside itself" and had to be replaced for $2400 plus towing, and vehicle rental. For a 2005 with only 74000 miles this should not happen and there are way to many reports of this happening among Dodge trucks. I was fortunate that a serious accident didn't not occur when my rear end locked up on the highway, but who to say if the next person will be so lucky. At some point these trucks are no longer safe to have our family's and young children in never knowing when they will locked and cause a break down or accident.

- Lowell, IN, USA

problem #25

Jun 052013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
While driving home from the mayo clinic from a heart dr. Appt. I felt a strange motion in the truck and went to pull over on the interstate when the differential locked up causing the truck to skid to a stop. Had it towed to a Dodge dealer where I could get it repaired. First it was $1700 to put in a junkyard rear, then it was $2350 and $2450 if I wanted a rebuilt.I then received a call it would be another $600 because the brakes locked up with the rear end.the truck was a year past warranty but only had 50000 miles on it. Called Chrysler and they said there was nothing they would do because the garage used Napa parts.

- Baraboo, WI, USA

problem #24

Mar 012013

Ram 1500

  • 77,000 miles
I started to get a rough idle condition on my Dodge Ram 1500 quad cab with the 5.7 hemi motor and auto trans. Now intermittently over the past several month the truck stalls when going from reverse to drive...though not that dangerous an inconvenience. The dangerous part is when I sometimes pull into traffic the truck will start forward as it should then the motor will just die causing loss of brake and steering functions. I am getting no engine codes or check engine light. I have even hooked the truck up to a computer with no codes detected. Recently I went to pull into traffic onto a road that was 35mph and the motor again died. Luckily the driver heading toward my driver side door slammed on their brakes and allowed me to put the truck in neutral restart it and get it out of the other vehicle's lane of travel. The throttle body has been cleaned the spark plugs have been changed with no luck and the problem persists. This is a link to just (1) website of many that I found that shows this is clearly not isolated to my vehicle. I cannot even begin to diagnose this problem because it is so sporadic with no engine lights or codes it would probably cost a small fortune for a dealer to diagnose this issue because of the amount of time in between the stall conditions.

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

problem #23

Jun 042013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I was driving my 05 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4 traveling on the interstate doing 55 mph when I heard a whining noise that grew real loud. As I attempted to pull over to the median the truck locked up and skidded to a stop just missing the guard rail. I got out and looked under my truck and saw the drive shaft had broken off from the rear end/differential and oil was pouring out the differential casing from the exposed hole where the drive shaft had been attached. If this had happened on the drive lanes I think there would have been a collision with other vehicles that may have been behind me. I had it towed to the repair shop that had repaired the rear end in 2010 at a cost of $906.93. The truck would not roll forward on to the tow truck but would roll backward making it difficult to load on the tow truck. I went online and read many complaints about the same problem I am having. These complaints are not year specific and covered vehicles ranging from the late 90S and practically all 2000 model years. Some of the divers nearly had accidents. Apparently Dodge is well aware of this on going problem but refuses to make a recall. I think someone is eventually going to get hurt or killed. I for one am getting rid of it as soon as it is fixed. I don't feel safe driving it anymore. Some people have had repairs for this problem only to have it reoccur shortly after the repair. Thank you for your time and assistance...updated 01/07/15 the pinion seal and axle seal were replaced

- Palmyra, IN, USA

problem #22

Apr 262013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
I was on kingston pike hwy sitting at a red light in front of a gas station waiting for the light to turn red. When all of a sudden it felt as though someone hit me from the rear end, the motor shut off. The truck was in gear still, so I put in park and looked behind me. I noticed that nobody hit me. I then started the truck up an put in gear at first it did nothing then it moved so turned into the parking lot of the gas station. The truck came to a stop itself, but the motor was still running so I immediately shut it off. When I got out I looked under the truck seeing the drive shaft hanging down. I called progressive insurance for a tow. I had it towed to a mechanic shop, who looked at it the next day telling me that the pinion nut had came off and went back into the case. There was damage but that he put another nut on with some locktite, but he did not brake the differential down. I was told that it would need to be done to insure how much damage was done. So I took it to a 4X4 specialist who said he had heard of this before. That I am looking at about $1000 in repairs. I came back home and researched this problem notice several people with the same problem. Along with a recall on 2009 to 2012 year models for the same thing....updated 01/07/15 updated 05/29/2015

- Knoxville , TN, USA

problem #21

Mar 012013

Ram 1500

  • 88,658 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while traveling 55 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The contact also stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the PCM needed to be updated but the throttle body would have to be cleaned before any other repairs could be completed. The vehicle had not yet been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 88,658.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #20

Apr 132013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 172,500 miles
I was driving approximately 35 mph (mileage 172,500) when I heard a noise coming from the rear end. I started slowing down immediately. Then I heard the drive shaft hit and drag on the pavement and the rear end locked up causing the truck to start skidding. I came to a stop in the road and unable to move the vehicle until a tow truck could come. I was towed to a local shop for repair. The mechanic told me the pinion nut came off and the drive shaft disconnected. The rear differential gears were damaged. Full replacement required. I see many cases listed here and would like to see the 2005 model year 1500 Ram added to the current recall.....updated 01/12/15

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?