Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,751 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #461

Nov 212014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My truck started shaking aggressively 3-4 year ago at speeds around 50 mph and over, I tried new tires and that did not work. After receiving my second recall I took my truck to bill stanford Dodge-Chrysler here in talladega al to have it fixed with the recall. They admitted the pinion nut was loose and they said they tightened it and that I needed new tires on the rear and that should fix it, the tire dealer said I did not need new rear tires that I should have several years left on them but I told him what bill stanford said so he put new tires on the back but that had no affect on the vibrating and shaking of the truck. Now I receive another recall stating " the lack of this adhesive patch could allow the rear axle pinion nut to loosen and/or the rear drive shaft to separate from the rear axle, going on to state this could cause a crash without warning or the real axle to seize and separate the drive shaft causing a loss of motive power. I have a good truck except for the rear end which shakes and vibrates aggressively but I can get no help from the local dealer here in talladega al. All I am asking is that they fix it to its original state and live up to the safety recall. I can not afford a new vehicle and do not want to sue or seek punitive damages, I would just like my truck to be fixed in an honest fashion. Thank you for any help.

- Talladega, AL, USA

problem #460

Jun 162015

Ram 1500

  • 300,000 miles
Never got any issue regarding the air bag problem just yesterday got the recall notice on the pinion nut of which mine went out in June 2015 had to have truck towed home tried to look for rearend to match my truck have been borrowing vehicles from others did get someone to act on this in December have had my truck since the middle of December called on the 12 of January they still did not have it in to do anything with it and have no idea of when they will this is all crazy !!!! I should have been informed of this recall before June 2015 and I would not be without a vehicle at all!! had to pay $90 to get it towed due to this and the time I have been waiting you people should do something I would have to if it was my fault so why not you?

- Park Hills, MO, USA

problem #459

Jan 192016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 03/16/16 updated 03/17/16.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #458

Jun 162015

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 3 recalls on my truck. They are as follow: P40/NHTSA 14V-354 R25/NHTSA 15V-313 P77/NHTSA 14V-796 I have tried unsuccessfully on 3 occasions with the dealership to have repairs done and they will not call me back or schedule an appointment. The dealership is countryside Dodge / Chrysler in jackson, Georgia. Very unprofessional and discourteous.. can you help me with these issues. This has been going on since June of 2015. Very frustrating.

- Hillsboro, GA, USA

problem #457

Jan 152016

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #456

Jan 012014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 15000. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train) exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in 2015. The dealer stated that only one vehicle was repaired per day and the contact was not on the waiting list. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact stated that the rear axle was previously replaced. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Northport, AL, USA

problem #455

Dec 162014

Ram 1500

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sumper, SC, USA

problem #454

Feb 102015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train), but was unable to get the part from the dealer for an extended period of time. The dealer indicated that the part was on back order for the air bag recall and that they would not inspect the parts for the power train recall until the parts were available. The contact was unable to confirm when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #453

Jan 072016

Ram 1500

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the rear brakes locked and the drive shaft separated while driving 55 mph. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (rear axle pinion nut) after the failure occurred. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Florida City, FL, USA

problem #452

Jul 012015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Quincy, IL, USA

problem #451

Jul 222015

Ram 1500

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" I went to tom O'brian Chrysler dealership back in July 2015, about this recall, and I have followed up 3 times to find out when I can bring my truck in to do both recalls on this. They ordered the parts for both recalls and they told me that their oly can do 2 trucks a month because the way their recall works they bring a truck in, do the recall work and then they send the part back and wait for the next replacement part to come in. If this is the real case, it will be several years before I can get my truck worked on. So if this is a safety recall they should be doing a lot more trucks they 2 a month. I want to keep my truck but I am very concerned about a accident. I think if I have to wait longer, Chrysler should provided me with a vehicle til my truck gets fixed.

- Whiteland, IN, USA

problem #450

Jul 142015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train) and 15V313000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 03/10/16

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #449

Feb 062015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Canaan, NY, USA

problem #448

Feb 152015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the rear end of the vehicle seized without warning and the vehicle crashed into a concrete barrier. The air bags failed to deploy. No police report was filed. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired and the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V796000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Yazoo City, MS, USA

problem #447

Jul 032015

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to rear axle pinion nut and driver airbag inflator recall notices replacement parts not available to complete repairs.

- Ellsworth, ME, USA

problem #446

Apr 012013

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Dodge Ram 1500. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle drive shaft problems and pinion nut recall issues. The consumer stated in April 2013, the rear end of the truck locked up and the consumer ended up in a ditch, damaging the right side of the truck. When the consumer exited the vehicle, he noticed the drive shaft next to the vehicle, half on the pavement and half in the ditch. The consumer had the vehicle towed and it was eventually fixed. In March 2015, his wife was driving the vehicle when all of a sudden she heard a banging noise and the vehicle would not move. When the consumer arrived, he looked under the vehicle and noticed the drive shaft on the pavement. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop. The consumer then learned of the recall for the exact problem he experienced twice. According to Chrysler, since the vehicle was fixed in 2013, it no longer qualifies for the recall.

- Holmes, NY, USA

problem #445

Aug 012015

Ram 1500

  • 125,000 miles
Received safety recall notices by mail for rear axle pinion nut (P77 / NHTSA 14V-796) and driver airbag inflator (R25 / NHTSA 15V-313.) I contacted a local dealer in July / August of 2015 to schedule repairs. A week later the dealer called back to postpone the repairs because parts were not available. The dealer stated that they would call back to reschedule the repairs when the parts were available. I have not heard back from the dealer. The repairs have still not been made. The dealer has failed to remedy these defects in a reasonable amount of time.

- Denville, NJ, USA

problem #444

Sep 232015

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Kinston, NC, USA

problem #443

Dec 022014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification on NHTSA campaign number: 14V796000 (power train); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not expierenced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #442

Jan 052015

Ram 1500

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V796000 (power train) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Midwest City, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?