Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,403 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Dodge Ram 1500 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Dodge Ram 1500 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Dec 012014

Ram 1500

  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact was unable to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V817000 (air bags) within a reasonable amount of time. The earliest appointment was not available until March 2015. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #18

Dec 162014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V354000 (air bags) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #17

Oct 112014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 136,887 miles
I contacted Chrysler 3 times and no one wanted to address this problem, this was not caused by an accident, theres no frame or external damages caused to the vehicle, this shouldn't of happened, I was driving normal and the airbags shot out of nowhere bruising my arm and around my collar. I driving the car the way it is with no horn, seatbelts locked, and bags exposed. I have no way of getting to work so im forced to drive like this, I need this to be adressed because this is putting me and who ever sits in my car in danger because Chrysler does not want to take action, I shouldn't have to pay for this if this is somethimg that comes defective from factory.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 092014

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the driver's side automatic seat adjuster failed to operate forward or in reverse. Also, the driver's side seat belt failed to retract. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 27,000. Updated 02/04/15 the consumer stated the airbag light comes on and stay on. The driver's side seat and back rest will not move forward or back. Updated 10/6/2015

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 272014

Ram 1500

  • miles
My fiancÉ and his friend were on a dirt road and my fiancÉ the driver had a seizure while driving and flipped his truck and slammed into the tree. The whole truck is completely totaled. They both have been in icu for four days and just now getting in a room. Both had multiple surgeries and were severely hurt. Both had seat belts on also. Not one air bag in the truck deployed.

- Philadelphia , MS, USA

problem #14

Jun 272014

Ram 1500

  • miles
The contact owned a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving at an unknown speed, the contact crashed the vehicle into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. Two occupants in the vehicle sustained injuries and received medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN and failure mileage were unavailable.

- Philadelphia, MS, USA

problem #13

Nov 012010

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


Driving home from night school on a local, rural highway, cross traffic has stop signs... I was northbound at the posted speed limit of 55mph. A 2008 Toyota 4runner was waiting on a cross street to go westbound, said car abruptly attempted to cross infront of me. I managed to get my foot to the brakes the instant before impact, estimated speed at impact was 50mph. No air bag deployment. My truck was a total loss. I "T-boned" the 4runner in the driver door, it was sent rolling, coming to a rest on its driver side 25 feet in front of my Ram 1500 about 60 feet West of the roadway. How is it possible my air bags didn't deploy" why didn't my lawyers sue Chrysler" I had a severe chest contusion from my seatbelt, strained back, my left arm was jammed from finger tips to shoulder and I had a fracture and strain in my hand/wrist that required weeks of rehab. Its 3 1/2 years later and I still have daily pain and stiffness.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #12

Feb 012013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Air bag light stays on.

- North East, MD, USA

problem #11

Feb 212012

Ram 1500

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500 mega cab 4X4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, he noticed that the airbag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised him that they would have to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle had not been diagnosed. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 78,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #10

Jan 222010

Ram 1500

  • 81,300 miles
2007 Dodge Ram 1500 quad St/slt, crew pickup, going eastbound on route 80, tully, NY collides with left turning (going West) 2001 Pontiac. Eastbound pickup collides with front bumper the front quarter panel head-on (turned to meet the panel vice drivers door), car spins and back hits two passenger doors and this directs. Pickup end up in the northwest corner telephone pole of skihigh road and route 80. Collision is around 40 - 50 miles and hour. Pontiac is driven back 30 feet. Pickup hits telephone pole straight in middle and drives bumper in 18 inches to 2 feet. Air bag does not discharge. Pickup is classed as total loss by Liberty mutual insurance company adjuster. Carfax has no history of accident with the Dodge 1500 truck. Pickup is at insurance auto auctions (iaa) salvage yard with a 60 day hold for investigation. Driver taken by ambulance to crouse hospital, was wearing seatbelts. Accident report number DF3028000050, 10-127804 local number, 1/22/2010, 8:41 pm, town of tully, NY, onondaga co. Sherriff 03300, L. seburn.

- Cazenovia, NY, USA

problem #9

Apr 182009

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Dodge 1500. While driving 50 mph, the driver fell asleep and drove into several trees. There were two passengers in the back seat. There were no injuries; however, the front end of the vehicle was damaged. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The failure and current mileages were 6,500. Updated 05/08/09 updated 05/22/09. The vehicle was declared a total loss. Updated 06/09/09.

- Stillpond, MD, USA

problem #8

Mar 142009

Ram 1500

  • 60,500 miles
2 front end collisions neither time on impact did the air bags deploy and the truck is totaled.

- Batson, TX, USA

problem #7

Jan 242009

Ram 1500

  • 28,931 miles
Event: 2007 Dodge Ram 1500 lonestar edition ~ my truck was in park on shoulder of road so I could gather items that fell to floor - I was hit from behind at a very high rate of speed - hard impact - by another car. The impact of the collision threw my truck @ 40 feet forward. My multistage airbags in my Dodge Ram did not deploy which resulted in neck / cervical strain & left clavicle / shoulder injury. My truck was purchased new - 2007 Dodge Ram 1500 lonestar edition. Manual reflects multistage airbags which are to deploy on collision at speed of 12mph or greater. I also called waco Dodge dealership where truck was purchased at and salesman confirmed that the multistage airbags should have deployed upon impact at any angle hit. Airbags did not deploy. Truck is a one owner; I purchased brand new Feb 2007. Vehicle safety was one of our major concerns when deciding to purchase a new truck due to we have 3 children. Airbags were discussed as part of the safety feature prior to purchase. We were assured the airbags would deploy in an accident ~ and they did not. Fortunately, I did not have my children with me at time of accident. (ages 5, 9, & 12). We are very upset as the extent of injuries could have been less if airbags would have deployed per manual. Damages / repairs to my truck = $9,385. The person 's vehicle who hit me at rate of speed was completely totaled; not repairable.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #6

Jan 282009

Ram 1500

  • 37,000 miles
I bought a 2007 Dodge truck from the dealership when it was new. While driving a few days ago, we swerved to avoid hitting a deer, as a result we hit a power pole. The truck perfectly centered the pole, but to our dismay the airbags did not deploy. We were told that there are sensors located at certain points on the truck and if the sensors aren't hit that the airbags wouldn't deploy. We were going about 45-50 mph when the truck hit the pole. I have pictures of the "sensors" where the truck is dented, but the sensors obviously didn't work. What should be our next step? the truck was purchased new at the Dodge dealership in commerce, ga.

- Fairplay, SC, USA

problem #5

Nov 022008

Ram 1500

  • 30,090 miles
While driving at about 65mph, my passenger side front wheel came off the vehicle. I was involved in a solo spinout, accident due to the wheel coming off. The cause was determined to be the lower A-arm of the suspension failing, and letting the ball joint fall out of place. When the wheel was recovered from the accident, it still had the stabilizers attached, along with the ball joint, and various parts of the steering, and 4WD. The accident caused me to hit a guard rail at 65mph, at a 45-degree angle. Amazingly, my airbags did not deploy on impact. I suffered whiplash due to the impact. The point of impact on the truck was the front passenger side.

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 012008

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
Front end accident 40-45 mph - no air bag deployment.

- Blair, NE, USA

problem #3

Sep 262007

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 65 mph the front of the vehicle crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer stated that there was no failure with the air bags. The driver and front passenger were wearing seat belts. The driver hit his head on the steering wheel and sustained bruises. The passenger sustained abdominal injuries. The failure mileage was 400 and the current mileage was 700.

- Lawtell, LA, USA

problem #2

Aug 152007

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30 miles
They are still trying to fix my new truck I bought it 8/10/07 on the 8/15/07 I brought it back electricity problem on the 8/22/07 they order parts for it it is in the shop now the airbag light came on and would not go out the manual said my air bags would not work I want a new truck I am paying 42000 for this trunck that I am afraid of electricity pooblem is not good this is a 2007 Dodge can you help me the dealer is rick keffer out of yulee, fl.

- Alma, GA, USA

problem #1

Jun 212007

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,955 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500. While driving 35 mph, a vehicle made a left turn in front of the contact's vehicle. The contact was unable to stop because the ABS failed to engage. The contact crashed into the passenger side of the other vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver of the other vehicle sustained injuries and the contact sustained an injury to the head. The vehicle is currently at the dealer. The dealer discovered that the antilock braking system does not work at low speeds. The auburn police department filed report # 07-07742. The current mileage is 3,014 and failure mileage was 2,955.

- Auburn, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?